19/10/202129/11/2021.

B4D Sud-Est modernized coach REE

B4D Sud-Est modernized coach

Photo REE Collection.

REE VB-419

Type

B4Dd Sud-Est modernized coach

UIC number Revision date
51 87 82-40 836-4 5 PAC 12.7.71
Management: Paris Conflans

128 g (NEM: 91 to 119 g); 118 g after ballast reduction and installation of a lighting strip.

The box is far too long for its contents!

First impression: the engraving is very fine. See the lines of rivets at the body bottom, the handrail fasteners, the van grills, etc. A first for REE: the body and the roof are one!

Obviously, considering what has been said on the Loco-Revue forum, I can’t help but look at the body in profile, and, yes, it is “banana-shaped”, but not by much. See “compressed” photo. When the coach is placed on track, it’s not very visible. Apart from that, the scale is almost perfect.B4D SE, banana-shaped profile

The bogies have a rather hard rotation. At first glance, I think I just have to loosen the pivot screws, but no. On further investigation, it turns out that the power pick-up system is to blame: the vertical tongues of the bogies lean on small blades inside the body, but these blades are too stiff and therefore hinder the bogie rotation. They also prevent the correct bearing of the chassis on the bogies.

Another new feature at REE is that the drawbars are no longer interchangeable, which is not a bad thing given the broken couplings that occurred with the old system. The drawbars are quite hard to return, because the springs are very short (2 turns).

Wheel set characteristics: wheel diameter 10.55, flange height 0.8. Back-to-back wheel spacing: 14.4 (NEM 14.5 ± 0.1). Distance between tips 22.5. Axle diameter 3.1 (with insulating sleeve).

The coach is delivered with a folded bellows on the lamp side, which makes sense if it is at the end of the train with the working lamps on. If it is in the middle of the train, things get more complicated: replacing the bellows with a folded one is easy, except for the gangway, which will surely escape; but, to change the bellows holders, you also have to remove the end wall reinforcements that are attached to them, and these are fragile parts, with tight tenons, which will not withstand a lot of handling. It is best to leave them in place, even if it means bending the holders in one direction or the, other depending on the bellows installed.

Still in the case of the coach in the middle of a train, the lamps must be switched off. To do this, it is necessary (in the absence of a decoder) to open the coach to operate a slide switch. It might have been clever to place this switch under the water tank cover at the other end of the coach and make it removable to access the switch without disassembling everything…

This brings us to the disassembly. The manual indicates that you have to remove the buffers, but it’s not as easy as it says: when pulling on them, you might break the heads because the shanks are very thin. What the manual forgets to say is that you also have to remove the return springs in the form of a very thin steel wire, which may twist if left in place. Then, removing the chassis is not so easy, as it is well fitted in the body, without any clearance.

As for the interior, there’s nothing to complain about, except that the colour of the seats, a pale blue tending towards mauve, is not very convincing. The floor and walls of the van are grey; the corridor wall is ivory, with yellow-green window frames. The grab rails are fixed to the inside of the windows, without excess glue as in a certain other brand…

Finally, the electrical wiring consists of two wires, red and black, soldered to the aforementioned blades, connected to a small printed circuit with a digital plug. It also apparently contains a voltage regulator circuit. A 100 µF / 25 V capacitor is used to maintain the voltage in the event of a power failure, which is probably sufficient for the LEDs in the lamps.

See:

Modifications

  • Ballast reduced from 28 to 16 g.
  • Lighting strip including latching reed switch control of rear lamps.
  • Removable lamps installed on the end opposite the built-in lamps.

This set of 142 coaches is the result of the conversion in two successive stages, from 1963 to 1967, of modernized Sud-Est (ex-PLM) B8 1st type coaches. During this conversion, the interiors were completely renovated, the original bogies, of various types (C - “wagons-lits”; D or DM), were temporarily retained, then gradually replaced with Y 161s.

These coaches were distributed after conversion between the Est, Nord and Sud-Est regions. Source: Loco-Revue sheet. See registration table opposite. Start of write-offs in 1982, end in 1988.

The origin of these coaches is very old, since they date from the years 1906 to 1913. At that time they had a wooden body. The PLM had decided to modernize them for the first time, known as “type 26 metallization”, which was carried out between 1929 and 1938. It consisted mainly of replacing the wooden frame with a metal frame. Source: Encyclopédie des voitures SNCF.

Main characteristics: 32 seats; tare 40 to 42 t; speed limit 140 km/h; incandescent lighting.

Documents

  • trains-europe.fr website.
  • Loco-Revue sheet No 286/121969 - 69 d 24 (older series). Sheet preview.LR sheet
  • Article from La Vie du Rail No 1093 of 23 April 1967 Visit to the CIMT Lorraine. Overview of the article.Article LVDR
  • Encyclopédie des voitures SNCF, 1990 edition, p. 208 - 209.

B4D Sud-Est modernized coach REEB4D Sud-Est modernized coach REE

B4D Sud-Est modernized coach REEB4D Sud-Est modernized coach REE

B4D Sud-Est modernized coach

Photo REE Collection.

1:87
19 900 228.7 228.2
18 600 213.8 214.3
2 900 33.3 34.0
3 944 45.3 45.2
13 480 154.9 155.0
Y16 2 400 27.6 27.7
920 10.6 10.6
Table of registrations from Loco-Revue sheet
Number SNCF No UIC No Assignment
20 13850 to 13869 51 87 82-40 785
to 804
Est
20 25130 to 25139
25217 to 25226
51 87 82-40 805
to 824
Nord
55 54201 to 54216
54227 to 54265
51 87 82-40 825
to 879
Sud-Est
15 None 1 51 87 82-47 880
to 894
Sud-Est
15 None 1 51 87 82-47 895
to 909
Nord
17 None 1 51 87 82-37 910
to 926
Sud-Est
  1. The UIC numbering occurred before they left the workshop.

.

19/10/202129/11/2021.

Voiture modernisée Sud-Est B4D REE

Voiture modernisée Sud-Est B4D

Cliché Collection REE.

REE VB-419

Type

B4Dd modernisée Sud-Est

Numéro UIC Date de révision
51 87 82-40 836-4 5 PAC 12.7.71
Gérance : Paris Conflans

128 g (NEM : 91 à 119 g) ; 118 g après diminution du lest et installation d’une réglette d’éclairage.

La boîte est bien trop longue pour son contenu !

Première impression : la gravure est très fine. Voir les lignes de rivets de bas de caisse, les attaches de mains montoires, les grilles du fourgon, etc. Grande première chez REE : la caisse et le toit ne font qu’un !

Évidemment, vu ce qui a été dit sur le forum Loco-Revue, je ne peux pas m’empêcher de regarder la caisse de profil, et, oui, elle est « bananée », mais assez peu en fait. Voir photo « comprimée ». Lorsque la voiture est posée sur la voie, ce n'est pas très visible. À part cela, le respect de l’échelle frise la perfection.B4D SE, profil banané

Les bogies ont une rotation assez raide. Au premier abord, je pense qu’il suffit de desserrer les vis des pivots, mais non. En poussant plus loin l’investigation, il s’avère que le responsable est le système de prise de courant : les languettes verticales des bogies s'appuient sur des lamelles à l’intérieur de la caisse, mais ces lamelles sont trop raides et freinent donc le pivotement des bogies. Elles empêchent aussi la portée correcte du châssis sur les bogies.

Autre nouveauté chez REE : les timons ne sont plus interchangeables, et ce n’est pas un mal étant donné les ruptures d’attelages dues à l’ancien système. Le rappel des timons est assez dur, parce que les ressorts sont très courts (2 spires).

Caractéristiques des essieux : roues de 10,55, boudins de 0,8. Écartement dos-à-dos des roues : 14,4 (NEM 14,5 ± 0,1). Distance entre pointes 22,5. Diamètre d’axe 3,1 (avec manchon isolant).

La voiture est livrée équipée d’un soufflet replié côté fanaux, ce qui est logique si elle est en fin de convoi avec les fanaux fonctionnels allumés. Si elle se trouve en milieu de rame, ça se complique : le remplacement du soufflet par un déployé est facile, à part la passerelle qui s’échappe à coup sûr ; mais, pour changer les suspentes, il faut aussi retirer les renforts de dossier qui leur sont solidaires, et ce sont des pièces fragiles, aux tenons bien serrés, qui ne supporteront pas de nombreuses manipulations. Le mieux sera de les laisser à demeure, quitte à plier les suspentes dans un sens ou dans l’autre en fonction du soufflet installé.

Toujours dans le cas de la voiture au milieu d’une rame, il faut éteindre les fanaux. Pour cela, obligation (en l'absence d’un décodeur) d’ouvrir la voiture pour manœuvrer un interrupteur à glissière. Il aurait peut-être été malin de placer l’interrupteur sous le couvercle du réservoir d’eau, à l’autre extrémité de la voiture, et de rendre ce dernier amovible pour accéder à cet interrupteur sans tout démonter…

Ce qui nous amène à parler du démontage. La notice indique bien qu’il faut ôter les tampons, mais ce n'est pas si aisé qu’elle veut bien le dire : en tirant dessus, on craint de casser les plateaux car les plongeurs sont très minces. Ce que la notice oublie de dire, c’est qu’il faut aussi enlever les ressorts de rappel sous forme de fil d’acier très fin, qui risquent fort de se tordre si on les laisse en place. Ensuite, l’extraction du châssis n’est pas si facile, car il est bien emboîté dans la caisse, sans jeu.

Quant à l’aménagement intérieur, rien à redire si ce n’est que la couleur des sièges, d’un bleu pâle tendant vers le mauve, est bien peu convaincante. Le sol et les parois du fourgon sont gris ; la cloison du couloir est ivoire, avec des encadrements de fenêtres jaune-vert. Les barres d’appui sont fixées à l’intérieur des vitrages, sans excédent de colle comme dans une certaine autre marque…

Enfin, le câblage électrique se compose de deux fils, rouge et noir, soudés sur les lamelles dont on a déjà parlé, raccordés à un petit circuit imprimé muni d’un bouchon numérique. Il comporte aussi apparemment un circuit régulateur de tension. Le maintien en cas de coupure est assuré par un condensateur de 100 µF / 25 V, sans doute suffisant pour les LED des fanaux.

Voir :

Modifications

  • Diminution du lest, de 28 à 16 g.
  • Réglette d’éclairage incluant une commande des fanaux par ILS bistable.
  • Pose de lanternes amovibles sur l’extrémité opposée aux fanaux.

Cette série de 142 voitures provient de la transformation en deux tranches successives, de 1963 à 1967, par CIMT Lorraine, de voitures modernisées du Sud-Est (ex-PLM) B8 1er type. À l’occasion de cette transformation, les intérieurs ont été entièrement rénovés, les bogies d’origine, de types divers (C - « wagons-lits » ; D ou DM), ont été provisoirement conservés, puis progressivement remplacés par des Y 16.

Ces voitures ont été réparties après transformation entre les régions Est, Nord et Sud-Est. Source : fiche Loco-Revue. Voir tableau de répartition ci-contre. Début des radiations en 1982, fin en 1988.

L’origine de ces voitures est très ancienne, puisqu’elles datent des années 1906 à 1913. Elles avaient alors une caisse en bois tôlé. Une première modernisation avait été décidée par le PLM, dite « métallisation type 26 », effectuée entre 1929 et 1938. Elle consistait principalement à remplacer la charpente en bois par une charpente métallique. Source : Encyclopédie des voitures SNCF.

Caractéristiques principales : nombre de places 32 ; tare 40 à 42 t ; vitesse limite 140 km/h ; éclairage à incandescence.

Documents

  • Site trains-europe.fr.
  • Fiche Loco-Revue no 286/121969 - 69 d 24 (ancienne série). Aperçu de la fiche.Fiche LR
  • Article extrait de La Vie du Rail no 1093 du 23 avril 1967 Visite à la CIMT Lorraine. Aperçu de l’article.Article LVDR
  • Encyclopédie des voitures SNCF, édition 1990, p. 208 et 209.

Voiture modernisée Sud-Est B4D REEVoiture modernisée Sud-Est B4D REE

Voiture modernisée Sud-Est B4D REEVoiture modernisée Sud-Est B4D REE

Voiture modernisée Sud-Est B4D

Cliché Collection REE.

1:87
19 900 228,7 228,2
18 600 213,8 214,3
2 900 33,3 34,0
3 944 45,3 45,2
13 480 154,9 155,0
Y16 2 400 27,6 27,7
920 10,6 10,6
Tableau des immatriculations d’après Fiche Loco-Revue
Nombre No SNCF No UIC Affectation
20 13850 à 13869 51 87 82-40 785
à 804
Est
20 25130 à 25139
25217 à 25226
51 87 82-40 805
à 824
Nord
55 54201 à 54216
54227 à 54265
51 87 82-40 825
à 879
Sud-Est
15 Aucun 1 51 87 82-47 880
à 894
Sud-Est
15 Aucun 1 51 87 82-47 895
à 909
Nord
17 Aucun 1 51 87 82-37 910
à 926
Sud-Est
  1. La numérotation UIC étant survenue avant leur sortie d’atelier.

.