26/06/2021.

Travelling post office PA type 1974 LS Models

Travelling post office PA type 1974

Photo Coll. G. Coudert on DocRail.

LS Models 40421-1 and 40421-2

Type

Travelling post office PA type 1974

UIC number Revision date
51 87 00-87 026-5 4 13.9.74
51 87 00-87 006-7 4 16.1.74

147 g (NEM: 121 to 158 g)

The box contains two 1974 PA and one OCEM PAz, all for the gentle price of about €250, i.e. an average of €84 each. Compared to other productions with a visible interior, this is very expensive!

The appearance is very satisfactory (the roof and the body are in one piece, so there is no joint problem…). The scale is almost perfectly respected. Some parts are not well assembled: inscription plates, buffers with divergent squinting. This is strangely often the case at LSM: bad design of the tenons?

The Y24 bogies are as usual fitted with brass bearings. The running is good. The brake discs are present. The wheels have a diameter of 10.7 mm and 0.9 mm flanges. The wheel back-to-back distance is 14.3 mm (NEM: 14.5 ± 0.1). The length of the axles is 24.7 mm.

A number of spare parts are provided: two steps, two electric jumpers, plus four steps to be fitted under the chassis, the original ones being fitted to the bogies. There are also the classic parts to decorate the buffer beams, with an extra one for each. The cable connection boxes fit quite easily and hold sufficiently, so no gluing is required. See photo.Spare parts

There is no problem inserting the couplings, and the heads can be in two positions: one fully inserted, and one 2 mm apart. The drawbars slide without any hard points.

When fitted with Profi heads, the vans are almost in contact when stationary. See photo But the drawbars have a lot of clearance: the gap can be up to 3 mm, or 1.5 mm per drawbar.No gap between the vans (stationary)

See:

The PA (bureau de poste ambulant) vans, type 1974, 26.40 m long, were built in 114 units from 1974 to 1980 by Établissements Soulé in Bagnères de Bigorre. They are equipped with Y24X bogies with mixed shoe and disc brakes.

Tare 47.5 t. Load 10 t. Speed limit 160 km/h.

Original registration numbers: 51 87 00-87 001-x to 099-x, 51 87 00-87 341-x to 343-x, and 50 87 00-77 344-x to 355-x.

Postmen were on board and sorted the mail contained in the postal bags during the train journey. Compared to the OCEM PA, the sorting room is only slightly larger, but the comfort is much improved, with dust removing tables, good thermal insulation and proper heating.

Documents

  • La Vie du Rail No 1456 of 1st september 1974.
  • Loco Revue No 357 of January 1975, p. 10 to 12.
  • Encyclopédie des voitures SNCF ed. 1990, p. 418 to 423.
  • Wikipedia article on post trains.
  • DocRail website.

Travelling post office PA type 1974 LS ModelsTravelling post office PA type 1974 LS Models

Travelling post office PA type 1974

Photo Coll. G. Coudert on DocRail.

1:87
26 400 303.4 305.0
26 100 300.0 299.8
25 100 288.5 290.0
2 825 32.5 32.8
4 230 48.6 49.1
19 000 218.4 218.3
2 300 26.4 26.2
920 10.6 10.7

26/06/2021.

Ambulant postal PA type 1974 LS Models

Ambulant postal PA type 1974

Cliché Coll. G. Coudert sur DocRail.

LS Models 40421-1 et 40421-2

Type

PAz ambulant postal type 1974

Numéro UIC Date de révision
51 87 00-87 026-5 4 13.9.74
51 87 00-87 006-7 4 16.1.74

147 g (NEM : 121 à 158 g)

La boîte contient deux PA 1974 et un PAz OCEM, le tout pour le doux prix de 250 € environ, soit une moyenne de 84 € pièce. Par rapport à d’autres productions à l’aménagement visible, c’est très cher !

L’apparence est très satisfaisante (le toit et la caisse sont d’une seule pièce, donc pas de problème de joint…). L’échelle est quasi parfaitement respectée. Certaines pièces ne sont pas bien montées : plaques d’inscriptions, tampons affligés de strabisme divergent. C’est bizarrement assez souvent le cas chez LSM : mauvaise conception des tenons ?

Les deux voitures sont équipées d’une conduite de chauffage vapeur.

Les bogies Y24 sont comme d’habitude munis de paliers en laiton. Le roulement est bon. Les disques de frein sont représentés. Les essieux ont un diamètre de roulement de 10,7 mm et des boudins de 0,9 mm. La distance dos-à-dos des roues est de 14,3 mm (NEM : 14,5 ± 0,1). La longueur des axes est de 24,7 mm. Les roues ne sont pas brunies, juste légèrement bronzées.

Plusieurs pièces de rechange sont fournies : deux marchepieds, deux câblots, plus quatre marchepieds destinés à être fixés sous le châssis, ceux qui sont montés d’origine étant fixés sur les bogies. Il y a aussi les pièces classiques destinées à décorer les traverses de tête, avec une supplémentaire pour chacune. Les boîtiers de connexion des câblots se montent assez facilement et tiennent suffisamment pour ne pas nécessiter de collage. Voir photo.Pièces de rechange

L’insertion des attelages ne pose pas de problème ; de plus, les têtes peuvent prendre deux positions : une complètement enfoncée et une autre écartée de 2 mm. Les timons coulissent sans point dur.

Attelées avec des têtes Profi, les voitures sont pratiquement au contact à l’arrêt. Voir photo. Mais les timons ont un jeu important : l’écart peut atteindre 3 mm, soit 1,5 mm par timon.Pes d’espace enre les voitures (à l’arrêt)

Voir :

Les fourgons PA (bureau de poste ambulant) type 1974 de 26,40 m ont été construits en 114 exemplaires de 1973 à 1980 par les Éts Soulé à Bagnères de Bigorre. Ils sont équipés de bogies Y24X à freinage mixte par sabots et par disques.

Tare 47,5 t. Charge 10 t. Vitesse limite 160 km/h.

Immatriculation d’origine : 51 87 00-87 001-x à 099-x, 51 87 00-87 341-x à 343-x et 50 87 00-77 344-x à 355-x.

Des postiers étaient à bord et triaient le courrier contenu dans les sacs postaux pendant le trajet du train. Par rapport aux PA OCEM, la salle de tri est à peine plus grande, mais le confort est très amélioré, avec des tables de dépoussiérage, une bonne isolation thermique et un chauffage correct.

Documents

Ambulant postal PA type 1974 LS ModelsAmbulant postal PA type 1974 LS Models

Ambulant postal PA type 1974

Cliché Coll. G. Coudert sur DocRail.

1:87
26 400 303,4 305,0
26 100 300,0 299,8
25 100 288,5 290,0
2 825 32,5 32,8
4 230 48,6 49,1
19 000 218,4 218,3
2 300 26,4 26,2
920 10,6 10,7