12/01/202127/01/2021.

Lighting (continued): PCBs

Somewhat special electronics

I designed circuits where all the LEDs (their number varies between 9 and 13) are in series. Thus, the current consumption will be minimal and capacitors of moderate capacity (100 or 220 µF) will be able to maintain the lighting very efficiently.

But, will you tell me, how do you correctly supply 13 LEDs in series, making a total voltage of about 34 V (13 × 2.6 V) with a DCC supply voltage around 16 V?

Well, DCC, with its relatively high-frequency alternating current (a few kilohertz), makes it very easy to use an electronic circuit called a “charge pump”. Such a circuit is capable of doubling or even quadrupling the supply voltage.

My by-four voltage multiplier test circuit presented a voltage of 60 V perfectly capable of powering 13 LEDs in series, and even more. Another advantage is that the energy storage capacitors are part of the pump circuit, and therefore do not need to be added. Finally, the design of the PCB is significantly simplified. Here is the schematic diagram used, with 12 LEDs in series:

Diagram of the by-four voltage multiplier

The DCC voltage being provided by a LokProgrammer, I get : VCC = 55,2 V; VR = 24,5 V; IF (LED) = 0,52 mA; VF (LED) = 2,56 V. Since each capacitor is subjected to approx. 28 V, 35 V capacitors can be chosen.

The same assembly connected to a Lenz control unit provides 60 V, the latter being configured for a DCC voltage of 16 V.

Some pictures of the test.

View of the installation with the voltmeter

Close-up view showing all 12 LEDs lit.

View of the breadboard

Here is the discharge curve obtained. If we consider that a voltage of 40 V is still sufficient, we can see that the operating time after power failure is at least 5 seconds.

Capacitive discharge curve

The different strips

As already mentioned, there is one model for each category of coaches: B9 – B11, B4D – B5D / C5D, and A3B4 – A7. As each model concerns two coach types, the LED and capacitor locations are different and only the locations concerned and duly marked on the silk screen print will receive components. I did this to limit the number and therefore the price of the PCBs to be ordered. Of course, for a series production, even a small one, one circuit per coach type would be preferable.

In addition, each circuit is designed to supply and control rear lights.

Here are the strips, successively from left to right for the B9 - B11/C11, for the A3B4 - A7, and for the B4D - B5D/C5D.

Bare circuits

Strip for B11 / C11 coaches

I immediately wanted to try one PCB, for a B11 coach. Here is the strip under test on the LED side. These LEDs have a colour temperature of 2400 K. The power supply wires come directly from my LokProgrammer.

Strip LED side

Move the mouse over the photo to see the details.

It is now placed on the interior fittings to check whether the capacitors are installed correctly.

Strip placed on the interior fittings

Move the mouse over the photo to see the details.

Mounting into the coach

Little problem: the strip length has been calculated so that it fits exactly between the end walls of the coach. Error! There is a roof frame that comes just behind and gets jammed onto the strip. It will have to be shortened by 2 mm… For this first test, I simply milled the roof frame.

Note the routing of the wires on the sides of the capacitors to keep them away from the toilet windows.

Mounted and connected strip

Move the mouse over the photo to see the details.

Here are two views of the coach reassembled.

B11 coach illuminated

VB11 coach illuminated

This is definitely too pink… And there’s light leaking along the junction between the roof and the body. No wonder, since there are no chicanes there.

On the other hand, the lighting maintain time in the event of a power cut is very satisfactory. It must be said that the consumption of the strip is only 0.4 mA! I used 220 µF capacitors, but I could have used 100 µF.

Strip for B4D et B5D / C5D coaches

Here is this strip next to its future coach. You can see the two capacitors that will take place in the van. You can also see the pieces of double-sided adhesive that will be stuck on the luggage racks, as well as on a support at the end of the van.

Strip next to the B5D coach

This support is made of 1 mm thick polystyrene. It fits over the partition pins, making it easy to install. The ø 3 hole is provided for the passage of the LED that lights the conductor’s compartment.

Note: the width of 23 mm is calculated to allow for the passage of anti-light leakage profiles, see below.

Below, the strip is now positioned on the coach, seen from the van side. I tried to glue Evergreen profiles along the strip to reduce light leakage, but this doesn’t work.

Support for strip

Strip positioned on the B5D coach

I used 3000 K LEDs instead of the 2400 K of the previous coach. The rendering is much better, even if it is not obvious on the photos.

Some photos. First, view from the van side.

Illuminated B5D coach seen from the van side

Then, view from the 2nd class side.

Illuminated B5D coach seen from the 2nd class side

Finally, same view, but coach placed off the rails, to show the efficiency of simple 220 µF capacitors. About 6 seconds elapsed from the track exit.

Illuminated B5D coach laid off the track

Another test to prevent light leakage

On the B4D, which succeeded the B5D in the workshop, I tried to place 2 × 1 mm profiles as close as possible to the edge of the roof. The only practical possibility is to glue them to the glazing protrusions I mentioned earlier. This only results in four small adhesive points along the entire length, but these parts will not be subjected to any mechanical stress. Here is one aspect of the assembly (Faller Super-Expert glue).

Gluing of 2 × 1 mm profiles

A closer view, then even closer by clicking on the photo.

Gluing of 2 × 1 mm profiles, detail

This device seems quite effective (coach equipped on the left, not equipped on the right), although the slightly larger roof gap on the right contributes to these leaks. I was thinking of possibly painting the profiles in black, but I don’t think that’s necessary.

Comparison of light leakage

Note: the coach on the left is equipped with 3000 K LEDs, the one on the right with 2400 K LEDs. The difference is much more visible to the naked eye than in this photo.

Mounting tail lamps

There are two cases: for composite coaches, there is a built-in light (the two small lights above are not transparent). For other coaches, lantern holders can be used. I did it for a B11, the most likely to be at the end of the train. Contrary to what I did recently for other coaches, the lamps will not be removable here.

Mounting an LED behind the B5D’s light

There is one difficulty: the light comes close to the floor. Therefore, a PCB on which the LED is located at the very bottom is required. Fortunately, the circuits I designed for removable lamps are also designed for this purpose.

Placement of the circuit behind the B5D light

Click on the photo for a closer view of the circuit.

Another difficulty was to centre the LED on the light. On the other hand, the light is fixed by a square pin, which doesn’t not give the best visual effect, but it is not visible on the photo below.

Rear three-quarter view of the B5D

Mounting lamps on a B11 coach

These lamps originating from REE are equipped with a SMD 0603 LED, wired with 0.1 mm diameter varnished wire, as explained in this article, with one small difference: instead of coming out from below, the wires, stranded, pass through a 0.5 mm diameter hole drilled at the back of the lantern and then through another hole of the same diameter drilled in the coach’s body, 1 mm above the lamp holder.

The lamps are glued astride the lamp holders. This is not in accordance with reality, but gluing them by their back would have been too fragile.

The wire connection is made on the pads provided on the strip circuit. Finally, I should say “should have been made”, because I realised at the last moment that I had fitted the wrong end of the coach… This is all the more stupid as I usually design the location of a control reed switch at each end, and for once I didn’t do it, when there was all the necessary space. So I tinkered with a new track made with self-adhesive copper tape…

Connection of lamps

Click on the photo to see the lamps up close. You can see the wires between the lamp and the body. The lamp on the right has its paint peeling off.

View of the equipped coach. You can see the lack of paint on the lamps.

View of the equipped coach

12/01/202127/01/2021.

Éclairage (suite) : circuits imprimés

Une électronique un peu spéciale

J’ai conçu des circuits où toutes les LED (leur nombre varie entre 9 et 13) sont en série. Ainsi, le courant consommé sera minimal et des condensateurs d’une capacité modérée (100 ou 220 µF) pourront maintenir l’éclairage très efficacement.

Mais, me direz-vous, comment alimenter correctement 13 LED en série, ce qui fait une tension totale d’environ 34 V (13 × 2,6 V) avec une tension d’alimentation autour de 16 V en DCC ?

Eh bien justement, le DCC, avec son courant alternatif de fréquence relativement élevée (quelques kilohertz), permet d’utiliser très facilement un montage électronique appelé « pompe de charge ». Un tel circuit est capable de doubler, tripler voire quadrupler la tension d’alimentation.

Mon circuit de test quadrupleur a présenté une tension de 60 V parfaitement capable d’alimenter 13 LED en série, et même plus. Un autre avantage est que les condensateurs réservoirs d’énergie font partie du circuit à pompe, et ne viennent donc pas en supplément. Enfin, la conception du circuit imprimé est nettement simplifiée. Voici le schéma de principe utilisé, avec 12 LED en série :

Schéma du quadrupleur de tension

La tension DCC étant fournie par un LokProgrammer, j’obtiens : VCC = 55,2 V ; VR = 24,5 V ; IF (LED) = 0,52 mA ; VF (LED) = 2,56 V. Chaque condensateur étant soumis à 28 V environ, on peut choisir des 35 V.

Le même montage connecté à une centrale Lenz fournit 60 V, celle-ci étant configurée pour une tension DCC de 16 V.

Quelques photos de l’essai.

Vue du montage avec le voltmètre

Vue rapprochée montrant les 12 LED allumées.

Vue de la platine de montage

Voici la courbe de décharge obtenue. On voit, en considérant qu’une tension de 40 V est encore suffisante, que le temps de fonctionnement après coupure de l’alimentation est d’au moins 5 secondes.

Courbe de décharge capacitive

Les différentes réglettes

Comme déjà dit, il y a un modèle pour chaque catégorie de voitures : B9 – B11, B4D – B5D / C5D, et A3B4 – A7. Chaque modèle concernant deux types de voiture, les emplacements des LED et des condensateurs sont différents et seuls les emplacements concernés et dûment repérés sur la sérigraphie recevront des composants. J’ai fait cela pour limiter le nombre et donc le prix des circuits à commander. Bien entendu, pour une production en série, même petite, un circuit par type de voiture serait préférable.

Chaque circuit est de plus prévu pour alimenter et commander des feux d’arrière.

Voici les réglettes, successivement de gauche à droite pour les B9 - B11/C11, pour les A3B4 - A7, et pour les B4D - B5D/C5D.

Circuits nus

Réglette pour voiture B11 / C11

J’ai immédiatement voulu essayer un circuit, pour une B11. Voici la réglette en test côté LED. Ce sont des LED dont la température de couleur est de 2400 K. Les fils d’alimentation viennent directement de mon LokProgrammer.

Réglette côté LED

Promenez la souris sur la photo pour en voir les détails.

La voici maintenant posée sur l’aménagement, pour vérifier que les condensateurs s’installent correctement.

Réglette posée sur l’aménagement

Promenez la souris sur la photo pour en voir les détails.

Montage dans la voiture

Petit ennui : la longueur de la réglette a été calculée pour qu’elle tienne exactement entre les dossiers de la voiture. Erreur ! Il y a une membrure du toit qui vient juste derrière et qui se bloque sur la réglette. Il faudra la raccourcir de 2 mm… Pour ce premier essai, j’ai fraisé lesdites membrures.

Remarquer le cheminement des fils sur les côté des condensateurs, qui vise à les maintenir éloignés des fenêtres des toilettes.

Réglette montée et connectée

Promenez la souris sur la photo pour en voir les détails.

Voici deux vues de la voiture remontée.

Voiture B11 éclairée

Voiture B11 éclairée

Tout ça est décidément trop rose… Et il y a des fuites de lumière le long de la jonction entre le toit et la caisse. Pas étonnant, vu qu’il n’y a aucune chicane à cet endroit.

En revanche, le temps de maintien de l’éclairage en cas de coupure de l'alimentation est très satisfaisant. Il faut dire que la consommation de la réglette n’est que 0,4 mA ! J’ai utilisé des condensateurs de 220 µF, mais j’aurais pu mettre des 100 µF.

Réglette pour voiture B4D et B5D / C5D

Voici cette réglette à côté de sa future voiture. On peut y voir les deux condensateurs qui vont prendre place dans le fourgon. On voit aussi les morceaux d’adhésif double face qui vont être collés sur les porte-bagages, ainsi que sur un support à l’extrémité fourgon.

Réglette à côté de la voiture B5D

Ce support est en polystyrène d’épaisseur 1 mm. Il s’adapte sur les picots de la cloison, ce qui facilite sa mise en place. Le trou ø 3 est prévu pour le passage de la LED qui éclaire le compartiment du chef de train.

Note : la largeur de 23 mm est calculée pour laisser le passage à des profilés anti fuite de lumière, voir plus bas.

Ci-dessous, la réglette est maintenant positionnée sur la voiture, vue côté fourgon. J’ai essayé de coller des profilés Evergreen le long de la réglette pour atténuer les fuites de lumière, mais ça ne marche pas.

Support pour réglette

Réglette positionée sur la voiture B5D

J’ai utilisé des LED 3000 K à la place des 2400 K de la voiture précédente. Le rendu est nettement meilleur, même si cela n’est pas évident sur les photos.

Quelques photos. D’abord, vue côté fourgon.

Voiture B5D éclairée vue côté fourgon

Ensuite, vue côté 2e classe.

Voiture B5D éclairée vue côté 2e classe

Enfin, même vue, mais voiture posée hors des rails, pour montrer l’efficacité des simples condensateurs de 220 µF. Il s’est écoulé environ 6 secondes à partir de la sortie de voie.

Voiture B5D éclairée posée hors de la voie

Autre essai pour lutter contre les fuites de lumière

Sur la B4D qui a succédé à la B5D dans l’atelier, j’ai essayé de placer des profilés de 2 × 1 mm le plus près possible du bord du toit. La seule possibilité pratique est de les coller sur les excroissances des vitrages dont j’ai déjà parlé. Cela ne donne que quatre petits points de collage sur toute la longueur, mais ces pièces ne subiront pas de contrainte mécanique. Voici un aspect du montage (colle Faller Super-Expert).

Collage de profilés de 2 × 1 mm

Vue rapprochée, puis encore plus proche en cliquant sur la photo.

Collage de profilés de 2 × 1 mm, détail

Il semble que ce dispositif soit assez efficace (voiture équipée à gauche, non équipée à droite), bien que l’entrebâillement du toit légèrement plus important à droite contribue à ces fuites. Je pensais peindre éventuellement les profilés en noir, mais ça ne me paraît pas nécessaire.

Comparaison des fuites de lumière

Note : la voiture de gauche est équipée de LED 3000 K, celle de droite de LED 2400 K. La différence est bien plus visible à l’œil nu que sur cette photo.

Montage de lanternes

Il y a deux cas de figure : pour les voitures mixtes fourgon, il existe un feu incorporé (les deux petits feux situés plus haut ne sont pas transparents). Pour les autres voitures, on peut utiliser les porte-lanternes. Je l’ai fait pour une B11, la plus susceptible de se trouver en queue de train. Contrairement à ce que j’ai fait récemment pour d’autres voitures, les lanternes ne seront pas amovibles ici.

Montage d’une LED derrière le feu de la B5D

Il y a une difficulté : le feu arrive à ras du plancher. Il faut donc un circuit imprimé sur lequel la LED se situe tout en bas. Heureusement, les circuits que j’ai conçus pour les lanternes amovibles sont prévus aussi pour cela.

Placement du circuit derrière le feu de la B5D

Cliquez sur la photo pour voir le circuit de plus près.

Une autre difficulté a été de centrer la LED sur le feu. D’autre part, la fixation du feu est faite par un tenon carré, ce qui n’est pas du meilleur effet visuel, mais ce n’est pas visible sur la photo ci-dessous.

Vue de trois-quart arrière de la B5D

Montage de lanternes sur une B11

Ces lanternes d’origine REE sont équipées d’une LED CMS 0603, câblée avec du fil verni de diamètre 0,1 mm, comme expliqué dans cet article, avec une petite différence : au lieu de sortir par le bas, les fils, toronnés, passent dans un trou de diamètre 0,5 mm percé à l’arrière de la lanterne puis dans un autre trou de même diamètre percé dans la caisse à 1 mm au dessus du porte-lanterne.

Les lanternes sont collées à cheval sur les porte-lanternes. Ce n’est pas conforme à la réalité, mais les coller par leur dos aurait été trop fragile.

Le raccordement des fils se fait sur les pastilles prévues sur le circuit de la réglette. Enfin, je devrais dire « aurait dû se faire », car je me suis aperçu au dernier moment que j’avais équipé la mauvaise extrémité de la voiture… C’est d’autant plus stupide que, d’habitude, je prévois l’emplacement d’un ILS de commande à chaque extrémité, et que, pour une fois, je ne l’ai pas fait, alors qu’il y avait toute la place nécessaire. J’ai donc bricolé une nouvelle piste avec du ruban de cuivre autocollant…

Raccordement des lanternes

Cliquez sur la photo pour voir les lanternes de plus près. On distingue les fils entre la lanterne et la caisse. La lanterne de droite a sa peinture qui s’écaille.

Vue de la voiture équipée. On voit bien les manques de peinture sur les lanternes.

Vue de la voiture équipée