6/02/202013/02/2020.

To work with small parts, whether SMD components on PCB or detailing parts on a model, I have been using OptiVisor magnifying glasses for a few years, allowing seeing in stereo, which would be impossible with a watchmaker’s magnifying glass.

Optivisor head band magnifier

There is still a drawback: I have to get close enough to the objects; as a result, I breathe in the scent of soldering flux or glue. Neither very pleasant nor very healthy. On the other hand, you have to constantly raise the glasses for normal vision and then put them down to work. It is also difficult to wear headphones at the same time to listen to your favourite music.

I thought of another solution as I was looking for a scientific gift idea for one of my grandchildren: a “digital microscope”! In fact, I would rather say electronic magnifier. Yes, but with the promised magnification (× 1000), we exceed the capabilities of a magnifying glass… The promises are only binding on those who believe them, let’s wait and see…

My purchases

Among my selection criteria, there were:

First I wanted to get information about the qualities and shortcomings of this kind of object. First disappointment: on the allegedly comparison sites, they just give a brief description, then copy the sellers’ arguments, without any objective test. Even better: the quality ranking is only based on the sale number! So I want to denounce this kind of completely bogus website!

I’m going to have to make up my own mind. Initial research leads me to some observations. First, the first prices are around €20, but without Wi-Fi connection. To get this, you have to go up to more than €30. However, Wi-Fi is only possible with a cellphone. Why ? I don’t know. So let’s not insist on this point.

In terms of image resolution, most sellers advertise 2Mp, or 1920 × 1080 pixels. We’ll see what to think about it.

Heystop Digital Microscope

I started by buying this model.

Note: I give the links not because I recommend the products, but so that you can check my comments. Suffice to say right away that none of the models cited does exactly what it promises.

The device is delivered without software; you have to go to an internet address and download a utility, camera.exe, which will be the same for the other models.

Smart Camera home screen

The black area is the display area that I have reduced here. You can switch to full screen with the button .

Settings

What are the setting parameters? Let’s see the Settings tab.

Smart Camera setup screen

First observation: no setting for photos. For video, we have a few choices, some of which make the image unstable or split… Note that the best video format is the one displayed, at 1280 × 720, or 921,600 pixels. We are far from the 2 Mp claimed.

You may have noticed a Video Advanced Settings button. As the name suggests, it is for video only. It gives access to different image settings (colour, balance, etc.) and on the camera. But the few attempts I made did not allow me to see any influence from these settings.

Image resolution

Well, for the photo, I confirm, the resolution is also 1280 × 720, and there is no way to change it. To be honest, I would add that 2 Mp is possible in Wi-Fi with a cellphone. But I don’t want to juggle between PC and cellphone, and anyway, this restriction is not mentioned on the website. This is therefore a false allegation.

Magnification and focusing

The “magnification” adjustment is done by a large side wheel (very good!) which has a lot of clearance (much less good!), which moves the image and therefore makes the adjustment very random.

Focusing is achieved by moving the camera forwards or backwards in relation to the object to be viewed. This is normal: we do the same thing in classic macro photo, because it is more efficient and more precise than acting on the lens focus ring. Provided you can do it in good conditions.

Stand

Before making the first tests, you must mount the device on its stand. Here, one would think that the manufacturers are ingenious to find the worst possible solution, in any case certainly the cheapest possible.

In the present case, the adjustment is made with a wing nut that tightens two plates themselves enclosing two (plastic) ball joints, you know, like on the cheap “third hands”. Unable to adjust to a specific position. On the other hand, the device is mounted in the stand by a clip which fits into a groove. It is wider than the clip fingers that enter it: there is significant clearance. Just touch the camera (well obliged to focus) to upset everything.

In addition, if you rotate the device to straighten the image seen on the screen, there is a good chance that the clip at least partially hides the adjustment wheel! Finally, the distance to the working surface is ridiculous, unless you position the camera at an angle (the depth of field allows it).

Heystop stand

Magnification

It is indicated in large characters under the wheel: 50× to 1000×. But what does Magnification mean? For me, it is the relationship between the object size and its reproduction, here on the screen. It is obvious that this relationship will be very different between a cellphone and a desktop screen.

In fact, on my 24-inch screen, the magnification, measured by displaying a ruler image, is 220× maximum when the device tip touches the ruler! To reach 1000×, you would therefore need a 109-inch screen, almost 2.8 m diagonal…

Photo of a ruler for measuring magnification

Notice on this screenshot the bottom of the image which should be neutral grey. This shows how much I had to change the colour balance to get an acceptable steel shade for the ruler. The automatic balance was confused by the green background of my cutting mat!

In fact, for my main application, this maximum magnification does not interest me, because to work under the device, a space of at least 60 mm is needed. But it can be nice to view for example small animals like mites living in some cheese crust! Or other, much more disgusting things that I leave to your imagination…

There are two buttons on the device body marked + and −, whose instructions tell us that they are used to adjust the zoom level. It may work over Wi-Fi, but not over USB.

Image quality

What about image quality? We suspect it: very poor, despite a large depth of field probably due to the very small lens aperture. This depth of field, which you never get with an actual microscope, is very appreciable for working under the camera: you don’t always have your hands or tools at a constant and precise distance from the lens.

On the other hand, to publish images, it is much less brilliant: the exposure and the colour balance are automatic, and change from one image to another. For the colorimetric consistency of the images, we will come back another day!

Practical aspect

What about the practical aspect for which I bought this device? I expected a recurring problem with these devices, revealed in a video by Électro-Bidouilleur: the delay time or lag between movements and their reproduction on the screen. I must say that it’s quite sensitive at first, with the feeling of a sort of drunkenness. But you get used to it quickly; you only must have slow gestures, as much because of this delay as of the great movement amplification.

For example, I succeeded quite easily in making very small rings (ø 1 mm) and connect them with a wire on a chain. Another advantage is that you can immediately see the defects that would be invisible to the naked eye (at least for me!).

Making a ring

Attaching a chain to a hook

Regarding the soldering of electronic components, it is a little less easy because of the reflections of the too direct integrated LED lighting. However, external lighting can be used, but it will be difficult to adjust to get some comfort.

View of a PCB with SMD

Provisional conclusion

The quality is very limited, some allegations are either false or biased, but this device is usable provided that you find a better quality stand. In addition, the device is relatively expensive, at least more than others of similar features that we will see later.

I will note before continuing that the devices that I will test later have almost the same qualities and defects, with a few slight differences.

We need a better stand

Such a stand is absolutely necessary to obtain stable images. I found this model, which exists under different brands and at various prices. It comes with some microscopes. It is made almost entirely of aluminium. The rack column can be oriented in any direction thanks to the large foot nut. The friction is adjusted with the small knurled knob on the back, and the height with one or the other of the two large side knobs.

It comes with a semi-rigid bag which allows it to be housed (disassembled in two parts) with your favourite microscope.

Stand in its bag

The only complaint I can make is that the column is a bit short: the maximum distance between the tray and the microscope bottom is only about 110 mm (it depends on the microscope). But since you can orient the stand out of the base, it doesn’t matter much.

Pancellent Wireless Digital Microscope

Here is this model.

.

The characteristics given are almost the same as for the previous one. The price is almost the same too. The differences: the stand which is here of “snake” type, and the presence of “preparation slides”, of which the seller says a little naively (sic): [Collection of 12 slides] With plastic materials, it is not as clear as glass, but they are safer for you and can stimulate people’s curiosity to explore microscopic elements. Obviously, for a child’s safety, a plastic blade is less dangerous than glass, but, with the blade thickness, sticking with adhesive tape, plus the light reflections, we see almost nothing. So, no interest.

In use, the snake stand would be more pleasant than the wing nut one, except that the clip is exactly the same, and gives the same clearance which makes it unusable! The plastic base is squared in centimeters and has graduated rulers. The snake fixing screw protrudes under the base which is not milled enough. As it is not equipped with feet, it makes the whole wobbly, which does not help anything.

Pancellent microscope on its stand

This device is a little shorter than the Heystop. Its zoom wheel has less clearance and is firmer. On the other hand, the LEDs light intensity adjustment is not very progressive, almost all-or-nothing.

The electronic circuits seem identical (I did not disassemble), the software is the same.

Here, even on a cellphone, I failed to get the 2Mp resolution.

Finally, apart from the slightly better stand, nothing really separates the two devices. Consequently, the two were returned to their sender. I would point out that I reported on the sales website “incorrect product information”, as well as to the sellers themselves. Sellers’ reaction: we offer you a discount, please don’t say anything, we will correct the announcement! I refused. Three months later, no changes are made to the product description.

LayOPO Wireless Digital Microscope

Here is this model.

Seeing the photo of the product, we suspect that it is exactly the same as the previous one. With no “slides”, and for €9 less, which is not so bad. We will perhaps forgive it more easily for some faults…

Before ordering, I ask the seller if the resolution is 2 Mp as indicated, stating that I use Windows and that I have been disappointed on this point by other similar products. The answer is absolutely positive. I am not totally fooled; we’ll see.

The downside is that the product comes directly from China, so the shipping time is three weeks, actually even a month… And, of course, on arrival, the resolution is only 1 Mp.

Here, it took several email exchanges for them to finally admit the false allegation, after perfectly delaying responses. The bafflegab is not just for politicians. I got a 60 % discount… In reality, only 30 %, because I bought two devices (remember, at the beginning, it was a gift for a grandson, who liked it well for that matter). The discount only applied to the last purchased.

This time, I kept the device, knowing that every other I would find in this price range would be almost identical.

Last thing: think about protecting the lens from soldering fumes.

Comparison of tested models

Note: the last two models, identical, are grouped together into a single column in this comparison table.

Characteristic Heystop Pancellent / LayOPO
Stand Articulation with wing nut Snake on plastic tray
Min. dist. from tray 0 mm 10 mm
Max. dist. from tray 14 mm 60 mm
Stand holding Bad Bad
Switch on / off By long press By long press
Adjustment wheel Much clearance Quite firm, little clear.
Adjustment easiness Bad Average
Lighting quality 8 cold white LEDs 8 cold white LEDs
Light power Less strong Rather strong
Light control Quite progressive Little progressive
Max. magnification
(on 24” display)
220x 220x
USB cable A little short: 102 cm Too short: 83 cm
PC software Camera.exe, very basic
Lag Perceptible delay Perceptible delay
Max. res. on PC 1280 × 720 1280 × 720
Max. res., Android 1920 × 1080 1280 × 720
Image quality Poor, auto and non-changeable balance and brightness
Definition on image of:
PCB at 100 mm 371 KB 413 KB
Barcode at 100 mm 315 KB 348 KB
SMD at 0 mm 291 KB 299 KB

Is there anything better?

By putting the price on it, can we find better, without going to the conventional binocular magnifier?

Dinolite

Dinolite, an American brand, offers a higher price range, even much higher. Here, we start at around €134, for a resolution of… 0.3 Mp, and we go up to almost €300 for 1.3 Mp. Are the Chinese device sensors overrated?

Despite the prices, and apparently much more advanced software, these devices are not necessarily satisfactory, as witness this video of 2016 whose author doesn’t mince his words (it’s a $700 piece of shit). It must be said that this PCB repairer has a real binocular microscope with digital sensor. He is used to luxury!

Andonstar

Dave Jones (EEVblog), in his Cheap USB Microscope Reviews video, already old (2014), joins my own observations. The second device tested seems better, and allows many software settings. A similar model, but not necessarily of the same quality, is available in France: the Andonstar A1. It comes with a good-looking stand.

Electro-Bidouilleur tested the Andonstar ADSM201 in 2017 (in French). This device is available here, or, cheaper here. The built-in display is not necessarily very practical for my taste, but there is an HDMI output for connection to an external display.

Conclusion

Provided you choose the cheapest model — there are still cheaper if you don’t want the Wi-Fi connection — and choose a more serious stand than that provided, this kind of device can be useful as digital magnifying glass. But you shouldn’t ask it for an image quality similar to that of digital cameras or cellphones. We are very far from that.

In the lower price range, the Andonstar A1 seems like an interesting choice, but I didn’t test it.

Heystop Digital Microscope
€39 — price 2020
at Amazon

Jiusion Stand for Digital Microscope
€20 — price 2020
at Amazon

Pancellent Digital Microscope
€38 — price 2020
at Amazon

LayOPO Wireless Digital Microscope
€29 — price 2020
at Amazon

Dinolite
From €134 — price 2020
at Amazon

Andonstar A1
€39 + 5 — price 2020
at Ebay

Andonstar ADSM201
€150 + 13 — price 2020
at Ebay

Andonstar ADSM201
€129 — price 2020
at aliexpress

6/02/202013/02/2020.

Pour travailler sur de petites pièces, que ce soient des composants CMS sur circuit imprimé ou des pièces de détaillage sur un modèle réduit, j’utilise depuis quelques années des lunettes grossissantes OptiVisor qui permettent de voir en stéréo, ce qui serait impossible avec une loupe d’horloger.

Loupe frontale Optivisor

Il y a quand même un inconvénient : je suis obligé de m’approcher assez près des objets ; du coup, je respire des effluves de flux de soudure ou de colle. Ni très agréable, ni très sain. D’autre part, il faut constamment relever les lunettes pour une vision normale puis les rabattre pour travailler. Difficile aussi de porter en même temps un casque audio pour écouter sa musique préférée.

J’ai pensé à une autre solution alors que je cherchais une idée de cadeau scientifique pour un de mes petits-enfants : un « microscope numérique » ! En fait, je dirais plutôt loupe électronique. Oui, mais avec les grossissements promis (× 1000), on dépasse les capacités d’une loupe… Les promesses n’engageant que ceux qui les croient, attendons de voir…

Mes achats

Parmi mes critères de choix, il y avait :

J’ai voulu d’abord me renseigner sur les qualités et les défauts de ce genre d’objet. Première déception : sur les sites prétendument de comparaison, on se contente de donner une brève description, puis de recopier l’argumentaire des vendeurs, sans aucun test objectif. Encore mieux : le classement de qualité n’est fondé que sur le nombre de ventes ! Je tiens donc à dénoncer ce genre de site complètement bidon !

Je vais devoir me faire ma propre opinion. Une première recherche m’amène à certaines constatations. D’abord, les premiers prix sont aux environs de 20 €, mais sans liaison Wi-Fi. Pour avoir celle-ci, il faut monter à plus de 30 €. Cependant, le Wi-Fi n’est possible qu’avec un smartphone. Pourquoi ? Je n’en sais rien. N’insistons donc pas sur ce point.

Pour ce qui est de la résolution d’image, la plupart annoncent 2Mp, soit 1920 × 1080 pixels. On verra ce qu’il faut en penser.

Microscope Digital Heystop

J’ai commencé par acheter ce modèle.

Note : je donne les liens non pas parce que je recommande les produits, mais pour que vous puissiez vérifier mes propos. Autant vous dire tout de suite qu’aucun des modèles cités ne respecte exactement ses promesses.

L’appareil est livré sans logiciel ; il faut se rendre à une adresse Internet et télécharger un utilitaire, camera.exe, qui s’avérera le même pour les autres modèles.

Écran d’accueil de Smart Camera

La zone noire est celle d’affichage que j’ai réduite ici. On peut passer en plein écran avec le bouton .

Réglages

Quels sont les paramètres de réglage ? Voyons l’onglet Settings.

Écran de configuration de Smart Camera

Première constatation : aucun réglage pour les photos. Pour la vidéo, on a quelques choix dont certains rendent l’image instable ou dédoublée… On notera que le format vidéo le meilleur est celui affiché, de 1280 × 720, soit 921 600 pixels. On est loin des 2 Mp annoncés.

Vous aurez peut-être remarqué un bouton Video Advanced Settings. Comme son nom l’indique, il est réservé à la vidéo. Il permet d’accéder à différents réglages sur l’image (couleur, balance, etc.) et sur la caméra. Mais les quelques essais que j’ai faits n’ont pas permis de voir une influence quelconque de ces réglages.

Résolution d’image

Eh bien, pour la photo, je le confirme, la résolution est aussi de 1280 × 720, et il n’y a aucune possibilité de la modifier. J’ajouterai pour être honnête que les 2 Mp sont possibles en Wi-Fi avec smartphone. Mais je n’ai pas envie de jongler entre PC et smartphone, et, quoi qu’il en soit, cette restriction n’est pas mentionnée sur le site. Il s’agit donc d’une allégation mensongère.

Agrandissement et mise au point

Le réglage de « grossissement » se fait par une grosse molette latérale (très bien !) qui a énormément de jeu (beaucoup moins bien !), ce qui fait bouger l’image et rend donc le réglage très aléatoire.

La mise au point s’effectue en avançant ou en reculant l’appareil par rapport à l’objet à regarder. C’est normal : on fait la même chose en macro photo classique, car c’est plus efficace et plus précis que d’agir sur la mise au point de l’objectif. À condition de pouvoir le faire dans de bonnes conditions.

Support

Avant de faire les premiers tests, il faut monter l’appareil sur son support. Ici, on croirait que les fabricants se sont ingéniés à trouver la solution la plus mauvaise possible, en tout cas certainement la moins chère possible.

Dans le cas présent, le réglage se fait avec un écrou papillon qui serre deux plaques elles-mêmes enserrant deux rotules (en plastique), vous savez, comme sur les « troisièmes mains » bon marché. Impossible à ajuster à une position précise. D’autre part, l’appareil se monte dans le support par un clip qui s’insère dans une rainure. Celle-ci est plus large que les doigts du clip qui y pénètrent : il y a un jeu important. Il suffit d’effleurer l’appareil (bien obligé pour faire la mise au point) pour tout dérégler.

De plus, si on fait tourner l’appareil pour redresser l’image vue sur l’écran, il y a de grandes chances que le clip masque au moins partiellement la molette de réglage ! Enfin, la distance au plan de travail est ridicule, à moins de positionner l’appareil en oblique (la profondeur de champ le permet).

Pied support du Heystop

Grossissement

Il est indiqué en grands caractères sous la molette : 50× à 1000×. Mais qu’est-ce que Grossissement signifie ? Rien à mes yeux. Ce qui compte, c’est le grandissement, c.-à-d. le rapport entre la taille de l’objet et sa reproduction, ici sur l’écran. Il est évident que ce rapport sera très différent entre un smartphone et un écran de bureau.

En fait, sur mon écran de 24 pouces, le grandissement, mesuré en affichant l’image d’un réglet, est de 220× au maximum lorsque l’embout de l’appareil touche le réglet ! Pour arriver à 1000×, il faudrait donc un écran de 109 pouces, soit presque 2,8 m de diagonale…

Photo d’un réglet pour mesurer le grandissement

Remarquez sur cette copie d’écran le bas de l’image qui devrait être gris neutre. Cela montre à quel point j’ai dû modifier la balance des couleurs pour obtenir une teinte acier acceptable pour le réglet. La balance automatique s’est fait piéger par le fond vert de mon tapis de coupe !

En fait, pour mon application principale, ce grandissement maximal ne m’intéresse pas, car il faut pour travailler sous l’appareil un dégagement d’au moins 60 mm. Mais il peut être sympathique pour visionner par exemple de petits animaux comme les acariens qui vivent dans la croûte de la mimolette ! Ou d’autres choses nettement plus dégoûtantes que je laisse à votre imagination…

Il y a sur le corps de l’appareil deux boutons marqués + et −, dont la notice nous dit qu’ils servent à régler le niveau de zoom. Cela fonctionne peut-être en Wi-Fi, mais pas en USB.

Qualité d’image

Qu’en est-il de la qualité d’image ? On s’en doutera : très médiocre, en dépit d’une profondeur de champ importante due probablement à la très petite ouverture de la lentille. Cette profondeur de champ, que l’on n’a jamais avec un vrai microscope, est très appréciable pour travailler sous l’appareil : on n’a pas tout le temps les mains ou les outils à une distance constante et précise de l’objectif.

En revanche, pour publier des images, c’est beaucoup moins reluisant : l’exposition et la balance de couleur sont automatiques, et changent d’une image à l’autre. Pour la cohérence colorimétrique des images, on repassera !

Aspect pratique

Quid de l’aspect pratique pour lequel j’ai acheté cet appareil ? Je m’attendais à un problème récurrent de ces appareils révélé sur une vidéo de Électro-Bidouilleur : le temps de retard ou latence entre les mouvements et leur reproduction sur l’écran. Je dois dire que c’est assez sensible au début, avec la sensation d’une sorte d’ivresse. Mais on s’habitue vite ; il faut seulement avoir des gestes lents, tant à cause de ce retard que de la grande amplification des mouvements.

J’ai par exemple réussi à fabriquer assez facilement de très petits anneaux (ø 1 mm) et à les raccorder par un fil sur une chaînette. Un autre avantage est que l’on voit tout de suite les défauts qui seraient invisibles à l’œil nu (en tout cas pour moi !).

Fabrication d’un anneau

Fabrication d'une chaîne avec crochet

Concernant la soudure de composants électroniques, c’est un peu moins facile à cause des reflets de l’éclairage à LED intégré trop direct. Cependant, on peut utiliser un éclairage extérieur, mais ce sera difficile à ajuster pour un certain confort.

Vue d’un circuit imprimé avec composant CMS

Conclusion provisoire

La qualité est très limite, quelques allégations sont soit mensongères, soit biaisées, mais cet appareil est utilisable à condition de trouver un support de meilleure qualité. De plus, l’appareil est relativement cher, en tout cas plus que d’autres de caractéristiques semblables que nous verrons plus loin.

Je remarquerai avant de continuer que les appareils que je vais tester plus loin ont presque les mêmes qualités et défauts, à quelques nuances près.

Il faut un support de meilleure qualité

Un tel support est absolument nécessaire pour obtenir des images stables. J’ai trouvé ce modèle, qui existe sous différentes marques et à des prix variés. Il est livré avec certains microscopes. Il est fabriqué pratiquement complètement en aluminium. La colonne à crémaillère peut s’orienter en tout sens grâce au gros écrou du pied. La friction se règle avec le petit bouton moleté à l’arrière, et la hauteur avec l’un ou l’autre des deux gros boutons latéraux.

Il est livré avec une housse semi-rigide qui permet de le loger (démonté en deux parties) avec votre microscope préféré.

Support dans sa housse

Le seul reproche que je peux lui faire est d’avoir une colonne un peu courte : la distance maximale entre le plateau et le bas du microscope n’est que de 110 mm environ (elle dépend du microscope). Mais comme on peut orienter le support hors du socle, cela n’a pas grande importance.

Microscope numérique sans fil Pancellent

Voici ce modèle.

Les caractéristiques données sont quasi les mêmes que pour le précédent. Le prix est quasi le même aussi. Les différences : le support qui est ici à flexible en « col de cygne », et la présence de « lames de préparations », dont le vendeur dit un peu naïvement (sic) : [Collection de 12 diapositives] Avec les matériaux en plastique, ce n’était pas aussi clair que le verre, mais ils sont plus sûrs pour vous et peuvent stimuler la curiosité des gens pour l’exploration d’éléments microscopiques. Évidemment, pour la sécurité d’un enfant, une lame de plastique est moins dangereuse que du verre, mais, avec l’épaisseur des lames, le collage avec du ruban adhésif, plus les réflexions de lumière, on ne voit presque rien. Aucun intérêt donc.

À l’usage, le support flexible serait plus agréable que celui à papillon, sauf que le clip est exactement le même, et donne le même jeu qui le rend inutilisable ! Le socle, en plastique, est quadrillé en centimètres et possède des règles graduées. La vis de fixation du flexible dépasse sous le socle qui n’est pas assez fraisé. Comme il n’est pas muni de pieds, cela rend l’ensemble bancal, ce qui n’arrange rien.

Microscope Pancellent sur son support

Cet appareil est un peu plus court que le Heystop. Sa molette de zoom a moins de jeu et est plus ferme. En revanche, le réglage de l’intensité lumineuse des LED est très peu progressif, presque en tout-ou-rien.

Les circuits électroniques semblent identiques (je n’ai pas démonté), le logiciel est le même.

Ici, même sur smartphone, je n’ai pas réussi à obtenir la résolution de 2Mp.

Finalement, à part le support un peu meilleur, rien ne départage vraiment les deux appareils. Par conséquent, les deux ont été renvoyés à leur expéditeur. Je ferai remarquer que j’ai signalé sur le site de vente « les informations incorrectes sur le produit », ainsi qu’aux vendeurs eux-mêmes. Réaction des vendeurs : on vous propose une réduction, ne dites rien, on va corriger l’annonce ! J’ai refusé. Trois mois après, aucune modification n’a été effectuée dans la description des produits.

Microscope numérique sans fil LayOPO

Voici ce modèle.

En voyant la photo du produit, on se doute que c’est exactement le même que le précédent. Avec les « préparations » en moins, et pour 9 € de moins, ce qui n’est pas rien. On lui pardonnera peut-être plus facilement quelques défauts…

Avant de commander, je demande au vendeur si la résolution est bien de 2Mp comme indiqué, en précisant que je suis sous Windows et que j’ai été déçu sur ce point par d’autres produits semblables. La réponse est absolument positive. Je ne suis pas totalement dupe ; on verra bien.

L’inconvénient est que le produit vient directement de Chine, donc le délai est de trois semaines, même plutôt un mois en réalité… Et, bien entendu, à l’arrivée, la résolution n’est que de 1 Mp.

Ici, il a fallu plusieurs échanges de messages pour qu’ils admettent enfin la fausse allégation, après des réponses parfaitement dilatoires. La « langue de bois » n’est pas réservée aux politiciens. J’ai obtenu une réduction de 60 %… En réalité, seulement 30 %, car j’ai acheté deux appareils (rappelez-vous, au départ, c’était un cadeau pour un petit-fils, à qui il a bien plu d’ailleurs). La réduction n’a porté que sur le dernier acheté.

Cette fois, j’ai conservé l’appareil, sachant que tous ceux que je trouverais dans cette gamme de prix seraient quasi identiques.

Dernière chose : il faudra penser à protéger l’objectif des fumées de soudure.

Comparaison des modèles testés

NB : les deux derniers modèles, identiques, sont regroupés dans une même colonne de ce tableau comparatif.

Caractéristique Heystop Pancellent / LayOPO
Support Articulation avec écrou papillon Flexible sur socle plastique
Distance min. du socle 0 mm 10 mm
Dist. max. du socle 14 mm 60 mm
Maintien dans support Mauvais Mauvais
Allumage / extinction Par pression prolongée Par pression prolongée
Molette de réglage Beaucoup de jeu Assez ferme, peu de jeu
Facilité de réglage Mauvaise Moyenne
Qualité éclairage 8 LED ton froid 8 LED ton froid
Puissance éclairage Moins fort Assez fort
Réglage éclairage Assez progressif Peu progressif
Grandissement maxi
(sur écran 24”)
220x 220x
Câble de liaison USB Un peu juste : 102 cm Trop court : 83 cm
Logiciel PC Camera.exe, très basique
Latence Retard sensible Retard sensible
Résol. max. sur PC 1280 × 720 1280 × 720
Résol. max. Android 1920 × 1080 1280 × 720
Qualité d’image Médiocre, balance et luminosité auto non modifiables
Définition sur image de :
C. imprimé à 100 mm 371 Ko 413 Ko
Code barre à 100 mm 315 Ko 348 Ko
CMS à 0 mm 291 Ko 299 Ko

N’y a-t-il rien de mieux ?

En y mettant le prix, peut-on trouver mieux, sans aller jusqu’à la loupe binoculaire classique ?

Dinolite

Dinolite, marque américaine, propose une gamme supérieure en prix, très supérieure même. Ici, on commence aux alentours de 134 €, pour une résolution de… 0,3 Mp, et on monte à près de 300 € pour 1,3 Mp. Les capteurs des appareils chinois seraient-ils surfaits ?

Malgré les prix, et apparemment un logiciel beaucoup plus évolué, ces appareils ne donnent pas forcément satisfaction, témoin cette vidéo de 2016 (en anglais) dont l’auteur ne mâche pas ses mots (it’s a $700 piece of shit). Il faut dire que ce réparateur de circuits imprimés dispose d’un vrai microscope binoculaire avec capteur numérique. Il est habitué au luxe !

Andonstar

Dave Jones (EEVblog), dans sa vidéo Cheap USB Microscope Reviews, en anglais, déjà ancienne (2014), rejoint mes propres constatations. Le deuxième appareil testé semble meilleur, et permet de nombreux réglages logiciels. Un modèle semblable, mais pas forcément de la même qualité, est disponible en France : le Andonstar A1. Il est livré avec un support qui semble de bonne qualité.

Electro-Bidouilleur a testé le Andonstar ADSM201 en 2017. Cet appareil est disponible ici, ou, moins cher ici. L’écran incorporé n’est pas forcément très pratique à mon goût, mais il y a une sortie HDMI pour la connexion à un écran extérieur.

Conclusion

À condition de choisir le modèle le moins cher — il y en a encore de moins chers si on ne tient pas à la liaison Wi-Fi — et de choisir un support plus sérieux que celui fourni, ce genre d’appareil peut rendre service comme loupe numérique. Mais il ne faut pas lui demander une qualité d’image semblable à celles des APN ou des smartphones. On en est très loin.

Dans la gamme basse de prix, le Andonstar A1 semble un choix intéressant, mais je ne l’ai pas testé.

Microscope digital Heystop
39 € — prix 2020
chez Amazon

Support Jiusion pour microscope numérique
20 € — prix 2020
chez Amazon

Microscope numérique Pancellent
38 € — prix 2020
chez Amazon

Microscope numérique sans fil LayOPO
29 € — prix 2020
chez Amazon

Dinolite
À partir de 134 € — prix 2020
chez Amazon

Andonstar A1
39 + 5 € — prix 2020
chez Ebay

Andonstar ADSM201
150 + 13 € — prix 2020
chez Ebay

Andonstar ADSM201
129 € — prix 2020
chez aliexpress