25/04/202018/07/2020.

Equipment of the driving coach

Here is the continuation promised for already more than five years. I was expecting a possible need for disassembly. It happened, because I noticed that the anti-flashing capacitor became insufficient with the eight coaches in the complete train. It has a capacity of 1000 µF for an operating voltage of 35 V. However, the capacitor size depends on this voltage. With 25 V, we have a capacity of 2200 µF for the same size (ø 13 × 25 approximately). The space available in the coach’s technical room, as we will see, allows the installation of two 2200 µF / 25 V capacitors in parallel, which in practice will quadruple the present capacity.

The original structure

Originally, a space was provided in the cab for a decoder. The printed circuit is not satisfactory, as said on page 1. In addition, to hide the wiring as well as possible, we will see that I have had to free up the space in this cab as much as possible. To accommodate the decoder and the capacitors, I found that the central technical room was particularly suitable, provided that it was enlarged as much as possible.

Structural changes

In addition to the platform equipment, which doesn’t differ from that of other coaches, there are a number of modifications to be made.

Interior fittings

An approximately 13 × 13 mm hole is made under the cab; it allows to put a connector in, as we will see later.

To enlarge the technical room’s space, the central part of the lower fittings is cut out. Naturally, as for the other coaches, but all the more here, the upper fittings are glued on the lower at the level of the stairs, taking great care to respect the distance between the two separated halves. The best for this is to glue with the parts mounted on the chassis.

Note the power connector of the light strip.

Opening in the fittings

Opening in the technical room

Chassis

The ballast is cut in the technical room to leave a free space of about 10 mm, necessary for the future passage of the wires. The remaining visible part is insulated with electrical tape.

Body

There is little to do. In this coach, exceptionally, the 2nd floor lighting strip will be stuck under the roof. It is therefore necessary to level off all the reliefs therein.

Lights

As previously reported, the original light guides are too small. They are replaced with 2 mm dia. “cannon” LED sections (we can also use Krystal Klear). The LEDs themselves will be SMDs.

Electrical modifications

Note: all the following circuits are obsolete, see the section Design change below.

Current pickup

As the driving coach powers the whole train, the current pickup should be the best possible. So the use of conductive bearings and middle-insulated axles is essential. For this, we must get uninsulated wheels from other coaches and exchange them with the insulated wheels. Attention: the wheels are not very tight on the axles, which are themselves of poor quality (badly machined tips). The distance between tips is reduced from 24.8 to 24.0 to take into account the thickness of the conductive bearings. Each wheel is therefore offset 0.4 mm outwards.

The conductive bearings are manufactured with 2/10 mm brass sheet according to the technique already used for DEV AO REE coaches.

Conductive bearings

The wires from the bogies pass through the chassis grooves, under the ballast, and meet in the technical room.

Note the wire colour not conforming to the NEM standard (it should be red instead of blue), but I preferred to keep the original wires.

Wires coming out of the bogies

Lighting

The lower strip is the same as for other coaches, with less unnecessary LEDs, but it is powered directly in the technical room, with a two-pin 1.27 mm pitch connector.

The upper strip is very similar to the others; I added a cab lighting LED, which will have a special connection.

This strip, as already said, is stuck under the roof. I have provided a connector which will facilitate the separation between body and chassis. This connector must be able to be disconnected before dismantling and therefore be accessible from the outside. This is why I planned the square opening of the cab layout.

Cab connectors

This 1.27 mm pitch connector has five contacts. In order, V+ (blue); red lights (yellow); white lights (white); compartment lighting (green); cab lighting (purple). The male contact soldering is protected by a heat-shrink tubing; the female contacts are soldered on a small PCB, because they are quite fragile.

Head lights

The PCB is completely remade, with SMD components. The LEDs are mounted reversed.

Head light circuit

Note: I first tried to mount cannon LEDs, a priori easier to implement, but they come up against the cab layout and therefore cannot be placed perfectly horizontally.

Power circuit and decoder

For the moment, as already said, this circuit has only one capacitor of 1000 µF, insufficient. The decoder is next to it. Some of the latter’s wires leave directly for the cab along the ballast.

Present power circuit

The black/silver wire is soldered to the decoder’s ground. It will be connected to the negative pole of the capacitors. Thus, all circuits will benefit from anti-flashing, and not just the compartment lighting, as it is currently the case.

Present power circuit

Here is where this wire is soldered. It goes without saying that this only applies to the Lenz LF101XF decoder, which is no longer manufactured.

Decoder’s ground location

Here is the new planned circuit, the realization of which will wait for better days.

The capacitors are arranged lengthwise and no longer crosswise.

The decoder will be stuck on a vertical wall.

New circuit project

The better days have come. Here is a sample of the circuits received from JLCPCB. From left to right: two lighting strips for the lower floor; two energy tank circuits, one of which is equipped with its two 2200 µF capacitors; the light circuit.

View of the new PCBs

Note: at JLCPCB, the PCBs must be ordered by five identical. This is not a problem for the light strips (I need eight of each type, I will have two extra!). For the other circuits of which I only need one copy, I have four useless left! It’s not a big deal considering the moderate price. But if you’re interested, let me know at the address listed on the home page. Please note: these circuits are bare, without components, to be assembled by yourself.

Design change

I decided to completely redo the wiring. Indeed, having placed the decoder in the technical room was not necessarily a very good idea: it required unnecessarily passing wires under the interior fittings, in particular those of the white and red lights.

So, it is better to place the decoder in the cab. However, this one has a double rear wall, with a space a priori a little too narrow for a decoder, but which becomes sufficient by levelling the internal reliefs (between 2.5 and 3 mm). The decoder is installed vertically. Most of the wires come out down where there is an opening that just needs to be enlarged a little. Some wires, feeding the upper floor and cab lighting, come out upwards.

For the remaining connections between the two ends of the coach and the technical room, I had the choice between three solutions:

View of cab with decoder

View of cab with decoder

I chose the latter solution. But, as it was not planned at the beginning1, I simply milled an epoxy plate to obtain parallel tracks. Since I engraved this circuit before I decided to put the decoder back in the cab, I unnecessarily milled seven tracks, when only five were needed. Better too much than not enough… Here are all the parts to assemble.

1. Besides, if I had thought about this solution earlier, I would have made a single circuit combining the front / rear links and the capacitors. It could have been 0.4 mm thick to facilitate its installation under the interior fittings.

Set of parts to be assembled

Hover over the picture for a larger view.

From back to front, we can see:

A blank assembly ensures that the total thickness will not prevent reassembly of the interior fittings.

Blank assembly

Note: if this thickness is a problem, you can safely remove the ballast plates. Indeed, the weight will then drop from 172 to 148 g, which is the maximum value recommended by the NEM.

Interior fittings

To compensate for the thickness of the components of the lower strip, I glued on each side a polystyrene strip, section 0.5 × 3 (2) with Uhu Strong glue, then the whole under the upper deck with Faller Expert plastic glue. On both sides, I put white self-adhesive paper (1). It would have been better to paint the strip white. Here, it is painted silver.

Then, I glued the partitions under the upper deck by interposing 1 × 1 polystyrene strips (3), to get the same ceiling height everywhere. The resulting assembly is now quite rigid.

Interior fittings

Equipment of the body

After connecting the decoder wires to the upper strip, the cab layout is put back in place then the strip is stuck under the roof.

Installation of the upper strip

The light circuit is connected to the decoder.

Connection of the light circuit

Then it is lightly glued in place with Kristal Klear.

Gluing of the light circuit

Finally, a 1.27 mm pitch five-pin male connector is soldered to the remaining wires of the decoder. These wires are:

Decoder connector

Note that the header is reinforced with a very small PCB. Indeed, the insulating body of these headers doesn’t withstand well the soldering heat and doesn’t properly hold the pins. It would even be possible to remove this body after soldering to gain a little bulk.

Various connections

Engraved circuit with capacitor circuit. The front end of the circuit receives the female connector matching the decoder’s:

Engraved circuit connections

Rear electric coupling. The two wires are held together by a mini wrapping wire tie to avoid their fatigue in the solders:

Rear coupling connection

Bogie connection, not photographed.

Reassembly and functional test

The interior fittings are reassembled on the chassis. We just have to avoid getting wires caught between the two parts.

Reassembly of the interior fittings

Before definitively putting the body back in place, a functional test is essential.

Functional test

Finally, after refitting the body, the connector wires as well as the connector itself are tidied up under the cab.

Tidying the connector

25/04/202018/07/2020.

Équipement de la voiture pilote

Voici la suite promise depuis déjà plus de cinq ans. J’attendais un éventuel besoin de démontage. Il est arrivé, car j’ai remarqué que le condensateur anti-clignotement est devenu insuffisant avec les huit voitures de la rame complète. Il a une capacité de 1000 µF pour une tension de service de 35 V. Or la taille des condensateurs dépend de cette tension. Avec 25 V, on a une capacité de 2200 µF pour la même taille (ø 13 × 25 environ). La place disponible dans le local technique de la voiture, comme on va le voir, permet d’installer deux condensateurs 2200 µF / 25 V en parallèle, ce qui va en pratique quadrupler la capacité actuelle.

La structure d’origine

À l’origine, un emplacement est prévu dans la cabine pour un décodeur. Le circuit imprimé n’est pas satisfaisant, comme dit en page 1. De plus, pour cacher au mieux la filerie, on va voir que j’ai été amené à dégager le plus possible l’espace dans cette cabine. Pour loger le décodeur et les condensateurs, j’ai trouvé que le local technique central était particulièrement adapté, à condition de l’agrandir autant que possible.

Modifications structurelles

Outre l’équipement des plateformes qui ne diffère pas de celui des autres voitures, il y a un certain nombre de modifications à effectuer.

Aménagement intérieur

Un trou rectangulaire d’environ 13 × 13 mm est pratiqué sous la cabine ; il permet de loger un connecteur, comme on le verra plus loin.

Pour agrandir l’espace dans le local technique, la partie centrale de l’aménagement inférieur est découpée. Naturelle­ment, comme pour les autres voitures, mais a fortiori ici, l’aménage­ment supérieur est collé sur l’inférieur au niveau des escaliers, en prenant grand soin de respecter la distance entre les deux moitiés séparées. Le mieux pour cela est de procéder au collage avec les pièces montées sur le châssis.

Remarquer le connecteur d’alimentation de la réglette d’éclairage.

Ouverture dans l’aménagement

Dégagement du local technique

Châssis

Le lest est découpé dans le local technique pour laisser un espace libre de 10 mm environ, nécessaire pour le futur passage des fils. La partie restant apparente est isolée avec du scotch d’électricien.

Caisse

Il y a peu de choses à faire. Dans cette voiture, exceptionnellement, la réglette d’éclairage de l’étage sera collée sous le toit. Il faut donc araser tous les reliefs qui s’y trouvent.

Fanaux

Comme déjà signalé, les guides de lumière d’origine sont trop petits. Ils sont remplacés par des tronçons de LED « canon » de 2 mm (on peut aussi utiliser de la Krystal Klear). Les LED elles-mêmes seront des modèles CMS.

Modifications électriques

Note : tous les circuits qui suivent sont obsolètes, voir plus bas la section Changement de conception.

Prise de courant

La voiture pilote alimentant toute la rame, il faut que la prise de courant soit la meilleure possible. Donc l’utilisation de paliers conducteurs et d’essieux isolés au milieu s’impose. Pour cela, il faut récupérer des roues non isolées sur d’autres voitures et les échanger avec les roues isolées. Attention : les roues sont très peu serrées sur les axes, qui sont eux-mêmes de mauvaise qualité (pointes mal usinées). La distance entre pointes passe de 24,8 à 24,0 pour tenir compte de l’épaisseur des paliers conducteurs. Chaque roue est donc décalée de 0,4 mm vers l’extérieur.

Les paliers conducteurs sont fabriqués avec de la tôle de laiton de 2/10 suivant la technique déjà utilisée pour les DEV AO REE.

Paliers conducteurs

Les fils issus des bogies passent dans les rainures du châssis, sous le lest, et se rejoignent dans le local technique.

Noter la couleur des fils non conforme à la NEM (il faudrait rouge au lieu de bleu), mais j’ai préféré conserver les fils d’origine.

Fils sortant des bogies

Éclairage

La réglette inférieure est la même que pour les autres voitures, avec des LED inutiles en moins, mais son alimentation est faite directement dans le local technique, avec un connecteur à deux broches au pas de 1,27 mm.

La réglette supérieure est très semblable aux autres ; j’y ai ajouté une LED d’éclairage cabine, qui aura une connexion particulière.

Cette réglette, comme déjà dit, est collée sous le toit. J’ai prévu un connecteur qui permet­tra de faciliter la sépara­tion entre caisse et châs­sis. Ce connecteur doit pouvoir être débranché avant démontage et donc être accessible de l’exté­rieur. C’est pourquoi j’ai prévu l’ouverture carrée de l’aménagement sous cabine.

Connecteurs de cabine

Ce connecteur, au pas de 1,27, a cinq contacts. Dans l’ordre, V+ (bleu) ; feux rouges (jaune) ; feux blancs (blanc) ; éclairage compartiment (vert) ; éclairage cabine (violet). Les soudures des contacts mâles sont protégées par gaine thermorétractable ; les contacts femelles sont soudés sur une petite plaquette de circuit imprimé, car ils sont assez fragiles.

Fanaux

Le circuit imprimé est refait complètement, avec des composants CMS. Les LED sont montées inversées

Circuit des fanaux

NB : j’ai d’abord essayé de monter des LED canon, a priori plus faciles à mettre en œuvre, mais elles butent contre l’aménagement de cabine et ne peuvent donc pas être placées parfaitement horizontalement.

Circuit d’alimentation et décodeur

Pour le moment, comme déjà dit, ce circuit ne comporte qu’un seul condensateur de 1000 µF, insuffisant. Le décodeur se trouve à côté. Certains fils de ce dernier partent directement vers la cabine en longeant le lest.

Circuit d’alimentation actuel

Le fil noir/argent est soudé à la masse du décodeur. Il sera relié au pôle négatif des condensateurs. Ainsi, tous les circuits bénéficieront de l’anti-clignotement, et pas seulement l’éclairage des compartiments comme c’est le cas actuellement.

Circuit d’alimentation actuel

Voici où ce fil est soudé. Il va de soi que ceci n’est valable que pour le décodeur Lenz LF101XF, qui n’est plus fabriqué.

Emplacement de la masse sur le décodeur

Voici le nouveau circuit projeté, dont la réalisation attendra des jours meilleurs.

Les condensateurs sont disposés dans la longueur et non plus en travers.

Le décodeur sera collé sur une cloison verticale.

Projet de nouveau circuit

Les jours meilleurs sont arrivés. Voici un échantillon des circuits reçus de chez JLCPCB. De gauche à droite : deux réglettes d’éclairage pour étage inférieur ; deux circuits réserves d’énergie, dont un équipé avec ses deux condensateurs de 2200 µF ; le circuit des feux.

Vue des nouveaux circuits imprimés

NB : chez JLCPCB, les circuits se commandent par cinq identiques. Cela n’est pas gênant pour les réglettes d’éclairage (il m’en faut huit de chaque type, j’en aurai deux en supplément !). Pour les autres circuits dont je n’ai besoin que d’un seul exemplaire, il m’en reste quatre inutiles ! Ce n’est pas bien grave vu le prix modéré. Mais si vous êtes intéressé, faites-le moi savoir à l’adresse indiquée sur la page d’accueil. Attention : ces circuits sont nus, sans composants, à monter soi-même.

Changement de conception

J’ai décidé de refaire complètement le câblage. En effet, avoir placé le décodeur dans le local technique n’était pas forcément une très bonne idée : cela nécessitait de passer inutilement des fils sous l’aménagement, en particulier ceux des feux blancs et rouges.

Il est donc préférable de placer le décodeur dans la cabine. Or, celle-ci présente une double cloison arrière, avec un espace a priori un peu étroit pour un décodeur, mais qui devient suffisant en arasant les reliefs internes (entre 2,5 et 3 mm). Le décodeur y est installé verticalement. La plupart des fils sortent vers le bas, où se trouve une ouverture qu'il suffit d’agrandir un peu. Certains, alimentant l’éclairage de l’étage supérieur et de la cabine, sortent vers le haut.

Pour les liaisons restan­tes entre les deux extré­mités de la voiture et le local technique, j’avais le choix entre trois solutions :

Vue de la cabine avec décodeur

Vue de la cabine avec décodeur

J’ai choisi la dernière solution. Mais, comme ce n’était pas prévu au départ1, je me suis contenté de fraiser une plaque d’époxy pour obtenir des pistes parallèles. Comme j’ai gravé ce circuit avant de décider de replacer le décodeur dans la cabine, j’ai gravé inutilement sept pistes, alors qu’il n’en fallait que cinq au maximum. Mieux vaut trop que pas assez… Voici l’ensemble des pièces à assembler.

1. D’ailleurs, si j’avais pensé plus tôt à cette solution, j’aurais fait un circuit unique combinant les liaisons avant / arrière et les condensateurs. Il aurait pu être en épaisseur 0,4 mm pour faciliter son implantation sous l’aménagement intérieur.

Ensemble des pièces à assembler

Survolez la photo pour une vue agrandie.

D’arrière en avant, on distingue :

Un montage à blanc permet de s’assurer que l’épaisseur totale n’empêchera pas le remontage de l’aménagement.

Montage à blanc

Note : si cette épaisseur pose problème, on pourra sans souci supprimer les plaques de lest. En effet, la masse de la voiture passera alors de 172 à 148 g, qui est la valeur maximale recommandée par la NEM.

Équipement de l’aménagement intérieur

Pour compenser l’épaisseur des composants de la réglette inférieure, j’ai collé de chaque côté une bande d’Evergreen de section 0,5 × 3 (2) avec de la colle Uhu Strong, puis l’ensemble sous le pont supérieur avec de la colle pour plastique Faller Expert. De part et d’autre, j’ai posé du papier autocollant blanc (1). Il aurait été mieux de peindre la réglette en blanc. Ici, elle est passée au feutree argent.

Ensuite, j’ai collé les cloisons sous le pont supérieur en interposant des profilés Evergreen de 1 × 1 (3), pour avoir la même hauteur sous plafond partout. L’ensemble formé est maintenant assez rigide.

Équipement de l’aménagement intérieur

Équipement de la caisse

Après avoir raccordé les fils du décodeur à la réglette supérieure, l’aménagement de cabine est remis en place puis la réglette est collée sous le toit.

Mise en place de la réglette supérieure

Le circuit des feux est raccordé au décodeur.

Racordement du circuit des feux

Puis il est légèrement collé en place avec de la Kristal Klear.

Collage du circuit des feux

Enfin, un connecteur mâle à cinq broches au pas de 1,27 mm est soudé sur les fils restants du décodeur. Ces fils sont :

Connecteur du décodeur

Notez que la barrette est renforcée avec un tout petit circuit imprimé. En effet, le corps isolant de ces barrettes ne supporte pas bien la chaleur de soudage et ne maintient pas correctement les broches. Il serait même possible de supprimer ce corps après soudage pour gagner un peu en encombrement.

Raccordements divers

Circuit gravé avec circuit à condensateurs. L’extrémité avant du circuit reçoit le connecteur femelle correspondant à celui du décodeur :

Liaison du circuit gravé

Attelage électrique arrière. Les deux fils sont maintenus par un lien en fil de mini wrapping dans le but d’éviter leur fatigue au niveau des soudures :

Connexion de l’attelage arrière

Liaison des bogies, non photographiée.

Remontage et test du fonctionnement

L’aménagement est remonté sur le châssis. Il faut simplement éviter que des fils se coincent entre les deux pièces.

Remontage de l’aménagement

Avant de replacer la caisse définitivement, un test du fonctionnement s’impose.

Test du fonctionnement

Enfin, après repose de la caisse, les fils du connecteur sont rentrés sous la cabine ainsi que le connecteur lui-même.

Rangement du connecteur