25/10/2021.

Complete redesign

With evolutions every year, the circuit as described above worked for several years, but did not age well. The plywood became quite warped and in some places delaminated due to dampness (the modules were stored for the winter in an unheated garage). In addition, the user was also getting older: I found it increasingly difficult to move the larger modules.

Another trouble was that the agglomerated cork ballast base shrank significantly in some places, about 1 cm per metre. I think this is due to it drying out.

So it was time to redesign, with the following requirements:

I ended up choosing extruded polystyrene for the tables. Advantages: very good flatness, good rigidity (depending on the thickness, in my case 60 mm), easy to cut, cheap and, of course, very light. Disadvantages: fragile surface, complicated gluing, dusty machining.

For the edges, I keep the 10 mm plywood, but cut the widths to 8 cm for the visible side and 12 for the other. This way, I will be able to recover the old sides by eliminating the damaged parts (because I don’t want to redo everything from scratch).

New structure

Exploded structure of the new modules

Assembled structure of the new modules

As can be seen in the drawings above, the extruded polystyrene board is fitted between the two plywood sides, joined by 20 × 35 mm cleats, all screwed together with stainless-steel torx screws. Not shown here, the sides are screwed to the board at approximately 40 cm intervals using special dowels. These dowels would not be suitable for hanging a load of course, but were perfect for holding the plywood edges to the edge of the XPS plates while the glue dried.

The modules are assembled using simple 8 × 70 lag bolts.

Cutting the polystyrene

I bought a thermal cutter, but this tool proved to be unsuitable, even for curvilinear cuts. The blade is too flexible and doesn’t allow a perpendicular cut, which is a bit like a jigsaw. On the other hand, the cut surface consists of melted and therefore hardened polystyrene. In the end, a good cutter does the job better, provided you make several passes.

The problem of gluing

I started by testing gluing XPS (extruded polystyrene) on plywood. The main requirements are that the XPS should not be attacked, that the glue should be able to fill any irregularities, that the glue should be resistant to moisture and that it should be strong and durable enough. I tried two adhesives.

The first, which I thought was the best for this kind of work, was polyurethane glue. So I bought a cartridge of Sikaflex High Tack.

A sample of XPS is assembled on a piece of plywood, clamped and left to dry overnight. Disappointing: easy to pull off by hand. The glue stays on the plywood, nothing on the XPS.

Later, I tried to glue a module with this glue: same punishment, nothing held!

So, reluctantly I admit, but on the advice of many DIY sites, I settled on vinyl wood glue. My big doubt was about the possibility of water evaporation and therefore drying, especially if I needed to glue two pieces of XPS together.

I chose the Pattex wood waterproof. It is supposed to bond laminate to wood in 40 minutes, but there is no mention of the possibility of bonding polystyrene to itself. It did however give satisfaction, although for the moment I don’t have any experience on the duration. You just have to be patient and let it dry for at least 24 hours under clamping, which can be restrictive.

One disadvantage is that the dried glue is very hard — it really has no flexibility.

For assembly, I had to buy new long clamps:

Example of gluing a module

Do not forget to use spacers to distribute the pressure, otherwise the XPS will crush!

Example of gluing a module

For oblique clamping, triangular wedges are temporarily screwed in.

The use of clamps was combined with the use of the dowels mentioned above.

Gluing the tracks

The gluing of the tracks — both the cork ballast on the polystyrene and the sleepers — was done with the same Pattex wood glue, without any problems.

For one module, I tested the use of Tramiband as ballast, which is, and I quote, a high resilience closed cell polyolefin foam strip with an instant adhesive. It is used to seal and insulate between the rail and the floor in partitions (on metal frames, I would add). Disadvantage: this strip is covered with a non-stick film that completely prevents the track from being glued. This film must be peeled off after the Tramiband has been stuck to the substrate. I think that this strip reduces rolling noise, but I was unable to check this because I did not have a sound level meter.

The Tramiband thickness is 3 mm, and its width 45 or 65 mm. The track is glued with Pattex wood.

Difficulty of installing the turnout motors

I use servo-motors connected to the turnout bolster by a crank rod. But here, with the thickness of the support (60 mm, I recall), this transmission became too long, and the servos became very exposed, since there is only 2 cm of space left below the modules.

So I kept the plywood support in the turnout areas, fortunately few. This solution also had the advantage of allowing a good part of the wiring to be done before installation. On the other hand, it was necessary to cut the XPS quite precisely, and then glue wedges to it so that the plywood plates were perfectly level.

Example:

Installation of supports for the turnout area

To ensure the position 10 mm below the surface, strips of plywood are temporarily fixed just below it. The supports are 6 mm thick XPS strips, glued and held in place during the drying process by stainless-steel screws, moderately tightened of course.

Holding the supports in place with stainless-steel screws

Cleats are also screwed / glued to the ends, to ensure fixing the turnout plates with stainless-steel screws.

Cleats for fixing the plates

Fitting the servos

The use of printed circuit board servo supports was no longer justified. They are now fixed by their own flange, with chromium-plated brass spacers between them.

Mounting a servo-motor

Wiring

Wiring is done using two types of connectors as shown in the picture above (no more connecting blocks, except for connecting the modules):

The latter can be mounted with a simple universal clamp. Although not recommended, they allow disassembly and reassembly in the event of an error, by removing the fork that makes the contact.

The wires are held under the modules with two types of supports:

Although the adhesive of these supports seems quite strong, I preferred to reinforce it with a screw fixed in the polystyrene, even if the tightening is necessarily limited.

Here is the result of the wiring of the turnout area of module A.

Wiring of the turnout area of module A

A close-up of the Switchpilot Servo that manages this turnout area, showing its attachment by an M6 stud and a knurled recovery nut. This, together with the connectors, which are all pluggable, allows for quick disassembly: these devices will be stored away for the winter!

View of a Switchpilot Servo mounting

Another advantage is that it allows, at the cost of a few extensions on the servo cables, to take out the Switchpilot for programming the turnouts with the little push buttons, as I explained elsewhere.

Some pictures of completed modules

Module A:

Module A completed

Module C:

Module C completed

Note the end protections in cut and screwed XPS.

On this module, the tracks have been redesigned again, to make them as long as possible, and to avoid a portion of the curve with a very tight radius that was causing derailments. You can see this curve just in the centre of the picture. The curve is still quite severe, but less so than before. The curve in question is drawn in a thick line on the diagram below.

Plan of the new module C

Bottom of the same:

Module C seen from below

The wiring may look a bit confusing, but it is difficult to do differently, and it is still quite simple.

Module D showing the use of Tramiband:

Module D

You can notice the beginning of the curve of the racket which allows a bigger radius of curvature in it.

Small summary of the accessories used

Accessories

From left to right: stainless-steel screws, cable supports, Fischer dowels, Wago connectors, insulation displacement connectors, end caps for flexible cable, and pluggable connecting blocks.

A2 stainless-steel screws
TFX 4,5 × 40
€28,35 for 200 pieces — price 2021
at amazon.fr

Fischer FI D 50 dowels
for insulation materials
€31,00 € for 50 pieces — price 2021
at amazon.fr

Thermal cutter
Styro Cutter 06
€109,00 € — price 2021
at amazon.fr

Polyurethane glue
Sikaflex High Tack
€12,73 € per 300 ml cartridge — price 2021
at amazon.fr

Vinyl wood glue
Pattex wood waterproof
€9,98 per 750 g bottle — price 2021
at amazon.fr

One-hand clamp
Wolfcraft EHZ PRO 100-915 mm
€35,90 — price 2021
at fnac.com

Tramiband
tramico.fr

Wago connector type 221-413
for 0.2 to 4 mm2 (24-12 AWG) wires
€26,06 for 50 pieces — price 2021
at amazon.fr

Quick electrical connector
Clip-on connector 0.5 to 6 mm2 (20-10 AWG)
€7,92 for 50 pieces — price 2021
at ebay.fr

Adhesive bases for cable ties
Starvast self-adhesive, 28 × 28 mm.
€14,99 € for 100 pieces — price 2021
at amazon.fr

Adhesive cable ties
adjustables in nylon, 17 × 25 mm.
€13,99 for 100 pieces — price 2021
at amazon.fr

25/10/2021.

Refonte totale

Avec des évolutions chaque année, le circuit tel que décrit précédemment a fonctionné plusieurs années, mais n’a pas bien vieilli. Le contreplaqué s’est assez fortement gauchi et a fini à certains endroits par se délaminer à cause de l’humidité (les modules étant stockés pour l’hivernage dans un box non chauffé). De plus, l’utilisateur vieillissait aussi : j’avais de plus en plus de difficulté à déplacer les plus gros modules.

Autre dérangement : la semelle de ballast en liège aggloméré s’est rétractée sensiblement à certains endroits, de l’ordre de 1 cm par mètre. Je pense que c’est dû à son dessèchement.

Il était donc temps de revoir la conception, avec les exigences suivantes :

J’en suis venu à choisir le polystyrène extrudé pour les tables. Avantages : très bonne planéité, bonne rigidité (fonction de l’épaisseur, ici 60 mm), facile à découper, bon marché et, bien sûr, grande légèreté. Inconvénients : surface fragile, collage compliqué, usinage générant de la poussière.

Pour les bords, je conserve le contreplaqué de 10 mm, mais en recoupant les largeurs à 8 cm pour la face visible et 12 pour l’autre. Ainsi, je pourrai récupérer éventuellement les anciens bords en éliminant les parties endommagées (car je ne veux pas tout refaire à neuf).

Nouvelle structure

Structure éclatée des nouveaux modules

Structure assemblée des nouveaux modules

Comme on peut le voir sur les dessins ci-dessus, la plaque de polystyrène extrudé est prise entre les deux côtés en contreplaqué, réunis par des traverses en tasseaux de 20 × 35 mm, le tout vissé avec des vis inox à empreinte torx. Non illustré ici, tous les 40 cm environ, les côtés sont vissés à la plaque par l’intermédiaire de chevilles spéciales. Ces chevilles ne conviendraient pas pour suspendre une charge bien sûr, mais ont été parfaites pour maintenir les bords de contreplaqué sur la tranche des plaques de PSX pendant le séchage de la colle.

L’assemblage des modules se fait par simples tire-fonds 8 × 70.

Découpe du polystyrène

J’ai acheté un appareil de découpe thermique, mais cet outil s’est révélé mal adapté, même pour les coupes curvilignes. En effet, la lame est trop souple et ne permet pas une coupe perpendiculaire, un peu le même défaut que les scies sauteuses. D’autre part, la surface coupée est constituée de polystyrène fondu et donc durci. Finalement, un bon cutter fait mieux le travail, à condition de faire plusieurs passes.

Problème du collage

J’ai commencé par faire des tests de collage PSX / CTP (polystyrène extrudé sur contreplaqué). Les principales exigences sont que le PSX ne soit pas attaqué, que la colle puisse remplir d’éventuelles irrégularités, que le collage résiste à l’humidité et soit suffisamment puissant et durable. J’ai essayé deux colles.

La première, qui me semblait la meilleure pour ce genre de travail, était la colle polyuréthane. J’ai donc acheté une cartouche de Sikaflex High Tack.

Un échantillon de PSX est assemblé sur un morceau de CTP, mis en pression et laissé sécher toute une nuit. Déception : arrachement facile à la main. La colle reste sur le CTP, rien sur le PSX.

Plus tard, j’ai quand même essayé de coller un module avec cette colle : même punition, rien n’a tenu !

Donc, il faut bien le dire à contrecœur, mais sur les conseils de nombreux sites de bricolage, je me suis rabattu sur la colle à bois vinylique. Mon gros doute était sur la possibilité de l’évaporation de l’eau et donc le séchage, surtout en cas de besoin de coller deux pièces de PSX ensemble.

J’ai choisi la Pattex bois waterproof. Elle est censée coller aussi du stratifié sur support bois en 40 minutes, mais rien n’est dit sur la possibilité de coller du polystyrène sur lui-même. Elle a cependant donné satisfaction, bien que pour le moment je n’aie pas d’expérience sur la durée. Il faut simplement être patient et laisser sécher au moins 24 heures sous serrage, ce qui peut être contraignant.

Un inconvénient est que la colle sèche est très dure — elle n’a vraiment aucune souplesse.

Pour le montage, j’ai été amené à acheter de nouveaux serre-joints de grande longueur :

Exemple de collage de module

Il ne faut pas oublier de placer des cales pour répartir la pression, sinon le PSX s’écrase !

Exemple de collage de module

Pour les serrages obliques, des cales triangulaires sont vissées temporairement.

L’utilisation de serre-joints a été combinée avec celle des chevilles dont j’ai parlé plus haut.

Collage des voies

Le collage des voies — tant du ballast liège sur le polystyrène que des traverses — a été fait avec la même colle Pattex bois, sans problème.

Pour un module, j’ai testé l’utilisation comme ballast de Tramiband qui est, je cite, une bande en mousse de polyoléfine à cellules fermées haute résilience avec adhésif à prise immédiate. Il permet de réaliser l’étanchéité et l’isolation entre le rail et le plancher dans les cloisons (sur armature métallique, je le précise). Inconvénient : cette bande est recouverte d’un film antiadhésif qui empêche totalement le collage de la voie. Il faut donc peler ce film après avoir collé le Tramiband sur le support. Je pense que cette bande permet de diminuer le bruit de roulement, mais, faute de sonomètre, je n’ai pas pu le vérifier.

L’épaisseur est de 3 mm, et la largeur de 45 ou 65 mm. Le collage de la voie est fait ici encore avec la Pattex bois.

Problème de l’installation des moteurs d’aiguillages

J’utilise des servomoteurs reliés à la traverse mobile des aiguilles par une tringle en forme de manivelle. Mais ici, avec l’épaisseur du support (60 mm, je le rappelle), cette transmission devenait trop longue, et les servos devenaient très exposés, puisqu’il ne reste que 2 cm d’espace en dessous des modules.

J’ai donc conservé le support en contreplaqué dans les zones d’aiguillages, heureusement peu nombreuses. Cette solution a aussi eu un avantage annexe, celui de permettre une bonne partie du câblage avant mise en place. En revanche, il a fallu découper assez précisément le PSX, puis lui coller des cales pour que les plaques de CTP soient parfaitement à niveau.

Exemple :

Pose de supports pour zone d’aiguillages

Pour assurer la position à 10 mm sous la surface, des bandes de CTP sont fixées provisoirement juste sous celle-ci. Les cales sont des bandes de PSX ép. 6 mm, collées et maintenues pendant le séchage par des vis inox, modérément serrées bien entendu.

Maintien des cales par vis inox

Des tasseaux sont aussi vissés / collés aux extrémités pour la fixation des plaques par vis — inox aussi.

Tasseaux pour fixation des plaques

Pose des servos

L’utilisation de supports de servos en circuit imprimé ne se justifiait plus. Ils sont maintenant fixés par leur propre bride, avec interposition d’entretoises (colonnettes) en laiton chromé.

Montage d’un servomoteur

Câblage

Le câblage fait appel à deux types de connecteurs que l’on peut voir sur la photo ci-dessus (plus de dominos, sauf pour le raccordement des modules) :

Ces derniers se montent à l’aide d’une simple pince universelle. Bien que ça ne soit pas recommandé, ils permettent un démontage et un remontage en cas d’erreur, en extrayant la fourchette qui établit le contact.

Le maintien des fils sous les modules se fait avec deux types de supports :

Bien que l’adhésif de ces supports paraisse assez puissant, j’ai préféré le renforcer par une vis fixée dans le polystyrène, même si le serrage est nécessairement limité.

Voici le résultat du câblage de la zone d’aiguillages du module A.

Câblage de la zone d’aiguillages du module A

Vue rapprochée du Switchpilot Servo qui gère cette zone d’aiguillages, montrant sa fixation par un goujon M6 et un écrou moleté de récupération. Cela permet, en association avec les connecteurs tous débrochables, un démontage rapide : ces dispositifs seront rangés au chaud pour l’hiver !

Vue de la fixation d’un Switchpilot Servo

Autre avantage : cela permet, au prix de quelques rallonges sur les câbles des servos, de sortir le Switchpilot pour la programmation des aiguilles à l’aide des petits boutons poussoirs, comme je l’ai expliqué par ailleurs.

Quelques photos de modules terminés

Module A :

Module A terminé

Module C :

Module C terminé

Noter les protections d’extrémité en PSX découpé et vissé.

Sur ce module, les voies ont encore été redessinées, pour les allonger au maximum, et pour éviter une portion de courbe de rayon très serré qui provoquait des déraillements. On voit cette courbe juste au centre de la photo. La courbure est encore assez prononcée, mais moins qu’auparavant. La courbe en question est dessinée en trait épais sur le schéma ci-dessous.

Plan du nouveau module C

Dessous du même :

Module C vu de dessous

Le câblage peut paraître un peu confus, mais il est difficile de faire autrement, et cela reste quand même assez simple.

Module D montrant l’utilisation du Tramiband :

Module D

On remarque l’amorce de la courbe de la raquette qui permet un plus grand rayon de courbure dans celle-ci.

Petit résumé en image des accessoires utilisés

Accessoires

On distingue de gauche à droite : les vis inox, les supports de câble, les chevilles Fischer, les connecteurs Wago, les connecteurs autodénudants, des embouts pour câble souple, et des dominos débrochables.

Vis à bois en inox A2
TFX 4,5 × 40
28,35 € les 200 pièces — prix 2021
chez amazon.fr

Chevilles Fischer FID 50
pour matériaux d’isolation
31,00 € les 50 pièces — prix 2021
chez amazon.fr

Découpe polystyrène électrique
Styro Cutter 06
109,00 € — prix 2021
chez amazon.fr

Colle polyuréthane
Sikaflex High Tack
12,73 € la cartouche de 300 ml — prix 2021
chez amazon.fr

Colle à bois vinylique
Pattex bois waterproof
9,98 € le biberon de 750 g — prix 2021
chez amazon.fr

Serre-joint à une main
Wolfcraft EHZ PRO 100-915 mm
35,90 € — prix 2021
chez fnac.com

Tramiband
tramico.fr

Connecteur Wago type 221-413
pour fils de 0,2 à 4 mm2
26,06 € les 50 pièces — prix 2021
chez amazon.fr

Cosse électrique rapide
Connecteur clipsable 0,5 à 6mm2
7,92 € les 50 pièces — prix 2021
chez ebay.fr

Embases adhésives pour attache de câble
Starvast autocollantes, 28 mm × 28 mm.
14,99 € les 100 pièces — prix 2021
chez amazon.fr

Attaches de câble adhésives
ajustables en nylon, 17 mm × 25 mm.
13,99 € les 100 pièces — prix 2021
chez amazon.fr