13/10/2019.

Lighting of the trailers

I plan a single circuit for all trailers regardless of their layout. The problem is that the crossbeams hide a good part of some compartments. In addition, the inner rim masks the corridor. In compartment coaches, it will be necessary to mill these parts.

Example, on which we’ll see what has been removed. First with the light strip in place.

Trailer mounted light strip

Hover over the picture to zoom.

Detail showing the intervention on the crossbeams and above the corridor:

Lighting strip disassembled

Front view:

Trailer front view

Also, note the presence of insulating spacers of six to seven millimetres high. The screws are Parker ø 2.2 × 9 mm. The distance between fixing points is specified on the accompanying document.

Discussion on the lighting circuit boards

Each strip has seven LEDs. The ideal would have been nine, but it posed a difficulty at the ends. The LEDs are divided into three groups, two of 2 LEDs, one of 3 LEDs. The resistors to be put in series are different, i.e. 2.2 kΩ for the groups of 2 and 3.3 kΩ for that of 3. Thus, under a DCC voltage of about 15 V, the brightness will be almost the same everywhere. But this is not valid in DC.

Point of detail: I only make single-sided circuits, for a reason of ease of manufacture at home. With double-sided, not more expensive it seems when we order to a manufacturer, the tracks feeding the dummy could be on the other side, allowing to get narrower strips.

13/10/2019.

Éclairage des remorques

Je prévois un circuit unique pour toutes les remorques quel que soit leur aménagement. Le problème est que les traverses centrales masquent une bonne partie de certains compartiments. De plus, le rebord intérieur masque le couloir. Dans les voitures à compartiments, il va donc falloir fraiser ces parties.

Exemple, sur lequel on va voir ce qui a été enlevé. D’abord avec la réglette en place.

Réglette d’éclairage montée sur remorque

Survolez la photo pour zoomer.

Détail montrant l’intervention sur les traverses et au-dessus du couloir :

Réglette d’éclairage démontée

Vue de face :

Remorque vue de face

Noter aussi la présence d’entretoises isolantes de six à sept millimètres. Les vis sont des Parker de ø 2,2 × 9 mm. L'entraxe des points de fixation est précisé sur le document d’accompagnement.

Discussion sur les circuits imprimés d’éclairage

Chaque réglette comprend sept LED. L’idéal aurait été neuf, mais cela posait une difficulté aux extrémités. Les LED sont réparties en trois groupes, deux de 2 LED, un de 3. Les résistances à mettre en série sont différentes, soit 2,2 kΩ pour les groupes de 2 et 3,3 kΩ pour celui de 3. Ainsi, sous une tension DCC de l’ordre de 15 V, la luminosité sera à peu près la même partout. Mais ceci n’est pas valable en analogique.

Point de détail : je ne fais que des circuits simple face, pour une raison de facilité de fabrication à la maison. Avec du double face pas plus cher semble-t-il quand on s’adresse à un façonnier, les pistes alimentant la fausse motrice pourraient être sur l’autre face, permettant d’avoir des réglettes moins larges.