10/07/2022.

LSModels ex-CIWL no. 4273 dining-car

Ex-CIWL 4272 dining-car

Photo Maurice Mertens on forum.e-train.fr.

LS Models 49197

Type

Ex-CIWL ‘Breda’ 52-seat dining-car

UIC Number ex-CIWL Rev. Date
51 87 88-40 565-3 4273 7.3.69

128 g (NEM: 108 to 140 g)

The coach is delivered wrapped in a square of dark blue satin-look cloth, marked with the CIWL monogram. At first sight, the general appearance is very satisfactory. The kitchen windows are finely frosted.

When handling the coach, I notice that the bogie pivoting is rather hard, especially on the dynamo side. In fact, softening the pivot clips will solve this problem. The running is correct, but not much more. The wheels have a back-to-back distance of 14.1 to 14.3 mm, which is insufficient (NEM: 14.5 ± 0.1). The flanges are 1 mm high.

On the end without an access platform, a small step seems to be missing, the baseplate is visible with a broken appearance, but I found nothing in the box. On the same end, the heating jumper is not fitted. There are two in the parts bag, so this is easily remedied.

Folded bellows are supplied. The unfolded bellows can be removed rather easily. Unfortunately, the holders are glued and cannot be removed. So if you want to install a folded bellows, you’ll have to destroy these accessories to install the proper holders, probably by re-drilling the coach’s end walls. A pity!

The interior layout shows light yellow walls, dark brown floor, green seats and white tables. I did not try to remove the roof for a closer look.

See:

Series of ten coaches (4265 to 4274) built in 1955 by Società Italiana Ernesto Breda per Costruzioni Meccaniche in Milano, on chassis of former Pullman Étoile du Nord coaches damaged during WWII. Initially, coaches No. 4265 to 4269 were allocated to Italy — they were transferred to Belgium from 1981. Coaches 4270 to 4274 were allocated to France and sold to the SNCF in 1962.

Layout: 52 seats. Mass: 52 t. Speed limit: 140 km/h. PP (Pennsylvania) bogies. The special feature of these coaches is that they have only one access platform. The kitchen is supplied through hatches in the side of the coach.

In the 1960s, at least one of these coaches was used on the TAC (trains auto-couchette) trains from Boulogne. No. 4271 was assigned to the Paris - Brussels route.

In 1974, coaches 4271 to 4274 were fitted with Y26D bogies originally intended for Mistral 69s, giving them a speed limit of 160 km/h.

Documents

  • Wikipedia article.
  • EC64 website.
  • scalaenne website (in Italian).
  • Ferrovissime No. 107 of September-October 2020, p. 68 ff.
  • Trains d’exception by J.-M. Dupuy and P.-Y. Toussirot, Éditions LR Presse 2022, p. 232 ff.
  • Diagram (Bernard Neveux collection) in Trains d’exception.

LSModels ex-CIWL no. 4273 dining-carLSModels ex-CIWL no. 4273 dining-car

LSModels ex-CIWL no. 4273 dining-carLSModels ex-CIWL no. 4273 dining-car

Ex-CIWL 4272 dining-car

Photo Maurice Mertens on forum.e-train.fr.

1:87
23 450 270.0 270,0
22 200 255.2 256.7
2 854 32.8 33.3
4 000 46.0 46.4
16 000 184.0 183.6
(PPs) 2 500 28.7 28.7
1 000 11.5 12.0

10/07/2022.

Voiture-restaurant ex-CIWL n° 4273 LSModels

Voiture-restaurant n° 4272

Cliché Maurice Mertens sur forum.e-train.fr.

LS Models 49197

Type

Voiture-restaurant ex-CIWL « Breda » 52 places

Numéro UIC ex-CIWL Date de rév.
51 87 88-40 565-3 4273 7.3.69

128 g (NEM : 108 à 140 g)

La voiture est livrée enveloppée dans un carré de tissu aspect satin, bleu foncé, marqué au monogramme CIWL. À première vue, l’aspect général est très satisfaisant. Les vitres de la cuisine sont finement dépolies.

En manipulant la voiture, je constate que le pivotement des bogies est assez dur, surtout côté dynamo. En fait, il suffira d’adoucir les clips des pivots pour résoudre ce problème. Le roulement est correct, sans plus. Les roues ont un écartement dos à dos de 14,1 à 14,3 mm, ce qui est insuffisant (NEM : 14,5 ± 0,1). Les boudins ont une hauteur de 1 mm.

Du côté sans plateforme d’accès, un petit marchepied semble manquer, l’embase est visible avec un aspect de cassure, mais je n’ai rien trouvé dans la boîte. De ce même côté, le câblot de chauffage n’est pas monté. Il y en a deux dans le sachet de pièces, il est donc facile de remédier à cela.

Des soufflets repliés sont livrés. Les souflets dépliés se retirent assez facilement. Malheureusement, les suspentes sont collées et indémontables. Si donc on veut installer un soufflet replié, il faudra couper ces accessoires pour installer les suspentes adéquates, en reperçant sans doute les dossiers de la voiture. Dommage !

L’aménagement intérieur montre des parois jaune clair, un sol brun foncé, des sièges verts et des tables blanches. Pour le moment, je n’ai pas cherché à démonter le toit pour y regarder de plus près.

Voir :

Série de 10 voitures (4265 à 4274) construites en 1955 par Società Italiana Ernesto Breda per Costruzioni Meccaniche à Milan, sur des châssis d’anciennes voitures Pullman Étoile du Nord avariées pendant la deuxième guerre mondiale. Au début, les voitures no 4265 à 4269 sont attribuées à l’Italie — elles passeront à la Belgique à partir de 1981. Les voitures no 4270 à 4274 sont attribuées à la France et vendues à la SNCF en 1962.

Aménagement : 52 places. Masse : 52 t. Vitesse limite : 140 km/h. Bogies PP (Pennsylvania). La particularité de ces voitures est qu’elles n’ont qu’une seule plateforme d’accès. L’approvisionnement de la cuisine se fait par des trappes s’ouvrant dans le flanc de la voiture.

Dans les années 1960, au moins une de ces voitures était utilisée dans des trains auto-couchette (TAC) au départ de Boulogne. La 4271 a été affectée à la liaison Paris - Bruxelles.

En 1974, les voitures 4271 à 4274 ont reçu des bogies Y26D initialement prévus pour équiper les Mistral 69, leur permettant ainsi une vitesse limite portée à 160 km/h.

Documents

  • Article Wikipédia.
  • Site EC64.
  • Site scalaenne (en italien).
  • Ferrovissime no 107 de septembre-octobre 2020, p. 68 et suiv.
  • Trains d’exception de J.-M. Dupuy et P.-Y. Toussirot, Éditions LR Presse 2022, p. 232 et suiv.
  • Diagramme (collection Bernard Neveux) dans Trains d’exception.

Voiture-restaurant CIWL LSModelsVoiture-restaurant CIWL LSModels

Voiture-restaurant CIWL LSModelsVoiture-restaurant CIWL LSModels

Voiture-restaurant n° 4272

Cliché Maurice Mertens sur forum.e-train.fr.

1:87
23 450 270,0 270,0
22 200 255,2 256,7
2 854 32,8 33,3
4 000 46,0 46,4
16 000 184,0 183,6
Empattement bogies (PPs) 2 500 28,7 28,7
1 000 11,5 12,0