26/01/2020.

Second realization in nickel silver sheet

Note: if you are interested in the construction of this gantry, please let me know. I can send you the parts at cost price (around €300, which can of course vary). You can also consult the making instructions available in PDF (3.7 MB). There will however be small differences with the description which follows, which concerns the prototype since then improved.

Tools used for bending sheets

These tools should not be seen as essential. Many experts do without a bending tool and use, for example, angle brackets caught in a vice. However, this tool is not overpriced and is fairly practical to use.

Tools

Caption:

  1. Protective steel plate
  2. Chisel made from a broken carbide drill bit
  3. Small hammer
  4. Soft-cut file
  5. Steel ruler
  6. Heavy steel ruler
  7. Bending tool
  8. Blade delivered with the bending tool
  9. Cutter blade
  10. Xuron scissors for photo-etching

The chisel is used to cut the part tabs on the photo-etched plate. It’s only useful for fragile parts that could be deformed by the Xuron scissors. The hammer is used to hit the chisel… or the fingers. The blades are used to lift the parts placed in the bending tool. The file is used to level off the already cut tab rests.

The main difficulty for very long pieces is to bend them evenly. The blade (8) delivered with the bending tool is far too short. So I used a big cutter blade (9), on the back of which I stuck an electrician’s tape not to ensure safety, because the edge is not protected, but only to warn me if I hold the blade on the wrong side. A distraction could be very damaging.

However, for pieces larger than 10 cm, this is still insufficient. I tried like on this photo a large spatula. It works, but the edge should be sharpened and, above all, the blade as well as the handle of this bulky tool should be shortened.

Large spatula for folding

Some modest tips for folding

I found some of this advice on model building websites. Others come from my own experience.

First question: how should the workpiece be positioned under the bending tool ruler? Answer: the fold half engraving must be completely and just visible along the ruler. Reminder: the fold engraving must, except in rare and specified exceptions, be inside the fold.

Second question: if a part has a wide wing and a narrow wing, which should be put under the bending tool ruler? Answer: the narrow one. Indeed, we will raise the wide wing, so with more leverage. It will be easier and there will be less risk of deforming the part. Below, the part is already out of the bending tool.

Folding on the narrow wing

Exception: if the wide wing has a weakness, such as a cutout, then the opposite must be done. In the example below, the wide wing will be pinched in the tool, to secure the area weakened by the cut.

Exceptional bending on the large wing

Assembling the leg sets

Little reminder: a leg set — it may have a specific technical name, but I don’t know it — consists of two legs, one end girder which holds the bridge girders, and a spacer beam which connects the legs at their bottom. We’ll build in this order, then we’ll assemble these different parts.

Construction of the legs

This construction is one of this project’s most delicate, because we must hold together four independent walls, of non-rectangular shape, and to solder them while having very little access to the inside.

So, we’ll start by assembling two contiguous walls, positioning them using the spacers. Here is the adopted provision. A heavy ruler is clamped on the workbench. Note that an epoxy plate (waste circuit board) has been inserted for thermal insulation. One of the parts is held vertically on the ruler with two clamps; the second is pressed horizontally with a spring clip.

Holding parts

Two small solder spots are made. We can then check the perpendicularity before going on.

Holding and soldering parts

Then let’s put the inside spacers whose purpose is to ensure the correct geometry of the leg. Here it’s the middle one — there are three. It is held in its positioning grooves by two pairs of tweezers.

Installation of spacers

Soldering is made in the corner. Here, is the top spacer.

Installation of spacers

After a final perpendicularity check, we make a solder fillet along the corner. Here is the external appearance obtained. The slight protrusion of a sheet is on purpose, because it conforms to reality. The tin has overflowed a bit, it is unavoidable, a cleaning job must always be done after soldering.

External appearance

Installation of the third side. This time, metal spring clips will provide holding. Same process: making light solder points…

Installation of the third wall

… Check the position, then complete soldering.

Soldering the third wall

For the outside wall which will close the box beam, things are different. Tinning of the edges, addition of a good solder pack on the fourth wall, trying not to put too much on the edges …

Tinning of the fourth wall

…… Positioning of the parts. Presence of a plumbing flame arrester because…

Installation of the fourth wall

… soldering is carried out with a torch; if all goes well, the solder will flow inside the parts. It shows when the tin starts forming in droplets in the corners. It would be difficult to achieve this result with a soldering iron.

Soldering of the fourth wall

Leg finished, cleaned.

Leg finished

Construction of the end girders

It’s a little easier than for the legs, because here there is only one main U-shaped part, which of course must first be formed.

I have provided pins for positioning the beams on the end girders, in the form of sections of ø 2 brass tube soldered in the appropriate holes. Soldering is done on a template in which the pieces of tube are inserted, so as to keep them vertical.

Template for positioning pins

Template for positioning pins

Soldering of the pins and of M2 nuts which will be used to fix the girders on the end girders. Here, these are steel nuts (not stainless steel which could not be soldered), but brass nuts would be preferable.

Soldering nuts

Result. The etched arrow indicates the orientation of the part, which is not obvious, but which must be observed. Note the presence of mortises which will receive the upper footwalk supports.

end girder seen from above

Let’s move on to the end girder closing parts, which must be bent. For this I use drills of suitable diameter, by pressing on a cork support, flexible but resilient.

Bending end girder closing parts

Result of bending.

Result of bending

For soldering, the same problem arises as for legs, namely that access to the inside is limited, and that parts of particular shape must be held together. I tried the technique of tying up with galvanized iron wire, which I checked that it can’t be soldered. Its advantage is that it allows the parts to be held over their entire length. The downside is that it is not elastic like spring clips, and it expands under the effect of heat, thus tightening the parts less effectively. The ideal would be a non-solderable, elastic, supporting about 400 °C wire. Does that exist ?

Aluminium spacers, therefore also non-solderable, are placed inside the end girder to keep the closing part in good position.

tying up the parts

Here is the uninviting appearance after soldering with the torch.

Appearance after soldering

But a simple pass of solder sucking wick improves things well.

Cleaning with solder sucking wick

It is impossible to tie up end parts, so the soldering will be manual, with iron. As before, I introduce a good amount of lead solder through the openings, while keeping the part stuck with a piece of cork.

Soldering of end parts

Soldered end part.

Soldered end part

Here are the two finished end girders.

Finished end girders

Construction of spacer beams

These parts are a little easier to assemble. Only the bending of the ends is a bit tricky.

I start by soldering the web on the lower flange, with an assembly based on spring clips. Notice the part positioning precision thanks to the etched grooves and their reflection.

Soldering of the web on the lower flange

Soldering of the ribs.

Soldering of ribs

Bending of the upper flange, using drill bits and round nose pliers for adjustment.

Bending of the upper flange

Several trials are necessary.

Blank assembly

Blank assembly showing a small gap.

Blank assembly, detail

Soldering end caps

Soldering end caps

Soldering of the upper flange by pressing the assembly with a cork plate.

Soldering the upper flange

Assembling the leg sets

The leg sets must be geometrically correct. An assembly template is therefore essential. Here it is with an installed leg set, awaiting soldering. The small parts visible at the bottom right, the spacer beam connectors, are also fitted at this time.

Leg set mounting template

The 2.0 mm and 1.2 mm dia. rods perfectly position the parts in relation to each other.

Leg set mounting template, close-up view

Then, soldering of the legs on the end girder. The picture was taken after cleaning.

Soldering the legs on the girder

Arrived here, we can say that the hardest part is — almost — done!!

26/01/2020.

Deuxième réalisation en tôle de maillechort

Note : si vous êtes intéressé par la construction de ce portique, dites-le moi. Je peux vous faire parvenir les pièces au prix coûtant (de l’ordre de 300 € pouvant bien sûr varier). Vous pouvez aussi consulter la notice de construction disponible en PDF (3,7 Mo). Il y aura cependant de petites différences avec la description qui suit, qui concerne le prototype amélioré depuis.

Outillage utilisé pour le pliage des tôles

Il ne faut pas voir cet outillage comme indispensable. Beaucoup d’experts se passent de plieuse et utilisent par exemple des cornières prises dans un étau. Cependant, cet outil n’est pas d’un prix excessif et est assez pratique à l’usage.

Outillage

Légende :

  1. Tôle d’acier martyre
  2. Ciseau fait à partir d’un foret carbure cassé
  3. Petit marteau
  4. Lime douce
  5. Réglet
  6. Règle lourde en acier
  7. Plieuse
  8. Lame livrée avec la plieuse
  9. Lame de cutter
  10. Ciseaux à photodécoupe Xuron

Le ciseau (burin) sert à couper les attaches des pièces sur la plaque photogravée. Il n’est utile que pour les pièces fragiles qui risqueraient d’être déformées par les ciseaux Xuron. Le marteau sert à taper sur le burin… ou sur les doigts. Les lames servent à soulever les pièces placées dans la plieuse. La lime sert à araser les restes des attaches déjà coupées.

La difficulté principale, pour les pièces très longues, est de les plier de façon régulière. La lame (8) livrée avec la plieuse est bien trop courte. J’ai donc utilisé une lame de gros cutter (9), sur le dos de laquelle j’ai collé un scotch d’électricien non pour assurer la sécurité, car le tranchant n’est pas protégé, mais seulement pour m’avertir si je tiens la lame du mauvais côté. Une distraction pourrait être très dommageable.

Cependant, pour des pièces de plus de 10 cm, c’est encore insuffisant. J’ai essayé comme sur cette photo une spatule large. Ça fonctionne, mais il faudrait aiguiser le bord et surtout raccourcir la lame ainsi que la poignée de cet outil encombrant.

Grande spatule pour le pliage

Quelques modestes conseils pour le pliage

J’ai trouvé certains de ces conseils sur des sites de modélisme. D’autres sont issus de ma propre expérience.

Première question : comment faut-il positionner la pièce à plier sous la règle de la plieuse ? Réponse : il faut que la demi gravure du pli soit entièrement et tout juste visible le long de la règle. Rappel : la gravure du pli doit, sauf exception rare et spécifiée, se trouver à l’intérieur du pli.

Deuxième question : si une pièce a une aile large et une étroite, laquelle faut-il mettre sous la règle de la plieuse ? Réponse : l’aile étroite. En effet, on soulèvera l’aile large, donc avec plus de bras de levier. Ce sera plus facile et il y aura moins de risque de déformer la pièce. Ci-dessous, la pièce est déjà sortie de la plieuse.

Pliage sur la petite aile

Exception : si l’aile large comporte une faiblesse, comme une découpe, alors il faut procéder inversement. Sur l’exemple ci-dessous, c’est l’aile large qui sera pincée dans l’outil, de manière à maintenir correctement la zone affaiblie par la découpe.

Pliage exceptionnel sur la grande aile

Assemblage des palées

Petit rappel : une palée se compose de deux pieds, du sommier qui supporte les poutres de roulement, et d’une poutre-entretoise qui relie les pieds à leur base. Nous allons effectuer la construction dans cet ordre, puis nous assemblerons ces différentes pièces.

Construction des pieds de palée

Cette construction est l’une des plus délicates de ce projet, car il faut faire tenir ensemble quatre faces indépendantes, de forme non rectangulaire, et les souder presque sans accès à l’intérieur.

On va donc commencer par assembler deux faces contiguës, en les positionnant à l’aide des pièces d’espacement. Voici la disposition adoptée. Une règle lourde est maintenue sur le plan de travail. Noter qu’une plaque d’époxy (circuit imprimé de rebut) a été intercalée pour l’isolation thermique. Une des pièces est maintenue verticalement sur la règle par deux serre-joints ; la deuxième est plaquée horizontalement par une pince à ressort.

Maintien des pièces

Deux petits points de soudure sont réalisés. On peut ensuite vérifier la perpendicularité avant de continuer.

Maintien des pièces et soudage

Posons ensuite les pièces d’espacement intérieures dont le but est d’assurer la géométrie correcte du pied. Ici, c’est celle du milieu — il y en a trois. Elle est maintenue dans ses rainures de positionnement par deux paires de brucelles.

Pose des pièces d’espacement

On soude dans l’angle. Ici, c’est la pièce du haut.

Pose des pièces d’espacement

Après une dernière vérification de la perpendicularité, on pose un congé de soudure tout au long de l’angle. Voici l’aspect extérieur obtenu. Le léger dépassement d’une tôle est voulu, car conforme à la réalité. L’étain a un peu débordé, c’est inévitable, il y a toujours un travail de nettoyage après soudage.

Aspect extérieur

Pose de la troisième face. Cette fois, des pinces à ressort métalliques vont assurer le maintien. Même procédé : pose de légers points de soudure…

Pose de la troisième face

…vérification de la position, puis soudage complet.

Pose de la troisième face

Pour la face extérieure qui va fermer le caisson, les choses sont différentes. Étamage des bords en présence, ajout d’un bon paquet de soudure sur la quatrième face, en essayant de ne pas en mettre trop sur les bords…

Étamage de la quatrième face

…positionnement des pièces. Présence d’un pare-flamme de plomberie, car…

Pose de la quatrième face

…le soudage s’effectue au chalumeau ; si tout va bien, la soudure va s’écouler à l’intérieur des pièces. Cela se voit quand l’étain commence à perler dans les angles. Il serait difficile d’obtenir ce résultat avec un fer à souder.

Soudage de la quatrième face

Pied terminé, nettoyé.

Pied terminé

Construction des sommiers

C’est un peu plus facile que pour les pieds, car ici il n’y a qu’une pièce principale en U, qu’il faut bien sûr d’abord former.

J’ai prévu des pions de positionnement des poutres sur les sommiers, sous forme de tronçons de tube laiton ø 2 soudés dans les trous adéquats. Le soudage se fait sur un gabarit dans lequel les morceaux de tube sont plantés, de façon à les maintenir bien verticaux.

Gabarit pour pions de positionnement

Gabarit pour pions de positionnement

Soudage des pions et des écrous M2 qui serviront à fixer les poutres sur les sommiers. Ici, ce sont des écrous en acier (pas en inox qui ne pourrait pas se souder), mais des écrous en laiton seraient préférables.

Soudage des écrous

Résultat. La flèche gravée indique l’orientation de la pièce, qui n’est pas évidente, mais qu’il faut absolument respecter. Notez la présence des mortaises qui recevront les supports de la passerelle supérieure.

Sommier vu de dessus

Passons aux pièces de fermeture du sommier, qu’il faut cintrer. J’utilise pour cela des forets de diamètre convenable, en appuyant sur un support en liège, souple mais résilient.

Cintrage des dessous de sommier

Résultat du cintrage.

Résultat des cintrages

Pour le soudage, le même problème se pose que pour les pieds, à savoir que l’accès à l’intérieur est limité, et qu’il faut maintenir ensemble des pièces de forme particulière. J’ai essayé la technique du « saucissonnage » avec du fil de fer galvanisé, dont j’ai vérifié qu’il ne prend pas la soudure. Son avantage est qu’il permet le maintien sur toute la longueur des pièces. L’inconvénient est qu’il n’est pas élastique comme des pinces à ressort, et qu’il se dilate sous l’effet de la chaleur, serrant ainsi moins efficacement les pièces. L’idéal serait un fil non soudable, élastique, supportant environ 400 °C. Est-ce que ça existe ?

Des cales en aluminium, donc également non soudables, sont placées à l’intérieur du sommier pour maintenir la pièce de fermeture en bonne position.

Saucissonnage des pièces

Voici l’aspect, peu engageant, après soudage au chalumeau.

Aspect après soudage

Mais un simple passage de tresse à dessouder améliore bien les choses.

Nettoyage avec tresse à dessouder

Pour les pièces d’extrémité, impossible de « saucissonner », donc le soudage sera manuel, au fer. Comme précédemment, j’introduis une bonne dose de soudure au plomb par les ouvertures, tout en maintenant la pièce plaquée avec un morceau de liège.

Soudage des pièces d’extrémité

Pièce d’extrémité soudée.

Pièce d’extrémité soudée

Voici les deux sommiers terminés.

Sommiers terminés

Construction des poutres entretoises

Ces pièces sont un peu plus faciles à monter. Seul le cintrage des extrémités est un peu délicat.

Je commence par souder les âmes sur les ailes de dessous, avec un montage à base de pinces à ressort. Remarquez la précision du positionnement des pièces grâce aux gravures et à leur reflet.

Soudage de l’âme sur l’aile inférieure

Soudage des nervures.

Soudage des nervures

Cintrage des ailes supérieures, à l’aide de forets et d’une pince à becs ronds pour l’ajustement.

Cintrage des ailes supérieures

Plusieurs essayages sont nécessaires.

Montage à blanc

Montage à blanc montrant une petite lacune.

Montage à blanc, détail

Soudage des chapes de bouts.

Soudage des chapes de bouts

Soudage de l’aile supérieure en pressant l’ensemble avec une plaque de liège.

Soudage de l’aile supérieure

Assemblage des palées

Les palées doivent être correctes géométriquement. Un gabarit de montage s’impose donc. Le voici avec une palée installée, en attente de soudage. Les petites pièces visibles en bas à droite, les connecteurs de poutre entretoise, sont montés aussi à ce moment.

Gabarit de montage de palée

Les piges ø 2,0 et 1,2 mm positionnent parfaitement les pièces les unes par rapport aux autres.

Gabarit de montage de palée, vue rapprochée

Ensuite, soudage des pieds sur le sommier. La photo a été prise après nettoyage.

Soudage des pieds dur le sommier

Arrivé ici, on peut dire que le plus dur est fait – ou presque !