03/01/2020.

Gripping trolleys

In addition to the trolley itself, the parts that make it up are the grippers, and their articulation, which has two axles. One, longitudinal, the pinch axis, allows the grippers to spread then to grab a semi-trailer or a swap body; the other, perpendicular, the lifting axle, allows the grippers to be placed in the working position or in the rest position when working with containers and twist locks.

I wondered for a moment whether to make these articulations functional. To do so implied an increased risk of weakness. Not to do so led to designing two different parts: one representing a trolley with grippers at work, the other with grippers at rest. I opted for the first solution.

Installation of photo-etched accessories

These accessories are generally small and practically require using a magnifying glass. First the gripper’s stand. A notch is provided in the 3D part. CA gluing.

Gluing a stand on a gripper

Then, the stand rest and the trolley’s third support. These parts are positioned using pins on the trolley. You can see that the trolley is poorly cleaned. While looking at this photo, I realized this problem. I had to dismantle the accessories already in place to do the cleaning again. Fortunately, CA glue is easily dissolved by acetone.

Gluing a stand rest

Gluing the trolley’s third support

Assembly of the articulation axles

The problem here is twofold: the axles should enter their housing without forcing too much (risk of breaking the resin), but, at the same time, the articulation should not have too much clearance, to allow the grippers to be positioned at one’s will.

The solution that I found is to adjust the hole diameter with a carbide drill bit, to the exact axle diameter, here 0.8 mm, by hand, very slowly and without insisting: I stop the rotation just before getting through.

Bore of an axle hole

Click the picture to zoom.

To insert the axle, quite short (4.5 mm), I place it in a hand-held drill…

Installation of an articulation axle

… Then I push it in carefully before releasing hand-held drill and finishing the positioning.

Installation of an articulation axle (continued)

As a result, the grippers hold in the air by themselves.

Trolley completed: grippers hold in the air

Some tests on the older spreader

Grippers at rest.

Grippers at rest

Grippers at work.

Grippers at work

Grippers at rest, detail.

Grippers at rest, detail

Grippers at work, detail.

Grippers at work, detail

Et voilà, it remains only the decoration, painting and installation of decals. But this is another story.

03/01/2020.

Chariots de préhension

Outre le chariot proprement dit, les pièces qui le composent sont les pinces de préhension, et leur articulation, qui comporte deux axes. L’un, longitudinal, dit axe de pincement, permet aux pinces de s’écarter puis de saisir une semi-remorque ou une caisse mobile ; l’autre, perpendiculaire, dit axe de relèvement, permet de placer les pinces en position de travail ou de les remonter en position de repos lors du travail sur conteneur avec les verrous tournants.

Je me suis demandé un moment s’il fallait rendre ces articulations fonctionnelles. Le faire supposait un risque augmenté de fragilité. Ne pas le faire conduisait à définir deux pièces différentes : l’une représentant un chariot avec pinces au travail, l’autre avec pinces au repos. J’ai opté pour la première solution.

Pose des accessoires en photodécoupe

Ces accessoires sont en général petits et nécessitent pratiquement d’utiliser une loupe. D’abord les béquilles de repos des pinces. Une encoche est prévue dans la pièce en 3D. Collage à la cyanoacrylate.

Collage d’une béquille sur pince

Ensuite, les repos des béquilles et le troisième appui du chariot. Ces pièces sont positionnées grâce à des pions sur le chariot. On peut voir que le chariot est mal nettoyé. C’est en observant cette photo que je me suis aperçu de ce problème. Il m’a fallu démonter les accessoires déjà en place pour refaire le nettoyage. Heureusement, la cyano est facilement dissoute par l’acétone.

Collage d’un repos de béquille

Collage du troisième appui du chariot

Montage des axes d’articulation

Le problème ici est double : il faut que les axes entrent dans leur logement sans trop forcer (risque de casser la résine), mais il faut aussi que l'articulation ne soit pas trop libre, de façon à permettre de positionner les pinces à son gré.

La solution que j’ai trouvée est de réaléser les trous avec un foret carbure, au diamètre exact de l’axe, ici 0,8 mm, à la main, très lentement et sans insister : j’arrête la rotation juste avant de déboucher.

Alésage d’un logement d’axe

Cliquez sur l’image pour zoomer.

Pour insérer l’axe, assez court (4,5 mm), je le place dans un porte-foret à main…

Pose d’un axe d’articulation

… Puis je l’enfonce prudemment avant de le libérer et de terminer la mise en position.

Pose d’un axe d’articulation (suite)

Résultat : les pinces tiennent en l’air toutes seules.

Chariot terminé : les pinces tiennent en l’air

Quelques essais sur l’ancien spreader

Pinces au repos

Pinces au repos

Pinces au travail

Pinces au travail

Pinces au repos, détail

Pinces au repos

Pinces au travail, détail

Pinces au travail

Voilà, il ne reste plus que la décoration, mise en peinture et pose des décalcomanies. Mais ceci est une autre histoire.