19/07/2021.

Type UH sleeping car ACME

Voiture-Lits U Hansa

Photo (excerpt) Gunnar W. Christensen on tog-billeder.dk.

ACME 51009

Type

Type U « Hansa » sleeping car in CIWL livery, DB management.

UIC number ex-CIWL Rev. date
71 80 71-80 756-1 4582 20.9.74

174 g (NEM: 115 to 150 g).

The model is finely represented, with a reservation on the glazing, which is not very flat; the truth is that the smallness of the windows doesn’t facilitate things, but the Roco is better in this respect. The underside is very detailed. Apart from the detail parts for the buffer beam, there are no parts to assemble.

One of the (photoetched) steps is a little crooked, which is obvious because it is not parallel to its neighbour above.

The roof, which is part of the body, is painted aluminium colour. A wheathering will be necessary.

Mechanically, it’s a bit of a mess. From the very first handling, I noticed a bad pivoting of the bogies. Even the two-point suspension is not possible. I dismantle the bogies by levering them with a screwdriver from the end of the coach (from the centre, it doesn’t give way and I didn’t insist). The pivot clips are deformed, and there are plastic burrs that explain the rubbing.

The running is also bad, and it’s not only due to the thick and inelastic pickup strips, like on the MU with MD bogies. With lubrication, it’s a little better, but the floating brake equipment, which is only attached at two points very close together and therefore tend to rotate, doesn’t help. No brass bearings.

The two-point suspension doesn’t work, as the relevant pivot is 0.27 mm higher than the supports. See picture.Problem of suspension

Axles: length 24.8; back-to-back wheel distance: 14.3 (NEM: 14.5±0.1). Wheels (not burnished) ø11; flanges 0,8.

See gamos81.altervista.org for the reference list of issued UH sleeping car models.

Modifications

  • Burrs on bogie pivots removed, clips softened.
  • Height reduction:
    • free pivot end: − 0.2 mm;
    • two-point support end: − 0.3 mm for the supports and − 0.5 mm  for the pivot.

Series of 40 sleeping cars built in 1957 for the CIWL by Hansa Waggonbau Bremen for the first 20 coaches, and by Waggon- und Maschinenbau Donauwörth (WMD) for the following coaches. Original numbers 4581 to 4620. The UIC numbers vary greatly depending on the owning administration, whether or not they are part of the TEN pool, the possibility of changing gauge, etc.

According to Pierre B. on the Loco-Revue forum (quote), coach no. 4620 was renumbered 4602 following the accidental destruction of the original 4602. This is confirmed by Dirk Frielingsdorf on the wagonslits.de forum (quote).

Sleeping car UH 4620 became sleeping car UH 4602 when the first sleeping car UH 4602 was written off due to an accident.

This is probably an accounting trick, in relation to the residual values. All these UH sleeping cars date from 1957. Like the other CIWL coaches, they are depreciated over 30 years. In the event of destruction by a railway, the CIWL could claim the residual value as compensation, which in the 1980s did not amount to much, hence a few such tricks. When exchanging one coach for another, the replacement coach took the book value of the replaced car.

Die UH-Serien lauten 4581-4600 (Hansa Waggonbau) und 4601-4620 (WMD), wobei die Nummer 4620 später (nach 1968?) für einen weiteren YC vergeben wurde, da der 4602 verunfallte und durch den 4602 II (ex 4620) ersetzt wurde.

The UH series is 4581-4600 (Hansa Waggonbau) and 4601-4620 (WMD), the number 4620 being later (after 1968?) attributed to another YC, as the 4602 had an accident and was replaced by the 4602 II (ex 4620).

Main characteristics: 11 compartments that can be arranged as single, double, or triple. Bogies Minden. Tare weight 47.5 t.

Documents

Type UH sleeping car ACMEType UH sleeping car ACME

Type UH sleeping car ACMEType UH sleeping car ACME

Type U Hansa sleeping car

Photo (excerpt) Gunnar W. Christensen on tog-billeder.dk.

1:87
25 100 288.5 290,0
24 740 284.4 285,0
24 060 276.6 277,0
2 890 33.2 34.4
4 250 48.9 49.5 1
17 000 195.4 195,0
2 500 28.7 28.7
1 000 11.5 11.0
  1. Average : 49.65 at the 2-point suspension end ; 49.45 at the other end.
    48.9 after reduction of pivots and supports.

.

TEN = Trans Euro Night,
pooling of sleeping cars from different European administrations.

19/07/2021.

Voiture-lits UH ACME

Voiture-Lits U Hansa

Cliché (extrait) Gunnar W. Christensen sur tog-billeder.dk.

ACME 51009

Type

Voiture-lits type U « Hansa » en livrée CIWL, gérance DB.

Numéro UIC ex-CIWL Date de rév.
71 80 71-80 756-1 4582 20.9.74

174 g (NEM : 115 à 150 g).

Modèle finement représenté, avec une réserve sur les vitrages, assez peu plans ; il est vrai que la petitesse des fenêtres ne facilite pas les choses, mais la Roco est mieux sur ce point. Le dessous est très détaillé. À part les pièces de détaillage des traverses de tamponnement, aucune pièce n’est à monter.

Une des marches (en photodécoupe) est un peu de travers, cela se voit car elle n’est pas parallèle à sa voisine du dessus.

Le toit, qui fait corps avec la caisse, est peint couleur aluminium. Une patine s’imposera.

Au point de vue mécanique, cela se gâte un peu. Dès les premières manipulations, je constate un mauvais pivotement des bogies. Même la portée en deux points ne se fait pas. Je démonte les bogies en faisant levier avec un tournevis par l’extrémité de la voiture (par le centre, ça ne cède pas et je n’ai pas insisté). Les clips de pivots sont déformés, et il y a des bavures de plastique qui expliquent les frottements.

Le roulement aussi est mauvais, et ce n’est pas seulement dû aux lamelles de prise de courant, trop épaisses et peu élastiques, comme sur les MU à bogies MD. En lubrifiant, ça va un peu mieux, mais les timoneries de frein flottantes, seulement attachées en deux points très rapprochés et qui ont donc tendance à pivoter, n’arrangent pas les choses. Pas de paliers en laiton.

La portée en deux points ne fonctionne pas, car le pivot concerné est plus haut de 0,27 mm que les supports. Voir photo.Problème de portée

Essieux : longueur 24,8 ; distance dos à dos des roues : 14,3 (NEM : 14,5±0,1). Roues (non brunies) ø11 ; boudins de 0,8.

Voir gamos81.altervista.org pour la liste des références des voitures-lits UH sorties en modèle réduit.

Modifications

  • Bavures des pivots de bogies supprimées, clips adoucis.
  • Réduction de hauteur :
    • côté pivot libre : − 0,2 mm ;
    • côté portée en deux points : − 0,3 mm pour les portées et − 0,5 mm pour le pivot.

Série de 40 voitures-lits construites en 1957 pour la CIWL par Hansa Waggonbau Bremen pour les vingt premières, et par Waggon- und Maschinenbau Donauwörth (WMD) pour les suivantes. Numéros d’origine 4581 à 4620. Les numéros UIC sont très variables en fonction de l’administration propriétaire, de l’apport ou non au pool TEN, de la possibilité de changement d’écartement, etc.

D’après Pierre B. sur le forum Loco-Revue (citation), la voiture no 4620 a été renumérotée 4602 suite à destruction accidentelle de la 4602 initiale. Ceci est confirmé par Dirk Frielingsdorf sur le forum de wagonslits.de (citation).

La voiture-lits UH 4620 est devenue la voiture-lits UH 4602, lorsque la première voiture-lit UH 4602 a été radiée à la suite d’un accident.

Il s’agit probablement d’un tour de passe-passe comptable, par rapport aux valeurs résiduelles. Toutes ces voitures-lits UH datent de 1957. Comme les autres voitures de la CIWL, elles sont amorties sur 30 ans. En cas de destruction par un chemin de fer, la CIWL pouvait demander la valeur résiduelle en compensation, ce qui dans les années 1980 ne représentait plus grand chose, d’où quelques astuces de ce genre. Lors de l’échange d’une voiture pour une autre, la voiture remplaçante prenait la valeur comptable de la voiture remplacée.

Die UH-Serien lauten 4581-4600 (Hansa Waggonbau) und 4601-4620 (WMD), wobei die Nummer 4620 später (nach 1968?) für einen weiteren YC vergeben wurde, da der 4602 verunfallte und durch den 4602 II (ex 4620) ersetzt wurde.

La série UH est 4581-4600 (Hansa Waggonbau) et 4601-4620 (WMD), le numéro 4620 étant plus tard (après 1968 ?) attribué à une autre YC, puisque la 4602 a eu un accident et a été remplacée par la 4602 II (ex 4620).

Caractéristiques : 11 compartiments aménageables en single, double ou triple. Bogies Minden. Tare 47,5 t.

Documents

Voiture-lits UH ACMEVoiture-lits UH ACME

Voiture-lits UH ACMEVoiture-lits UH ACME

Voiture-Lits U Hansa

Cliché (extrait) Gunnar W. Christensen sur tog-billeder.dk.

1:87
25 100 288,5 290,0
24 740 284,4 285,0
24 060 276,6 277,0
2 890 33,2 34,4
4 250 48,9 49,5 1
17 000 195,4 195,0
2 500 28,7 28,7
1 000 11,5 11,0
  1. Moyenne : 49,65 côté assise en deux points ; 49,45 de l’autre côté.
    48,9 après réduction des pivots et des portées.

.

TEN = Trans Euro Nuit,
mise en commun des voitures-lits des différentes administrations européennes.