29/01/202030/01/2020.

Footwalks and other parts

Footwalks

The assembly of the footwalks is very similar for all. Therefore, I’ll only describe it for a girder footwalk. It consists in soldering the supports, either in the form of an angle or U steel beam, then the railings. This last operation should be done preferably at the end of the complete assembly, because on the one hand the railings can hinder the decoration of the gantry, and on the other hand, these parts are quite exposed and fragile.

The assembly of the supports does not pose any particular difficulty, because they are positioned in engravings under the platforms. Here, a support is held by tweezers for verticality. In addition, I press it with an X-Acto blunt blade to ensure good contact. A very small soldering bit is used, always of course with flux.

Soldering a platform support

Once this is done, we must check that the footwalk fits correctly into the main part. Sometimes there are surprises. Thus, for this girder, mortises have not been sufficiently engraved and are half blocked. I had to repair these holes in a slightly acrobatic way!

Repairing a blocked mortise

This done, the footwalk is perfectly assembled and can be soldered into its place. Top view:

Footwalk mounted, top view

View from below.

Footwalk seen from below

Cab footwalk

This one is special enough to deserve a paragraph.

Regarding the supports, no significant difference with what was said before. But there are many accessories there requiring some clarification. First, the ladder that provides access to the upper footwalks. To facilitate assembly, I have designed temporary crosspieces which keep the two uprights perfectly parallel. This allows a few bars to be soldered comfortably, before removing the crosspieces and then mounting the remaining bars. On the following photo, a crosspiece is already deleted, the other is cut.

Assembly of the small ladder

This ladder is then soldered to the platform, as well as the supports of the latter.

Platform equipped with ladder and supports

In reality, using this ladder presents a danger, which explains the presence of safety fences on both sides. I tried to get these fences directly etched on the parts, but they did not come out correctly. In fact, the width of the “wires” was less than the minimum accepted by the engraver. Knowing that, I also planned parts without a grid. So I had to add it. All this being quite fragile, I soldered the grids directly onto the photo-etched plate, before extracting the parts.

The grid used is from Scale Scenics. I put soldering cream on the frame, I hold the grid in place on the photo-etched plate with a piece of epoxy, then I apply the soldering iron from point to point, without rubbing for fear of deforming the grid.

Soldering a grid

Result.

Appearance of the completed grid

Soldering the railings on the platform

For this footwalk, unlike the others, I fit the different railings on the platform at once. First the outside railing, holding it on a cork board using two tweezers.

Installation of the external railing

Close view:

Close-up view of the mounting of the exterior railing

Then the inside railing, also fitted with a safety fence.

Installation of the inside railing

Let’s then check the assembly on the gantry leg.

Checking the assembly on the gantry leg

Everything is fine. The inside grid fits under the end girder; the outside grid will be soldered to the upper footwalk when it is assembled. We can see in this photo the access ladder that we are about to talk now.

Access ladder

First, bending the ladder. I planned several engraving lines to obtain the approximation of a curve by three segments for the supports. The first side is bent. Note the blocked hole on the left, and the following holes badly opened. I did not realize it until after, otherwise, I would have corrected on the flat part, it would have been easier. I had to systematically resume all the holes (67 in all…) with a cutting gauge.

Start of ladder bending, badly drilled holes

I hoped to be able to solder all the bars at once, but that turned out to be impossible: there were always one to come out at the slightest vibration, like here the second on the left…

Positioning the bars

I also hoped to use bars of the right length to avoid a risky levelling work given the smallness and the weakness of this ladder. It turned out to be very difficult. Finally, it is better to cut them a little too long, and then cut them off, provided you have an actual flush cutting pliers, to minimize the use of file and abrasive paper.

Ladder complete

Notice the longer bars which will be used to fix the safety cage, which we will now put in shape. After bending, the angles are immediately reinforced with solder, because these parts are very thin and fragile.

Bending and strengthening the cage

Detail of the mounted cage.

Detail of the mounted cage

Among the accessories that will be mounted on the cab leg set, there are also precisely the cab supports, and the console that supports the power trolley poles. Here are some pictures of these accessories.

Cab mounting test on its supports. These, because of their small size, are difficult to set up. It is therefore necessary to check that the cab fits correctly.

Cab mounting test on its supports

Here is the console of the trolley poles. I tried to make springs (tiny: diameter 1 mm, length 4.5 mm) with 0.1 mm stainless steel wire. The result is very disappointing.

Trolley poles console

Fortunately, a kind member of the Loco-Revue forum (thanks to him) provided me with much nicer springs, but not commercially available, since they come from Symoba couplings. But these springs are actually barely visible, so we can do without them.

Trolley pole with nice spring

Here is finally this leg set equipped with all its accessories.

Leg set equipped

Electrical cabinet platform

This platform combines all that has been seen previously, bending, soldering of cabinets and railings. The beams supporting the platform form a unique part in 3D printing, which is not a good idea, since this part will be embedded in and covered by metal parts. It thus risks being subjected to too strong constraints. In the future version, these beams will be metallic.

Electrical cabinets

The roof, in 3D printing, will only be assembled after painting the cabinets.

Photo-etched brass grid
Ref. 652-3501
€8,90 — price 2020
at micro-modele

29/01/2020 ; 30/01/2020.

Passerelles et divers

Passerelles

Le montage des passerelles est très semblable pour toutes. Je ne vais donc le décrire que pour une passerelle de poutre. Il consiste à souder les supports, soit en forme de cornière, soit de U, puis les garde-corps. Cette dernière opération est à faire de préférence à la fin du montage complet, car d’une part les garde-corps peuvent gêner la décoration du portique, et d’autre part, ces pièces sont assez exposées et fragiles.

Le montage des supports ne pose pas de difficulté particulière, car ils se positionnent dans des gravures sous les plateformes. Ici, un support est tenu par une paire de brucelles pour la verticalité. De plus, j’appuie dessus avec une lame émoussée de couteau X-Acto pour assurer un bon contact. Un tout petit paillon de soudure est utilisé, toujours bien sûr avec du flux.

Soudage d’un support de plateforme

Une fois cela fait, il faut vérifier que la passerelle s’emboîte correctement dans la pièce principale. Il y a parfois des surprises. Ainsi, pour cette poutre, des mortaises n’ont pas été suffisamment gravées et sont à moitié bouchées. Il a fallu reprendre ces trous d’une manière un peu acrobatique !

Reprise de mortaise mal débouchée

Ceci fait, la passerelle se monte parfaitement et peut être soudée à sa place. Vue de dessus :

Passerelle montée, vue de dessus

Vue de dessous.

Passerelle vue de dessous

Passerelle de cabine

Celle-ci est assez particulière pour mériter un paragraphe.

Concernant les supports, pas de différence importante avec ce qui a été dit plus haut. Mais il s’y trouve de nombreux accessoires qui nécessitent quelques précisions. D’abord, l’échelle qui permet de d’accéder aux passerelles supérieures. Pour faciliter le montage, j’ai prévu des traverses provisoires qui maintiennent parfaitement parallèles les deux montants. Cela permet de souder confortablement quelques barreaux, avant de supprimer les traverses puis de monter les barreaux restants. Sur la photo suivante, une traverse est déjà supprimée, l’autre est coupée.

Montage de la petite échelle

Cette échelle, terminée, est soudée sur la plateforme, ainsi que ses supports.

Plateforme équipée de l’échelle et des supports

Dans la réalité, l’emprunt de cette échelle présente un danger, ce qui explique la présence de grillages de sécurité de part et d’autre. J’avais essayé de faire graver ces grillages directement sur les pièces, mais ils ne sont pas sortis correctement. En effet, la largeur des « fils » était inférieure au minimum accepté par le graveur. Sachant cela, j’avais prévu aussi des pièces dépourvues de grillage. Il faut donc l’ajouter. Tout cela étant assez fragile, j’ai soudé les grilles directement sur la plaque de photodécoupe, avant d’en extraire les pièces.

La grille utilisée est de la Scale Scenics. Je la maintiens sur la photodécoupe avec un morceau d’époxy, je dépose de la crème à souder puis j’applique le fer de point en point, sans frotter de peur de déformer la grille.

Soudage d’une grille

Résultat.

Aspect de la grille terminée

Soudage des rambardes sur la plateforme

Pour cette passerelle, contrairement aux autres, je monte tout de suite les différentes rambardes. D’abord l’extérieure, en la maintenant sur une plaque de liège à l’aide de deux paires de brucelles.

Montage de la rambarde extérieure

Vue rapprochée :

Vue rapprochée du montage de la rambarde extérieure

Puis la rambarde intérieure, elle aussi munie d’un grillage de sécurité.

Montage de la rambarde intérieure

Il reste à faire une petite vérification du montage sur le pied de palée.

Test de montage sur le pied de palée

Tout va bien. La grille intérieure s’insère sous le sommier ; l’extérieure sera soudée sur la passerelle supérieure lorsqu’elle sera montée. On peut voir sur cette photo l’échelle d’accès dont on va parler maintenant.

Échelle d’accès

D’abord, pliage de l’échelle. J’ai prévu plusieurs traits de gravure pour obtenir l’approximation d’une courbe par trois segments pour les supports. Le premier côté est plié. Remarquez le trou à gauche bouché, et les suivants mal percés. Je ne m’en suis aperçu qu’après, sinon, j’aurais corrigé sur la pièce à plat, ç’aurait été plus facile. J’ai dû reprendre systématiquement tous les trous (67 en tout…) avec un équarrissoir.

Début de pliage de l’échelle, trous mal percés

J’espérais pouvoir souder tous les barreaux d’un seul coup, mais cela s’est révélé impossible : il y en a toujours un pour ressortir quand survient la moindre vibration, témoin ici le deuxième à gauche…

Positionnement des barreaux

J’espérais aussi utiliser des barreaux de la bonne longueur pour éviter un travail d’arasement risqué vu la petitesse et la fragilité de cette échelle. Cela s’est avéré très difficile. Finalement, il vaut mieux les couper un peu trop longs, et les araser ensuite, à condition d’avoir une véritable pince coupante à ras, de façon à minimiser l’utilisation de la lime et du papier abrasif.

Échelle terminée

On distingue les barreaux plus longs qui vont servir à fixer la crinoline, que nous allons maintenant mettre en forme. Après pliage, les angles sont immédiatement renforcés avec de la soudure, car ces pièces sont très fines et fragiles.

Pliage et renforcement de la crinoline

Détail de la crinoline montée.

Détail de la crinoline montée

Parmi les accessoires qui vont être montés sur la palée côté cabine, il y a aussi précisément les supports de cabine, et la console qui supporte les trolleys de prise de courant. Voici quelques images de ces accessoires.

Essai de montage de la cabine sur ses supports. Ceux-ci, à cause de leur petitesse, sont délicats à mettre en place. Il faut donc vérifier que la cabine s’y insère correctement.

Essai de montage de la cabine sur ses supports

Voici la console des trolleys. J’ai essayé de fabriquer des ressorts (minuscules : diamètre 1 mm, longueur 4,5 mm) avec du fil inox de 0,1 mm. Le résultat est très décevant.

Console des trolleys

Heureusement, un gentil membre du forum Loco-Revue (merci à lui) m’a procuré des ressorts beaucoup plus jolis, mais pas disponibles dans le commerce, puisqu’ils proviennent d’attelages Symoba. Mais ces ressorts sont en fait très peu visibles, on peut donc s’en passer.

Trolley avec joli ressort

Voici enfin cette palée équipée de tous ses accessoires.

Palée de cabine équipée

Plateforme des armoires électriques

Cette plateforme combine un peu tout ce qui a été vu précédemment, pliage, soudage des armoires et des rambardes. Les poutrelles soutenant la plateforme forment une pièce unique en impression 3D, ce qui n’est pas une bonne idée, étant donné que cette pièce va être encastrée dans et recouverte par des pièces métalliques. Elle risque ainsi de subir des contraintes trop fortes. Dans la future version, ces poutrelles seront métalliques.

Armoires électriques

Le toit, en impression 3D, ne sera monté qu’après peinture des armoires.

Grille en laiton photodécoupé
Réf. 652-3501
8,90 € — prix 2020
chez micro-modele