15/02/202020/02/2020.

Separate light control by function decoder

The trick (see page 2) of using a reed switch to turn off the red front lights is insufficient to encompass all possible scenarios. When the railcar travels with a trailer, this solution is sufficient, because the train cannot travel with the trailer forward.

But, in the case of a multi-unit, the “Picasso” can be at the rear, and must in this case turn off its head lights and turn on its tail lights. However, this remains impossible in the current configuration. Note that the ABJ 3 Electrotren it runs with doesn’t have this problem, because I have equipped it with a Lenz Silver+ decoder which allows to control all the lights independently.

Impossibility of multi-unit

The only valid solution is to use a function decoder. But, for that, we’ll have to modify the LED circuits.

What got me started was the work of a member of the Loco-Revue forum, Alpiliguri, who fitted his analogue Picasso with a classic decoder. To do so, he identified all the useful connection points (rails, motor, lights, etc.) and connected everything to this decoder.

The problem

My problem is different: my railcar is already digitized and sounded. Only the lights are a problem for me, and, to a lesser extent, the impossibility of function mapping. I also had another complaint: that of not being able to do a “MU”. However, my new Lenz LH101 handheld offers an alternative to obtain this operation, without going through the NMRA method.

I will therefore keep all the current functions, except the light control. The trouble is, I won’t be able to use the function keys as I’d like to. Here is the intended assignment, corresponding to a Lenz Standard+ V2 decoder:

Key Current function Desired function Output Wire CV Value
F0 Lights White headlights A White 33 1
    White tail lights B Yellow 34 2
F5 Shunting lights Red headlights D Purple 39 8
F7 Cutting red Red tail lights C Green 41 4
F11 All white lights A+B   45 3

Modification of LED circuits

Here is the diagram giving the actual arrangement of the components. One may wonder why they chose such a complication: there is not a common conductor for all LEDs which could be connected to a decoder Vcc. I’ll therefore have to cut tracks and modify their connection, which, due to the smallness of the whole, will not be easy.

So, the track between resistors R1 and R2 will be cut, then R1 will be connected to track 3 (in orange). The two red LEDs will thus be wired in parallel and controlled via track 3. The positive commons will finally be connected (in blue).

The white LEDs are controlled by track 2, this being unchanged from the original diagram.

Modified diagram

Operations on flexible circuits

The photos (taken under a digital microscope) concern, with an exception, the front circuit. The rear circuit is identical, except for the length. Overview during work. We can see that the microscope has its weighted base facing backwards. A brown epoxy plate is inserted between the circuit and the railcar body to protect it as much as possible.

Overview

Click on the image for a closer view.

Cutting of the track with two X-Acto strokes.

Cutting the track

Elimination of the track segment by heating, which allows its separation.

Track cut out done

Connection to track number 3 using a strand of flexible wire (diameter 15/100). It remains to cut it at the level of the arrow. Note: this wire, like the following, is not insulated, but, using some precautions, this is not a problem, because the circuit is varnished.

Connection of R1 to track 3

Connection of tracks 1 and 4. To be able to solder on the tracks, we must scrape off the varnish. Note: track 1 was already cut due to the previous modification with reed switch.

Connection of tracks 1 and 44

Soldering of the wires connecting to the decoder. In accordance with the NMRA code, the positive common wire is blue. The white and red light wires are respectively white and purple. Here, the rear circuit is photographed, hence the yellow and green colours.

Soldering of wires to the decoder

The little white rectangle at the bottom left is a piece of paper that allowed me to make an almost correct white balance.

Tracking and wiring of rail connections.

It only took a few tries with a continuity tester to locate points on the PCB capable of powering the decoder.

Rail access points

Test of the modifications

It only remains to install and program the decoder. As I don’t currently have a Standard+, I test the operation with a Silver 21+ which requires the wiring of a socket made with a 1.27 mm pitch double row connector. Before connecting the wires of the right and left rails, I modify the decoder programming, which is identical to that of the Standard+, I make a first check of the lights. Then I assign it the same address as for the railcar. I connect the remaining wires. I then see that the lights are reverse in relation to the running direction. A modification of CV 29, bit 0, solves this little problem.

Lenz Silver 21+ decoder wiring test

Lenz Silver 21+ decoder wiring test

Move the cursor over the images to see the details.

Although it’s not visible here, the rear lights are off, while the front lights are red. Sounds simple, but it wasn’t with that damn proprietary card… A little regret: I can’t use the F1 function for red lights, which could then be automatically reversed, since this function is reserved for engine sound.

Decoder location

Finding a location is not easy. Obviously, there is not enough space between the electronic card and the roof. The planned decoder is 25 × 15 × 3.5 mm. Near the driver’s cab, above the luggage compartment, there is an opening which has a suitable width but which is not long enough. Through this opening pass the motor supply wires. This passage must be respected.

So, I’ll mill this opening to give it sufficient length. After removing the electronic card and clearing the cables previously mounted, I place the railcar into the milling machine’s vice, with thick cardboard jaws coming close to the handrails. There is no need to tighten very hard, since the low machining effort will be horizontal. I hatched the areas to open with a pencil: right, for the passage of the motor’s wires; left, for the decoder.

To mill the small opening on the right, I take care to move the motor connector away from the tool. It would be very annoying if it got caught in the mill bit: breaking the tool, tearing out the wires…

Starting the opening milling

The milling shavings are vacuumed off as they go, to prevent them from entering the body. Here is the opening’s final aspect.

Final aspect of the opening

Move the cursor over the images to see the details.

I try out a decoder borrowed from another locomotive. I realize that its rear, which has relatively large components (arrow), can’t be placed low enough. So, in addition, I have to mill the part of the interior fittings below, near the motor connector.

Milling the interior fittings

Now the decoder is perfectly flush with the false roof and will not interfere in any way with the position of the electronic card. In addition, its wires pass easily over the edge of the opening.

Positioning of the decoder

Installation and wiring of the decoder

I decided to use the borrowed decoder (the other machine will wait). In order not to risk interference with the original card, I did most of the programming in this machine before “transplanting” the decoder.

After unsoldering its eight-pin connector harness, I connected the light wires to it. One last try before tidying up all the stuff: it works correctly. I even allowed myself to modify the output dimming (for information: value 16 instead of 255 by default), without having thought to check beforehand that the corresponding CVs were not used in the original card… Fortunately, that was not the case…

Soldering the wires on the decoder

Decoder connection

Move the cursor over the image to see the details.

The resistor visible in front of the driver is the load supposed to replace the motor. It has been removed after the tests.

Last thing: despite some fears that I had, the roof is put back correctly…

15/02/202020/02/2020.

Commande séparée des feux par décodeur de fonctions

L’astuce (voir page 2) d’utiliser un ILS pour couper les feux rouges avant est insuffisante pour englober tous les cas de figure possibles. Lorsque l’autorail circule avec une remorque, cette solution suffit, car le train ne peut pas circuler remorque en avant.

Mais, dans le cas d’un jumelage, le « Picasso » peut se trouver en queue, et doit dans ce cas éteindre ses feux avant et allumer ses feux arrière. Or cela reste impossible dans la configuration actuelle. Notez que l’ABJ 3 Electrotren avec lequel il circule n’a pas ce problème, car je l’ai équipé d’un décodeur Lenz Silver+ qui permet de commander indépendamment tous les feux.

Impossibilité de jumelage

La seule solution valable est d’utiliser un décodeur de fonction. Mais, pour cela, il va falloir modifier les circuits des LED.

Ce qui m’a décidé à me lancer, c’est le travail d’un membre du forum Loco-Revue, Alpiliguri, qui a équipé son Picasso analogique d’un décodeur classique. Pour ce faire, il a repéré tous les points de connexion utiles (rails, moteurs, fanaux, etc.) et a tout raccordé à ce décodeur.

Problématique

Ma problématique est différente : mon autorail est déjà numérisé et sonorisé. Seuls les fanaux me posent problème, et, dans une moindre mesure, l’impossibilité de faire un « mapping » des fonctions. J’avais aussi un autre reproche : celui de ne pas pouvoir faire une « UM ». Cependant, ma nouvelle commande Lenz LH101 propose une manière alternative pour obtenir ce fonctionnement, sans passer par la méthode NMRA.

Je vais donc conserver l’ensemble des fonctions actuelles, sauf la commande des feux. L’ennui est que je ne pourrai pas utiliser les touches de fonctions à ma guise. Voici l’affectation envisagée, correspondant à un décodeur Lenz Standard+ V2 :

Touche Fonction actuelle Fonction voulue Sortie Fil CV Val.
F0 Feux Feux blancs AV A Blanc 33 1
    Feux blancs AR B Jaune 34 2
F5 Feux manœuvre Feux rouges AV D Violet 39 8
F7 Coupure rouges AR Feux rouges AR C Vert 41 4
F11 Tous feux blancs A+B   45 3

Modification des circuits de LED

Voici le schéma avec la disposition réelle des composants. On peut se demander pourquoi Mistral a choisi une telle complication : il n’y a pas un conducteur commun à toutes les LED qui pourrait être relié au positif d’un décodeur. Il va donc falloir couper des pistes et modifier leur raccordement, ce qui, en raison de la petitesse de l’ensemble, ne va pas être facile.

La piste entre les résistances R1 et R2 va donc être coupée, puis R1 sera raccordée à la piste 3 (en orange). Les deux LED rouges seront ainsi câblées en parallèle et commandées via la piste 3. Les communs positifs seront enfin raccordés (en bleu).

Les LED blanches sont commandées par la piste 2, ceci étant inchangé par rapport au schéma d’origine.

Schéma modifié

Opérations sur les circuits souples

Les photos (prises au microscope numérique) concernent, sauf exception, le circuit avant. Le circuit arrière est identique, à la longueur près. Vue d’ensemble en cours de travail. On voit que le microscope a son socle lesté tourné vers l’arrière. Une plaquette d’époxy de couleur marron est intercalée entre le circuit et la caisse de l’autorail pour la protéger autant que possible.

Vue d’ensemble

Cliquez sur l’image pour voir le circuit de plus près.

Sectionnement de la piste par deux coups de couteau X-Acto.

Sectionnement de la piste

Élimination du segment de piste par chauffage qui permet son décollement.

Coupure de la piste effectuée

Raccordement à la piste numéro 3 à l’aide d’un brin de fil souple (diamètre 15/100). Il reste à le sectionner au niveau de la flèche. Remarque : ce fil, comme le suivant, n’est pas isolé, mais, moyennent quelques précautions, cela ne pose pas de problème, car le circuit est verni.

Raccordement de R1 à la piste 3

Raccordement des pistes 1 et 4. Pour pouvoir souder sur les pistes, il faut en gratter le vernis. Remarque : la piste 1 était déjà coupée en raison de la modification précédente avec ILS.

Raccordement des pistes 1 et 4

Soudage des fils de liaison au décodeur. Conformément au code NMRA, le fil commun positif est bleu. Les fils des feux blancs et rouges sont respectivement blanc et violet. Ici, c’est le circuit arrière qui est photographié, d’où les couleurs jaune et verte.

Soudage des fils de liaison au décodeur

Le petit rectangle blanc en bas à gauche est un morceau de papier qui m’a permis de faire une balance du blanc à peu près correcte.

Repérage et câblage des liaisons aux rails

Il a suffi de quelques essais avec le testeur de continuité pour repérer des points de la carte capables d’alimenter le décodeur.

Points d’accès aux rails

Test des modifications

Il ne reste plus qu’à poser et programmer le décodeur. N’ayant pas pour le moment de Standard+, je teste le fonctionnement avec un Silver 21+ qui nécessite que je câble une prise avec un connecteur double rangée au pas de 1,27 mm. Avant de raccorder les fils des rails droit et gauche, je modifie la programmation de ce décodeur, qui est identique à celle du Standard+, et je fais une première vérification des feux. Puis je lui affecte la même adresse que pour l’autorail. Je raccorde les fils restants. Je constate alors que les feux s’allument à l’envers par rapport au sens de circulation. Une modification du bit 0 de la CV 29 permet de résoudre ce petit problème.

Câblage d’essai du décodeur Lenz Silver 21+

Câblage d’essai du décodeur Lenz Silver 21+

Promenez le curseur sur les images pour en voir les détails.

Bien que ce ne soit pas visible ici, les feux arrière sont éteints, alors que les feux avant sont rouges. Cela paraît tout simple, mais ça ne l’était pas avec cette fichue carte propriétaire… Un petit regret : je ne peux pas utiliser la fonction F1 pour les feux rouges, qui pourraient alors être inversés automatiquement, puisque cette fonction est réservée au bruit du moteur.

Emplacement du décodeur

Trouver un emplacement n’a rien d’évident. Il est clair qu’il n’y a pas assez de place entre la carte électronique et le toit. Le décodeur prévu a pour dimensions 25 × 15 × 3,5 mm. À proximité du kiosque, au-dessus du compartiment fourgon, il existe une ouverture qui a une largeur convenable mais qui n’est pas assez longue. Par cette ouverture passent les fils d’alimentation du moteur. Il faudra ménager ce passage.

Je vais donc fraiser cette ouverture pour lui donner une longueur suffisante. Après avoir enlevé la carte électronique et dégagé les câbles montés précédemment, je place l’autorail dans l’étau de la fraiseuse, avec des mordaches en carton épais venant à ras des mains montoires. Il est inutile de serrer très fort, puisque le faible effort d’usinage sera horizontal. J’ai hachuré au crayon des zones à ouvrir : à droite, pour le passage des fils ; à gauche, pour le décodeur.

Pour fraiser la petite ouverture à droite, je prends soin d’éloigner le connecteur du moteur. Ce serait très ennuyeux qu’il se prenne dans la fraise : casse de l’outil, arrachement des fils…

Début du fraisage de l’ouverture

Les copeaux de fraisage sont aspirés au fur et à mesure, pour éviter qu’ils ne pénètrent dans la caisse. Voici l’aspect final de l’ouverture.

Aspect final de l’ouverture

Promenez le curseur sur les images pour en voir les détails.

J’essaie un décodeur emprunté à une autre machine. Je m’aperçois que l’arrière, qui possède des composants relativement volumineux (flèche), ne se place pas assez bas. Je suis donc amené à fraiser en plus la partie de l’aménagement qui se trouve en dessous, au voisinage du connecteur du moteur.

Fraisage de l’aménagement

Maintenant, le décodeur se trouve parfaitement à ras de la fausse toiture et ne gênera en rien le bon positionnement de la carte électronique. De plus, ses fils passent facilement sur le bord de l’ouverture.

Positionnement du décodeur

Montage et câblage du décodeur

Je me suis décidé à utiliser le décodeur emprunté (l’autre machine attendra). Pour ne pas risquer d’interférence avec la carte d’origine, j’ai réalisé la plus grande partie de la programmation dans cette machine avant de « transplanter » le décodeur.

Après avoir dessoudé son « harnais » muni d’un connecteur à huit broches, j’ai raccordé dessus les fils des feux. Un dernier essai avant de tout ranger : ça fonctionne correctement. Je me suis même permis de modifier le « dimming » des sorties (pour informa­tion : valeur 16 au lieu de 255 par dé­faut), sans avoir pensé à vérifier au préalable que les CV correspondan­tes n’étaient pas utilisées sur la carte d’origine… Heureusement, ce n’était pas le cas…

Soudage des fils sur le décodeur

Raccordement du décodeur

Promenez le curseur sur l’image pour en voir les détails.

La résistance visible devant l’agent de conduite est la charge qui est censée remplacer le moteur. Elle a été supprimée après les essais.

Dernière chose : malgré quelques craintes que j’avais, le toit se replace correctement…