12/01/202118/01/2021.

Lighting (continued)

Wheel set preparation

In order to take advantage of all contact points, we need wheel sets with no insulated wheels, the insulation being in the middle of the axle.

Whenever possible (see Rapide Nord coaches), I replace the insulated wheel with a non-insulated one borrowed from another vehicle. But here I have no extra wheel available. So I have to make the insulated wheel conductive. There are two possibilities: use conductive silver paint, which is fast and efficient but expensive, or replace the insulated ring by a turned brass ring, difficult to tighten, especially without a lathe. I have already done this by combining several sizes of brass tubes: it is very long, and there is practically no tightening.

I will therefore describe the “painting” method here.

Conductive paint

Before we start, some links for “serious” conductive paint. By this I mean a product that gives a high conductivity, if possible in a single layer, and that does not degrade quickly. Some user reviews are edifying on this point. One thing in common: all these products are expensive, around 7 € per gram!

Note: the axle should preferably have a reduced point-to-point length, from 24.7 to 24.4 mm. Indeed, on the one hand I have noticed a perfectible rotation due to the insufficient clearance in the bearings, and, on the other hand, the fact of dismantling the bearings may not make it possible to put them back perfectly in place.

Step by step operations

After removing the insulated wheel, slide a 6.5 mm long sleeve onto the axle, mount the assembly into the drill, place a blade against the sleeve and then rotate the drill to mark the middle of the axle.

Marking the centre of the axle

Remove the sleeve, then make a notch with a square file placed at 45°.

Filing of the axle

When the diameter reaches approx. 0.5 mm, break the axle.

Breaking of the axle

File or grind both cones to obtain a short chamfer.

Grinding of the first cone

Click on the picture to see the result.

The second half axle is held in a board drilled at ø 2 to facilitate the operation.

Grinding of the second cone

Reassemble the isolated wheel on its half axle and then readjust it with the Puller. Theoretically, 5.75 mm between the tip and the rear flange is required for checking. As this dimension is difficult to get, it is better to measure the distance of 18.65 from the back of the sleeve which has a length — also theoretical — of 12.9 mm.

Shift the non-insulated wheel outwards by 0.1 to 0.2 mm (0.15 theoretical) with the Puller, to obtain the same dimension of 18.65.

Dimension for checking

Here are two views of the wheel adjustment operation.

Adjustment with the Puller

Adjustment with the Puller

Checking the dimension.

Checking the dimension of 18,65

Serial work on three coaches, therefore twelve axles. As the axle cut is not very precise, I prefer to keep the half axles paired.

Half axles in a support

After cleaning the wheels with alcohol (the bearings are greased), cover the insulating ring with conductive paint, overflowing onto the axle and the wheel disc. The resistance obtained ranges from 0.2 to 3 Ω, which is very suitable for a circuit where the other resistances are of the order of ten kilo-ohms.

Silver paint

Caution: there is no longer any question of touching up the wheel position, which would immediately result in the breaking of the silver plating layer. Here are the drying wheels.

Silvered wheels

Conduction test, result taken at random.

Conduction test

Sleeving of half axles

The insulating sleeve is made from a tube with an external diameter 3, internal 2. I have tried two types of tubes, Bic recovery cartridge and ASA tube. Both have a too large inside diameter, which I would estimate at 2.02 for the first and 2.05 for the second, which, combined with the LS Models axle diameter of 1.98 mm, gives a large clearance.

Another solution would be the Evergreen tube with an outside diameter of 3.2, but this time the inside diameter is really too small: 1.8 mm. On the other hand, this larger tube is likely to rub on the brake rigging of the bogie.

The length of the tube is 13 mm, more exactly 12.9 (to be retouched by checking the length between points, which should be 24.4 instead of 24.7 originally as already mentioned, and the wheel back-to-back distance, which should be 14.5 ± 0.1 according to NEM).

Reassembly of the wheel sets with a layer of adhesive tape to compensate for the clearance between the axle and the Bic cartridge tube. The ASA tube requires two layers of tape.

Here are the twelve wheel sets reassembled. First, checking of the point-to-point distance.

Reassembled axles, checking the point-to-point distance

Then checking of the back-to-back distance, indirectly. As the wheels are 2.8 mm thick, the dimension measured here must be 14.5 + 2 × 2.8 = 20.1 (± 0.1).

Reassembled axles, checking the wheel-to-wheel distance

Busch 5900
Conductive paint, 3 g
£18.49 on Ebay, to wit £6.17 per gram

Electrolube SCP03B
Silver conductive paint, 3 g
£12.12 at Farnell, to wit £4.03 per gram

Mac silver conductive ink, 10 g
$15.99 +$8.50 on Ebay, to wit $2.45 per gram

ASA (Acrylonitrile styrene acrylate) tube
Diameter 3 mm, thickness 0,5 mm, longueur 320 mm
Ref. A 7723/33 - € 1,50 per 5 at L’Octant

12/01/202118/01/2021.

Éclairage (suite)

Préparation des essieux

Pour profiter de tous les points de contact, il nous faut des essieux dont aucune roue ne sera isolée, l’isolation se faisant au milieu de l’axe.

Lorsque c’est possible (voir voitures Rapide Nord), je remplace la roue isolée par une non isolée récupérée sur un autre véhicule. Mais ici, je n’ai aucune roue supplémentaire disponible. Il faut donc rendre la roue isolée conductrice. Pour cela, il y a deux possibilités : utiliser de la peinture conductrice à l’argent, ce qui est rapide et efficace mais cher, ou remplacer la bague isolante par une bague tournée en laiton, difficile quant au respect des serrages, surtout sans tour. Je l’ai déjà fait en associant plusieurs tailles de tubes laiton : c’est très long, et il n’y a pratiquement aucun serrage.

Je vais donc décrire ici la méthode « peinture ».

Peinture conductrice

Avant de commencer, quelques liens pour de la peinture conductrice « sérieuse ». Par là, j'entends un produit qui donne une conductivité importante si possible en une seule couche, et qui ne se dégrade pas rapidement. Certains avis d’utilisateurs sont édifiants sur ce point. Un point commun : tous ces produits sont chers, de l’ordre de 7 € le gramme !

Remarque : l’essieu devra de préférence avoir une longueur d’axe entre pointes réduite de 24,7 à 24,4. En effet, d’une part j’ai constaté un roulement perfectible dû à l’insuffisance du jeu dans les paliers, et, d’autre part, le fait de démonter les paliers risque de ne pas pouvoir les remettre parfaitement en place.

Opérations pas à pas

Après avoir enlevé la roue isolée, glisser sur l’axe un manchon d’une longueur de 6,5 mm, monter l’ensemble dans la perceuse, plaquer une lame contre le manchon puis faire tourner la perceuse pour marquer le milieu de l’axe.

Marquage du milieu de l'essieu

Ôter le manchon, puis faire une saignée à la lime carrée placée à 45°.

Limage de l’axe d’essieu

Lorsque le diamètre atteint environ 0,5 mm, casser l’axe.

Casse de l’axe

Limer ou meuler les deux cônes pour obtenir un court chanfrein.

Meulage du premier cône

Cliquez sur l’image pour voir le résultat.

Le deuxième demi axe est maintenu dans une planchette percée au ø 2 pour faciliter l’opération.

Meulage du deuxième cône

Remonter la roue isolée sur son demi axe puis la recaler au Puller. Pour vérification, il faut théoriquement 5,75 mm entre pointe et collerette arrière. Comme cette cote est difficile à prendre, il vaut mieux mesurer la distance de 18,65 sur l’arrière du manchon qui a une longueur — théorique aussi — de 12,9 mm.

Décaler la roue non isolée de 0,1 à 0,2 mm (0,15 théorique) au Puller vers l’extérieur, pour obtenir la même cote de 18,65.

Cote de vérification

Voici deux vues de l’opération de calage des roues.

Calage au Puller

Calage au Puller

Vérification de la cote.

Mesure de la cote de 18,65

Travail en série sur trois voitures, donc douze essieux. La coupure des axes n’étant pas d’une précision très grande, je préfère garder les demi axes appariés.

Essieux dans support

Après avoir nettoyé les roues isolées à l’alcool (les paliers sont graissés), recouvrir la bague isolante de peinture conductrice, en débordant sur l’axe et sur le voile de roue. Les résistances obtenues vont de 0,2 à 3 Ω, ce qui est très convenable pour un circuit dont les autres résistances sont de l’ordre de la dizaine de kilo-ohms. Parfois, une roue présente une résistance plus grande ; dans ce cas, il suffit de remettre une couche d’argenture.

Peinture à l’argent

Attention : plus question dès lors de retoucher le calage de la roue, ce qui se solderait immédiatement par la rupture de la couche d’argenture. Voici les roues en cours de séchage.

Roues argentées

Test de conduction, résultat pris au hasard.

Test de conduction

Manchonnage des demi essieux

Le manchon isolant est fait à partir d’un tube diamètre extérieur 3, intérieur 2. J’ai essayé deux sortes de tubes, cartouche Bic de récupération et tube en ASA. L’un comme l’autre ont un diamètre intérieur trop grand, que j’estimerai à 2,02 pour le premier et 2,05 pour le deuxième, ce qui, conjugué au diamètre d’axe LS Models de 1,98 mm, donne un jeu important.

Une autre solution serait le tube Evergreen de diamètre extérieur 3,2, mais cette fois le diamètre intérieur est vraiment trop petit : 1,8 mm. D’autre part, ce tube plus gros est susceptible de frotter sur la timonerie de frein des bogies.

La longueur de tube est exactement de 12,9 (à retoucher si nécessaire en contrôlant la longueur entre pointes qui doit être de 24,4 au lieu de 24,7 à l’origine comme déjà dit, et la distance entre dos de roues, soit 14,5 ± 0,1 selon NEM).

Remontage des essieux avec une « fourrure » en scotch pour compenser le jeu entre l’axe et le tube en cartouche Bic. Le tube ASA nécessite deux couches de scotch.

Voici les douze essieux remontés, avec d’abord un contrôle de la distance entre pointes.

Essieux remontés, vérification de la distance entre pointes

Puis celui de la distance dos-à-dos, indirectement. Les roues ayant une épaisseur de 2,8 mm, la cote mesurée ici doit être 14,5 + 2 × 2,8 = 20,1 (± 0,1).

Essieux remontés, vérification de la distance entre roues

Busch 5900
Peinture conductrice, 3 g
21,68 € sur Ebay, soit 7,23 € / g

Electrolube SCP03B
Peinture conductrice argent, 3 g
21,86 € chez Farnell, soit 7,29 € / g

Mac silver conductive ink
Peinture conductrice argent, 10 g
Environ 23 € sur Ebay, soit 2,3 € / g

Tube en ASA (Acrylonitrile styrène acrylate)
Diamètre 3, épaisseur 0,5, longueur 320
Réf. A 7723/33 - 1,50 € par 5 chez L’Octant