18/09/2019.

Anyone who tried to take a film with a digital camera by framing with the back screen, in full sunlight, will have noticed: it’s just impossible! We can of course act like cellphone owners: framing at a guess… But I don’t like this.

I thought I would find a viewfinder that attaches to the hot shoe, as there are some high-end compact cameras that don’t have a built-in optical viewfinder. But I came across something else, which I didn’t know: a viewfinder that fits to the back screen of the camera.

There are several models, some of which stick directly on the screen, which doesn’t seem very safe. Others are fixed under the camera, by the tripod socket. This is the case of the Tarion TR-V2.

The Tarion TR-V2 optical viewfinder

I received this device less than 24 hours after ordering!

Box of Tarion viewfinder

Box contents

When unpacking, we find:

There are no instructions for use, other than the three photos on the box. Despite this, the implementation is simple, and we get this.

Overview in the sunlight

Here we see the main purpose of this viewfinder: make the screen visible and usable in direct sunlight. A secondary interest is to help stabilize the camera through the additional fulcrum.

Implementation

First, and most importantly, this viewfinder covers my camera’s entire 3.2 inch screen. All the information is visible, including the “vu meters” for the sound that are at the very edge of the screen, as well as the level scales, the battery charge signal, and so on.

View of the screen through the viewfinder

In this photo, where the actual viewfinder is open to allow direct viewing of the screen, a small part of it is hidden to the right. This is because the viewfinder has slid a little to the left, because of the horizontal locking screw that does not block well. I’ll come back to it.

The view is very clear. There is a pincushion distortion, which is not really a problem for use. There is a dioptric adjustment, which is simply to move the internal magnifying lens. I didn’t need to use it to see clearly all the indications of the screen.

The actual viewfinder part easily separates from the fixing part thanks to a mortise and tenon joint held by a strong enough magnet.

Magnetic holder

Disadvantages

The fixing screw under the camera is not convenient at all: very flat, not knurled, so not manoeuvrable by hand. It lacks wings as on the thumbscrew of my quick-release plate that can be seen below. So, it’s not possible to quickly disassemble the device.

Fixing on the camera

You can buy a more suitable screw, like this one. We need a non-threaded portion of at least 9 mm long so that it can slide along the slot, which is not the case here, where it is only 7 mm. I didn’t find any of convenient length.

1/4” screw with D ring

If, like me, you don’t need the Manfrotto quick-release, you can even choose a more bulky model like this one.

Now, the unthreaded part is a bit too long. It will therefore be necessary to check that it can still be suitable, possibly by stacking washers.

1/4” screw with knurled knob

The base is supposed compatible Manfrotto, but I can’t verify, because my tripod is equipped with a Benro quick-release. However, I am able to mount the plate below (there are two standard threads, 1/4” and 3/8”), provided I first remove the viewfinder: the horizontal locking knurled screw prevents mounting or removing the camera as the plate release lever abuts.

The lever is blocked by the lower screw

Almost all the camera controls remain accessible, except, and this is very awkward, two navigation keys (left and down)…

Keys hampered by the locking screw

… and, above all, the photo-video selector.

Photo-video selector hampered by the viewfinder

This defect could have been avoided seemingly easily by spreading the U-shaped bracket from the camera, as on this competitor of £32 (only!)

Competitor viewfinder

Solutions

To make the photo-video switch accessible, I had to saw the angle at the top of the U-shaped part, carefully to avoid damaging the viewfinder body (which I was unable to separate from the base), and to prevent aluminium particles from getting into the viewfinder.

Zoom on the sawed part

I found in use that the horizontal locking screw loosened easily, and, to a lesser degree, those of the sides (vertical lock). Cause: tightening metal on metal, aluminium on aluminium moreover, making fear to tighten too hard, and without washer to distribute the pressure. So I’ve temporarily prepared polystyrene washers ø 4 × 10. Failing that, you can use steel washers, but it’s best to get nylon washers.

In fact, what’s the use of these knurled knobs? They certainly facilitate the setting, but once it’s done, they are no longer useful unless you want to use the viewfinder on several different cameras. So, I replace them with M4 pan head screws, the least bulky. This type of screw is found in Ikea furniture assemblies. Simply shorten them to about 6 mm, either with special pliers or hacksaw, taking care in this case to place a nut that will reform the thread after cutting.

Use of pan head screws

We can find here this type of screw.

Pan head screw

The use of such screws completely clears the navigation keys…

Pan head screw on right

…and allows the camera to be mounted on the quick-release plate without removing the viewfinder.

Pan head screw below

This time, the screw no longer blocks the release lever on my quick-release receiver.

Screw no longer blocks the lever

To be complete, I also replaced the left screw, which was not really necessary.

Pan head screw on the left

The only remaining problem is the not yet perfect access to the video selector. The aluminium U-shaped part should be cut further.

After these small works, this viewfinder gives me complete satisfaction.

Tarion TR-V2
€56 — price 2019
at Amazon

1/4" threaded screw with 18 mm D-shaped ring,
length 11 mm,
€6,90 at Amazon

SMALLRIG Camera 18mm long screw
€6,00 at Amazon

Universal 3.0X LCD Viewfinder For 3” 3.2”
Screen Canon Nikon Sony Leica Camera
Approx. £32 at Ebay

sourcingmap® M4 x 10mm x 1mm Nylon Flat Washers
Spacers Gaskets Fastener Off White 100PCS
£2.38 at Amazon

M4 (4mm x 20mm) Hex Socket Button
Machine Screw Steel (Pack of 20)
£5.49 at Amazon



€ chez

18/09/2019.

Quiconque a essayé de filmer avec un appareil photo numérique en cadrant avec l’écran arrière, en plein soleil, l’aura constaté : c’est impossible ! On pourra toujours faire comme les possesseurs de smartphone : cadrer au jugé… Mais je n’aime pas.

Je pensais trouver un viseur qui se fixe dans la griffe porte flash, comme il en existe pour certains compacts haut de gamme qui n’ont pas de viseur optique intégré. Mais je suis tombé sur tout autre chose, que je ne connaissais pas : un viseur qui s’adapte sur l’écran arrière de l’appareil.

Il existe plusieurs modèles dont certains se collent directement sur l’écran, ce qui ne semble pas très sûr. D’autres se fixent sous l’appareil, par l’écrou de pied. C’est le cas du Tarion TR-V2.

Le viseur optique Tarion TR-V2

J'ai reçu cet accessoire moins de 24 h après la commande !

Boîte du viseur Tarion

Contenu de la boîte

Au déballage, on trouve :

Il n’y a aucun mode d’emploi, à part les trois photos sur la boîte. Malgré cela, la mise en œuvre est simple, et l’on obtient ceci.

Vue d’ensemble au soleil

On voit bien ici l’utilité principale de ce viseur : rendre l’écran visible et utilisable en plein soleil. Un intérêt secondaire est d’aider à stabiliser l’appareil grâce au point d’appui supplémentaire.

Mise en œuvre

Première constatation, et c’est le plus important, ce viseur couvre bien la totalité de l’écran 3,2 pouces de mon appareil photo. Toutes les informations sont visibles, y compris les « vu-mètres » pour le son qui sont tout au bord de l’écran, ainsi que les échelles du niveau, le signal de charge de batterie, etc.

Vue de l’écran à travers le viseur

Sur cette photo, où le viseur proprement dit est ouvert pour permettre la vision directe de l’écran, une petite partie de celui-ci est masquée à droite. C’est parce que le viseur a un peu glissé vers la gauche, à cause de la vis de blocage horizontal qui ne… bloque pas bien. J’y reviendrai.

La visée est très claire. Il y a une distorsion en coussin, qui n’est pas vraiment gênante pour l’utilisation. Il y a un réglage dioptrique, qui consiste simplement à déplacer la lentille grossissante interne. Je n’ai pas eu besoin de m’en servir pour voir nettement toutes les indications de l’écran.

La partie viseur proprement dite se sépare facilement de la partie fixation grâce à un assemblage à tenon et mortaise maintenu par un aimant assez fort.

Support aimanté

Inconvénients

La vis de fixation sous l’appareil n’est pas pratique du tout : très plate, pas moletée, donc pas manœuvrable à la main. Il lui manque des oreilles comme sur la vis de mon plateau rapide que l’on peut voir en dessous. On ne peut donc pas démonter rapidement le dispositif.

Fixation sur le boîtier

Vous pouvez vous procurer une vis plus adéquate, comme celle-ci. Il faut une partie non filetée d’au moins 9 mm pour qu’elle puisse coulisser le long de la fente, ce qui n’est pas le cas ici, où elle ne fait que 7 mm. Je n’en ai pas trouvé sous cette forme.

Vis 1/4” à oreille

Si, comme moi, vous n’avez pas besoin de la fixation rapide de type Manfrotto, vous pouvez même choisir un modèle plus encombrant, comme celui-ci.

Cette fois, la partie non filetée est un peu trop longue. Il faudra donc vérifier qu’elle peut quand même convenir, éventuellement en empilant des rondelles.

Vis 1/4” à bouton moleté

L’embase est supposée compatible Manfrotto, mais je ne peux pas vérifier, car mon pied est équipé d’un plateau rapide Benro. Cependant, j’ai pu monter la platine dessous (il y a deux filetages standard, 1/4” et 3/8”), à condition de détacher d’abord le viseur : la vis moletée de blocage horizontal empêche de monter ou de démonter l’appareil, car le levier de déverrouillage du plateau bute dessus.

Blocage du levier par la vis inférieure

Presque toutes les commandes de l’appareil restent accessibles, sauf, et c’est très gênant, deux touches de navigation (gauche et bas)…

Touches gênées par la vis de blocage

… et, surtout, le sélecteur photo-vidéo.

Sélecteur photo-vidéo gêné par le viseur

Ce défaut aurait pu être évité semble-t-il assez facilement en écartant l’étrier de fixation en forme de U de l’appareil, comme sur ce concurrent à 19 € (seulement !)

Viseur concurrent

Solutions

Pour rendre accessible le commutateur photo-vidéo, il a fallu que je scie l’angle en haut de la pièce en U, avec précaution pour ne pas abîmer le corps du viseur (que je n’ai pas réussi à séparer de l’embase), et pour empêcher les particules d’aluminium de rentrer dans le viseur.

Zoom sur la partie sciée

J’ai constaté en utilisation que la vis de blocage horizontal se desserrait facilement, et, à un degré moindre, celles des côtés (blocage vertical). Cause : serrage métal sur métal, aluminium sur aluminium qui plus est, faisant craindre de serrer trop fort, et sans rondelle permettant de répartir la pression. J’ai donc provisoirement préparé des rondelles en polystyrène ø 4 × 10. À défaut, on peut utiliser des rondelles acier, mais le mieux sera de se procurer des rondelles en nylon.

En fait, à quoi servent ces boutons moletés ? Certes, ils facilitent le réglage, mais, une fois celui-ci effectué, ils ne servent plus à rien, à moins de vouloir utiliser le viseur sur plusieurs appareils différents. Je les remplace donc par des vis M4 à tête bombée plate, les moins encombrantes. On trouve ce type de vis dans les assemblages de meubles Ikéa. Il suffit de les raccourcir à environ 6 mm, soit avec une pince spéciale, soit à la scie à métaux, en prenant soin dans ce cas d’y placer un écrou qui reformera le filetage après la coupe.

Utilisation de vis à tête poêlier

On peut trouver un type de vis approchant sous le nom de boulon poêlier. Vous aurez les écrous en bonus…

Boulon poêlier

L’utilisation de telles vis dégage complètement les touches de navigation…

Vis poêlier à droite

… et permet de monter l’appareil sur la platine rapide sans enlever le viseur.

Vis poêlier en dessous

Cette fois, la vis ne bloque plus le levier de déverrouillage de mon plateau rapide.

La vis ne bloque plus le levier

Pour être complet, j’ai aussi remplacé la vis de gauche, ce qui ne s’imposait pas.

Vis poêlier à gauche

Le seul problème qui reste est celui de l’accès au sélecteur vidéo qui n’est pas encore parfait. Il faudrait recouper davantage le U en aluminium.

Après ces petits bricolages, ce viseur me donne entière satisfaction.

Tarion TR-V2
56 € — prix 2019
chez Amazon

Vis filetée 1/4" avec anneau 18 mm,
longueur 11 mm,
6,90 € chez Amazon

SMALLRIG Camera vis 18mm longue
pour rosette de montage (sic)
6,00 € chez Amazon

Viseur basculant J6F1 grossissement 3×
Pour écran LCD
19 € chez Ebay

Lot de 15 rondelles nylon,
diam.4 mm STANDERS
1,80 € chez Leroy Merlin

Lot de 20 boulons poêliers acier zingué,
L.10,0 x Diam.4 mm STANDERS
3,45 € chez Leroy Merlin



€ chez