03/10/2019.

Tail lights

Having recently acquired a third VSE, with two VTUs, all in C1 livery, I undertook to put a ligh strip identical to the previous ones. But, as in some compositions, this coach is at the tail, I also wanted to equip it with tail lights.

A priori, it’s not easy, because there is very little space around the gangway. In addition, the light “glasses” protrude inside, which could promote light leaks.

The circuit board

It is therefore necessary to use the smallest possible SMD LEDs. I have some in a 0603 package, their active part measures 1 × 0.8 mm. Their luminosity is 160 mcd at rated current. As the circuit will have to be flat on the back wall of the coach, the components will have to be turned towards the inside of it, including the LEDs. So, they must be placed in the inverted position, and will illuminate through a hole drilled in the PCB. This hole will have a diameter of 1.3 mm.

The etching film is available on the attached PDF document.

Here is the circuit mounted, with a 4.7 kΩ resistor (it could be more), and a home made latching reed switch. PCB front…

View of PCB

… and back

View of PCB

The LEDs can be seen through their hole.

The branches of the circuit are covered with electrician tape. I thought about using heat-shrink tubing, but it probably would have been too thick. Here, the trouble is that the edge of the circuit is not hidden, and it lets a little light pass through. It will have to be painted.

Note: this circuit is too high and hinders the reinstallation of the roof (see below). I slightly decreased this height on the attached etching film.

Mounting the PCB into the body

To mount the circuit, we’ll have to mill an opening on each side, flush with the end wall, about 1.5 mm wide, and 3.5 mm long. It’s not too difficult, the only problem being sawdust that creeps everywhere. We see on the picture the printed circuit not yet equipped and the ø 1 milling bit which was used to machine the openings.

Milling of thr body

Let’s verify that the circuit fits well into the openings.

Inserting the PCB

It’s OK, except that I can’t get it down, because it’s blocked by the protruding “glasses” already mentioned. So, they must be shortened.

They are slightly glued. I unstick them levering with a small screwdriver; then they get off easily. Their body has a diameter of 1.6 mm. To shorten them, simply place them in a ø 1.6 hole drilled in a 1 mm thick plate, then saw or file the part that juts out. Here is their state before and after sawing. Then put them back in place with a little Kristal Klear glue.

Shortening the “glasses”

The equipped circuit is now correctly positioned.

Inserting the equipped circuit

View from below. The branches of the circuit are well centred thanks to the relieves of the coach’s body.

Inside view of the positionned circuit

For the power supply, it’s possible to use wires running along the entire coach (the power circuit being at the other end), but I preferred to use self-adhesive copper tapes. I could have made a new a PCB with an extra track — because the +VCC track (blue wire) already exists — but, for only one application, I preferred to keep the old one.

Circuit power supply

After mounting the light strip as for previous coaches, and connecting all the wires, all we have to do is to test the operation.

The edge of the roof must be milled in order to close it properly.

Milling the roof

Inset, here is the other end, intact, for comparison.

Coach good for the service.

Coach with lights

Note: although this is not very visible here, the lighting is colder than in previous coaches because the windows are less colourful. There is a regrettable lack of homogeneity.

03/10/2019 ; 05/10/2019.

Fanaux

Ayant récemment acquis une troisième VSE, avec deux VTU, toutes en livrée C1, j’ai entrepris de lui poser un éclairage identique aux précédentes. Mais, comme dans quelques compositions, cette voiture est en queue de rame, j’ai voulu aussi l’équiper de fanaux.

A priori, ce n’est pas facile, car il y a très peu de place autour de l’intercircula­tion. De plus, les « verres » des lanternes font saillie à l’intérieur, ce qui pourrait favoriser les fuites de lumière.

Le circuit imprimé

Il faut donc utiliser des LED CMS les plus petites possibles. J’en ai en boîtier 0603, dont la partie active mesure 1 × 0,8 mm. Leur luminosité est de 160 mcd à courant nominal. Comme le circuit devra être à plat sur le dossier de la voiture, les composants devront être tournés vers l’intérieur de celle-ci, y compris les LED. Elles devront donc être placées en position retournée, et éclaireront par un trou percé dans le circuit. Ce trou doit avoir un diamètre de 1,3 mm.

Le typon est disponible sur le document PDF joint.

Voici le circuit monté, avec une résistance de 4,7 kΩ (ça pourrait être plus), et un ILS bistable de ma fabrication. Recto…

Vue du circuit imprimé

… et verso

Vue du circuit imprimé

On distingue les LED à travers leur trou.

Les branches du circuit sont recouvertes de scotch d’électricien. J’ai pensé utiliser de la gaine thermorétractable, mais elle aurait sans doute été trop épaisse. Ici, l’ennui est que la tranche du circuit n’est pas masquée, et qu’elle laisse passer un peu de lumière. Il faudra la peindre.

Remarque : ce circuit est trop haut et gêne la remise en place du toit (voir plus loin). J’ai un peu diminué cette hauteur sur le typon joint.

Montage du circuit dans la caisse

Pour monter le circuit, il va falloir fraiser une ouverture de chaque côté de la caisse, à ras du dossier, d’une largeur de 1,5 mm environ, et d’une longueur de 3,5 mm. Ce n’est pas trop difficile, le seul problème étant la sciure qui s’insinue partout. On voit sur la photo le circuit imprimé pas encore équipé ainsi que la fraise ø 1 qui a servi à pratiquer les ouvertures.

Fraisage de la caisse

On vérifie que le circuit s’insère bien dans les fraisages.

Insertion du circuit

Ça passe, mais la descente du circuit est empêchée par la saillie des « verres » de fanaux dont j’ai déjà parlé. Il faut donc les raccourcir.

Comme ils sont légèrement collés, je les décolle en faisant levier avec un petit tournevis ; ensuite, ils sortent facilement de leur logement. Leur corps a un diamètre de 1,6 mm. Pour les raccourcir, il suffit de les placer dans un trou de ø 1,6 fait dans une plaquette d’épaisseur 1 mm, puis de scier ou limer ce qui dépasse. Voici leur état avant et après sciage. Ensuite, il n’y a plus qu’à les remettre en place avec un peu de Kristal Klear.

Cette fois, le circuit, maintenant équipé, se positionne correctement.

Insertion du circuit équipé

Vue par-dessous. Les branches du circuit sont bien centrées grâce aux reliefs de la caisse.

Vue intérieure du circuit positionné

Pour l’alimentation, on peut utiliser des fils qui parcourent toute la voiture (le circuit d’alimentation se trouvant à l’autre bout), mais j’ai préféré utiliser des rubans de cuivre autocollants. J’aurais pu refaire un circuit imprimé avec une piste supplémentaire — car la piste +VCC (fil bleu) existe déjà — mais, pour une seule application, j’ai préféré reprendre l’ancien.

Alimentation du circuit

Après montage de la réglette d’éclairage comme pour les voitures précédentes, et raccordement de tous les fils, il ne reste plus qu’à tester le fonctionnement.

Le rebord du toit doit être fraisé pour pouvoir le refermer correctement.

Fraisage du toit

En médaillon, l’autre extrémité intacte pour comparaison.

Voiture bonne pour le service.

Voiture éclairée

Note : bien que ce ne soit pas très visible ici, l’éclairage est plus froid que dans les voitures précédentes, car les vitres sont moins colorées. Il y a un manque d’homogénéité regrettable.