25/10/2021.

Like many, I live in a flat, even if this flat is a bit atypical: first and only floor (so no galloping on the head…), a 40 m2 terrace, well much less if you take away the veranda and the multiple potted plants.

And like many, I was frustrated not to be able to run my train models. You will tell me that a few square meters are enough for that. Yes, as long as you are satisfied with short trains in a rather rural environment. But I prefer long international trains! So several years ago I started thinking about an outdoor circuit on the terrace. Of course, the big disadvantages would be the weather and the need to bring it in for the winter.

Would the tracks be able to withstand the exposure to humidity (because of course I was still planning on a tarp for when it was not in use)? Would the structure itself withstand the stresses, and for that matter, what materials should be used? That’s what I’d like to tell you here.

First project: trial and error

For storage reasons, the circuit naturally had to be dismantled into several sections, which I will call modules. On the other hand, I wanted a looped circuit, to be able to run trains as long as necessary. Indeed, I had from the beginning the intention to make videos; it was therefore necessary to be able to make several takes without interfering in the running of the trains.

But there was no question of making an oval, which would take up too much space. I therefore chose the “dog bone” formula, which made it possible to follow two edges of the terrace without taking up too much of the middle. Of course, the extreme modules, which I call rackets, would necessarily take up more space. By the way, what would be the minimum allowable track radius? Since I was planning to use plywood panels, the maximum width was 1.20 m, which would lead to a radius of about 0.50 m.

Finally, the circuit would consist of five modules: from left to right, a racket A, a straight line module B, a module C of curves in the corner (planned parabolic curves), another straight line D, then the other racket E.

The first straight line module B should have several tracks to store some trains. A balloon loop was planned.

Here is the plan of this first project.

Plan of the first project

The length of the route is approximately 20 metres. The minimum bending radius of module C is 1100 mm.

The modules have 10 mm plywood sides. The visible side is 10 cm high and flush with the board; the opposite side is 15 cm high and protrudes beyond the surface to make a fall protection parapet. I forgot to mention that the circuit height is about 90 cm, and that material falling from this height onto the concrete slabs would look very bad.

The sides are fixed to the board by means of 20 mm cleats screwed into the corners. For the rackets, the visible side is curved. So I have to bend the plywood, and fix it with a cleat notched every 20 mm or so to follow the curve. The underside of the rackets is also reinforced with larger cleats. Unfortunately, the weight becomes quite important: I can hardly move them by myself.

The interfaces

A big problem is the fixing of the modules together. Here again, I use cleats in the form of crosspieces connecting the sides. Precision is necessary, but not easy to obtain with wood that plays with humidity! I used stove type bolts that have an anti-rotation square under the head.

In this first project, single-leg supports for narrow modules, or two-leg supports otherwise, are sandwiched between the module crosspieces:

Mounting of a single-leg support

This assembly will prove complicated to implement and, above all, unstable. On the other hand, a well-made terrace has a slope for water drainage. This is the case here; so a means to adjust the height of the legs is necessary…

The connection of the tracks is done with sliding rail joiners that are retracted for dismantling and storage.

Evolution of the project

The junction of the tracks in module B is not satisfactory: the trains twist in an inelegant way at the end of the curve in module C. In fact, this arrangement was intended to allow modules B and D to be combined in a straight line, without passing through the curve of module C. But, given the configuration of the site, this possibility was never used. So I’m moving the turnout area to module C, with curved turnouts, which will unfortunately force me to cheat on the track transition curves. But the tracks will be longer and the diversions more elegant.

An inspection trap door, mounted on a piano hinge, is cut out of module A. Module E is split into two parts, also mounted on hinges, which allows the smaller part to be folded down to facilitate circulation on this side, as this module is flush with the veranda, as can be seen in a photo.

Plan of the second project

Some photos

View of module A.

View of module A

You can see the embryo of the control panel, with toggle switches for the turnouts and push-buttons for the routes. For the programming of these routes, I refer you to the article Automation for train models.

View of module B.

View of module B

View of module C.

View of module C

Note the arches for market gardening tunnel which are used to support the protective tarp. In use, they are “planted” in the circuit board.

View of modules D and E.

View of modules D and E

New supports for the modules

To replace the wobbly legs, I now use shelf supports on racks, fixed into the walls, and extended by cleats. One drawback is that they are made of steel which, although lacquered, will eventually rust, especially at the section of the racks I have cut out. I’ll give them a coat of rustproofing.

View of covered circuit

Detail of a rack support:

Detail of a rack support

The tarp is now made of a sandwich of a survival blanket to prevent the greenhouse effect, and a polyethylene film for waterproofing, all joined by double-sided carpet adhesive tape. The last will age prematurely under the attack of UV rays: it is not made for this! I don't forget to leave openings for air circulation; this prevents condensation forming on damp mornings.

But frankly, it’s a pain to have to fold up the tarp every time I want to use the circuit, and to put it back on in the evening, unless I’m perfectly sure it won’t rain at night, which is quite rare…

About wiring

A few words about the wiring. I didn’t take any pictures at that time. I mainly use connecting blocks to feed the rail coupons from a 0.75 or 1 mm2 flexible wire feeder (H05V-K). For the points controls, telephone cable, made of solid core wires of 0.2 mm2. For the Lenz remote control sockets, also telephone cable.

The connections between modules are made:

25/10/2021.

Comme beaucoup, j’habite en appartement, même si cet appartement est un peu atypique : premier et unique étage (donc pas de galopades sur la tête…), une terrasse de 40 m2, enfin beaucoup moins si l’on retire la véranda et les multiples plantes en pot.

Et comme beaucoup, j’étais frustré de ne pouvoir faire circuler mes petits trains. Vous me direz qu’il suffit de quelques mètres carrés pour cela. Oui, à condition de se satisfaire de rames courtes dans un environnement plutôt campagnard. Or je préfère les longues rames internationales ! Il y a plusieurs années, j’ai donc commencé à réfléchir à un circuit extérieur, sur la terrasse. Bien entendu, les gros inconvénients seraient la soumission à la météo et l’obligation de le rentrer pour l’hiver.

Les voies allaient-elles supporter l’exposition à l’humidité (car évidemment je prévoyais quand même une bâche pour les moments d’inutilisation) ? La structure elle-même allait-elle supporter ces contraintes, et, d’ailleurs, quels matériaux fallait-il utiliser ? C’est ce que je voudrais vous raconter ici.

Premier projet : essais et erreurs

Pour des questions de rangement, il fallait naturellement que le circuit soit démontable en plusieurs sections, que j’appellerai modules. D’autre part, je désirais un circuit bouclé, pour pouvoir faire circuler des trains aussi longtemps que nécessaire. En effet, j’avais dès le début l’intention de faire des vidéos ; il fallait donc la possibilité de faire plusieurs prises sans intervenir dans le fonctionnement des trains.

Mais pas question de faire un ovale, trop gourmand en surface. Je choisis donc la formule « os de chien », ce qui permettait de suivre deux bords de la terrasse sans trop en occuper le milieu. Bien entendu, les modules extrêmes, que j’appelle les raquettes, seraient forcément plus encombrants. À propos, quel serait le rayon minimum admissible ? Étant donné que je prévoyais d’utiliser des panneaux de contreplaqué, la largeur maximale était de 1,20 m, ce qui amenait à un rayon de 0,50 m environ.

Finalement, le circuit se composerait de cinq modules : de gauche à droite, une raquette A, un module B de ligne droite, un module C de courbes dans l’angle (courbes prévues paraboliques), une autre ligne droite D, puis l’autre raquette E.

Le premier module de ligne droite B devrait comporter plusieurs voies pour stocker quelques rames. Une boucle de retournement était prévue.

Voici le plan de ce premier projet.

Plan du premier projet

La longueur du parcours est de 20 mètres environ. Le rayon de courbure minimal du module C est de 1100 mm.

Les modules ont des bords en contreplaqué de 10. Le bord visible fait 10 cm de haut et vient à ras de la planche ; le bord opposé fait 15 cm et dépasse la surface pour faire un parapet anti-chute. En effet, j’ai oublié de dire que la hauteur du circuit est de l’ordre de 90 cm, et que le matériel qui tomberait de cette hauteur sur les dalles en béton ferait une bien mauvaise figure.

Les bords sont fixés à la planche par des tasseaux de 20 mm environ vissés dans les angles. Pour les raquettes, le bord visible est en courbe. Je dois donc cintrer le contreplaqué, et le fixer par un tasseau entaillé tous les 20 mm environ pour suivre la courbe. Le dessous des raquettes est renforcé également par des traverses en tasseaux plus gros. Le poids devient malheureusement assez important : j’arrive à peine à les déplacer seul.

Les interfaces

Gros problème que la fixation des modules entre eux. Là aussi, utilisation de tasseaux sous forme de traverses reliant les bords. La précision est nécessaire, mais pas facile à obtenir avec du bois qui joue avec l’humidité ! J’ai utilisé des boulons de type poêlier qui possèdent un carré anti-rotation sous la tête.

Dans ce premier projet, des supports à pied unique pour les modules étroits, ou à deux pieds sinon, sont pris en sandwich entre les traverses des modules :

Montage de pied-support

Ce montage se révélera compliqué à mettre en œuvre et surtout instable. D’autre part, une terrasse bien faite possède une pente pour l’évacuation de l’eau. C’est le cas ici ; il faut donc pouvoir régler la hauteur des pieds…

Le raccordement des voies se fait avec des éclisses coulissantes qui sont effacées pour le démontage et le rangement.

Évolution du projet

Le raccordement des voies du module B n’est pas satisfaisant : les trains se tortillent de façon peu élégante en sortie de courbe du module C. En fait, cette disposition était prévue pour permettre éventuellement d’associer les modules B et D en ligne droite, sans passer par le module C en courbe. Mais, étant donné la configuration des lieux, cette possibilité n’a jamais été exploitée. Donc je reporte la zone d’aiguillages sur le module C, avec des aiguilles enroulées, ce qui va m’obliger malheureusement à tricher sur les raccordements paraboliques. Mais les voies seront plus longues et les déviations plus élégantes.

Une trappe de visite, montée sur charnière à piano, est découpée dans le module A. Le module E est scindé en deux parties, aussi montées sur charnières, ce qui permet de rabattre la partie la plus petite pour faciliter la circulation de ce côté, car ce module arrive à ras de la véranda, comme on le verra sur une photo.

Plan du deuxième projet

Quelques photos

Vue du module A.

Vue du module A

On distingue l’embryon de pupitre de commande, avec des commutateurs à bascule pour les aiguillages et des poussoirs pour les itinéraires. Pour la programmation de ces itinéraires, je vous renvoie à l’article Automatisme pour train miniature.

Vue du module B.

Vue du module B

Vue du module C.

Vue du module C

Remarquer les arceaux pour tunnel maraîcher qui servent à supporter la bâche de protection. En utilisation, ils sont « plantés » dans la planche du circuit.

Vue des modules D et E.

Vue des modules D et E

Nouveaux supports pour les modules

Pour remplacer les pieds branlants, j’utilise maintenant des supports d’étagère sur crémaillère, fixés dans les murs, et prolongés par des tasseaux. Un inconvénient est qu’ils sont en acier qui, bien que laqué, va finir par rouiller, surtout au niveau de la section des crémaillères que j’ai recoupées. Qu’importe, je les passerai à l’antirouille.

Vue du circuit bâché

Détail d’un support sur crémaillère :

Détail d’un support sur crémaillère

La bâche est à ce moment constituée d’un sandwich de couverture de survie pour empêcher l’effet de serre, et d’un film de polyéthylène pour l’étanchéité, le tout réuni par de l’autocollant double-face pour moquette. Celui-ci va vieillir prématurément sous l’attaque des UV : il n’est pas fait pour ça ! Je n’oublie pas de laisser des ouvertures pour la circulation de l’air ; cela évite la formation de condensation lors des petits matins humides.

Mais franchement, c’est pénible de devoir replier cette bâche à chaque fois que je veux me servir du circuit, et de la remettre le soir, à moins d’être parfaitement sûr qu’il ne pleuvra pas la nuit, ce qui est assez rare…

À propos du câblage

Quelques mots sur le câblage. Je n’ai pas fait de photos à cette époque. J’utilise principalement des dominos pour alimenter les coupons de rails en dérivation sur un feeder en fils souples (H05V-K) de 0,75 ou 1 mm2. Pour les commandes d’aiguilles, du câble téléphonique, composé de fils à âme massive de 0,2 mm2. Pour les prises de télécommande Lenz, également du câble téléphonique.

Les raccordements entre modules sont faits :