15/09/2020.

CC 40105 profile view

CC 40105 LS Models lowered, small steps mounted.

The consequences of an accident

I started improving this machine soon after purchasing it. This consisted mainly, as often, in separating the red lights from the white, and changing the pantographs. Indeed, this machine, among the first releases, was equipped with Sommerfeldt pantographs…

Perhaps these improvements did not deserve an article, but a particular circumstance led me, or rather forced me, to revisit the case of this machine. Indeed, following a stupid manoeuvre, it fell one meter on concrete slabs! It ended up exploded into pieces, of course, but, by some pretty incredible luck, virtually no breakage! We will see that on the next page.

So I’m going to go over things in chronological order, starting with the electrical work.

Separation of the lights

The handling is quite simple. We must unscrew the printed circuit, because the intervention takes place on the hidden side. Beforehand, it is better to disconnect the two flexible circuits which go towards the lights. Putting them back in place is not difficult. Two tracks are to be cut and two wires are to be soldered. I used a Lenz Silver+ decoder with 8-pin interface. The wire not connected to this interface, coloured purple, is to be soldered directly in the place indicated, or, better, via a small connector with tulip contact. The (preferably) green wire is to be soldered on a terminal of the decoder connector.

Modification of the PCB

The outputs A and B remain connected to white lights resp. front and rear; outputs C and D are now connected to red lights resp. front and rear.

Changing pantographs

Shortly after the release of this machine, LS Models produced their own pantographs, not perfect but significantly thinner than the Sommerfeldts. So I bought a box of them, and installed them, modifying their fixing slightly: I don’t use the central fixing screw, which gives a rather coarse appearance to the panto support. In addition, in the event of hooking, the panto takes off easily and is more likely to remain intact.

However, the fixing holes must be plugged, both in the body and on the supports. In both cases, a small piece of ø 2 mm polystyrene rod does the trick. For the support, M2 threaded, I threaded the rod to fix it more easily. It is enough to level it then. Finally, a little paint, Humbrol No. 32 matte dark grey for the supports, and a silver pen touch for the body.

Then, I noticed that one of the single-phase pantographs is not horizontal when folded down: it tends to touch the front headlamp! I think the lower leg connecting rod is a little too long. But shortening it would be very tricky. I was content to dig a little under the front insulator, without being able to fully restore the situation.

Tilted pantograph

As on all my electric locos, the development of the pantos is limited by a small polystyrene wedge 0.35 mm thick. See the photo below.

Other details

The roofline is incomplete. It lacks at least its connection to pantos. I made this connection with bare telephone wire, diameter 0.5. It is simply glued with CA on the concerned insulators.

View of pantographs

We can distinguish in this photo — more easily by hovering over it with the mouse to see more details — the limiting wedges as well as the plugs of the fixing screw holes. The added link between the pantos deserves a refresh of its painting…

An oddity: the jack rods of the 1500 V DC pantos are correct (left part of the image), but those of 25 kV AC are inexplicably too short and are cantilevered (right part)!

DC jackAC jack

15/09/2020.

CC 40105 vue de profil

CC 40105 LS Models abaissée, petits marchepieds montés.

Les suites d’un accident

J’ai commencé à améliorer cette machine rapidement après son achat. Cela a consisté principalement, et comme souvent, à séparer les feux rouges des blancs, et à changer les pantographes. En effet, cette machine, parmi les premières sorties, était équipée de pantographes Sommerfeldt…

Ces améliorations ne méritaient peut-être pas un article, mais une circonstance particulière m’a amené, ou plutôt forcé, à me repencher sur le cas de cette machine. En effet, suite à une manœuvre stupide, elle a fait une chute d'un mètre sur des dalles en béton ! Elle s’est bien sûr retrouvée en morceaux, mais, par une chance assez incroyable, pratiquement sans casse ! On verra ça à la page suivante.

Je vais donc reprendre les choses dans l’ordre chronologique, en commençant par les travaux électriques.

Séparation des feux

La manipulation est assez simple. Il faut dévisser le circuit imprimé, car l'intervention se passe sur la face cachée. Au préalable, il est vaut mieux débrancher les deux nappes qui vont vers les feux. Leur remise en place n’est pas difficile. Deux coupures de pistes et deux soudures de fils sont à effectuer. J’ai utilisé un décodeur Lenz Silver+ avec interface à 8 broches. Le fil non connecté à cette interface, de couleur violette, est à souder directement à l’endroit indiqué, ou, mieux, par l’intermédiaire d’un petit connecteur à contact tulipe. Le fil vert (de préférence) est à souder sur une borne du connecteur de décodeur.

Modification du circuit imprimé

Les sorties A et B restent raccordées aux feux blancs resp. avant et arrière ; les sorties C et D le sont maintenant aux feux rouges resp. avant et arrière.

Changement des pantographes

Peu de temps après la sortie de cette machine, LS Models a produit ses propres pantographes, pas parfaits mais nettement plus fins que les Sommerfeldt. J'en ai donc acheté une boîte, et les ai installés, en modifiant légèrement leur fixation : je n’utilise pas la vis de fixation centrale, qui donne un aspect assez lourd au support de panto. De plus, en cas d’accrochage, le panto se décolle facilement et a plus de chances de rester intact.

Cependant, il faut boucher les trous de fixation, tant dans la caisse que sur les supports. Dans les deux cas, un petit morceau de rond polystyrène ø 2 fait l’affaire. Pour le support, taraudé M2, j’ai fileté le rond pour le fixer plus facilement. Il suffit de l'araser ensuite. Enfin, un peu de peinture, gris foncé mat Humbrol no 32 pour les supports, et un passage de stylo argent pour la caisse.

C’est là que je me suis aperçu que l’un des pantographes monophasés n’est pas horizontal lorsqu’il est replié : il a tendance à toucher le fanal frontal ! Je pense que la bielle de la jambe inférieure est un peu trop longue. Mais la raccourcir serait très délicat. Je me suis contenté que creuser un peu sous l’isolateur avant, sans pouvoir totalement rétablir la situation.

Pantographe incliné

Comme sur toutes mes machines électriques, le développement des pantos est limité par une petite cale de PS ép. 0,35. Voir la photo ci-dessous.

Autres détails

La ligne de toiture est incomplète. Il manque au moins son raccordement aux pantos. J'ai réalisé cette liaison avec du fil téléphonique dénudé, de diamètre 0,5. Elle est simplement collée à la cyanoacrylate sur les isolateurs concernés.

Vue des pantographes

On peut distinguer sur cette photo — plus facilement en la survolant avec la souris pour voir plus de détails — les cales de limitation ainsi que les bouchons des trous de vis de fixation. La liaison ajoutée entre les pantos mériterait un rafraîchissement de sa peinture…

Une bizarrerie : si les tiges de vérins des pantos 1500 V CC sont correctes (partie gauche de l’image), celles des 25 kV CA sont inexplicablement trop courtes et sont en porte-à-faux (partie droite) !

Vérin CCVérin CA