7/02/202027/02/2020.

B3r OCEM ex-Transat coach Models World

Photo J. D. Hérail in Le Train Archives de l’OCEM.

Models World 40386-1

Type

B3r OCEM ex-État A4yfi or A2syfi
“Transatlantique”

UIC Number Revision Date
51 87 85-87 205-3 5 31.1.72
Management: Nice

124 g (NEM: 106 to 137 g); 129 g after lighting.

Very favourable first impression. The colour seems correct to me. The engraving is very fine (rivets, towing hooks, etc.). No part remains to be assembled, apart from the electrical connection boxes under the buffer beam, which I have not succeeded in assembling; I did not insist because they are not very visible, just like the dummy coupling hooks.

Mechanically, nothing to say: the bogies swivel well, the coach runs well, the drawbars have no hard point and the Profi couplings fit easily into the NEM boxes. The back-to-back wheel distance is 14.4 (NEM 14.5 ± 0.1); the flanges are 0.55 mm high.

For once, there is an intelligent current pickup system (already used by Fleischmann and Roco) by metal bearings and insulated half-axles, the only drawback being the insulating sleeve on the axle, which increases its diameter (2.9 mm). The electrical connection between the bogie and the body is made by strips which arrive under the roof, ready to connect to a light strip.

The scale is very well respected. Quite exceptional, the height is the same on each end and, moreover, exact!

On one side, the marking plate under the chassis is shorter, to allow the bogie’s rotation. But the inscriptions are duplicated, as if the pad printing machine had printed it twice. See the photo. However, another plate of right length is provided in the spare part bag, with correct pad printing. The bag also includes hooks, with and without shackle, pneumatic and heating hoses, electrical connection boxes (one is missing) and only one folded bellows, with the corresponding holders. In fact, there are three for the three coaches in the set, so only one per coach. Too bad for people who display their models.Duplicated markings under body

The roof is easily opened, allowing you to discover a fitted bar, with stools, percolator, etc. The counter even has a support bar. See the photo. The luggage racks of the compartments are a little deformed and however not very thin, but so little visible… See the photo.Interior fitting (bar)Interior fitting (compartments)

Speaking of things that are hard to see, the leaf springs of real couplings are shown under the seagull wing… Here is a view of the brake components.View of the brake components

Overall, this coach is expensive, but, apart from the little hitch of the aforementioned marking printing defect, which is invisible to the naked eye, it doesn’t suffer from any criticism.

See:

Modifications

  • Lighting: since the coach is pre-equipped, I only had to make and connect a lighting strip controlled by a home made latching reed switch. However, I had to mill openings for the capacitor and for the lighting of WCs and platforms. See the nocturnal aspect. See also the explanations on the Loco-Revue forum.Nocturnal aspect of the lighted B3r coatch

Coaches built in 1931 by Entreprises industrielles charentaises (EIC) in Aytré for the State railways, with the aim of transporting travellers to Le Havre and Cherbourg harbours, hence their nickname Transatlantiques. Of two different types (A4yfi and A2syfi), 25 for each type, these coaches underwent many modifications and allocation changes during their career.

Finally, from 1958 to 1959, eleven coaches were transformed into B4smyfi bar, then, from 1964 to 1966, into B3r snack-bar, losing a compartment in the process. After the cancelling of a unit in 1967, the remaining ten received UIC registration 51 87-85 47 201 to 210 and were assigned to the Sud-Est region. They were cancelled from 1978.

These coaches are perhaps the only OCEM authorized at 150 km/h, because they have been fitted with brake blocks made of composite material.

Source: Le Train, Les archives de l’OCEM, from page 51.

Documents

B3r OCEM ex-Transat coach Models WorldB3r OCEM ex-Transat coach Models World

B3r OCEM ex-Transat coach Models WorldB3r OCEM ex-Transat coach Models World

Photo J. D. Hérail in Le Train Archives de l’OCEM.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 23 263 267.4 266.7
Chassis length 21 933 252.1 252.0
Body width 2 938 33.8 34.2
Height 3 946 45.4 45.4
Pivot distance 15 343 176.4 176.2
Bogie wheelbase 2 500 28.7 28.6
Wheel diameter 920 10.6 10.6

.

7/02/2020.

Voiture B3r OCEM ex-Transat Models World

Cliché J.D. Hérail dans Le Train Archives de l’OCEM.

Models World 40386-1

Type

B3r OCEM ex-État A4yfi ou A2syfi
« Transatlantique »

Numéro UIC Date de révision
51 87 85-87 205-3 5 31.1.72
Gérance : Nice

124 g (NEM : 106 à 137 g)

Première impression très favorable. La couleur me paraît correcte. La gravure est très fine (rivets, crochets de halage, etc.). Aucune pièce ne reste à monter, à part les boîtiers de connexion électrique sous traverse de tamponnement, que je n'ai pas réussi à monter ; je n’ai pas insisté car ils sont peu visibles, tout comme les crochets d’attelage factices.

Mécaniquement, rien à dire : les bogies pivotent bien, la voiture roule bien, les timons à élongation n’ont pas de point dur et les attelages Profi s’insèrent sans difficulté dans les boîtiers NEM. L’écartement dos-à-dos des roues est de 14,4 (NEM 14,5 ± 0,1) ; les boudins ont une hauteur de 0,55 mm.

Pour une fois, on trouve un système de prise de courant intelligent (déjà utilisé par Fleischmann et Roco) par paliers métalliques et demi essieux isolés, le seul inconvénient étant le manchon isolant sur l’axe, qui augmente son diamètre (2,9 mm). La liaison électrique entre bogie et caisse se fait par palpeurs. Des lames conductrices arrivent sous le toit, prêtes à être connectées à une réglette d’éclairage.

L’échelle est très bien respectée. Chose assez exceptionnelle, la hauteur est la même de chaque côté et, de plus, exacte !

D’un côté, la plaque de marquages sous châssis est plus courte, pour laisser du débattement au bogie. Mais les inscriptions sont dédoublées, comme si la machine à tampographie l'avait imprimée deux fois. Voir la photo. Cependant, une autre plaque de bonne longueur est fournie dans le sachet de pièces détachées, avec une tampographie correcte. Le sachet comprend aussi des crochets, avec et sans manille, des conduits pneumatiques et de chauffage, des boîtiers de connexion électrique (il en manque un) et seulement un soufflet replié, avec les suspentes correspondantes. En fait, il y en a trois pour les trois voitures du set, donc bien un seul par voiture. Tant pis pour les vitrinistes.Inscriptions sous caisse dédoublées

Le toit se déclipse facilement, et permet de découvrir un bar aménagé, avec tabourets, percolateur… Le comptoir possède même une barre d’appui. Voir la photo. Les porte-bagages des compartiments sont un peu déformés et cependant pas très fins, mais si peu visibles… Voir la photo.Inscriptions sous caisse dédoubléesInscriptions sous caisse dédoublées

À propos de choses peu visibles, les ressorts à lames de traction des attelages réels sont représentés sous l’aile de mouette… Voici une vue des organes de frein.Vue des organes de frein

Globalement, cette voiture est chère, mais, à part le petit couac du défaut d'impression de marquage mentionné, qui est invisible à l’œil nu, elle ne souffre aucune critique.

Voir :

Voitures construites en 1931 par les Entreprises industrielles charentaises (EIC) à Aytré pour les chemins de fer de l’État, dans le but de transporter les voyageurs vers les ports du Havre et de Cherbourg, d’où leur surnom de Transatlantiques. De deux types différents (A4yfi et A2syfi) au nombre de 25 chacun, ces voitures subirent de nombreuses modifications et changements d’affectation au cours de leur carrière.

Finalement, de 1958 à 1959, onze voitures sont transformées en bar B4smyfi, puis, de 1964 à 1966, en snack-bar B3r en perdant au passage un compartiment. Après la radiation d’une unité en 1967, les dix restantes reçoivent l’immatriculation UIC 51 87-85 47 201 à 210 et sont affectées à la région Sud-Est. Elles sont radiées à partir de 1978.

Ces voitures sont peut-être les seules OCEM à être autorisées à 150 km/h, car elles ont été équipées de sabots de freins en matière composite.

Source : Le Train, Les archives de l’OCEM, à partir de la page 51.

Documents

Voiture B3r OCEM ex-Transat Models WorldVoiture B3r OCEM ex-Transat Models World

Voiture B3r OCEM ex-Transat Models WorldVoiture B3r OCEM ex-Transat Models World

Cliché J.D. Hérail dans Le Train Archives de l’OCEM.

Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 23 263 267,4 266,7
Longueur châssis 21 933 252,1 252,0
Largeur caisse 2 938 33,8 34,2
Hauteur 3 946 45,4 45,4
Distance pivots 15 343 176,4 176,2
Empattement bogies 2 500 28,7 28,6
Diamètre roues 920 10,6 10,6

.