13/10/2019.

VT11.5 profile view

VT11 5006 motorZ coach.

Reception

Composition

The Roco train consists of two sets, the first of four vehicles: a motor coach, two trailers and a dummy motor coach. The second is composed of three trailers, which gives the minimum service composition of seven vehicles. Era IIIc.

Coupling

The coupling is done without elongation; there is a system including coupling bars that snap onto the bogie pivots, and pivoting bellows mounted on springs, which compensates for distance variations between coaches. Too bad that these bellows are visible through the windows, very close to the ends, of type 5200 and 5400 coaches.

Mechanics

The motor coach has a metal chassis. It has, contrary to reality, two driving bogies, which explains that all its wheels are of the same diameter. The extreme rear axle is equipped with tyres.

The dummy motor coach has the same metal chassis and the same bogies as the actual motor coach, but without mechanical transmission parts.

Electricity

In direct current and without decoder, the motor starts at about 3 V. The lights are reversible, including on the dummy motor coach, but the light is very weak, even under 16 V. The lamps are incandescent.

There is no lighting in the trailers. However, all bogies can pick the current, with isolated half-axles rotating in conductive bearings. It is thus possible to feed each coach separately without electrical connection and without friction.

Miscellaneous

Some parts are to be mounted: rather thick TEE plastic signs to fit on the faces, “Parsifal” photoetched plates to stick on the restaurant coach, hand rails on all coaches.

Dismantling

Driving coaches

The cabin roof can be dismantled as indicated in the instructions. Watch out for windows that escape! This is sufficient to install a decoder. A Lenz Standard+ is enough for a DMU I don’t intend to operate in multiple working: there is no need to separate the white and red lights. Decoder’s C output will be used for the compartment lighting.

To separate the body from the metal chassis, two screws are to remove: at the front coupling and at the rear under the cab roof. There is an ambiguity of the instruction sheet that suggests that the chassis is snapped on the body while these two parts are screwed.

Trailers

The roof has three tenons on both sides. It is dismantled by passing a fingernail along the body’s top. This presents no particular difficulty.

It is the same to separate the chassis from the body. Here is a picture of the dismantled central corridor coach:

Dismantled trailer

Hover over the picture to zoom.

Notice:

13/10/2019.

Rame VT11.5 vue de profil

Motrice VT11 5006 ROCO.

Réception

Composition

La rame Roco est composée de deux ensembles, le premier de quatre véhicules : une motrice, deux voitures et une fausse motrice. Le deuxième est composé de trois voitures, ce qui donne la composition minimale en service de sept véhicules. Époque IIIc.

Attelage

L’attelage se fait sans élongation ; il y a un système comprenant des barres d’attelages qui se clipsent sur les pivots de bogies, et des soufflets pivotants montés sur ressorts, système qui compense les variations de distance entre les voitures. Dommage que ces soufflets soient visibles à travers les fenêtres, très proches des extrémités, des voitures de type 5200 et 5400.

Mécanique

La motrice a un châssis métallique. Elle possède, contrairement à la réalité, deux bogies moteurs, ce qui explique que toutes ses roues aient le même diamètre. L’essieu extrême arrière est muni de bandages.

La fausse motrice a le même châssis métallique et les mêmes bogies que la motrice, mais sans pièces mécaniques de transmission.

Électricité

En courant continu et sans décodeur, la motrice démarre sous 3 V environ. Les feux sont réversibles, y compris sur la fausse motrice, mais éclairent de façon indigente, même sous 16 V. Les lampes sont à incandescence.

Il n’y a aucun éclairage dans les remorques. Cependant, tous les bogies sont capteurs de courant, avec des demi-essieux isolés tournant dans des paliers conducteurs. Il est ainsi possible d’alimenter chaque voiture séparément sans liaison électrique et sans frottement.

Divers

Quelques pièces sont à monter : sigles TEE en plastique un peu épais à emboîter sur les faces, plaques « Parsifal » en photogravure à coller sur la voiture restaurant, mains montoires sur toutes les voitures.

Démontage

Motrices

Le toit de cabine se déclipse comme indiqué dans la notice. Attention aux vitres qui s’échappent ! Cela suffit pour installer un décodeur. Un Lenz Standard+ suffit pour un automoteur que je ne pense pas faire fonctionner en UM : il n’y a pas besoin de séparer les feux blancs et rouges. La sortie C du décodeur servira à l’éclairage des compartiments.

Pour séparer la caisse du châssis métallique, il faut enlever deux vis : celle de l’attelage avant, et celle à l’arrière sous le toit de cabine. Il y a là une ambiguïté de la notice qui laisse croire que le châssis est clipsé sur la caisse alors que ces deux pièces sont vissées.

Remorques

Le toit comporte trois tenons de part et d’autre. Il se déclipse en passant un ongle le long de la caisse. Cela ne présente pas de difficulté particulière.

Il en va de même pour désolidariser le châssis de la caisse. Voici une photo de la voiture à couloir central démontée :

Remorque démontée

Survolez la photo pour zoomer.

Remarquer :