01/12/202108/12/2021.

BB 13020 Jouef

BB 13048

Photo J.-P. Lescat on railfaneurope.net.

Jouef HJ2402

Type

BB 13020

Mass / slipping current at 12 V DC

250 g / 320 mA

Fine engraving. Contrary to the photomontage provided by Hornby — and fortunately, the machine has no red lights next to the white lights. The respect of the scale is almost perfect.

Some detail parts have to be fitted: electric jumpers and plugs, brake hoses, articulated screw couplings. The latter cannot be configured at rest, with the shackle attached to the buffer beam. The front footsteps are photoetched openwork. There are also parts representing the insulating poles for manual lifting of the pantographs, but they are rather poorly represented (hollow, silvered); a pity for the display (for operators, these parts can interfere with the movement of the bogies).

The pantographs are the same as on the 14000/14100 of the brand; they are fixed by a screw on their support. Unfortunately, the latter is fitted with a central barrel for the screw to pass through, which does not exist in reality, and which will not be very discreet if I remove the screw as I usually do. Inside the cab, blades make contact with extensions of the supports for a possible power take-off from the pantographs, in conjunction with a jumper switch on the PCB.

Trix BB 12000 have been criticized for having secondary suspension springs stuck to the bogie side beams. Here they are correctly attached to the chassis, but this time not set back far enough from it.

The drawbars have no elongation, and are fitted with a dovetail in accordance with NEM 363 (housing for coupling head in case of lack of space). The tightening of the coupling head does not seem to be very effective. Suitable heads are available from Fleischmann under the reference Profi 6570, and from Roco under the references 40281, 40286 or 40287 (“harpoons”). Dovetail coupling extensions are included in the parts bag.

The wheels have decorated side discs. They have the correct back-to-back spacing (14.4 mm).

Electrically, the machine starts at about 3 V (before running in). It consumes 320 mA when slipping, and 950 mA when stalling.

The installation of a 21MTC decoder does not pose any difficulty, except that the dismantling of the body is delicate (handrails to remove, screws rather difficult to reach). The removal of the dummy must be done very gradually, as the printed circuit is quite flexible and may break. The wires connecting the bogies are thinner than the LEDs’. Very logical!

See:

Modifications

  • Lenz Silver 21+ installed.

Single-phase locomotives with direct motors, built in 53 units between 1954 and 1961, by (according to the sub-series): M.T.E., Fives-Lille, S.F.A.C., S.L.M. for the mechanical part; M.T.E., Jeumont, Oerlikon, BBC (Brown Boveri), Sécheron for the electrical part.

Main characteristics (the first value relates to the BB 13001 to 15, the second to the rest of the series):

  • continuous power: 2005 kW (2720 hp) / 2134 kW (2900 hp);
  • corresponding effort: 13 000 daN / 11 600 daN ;
  • maximum speed : 105 km/h / 120 km/h ;
  • empty weight: 84 t.

These locomotives have four eighteen-pole AC motors of the “resistant connections” type. Their bogies are of the Jacquemin type.

They were mainly used to haul relatively light goods trains — accelerated speed, (régime accéléré, RA) — and regional express or omnibus trains in the East and North of France.

The BB 13020 was put into service in December 1956 in Strasbourg. It remained there until its cancellation in December 1993.

Documents

BB 13020 JouefBB 13020 Jouef

BB 13048

Photo J.-P. Lescat on railfaneurope.net.

1:87
15 200 174.7 175.0
14 010 161.0 160.8
(cab) 2 900 33.3 33.7
3 695 42.5 42.6
8 200 94.3 94.1
3 200 36.8 36.8
1 250 14.4 14.3

.

01/12/202108/12/2021.

BB 13020 Jouef

BB 13048

Cliché J.-P. Lescat sur railfaneurope.net.

Jouef HJ2402

Type

BB 13020

Masse / courant au patinage sous 12 V

250 g / 320 mA

Gravure fine. Contrairement au photomontage fourni par Hornby — et heureusement, la machine n’a pas de feux rouges accolées aux feux blancs. Le respect de l’échelle est quasi parfait.

Des pièces de détaillage sont à monter : câblots et prises, demi-accouplements de frein, attelages à vis articulés. Ces derniers ne peuvent pas être configurés au repos, avec la manille accrochée sur la traverse de tête. Les marchepieds de face sont ajourés, en photodécoupe. Il y a aussi des pièces représentant les perches isolantes pour montée manuelle des pantographes, mais assez mal représentées (en creux, argentées) ; dommage pour les vitrinistes (pour les exploitants, ces pièces peuvent gêner le débattement des bogies).

Les pantographes sont les mêmes que sur les 14000/14100 de la marque ; ils sont fixés par une vis sur leur support. Malheureusement, ce dernier est affublé d’un canon central, pour le passage de la vis, qui n’existe pas en réalité, et qui sera peu discret si j’enlève la vis comme je le fais d’habitude. À l’intérieur de la cabine, des lames font contact avec des prolongements des supports pour une éventuelle prise de courant par les pantographes, en association avec un sélecteur à cavalier sur le circuit imprimé.

On a reproché aux BB 12000 Trix d’avoir des ressorts de suspension secondaire collés aux balanciers des bogies. Ici, ils sont bien fixés au châssis, mais, cette fois, pas assez en retrait par rapport à celui-ci.

Les timons n’ont pas d’élongation, et sont munis d’une queue d’aronde conforme à la NEM 363 (boîtier pour tête d'attelage en cas de manque de place). Le serrage de la tête d’attelage ne paraît pas très efficace. Des têtes adaptées existent chez Fleischmann sous la référence Profi 6570, et chez Roco sous les références 40281, 40286 ou 40287 (« harpons »). Des rallonges d’attelage à queue d’aronde se trouvent dans le sachet de pièces.

Les roues ont des flancs décorés. Leur écartement dos à dos est conforme (14,4 mm).

Au point de vue électrique, en courant continu, la machine démarre sous 3 V environ (avant rodage). Elle consomme 320 mA au patinage, et 950 mA moteur bloqué.

L’installation d’un décodeur 21MTC ne pose pas de difficulté, si ce n’est que le démontage de la caisse est délicat (mains montoires à enlever, vis assez difficiles à atteindre). Le retrait du « bouchon » est à faire très progressivement, car le circuit imprimé est assez souple et fait craindre la casse. Les fils de liaison aux bogies sont plus fins que ceux des LED. La logique m’échappe !

Voir :

Modifications

  • Décodeur Lenz Silver 21+ monté.

Locomotives monophasées à moteurs directs, construites en 53 exemplaires entre 1954 et 1961, par (en fonction des sous-séries) :

  • M.T.E., Fives-Lille, S.F.A.C., S.L.M. pour la partie mécanique ;
  • M.T.E., Jeumont, Oerlikon, BBC (Brown Boveri), Sécheron pour la partie électrique.

Caractéristiques principales (la première valeur concerne les BB 13001 à 15, la deuxième le reste de la série) :

  • puissance continue : 2005 kW (2720 ch) / 2134 kW (2900 ch) ;
  • effort correspondant : 13 000 daN / 11 600 daN ;
  • vitesse maximale : 105 km/h / 120 km/h ;
  • masse à vide : 84 t.

Ces locomotives ont quatre moteurs à courant alternatif du type « à connexions résistantes », à dix-huit pôles. Leurs bogies sont du type Jacquemin.

Elles étaient principalement affectées à la traction de trains de marchandises relativement légers (régime accéléré, RA) et à des express ou omnibus régionaux, dans l’Est et le Nord.

La BB 13020 est mise en service en décembre 1956 à Strasbourg. Elle y est restée jusqu’à sa radiation en décembre 1993.

Documents

BB 13020 JouefBB 13020 Jouef

BB 13048

Cliché J.-P. Lescat sur railfaneurope.net.

1:87
15 200 174,7 175,0
14 010 161,0 160,8
cabine 2 900 33,3 33,7
3 695 42,5 42,6
8 200 94,3 94,1
3 200 36,8 36,8
1 250 14,4 14,3

.