31/01/2020.

Cab, hoist trolleys, hook blocks in 3D printing

Although the choice was made to build this gantry in photo-etched metal, there are still some parts easier to make in 3D printing. However, this technique still has drawbacks, such as relative fragility, perfectible accuracy and a difficulty in properly cleaning the parts.

For this last point, see the few following photos, knowing that cleaning is the provider’s responsibility, even if all claim that it is not possible to ensure a perfect cleaning. At Shapeways, I didn’t encounter this problem, but at Drim 3D, I did. For example, here is the amount of support material removed from the inside of a hoist trolley, though not very small. And there is still some.

Cleaning a hoist trolley

In other cases, this material, a supposedly soft support wax, is almost as hard as the resin itself and cannot be easily removed from small corners. I tried different methods: ultrasound, with pure water or with the addition of household cleaner, cold or hot (50° C is the maximum allowable), acetone, with very mixed results, acetone being totally ineffective. I still have to try other products: vinegar, isopropyl alcohol, etc. All this means that I will return to Shapeways for the future version. Their service is not without fault, but it is half the price, for almost identical quality, and with parts delivered almost clean.

Here is for example a spreader trolley (I will return to this later) before and after cleaning with the methods indicated. The difference is not obvious! The relatively large surfaces are fairly well cleaned, but not the nooks.

Cleaning a spreader trolley

The photos above, of poor quality, were taken with a USB / WiFi “microscope”, on which I intend to write an article. I put quotes because this device is closer to a magnifying glass than a microscope.

Cab

The cab has fairly thin uprights, which provide housing for the windows. The main difficulty is to insert these windows and glue them from the inside. I actually started, but I can’t finish until I have painted the cab. This operation will wait for warmer days.

For cutting the windows, I have provided a photo-etched template. In the photo below, a strip of clear polystyrene is first taped to the cutting mat. The template is taped over. Obviously, it must be prevented from moving during the entire operation. It may be possible to use a cutting machine. For that, I propose a dxf file, which might need modifications to make it compatible with the machine (the drawing units are in millimetres).

Cutting the windows

The new template will have notches to facilitate the cutting of the corners.

It would be much easier to insert the windows into the cab if its back was open. This is what I did on the advice of my provider. But he failed to print the cab in two parts. He didn’t give me the reason, but I guess the overhang at the bottom of the sides is the cause. This is why, in the future version, I have planned a separate back, but with a reinforcement at the bottom back of the main part, which should solve this problem.

View of a window put on the cab door. Okay, we don’t see much because of the translucency of the parts…

Result

Click on the image to — try to — get a closer look at the window.

A stencil is also provided to paint the glass joints in black, but I could not test it, because I was wrong in the dimensions (I took those of the windows without taking the joints into account, precisely…).

Hoist trolleys

The trolleys consist of two main parts, the chassis and the bonnet, and details such as photo-etched interior beams and a synchronization arm. The bonnet is simply fitted onto the chassis and remains removable, which makes it easier to adjust the length of the ropes. Here too, I had concerns, although I planned functional clearance: the chassis is wider than the bonnet! Barely a tenth of a millimetre, but that’s enough to prevent assembly.

Chassis width measurement

Bonnet width measurement

So, I really have to mill the frame, on my mini drill, to remove only the material just necessary. Obviously, the vice tightening must be moderate. Holes can be seen inside the chassis that will receive the ropes and allow to block them.

Chassis machining

Hook blocks

Just a tricky point, the rope path “channel” clearance. To do this, the best is to pass a sufficiently flexible, curved metal rod, then, if that’s not enough, an interdental brush! After which the rope (a very flexible elastic 0.5 mm thread) slides easily.

Cleaning of hook blocks

Of course, we’ll have to avoid filling these channels when painting.

Evergreen Sheet Styrene 9005
0.13 mm thick, 3 × 150 × 300 mm.
Ref. 269-PS-9005, €5.90 — price 2020
at micro-modele

31/01/2020.

Cabine, chariots, moufles en impression 3D

Bien que le choix ait été fait de construire ce portique en métal photodécoupé, il reste quand même quelques pièces plus faciles à réaliser en impression 3D. Cependant, cette dernière a encore des inconvénients, comme une relative fragilité, un respect dimensionnel perfectible et une difficulté à nettoyer correctement les pièces.

Pour ce dernier point, voyez les quelques photos qui suivent, sachant que le nettoyage incombe aux prestataires, même si tous annoncent qu’il n’est pas possible d’assurer un nettoyage parfait. Chez Shapeways, je n’ai pas eu ce problème, mais chez Drim 3D, si. Par exemple, voici la quantité de matière de support enlevée de l’intérieur d’un chariot de treuil, pourtant pas très petit. Et il en reste.

Nettoyage d’un chariot de treuil

Dans d’autres cas, cette matière, une cire de support censée être molle, est pratiquement aussi dure que la résine elle-même et ne se laisse pas retirer facilement des petits recoins. J’ai essayé différentes méthodes : ultrasons, avec eau pure ou additionnée de nettoyant ménager, froide ou chaude (50° C est le maximum admissible), acétone, avec des résultats très mitigés, l’acétone étant totalement inefficace. Il me reste à essayer d’autres produits : vinaigre, alcool isopropylique, etc. Tout cela fait que je reviendrai vers Shapeways pour la future version. Leur prestation n’est pas sans défaut, mais elle est deux fois moins chère, pour une qualité quasi identique, et pour des pièces livrées quasi propres.

Voici par exemple un chariot de spreader (j’y reviendrai) avant et après nettoyage avec les méthodes indiquées. La différence n’est pas flagrante ! Les surfaces relativement larges sont assez bien nettoyées, mais pas les recoins.

Nettoyage d’un chariot de spreader

Les photos ci-dessus, d’une qualité médiocre, ont été prises avec un « microscope » USB/WiFi, sur lequel j’ai prévu de faire un article. Je mets des guillemets parce que cet appareil est plus proche d’une loupe que d’un microscope.

Cabine

La cabine présente des montants assez fins, qui présentent des logements pour les vitres. La difficulté principale est d’insérer ces vitres et de les coller par l’intérieur. J’ai d’ailleurs commencé, mais je ne peux pas terminer avant d’avoir peint la cabine. Cette opération attendra les jours plus cléments.

Pour la découpe des vitres, j’ai prévu un gabarit en photodécoupe. Sur la photo ci-dessous, une bande de polystyrène transparent est d’abord scotchée sur la plaque de découpe. Le gabarit est scotché par-dessus. Il faut évidemment empêcher ce dernier de bouger pendant toute l’opération. Il sera sans doute possible d’utiliser une machine de découpe. Pour cela, je propose un fichier dxf, qu’il faudra peut-être modifier pour le rendre compatible avec la machine (les unités de dessin sont en millimètres).

Découpe des vitres

Le nouveau gabarit aura des encoches pour faciliter la découpe des angles.

Il serait bien plus facile d’introduire les vitres dans la cabine si le dos de celle-ci était ouvert. C’est d’ailleurs ce que j’avais fait sur les conseils de mon prestataire. Mais il n’a pas réussi à imprimer la cabine en deux parties. Il ne m’en a pas donné la raison, mais je suppose que c’est le trop grand porte-à-faux en bas des côtés qui en est la cause. C’est pourquoi, dans la future version, j’ai prévu un dos séparé, mais avec un renfort en bas à l’arrière de la pièce principale qui devrait résoudre ce problème.

Vue d’une vitre posée sur la porte de cabine. D’accord, on ne voit pas grand-chose à cause de la translucidité des pièces…

Résultat

Cliquez sur l’image pour — essayer de — voir la vitre de plus près.

Un pochoir est aussi prévu pour peindre en noir les joints de vitre, mais je n’ai pas pu le tester, car je me suis trompé dans les dimensions (j’ai pris celles des fenêtres sans tenir compte des joints, justement…).

Chariots de treuil

Les chariots se composent de deux pièces principales, le châssis et le capot, et de détails comme des poutrelles intérieures en photodécoupe et un bras de synchronisation. Le capot est simplement emboîté sur le châssis et reste amovible, ce qui facilite le réglage de longueur des câbles. Ici aussi, j’ai eu des soucis, bien qu’ayant prévu des jeux fonctionnels : le châssis est plus large que le capot ! D’à peine un dixième, mais cela suffit pour empêcher le montage.

Mesure de la largeur du châssis

Mesure de la largeur du capot

Donc usinage obligatoire, et, tant qu’à faire, sur mini fraiseuse pour n’enlever que la matière juste nécessaire. Il va de soi que le serrage dans l’étau doit être modéré. On distingue à l’intérieur du châssis les trous qui recevront les câbles et permettront de les bloquer.

Usinage du châssis

Moufles de palan

Juste un point délicat, le dégagement des « canaux » de passage des câbles. Pour cela, le mieux est d’y passer une tige métallique suffisamment souple, courbée, puis, si ça ne suffit pas, une brossette interdentaire ! Après quoi le câble (un fil élastique très souple de 0,5 mm de diamètre), se glisse facilement.

Nettoyage des moufles de palan

Il faudra bien sûr éviter de reboucher ces canaux lors de la peinture.

À suivre…

Evergreen Sheet Styrene 9005
Épaisseur 0,13 mm, 3 × 150 × 300 mm.
Réf. 269-PS-9005, 5,90 € — prix 2020
chez micro-modele