01/09/202107/09/2021.

Preliminary study

This load concerns crowns of steel wire, known as machine wire (is it the actual name in English?), which can weigh up to 2.4 tonnes. This wire is used, among other things, for the manufacture of… wire (yes!), but also mesh and iron for reinforced concrete, etc. See this link provided by Mathieu on the Loco-Revue forum.

On the actual R90 wagons, you can see most of the time the crowns arranged in two layers. The first layer has fifteen crowns, the second seven. The latter are loaded in the centre of the wagon, which surprises me a little. I would have rather placed them above the bogies, but there must be a good reason. If you count correctly, 22 crowns of 2.4 t equal 52.8 t: this almost reaches the maximum 55 t C-load for a Res 90 flat wagon.

Real Res flat wagon loaded with steel wire reels

Photo Patrick Sambourg (excerpt) on wagons-europe.net.

Estimating the dimensions of a crown

The usable length of an R9 / R90 is 18.5 m, so each crown takes up 1/15 of this space, or between 1.2 and 1.3 m. At 1:87, this is about 14 mm. In terms of width, the crowns almost fill the width of the wagon (2.5 m), i.e. 25 to 30 mm at 1:87.

The winding will be done on an 7/16” (11.1 mm) core (Evergreen tube), in three layers. Why three? Because it is neither too much nor too little… The wire used is galvanized wire ø 0.3 mm, easy to find in DIY stores. The current best price is €4.60 to €4.70 per 50 m. If you want to make a large quantity, you can find it much cheaper, sold by the kilogram: it comes to €0.44 per 50 m, ten times cheaper than in DIY stores!

Note that brass wire is paradoxically cheaper than iron wire. But it will be more difficult to obtain the correct colour rendering!

What length of wire for a reel?

For the sake of the future reel’s solidity, the first layer will be made with contiguous (or almost contiguous) turns. Taking into account the expansion factor, I calculate a space of 0.4 mm (not 0.3) per turn, over a length of 25 mm, which gives us 60 turns. The other layers will have looser turns, say half as many, or 30 turns per layer. This makes a total of 120 turns. If I take an average diameter of 12.5 mm, so a circumference of 39 mm, this gives a wire length of 4.7 m. To make 22 reels, we need about 100 m, so two DIY coils.

How much will a reel weigh?

According to the seller, 1 kg, or 1000 g, corresponds to 1825 m of wire; a 4.7 m reel will therefore weigh 1000 : 1825 × 4.7 = 2.6 g. It will be seen that the reels made will be closer to 3 g, which implies a slightly longer length of thread.

Making

The winding mandrel

The mandrel is made with the means at hand. Apart from the dimensions of the core, the rest depends on availability. As already mentioned, the core is made of Evergreen tube ø 11 × 25. For the axle, I used an M8 screw and two large washers. The difference in diameter between this screw and the tube (inner ø 9,7) is compensated by a layer of 0.7   thick cardboard. This does not need to be accurate.

Composition of the mandrel

Preparation of the winding

Once the parts have been assembled, the core and the inner faces of the flanges are coated with grease.

The surfaces are coated with grease

Then a plastic film, cut from a packaging bag, is rolled up and taped to the core. Note: the tape is on the outside, not stuck to the core!

Covering with plastic film

The ø 0.3 wire is clamped between the screw head and the washer. The assembly is tightened moderately.

Locking the wire

I am currently out of wire, after six attempts. This is just for demonstration purposes.

Winding

The assembly is fixed in the chuck of my screwdriver. Winding can begin, at very slow speed, then a little faster if you feel comfortable. If the wire overlaps, you can always go back by reversing the direction of rotation. Advice: don’t over-tension the wire during winding; stop and release the tension from time to time to loosen the turns and possibly tidy them up properly.

Start of winding

The following picture shows another mandrel used before, unnecessarily complicated… The first layer, with almost contiguous turns, is finished.

End of the first layer

Once this layer is done, I coat the reel with CA glue on three or four generatrices of the cylinder, then I wind a layer of scotch tape. This way, the turns of the next layer will not tend to insert themselves in the first one, and they can be spaced a little (saving wire and weight…).

Once the second layer is finished, likewise, glue with CA glue, insisting on the edges, as this conditions the good holding of the reel, and a layer of scotch tape.

Third and last layer, like the second. Here, I only put glue on one line which will be placed at the bottom to be invisible. Although, when the glue is dry, you can’t see it too much.

Next, the mandrel is removed, and the core is “de-moulded”. Thanks to the plastic layer and the grease, and also to the fact that I don’t tighten the turns too much, I haven’t had any difficulties to slide the reel out of the core, on the five copies made with this method.

Finishing

Cutting the ends of the wire. Sometimes they have to be glued back on if they “bounce”. The inner plastic film remaining inside the reel is removed with a pair of tweezers.

Removing the plastic film

When the turns are spaced out, they show the shiny tape. I will apply a veil of matte varnish once all the coils have been made.

Note: the coils obtained have a diameter of about 13.5 mm (for 14 mm, which is not bad), and a mass of about 3 g. The load of 22 coils will therefore have an approximate mass of 66 g. The HJ wagon weighs 82 g when empty, for a NEM recommendation of 92 to 120 g. With the load, the mass will rise to 148 g, which is 28 g more than the standard. However, this is still acceptable.

Ligatures

Ligatures are the ties that hold each reel together. From the photos, it looks like there are four per coil. Out of laziness, I only put three. But no, I’l put four after all.

I use fine EZ-Line thread. Advantages: it is elastic, so it will hold well without being too tight; it is thin, black (other colours exist) and therefore discreet; and it is very well glued with CA glue.

So the thread is slipped inside the reel, then a simple knot is made over it. To avoid sticking to the reel, a small piece of tape is inserted.

Gluing an EZ-Line tie

Click on the picture to see the reel more closely.

The thread is held slightly taut by spring clips.

A drop of CA glue is applied to the knot. After setting, the ends are cut off.

Then the thread is slid parallel to the axis to make the knot disappear inside, and positioned at the desired location.

Moving the wire to hide the knot

Note: the mandrel is only present to prevent the spool from rolling…

Once the three four ligatures are made, the piece of tape is of course removed.

Result :

Finished reel

Note: the lashing ropes for fixing the reels to the wagon will be made of “coarse” EZ-Line wire, as already done for the PAM pipes.

Let’s speed up the manufacturing process a bit

Ejecting the core

To facilitate the ejection of the winding core, I made a simple tool: in a random block of wood, I drilled a ø 12 through hole (just a little larger than the core), followed by a ø 14 counterbore (just a little larger than the reel), to a depth of about 2 mm.

Tool for ejecting the core

Piece in place in the ejector

I place the reel into the tool. Using a socket wrench bit, I gently tap the core, which is ejected without damaging the reel.

Hammer blow

Ejection end

Core out

Twenty-two crowns!

With patience, and a brand new thread (it shows!), I finally get the 22 coils I needed. The ligatures are not yet in place.

Wagon with loaded reels

Ageing tests of the galvanized wire

As you can see on the previous picture, there is a big difference in appearance between the wire I bought several years ago, which has oxidized, and the new one, which is very shiny. The real crowns have an intermediate appearance. On the advice of members of the Loco-Revue Forum, I have experimented with some treatments.

Note: as the crowns have been generously bonded with CA glue, the treatment will not be able to penetrate the bonded areas, nor under the layers of adhesive tape, and therefore the appearance may not be perfect. That’s why I’m going to do two series of tests, first on new degreased wire, then on these already made crowns.

The different treatments are indicated on the pictures. I am using an ABE burnisher supposedly for arcap; 14% household vinegar, undiluted; 23% hydrochloric acid, either diluted to one part HCl to four parts water, or pure.

Test on bare degreased wires

Note: I have inserted a × 4 enlarged image above each wire.

Ageing test on bare wires

It can be seen that the burnisher gives a fairly dark appearance, with a neutral colour. Acids (acetic as well as hydrochloric) give a colour close to brass, and this is unexpected!

This observation is confirmed on already made crowns, with a more visible effect.

Test on already made crowns

Ageing test on crowns

Let’s take a closer look.

Ageing test on crowns

The yellowish aspect of the acid-treated wire is striking, and is not the intended purpose! As for the burnisher, it gives a very dark appearance, increased here by the fact that the lower layers not touched are clearly visible.

In conclusion, if you want to age the galvanized wire, you should do it before making the crowns. The burnisher seems to me to be the least bad treatment, but perhaps with some dilution to get a less marked effect.

Bag of 2 polystyrene tubes
Dia. 11,1 mm x 350 mm
€4,90 — price 2021
Ref. EVER234 at train-modelisme.com

Reel of galvanized iron wire
Dia. 0,3 mm, length 50 m
€4,70 — price 2021
Ref. 70643104 at Leroy Merlin

Reel of galvanized iron wire 0,3 mm × 1 kg.
Approx. length 1825 m
€16,30 TTC — price 2021
Ref. 255_0.30 at artipistilos.com

Reel of brass wire
Dia. 0,3 mm, length 150 m
€3,95 TTC — price 2021
Ref. 99.432.72 at buttinette.com

Reel of fine EZ-Line wire
Dark gray, L = 30 m
€12,00 — price 2021
Ref. 90352C at apogee-vapeur.ch

01/09/202107/09/2021.

Étude préliminaire

Ce chargement concerne des couronnes de fil dit fil-machine qui peuvent peser jusqu’à 2,4 t. Ce fil sert entre autres à la fabrication de… fil (eh oui !), mais aussi de treillis et de fers pour béton armé, etc. Voir ce lien fourni par Mathieu sur le forum Loco-Revue.

Sur les wagons R90 réels, on voit la plupart du temps les couronnes disposées en deux couches. La première comporte quinze couronnes, la seconde sept. Ces dernières sont chargées au centre du wagon, ce qui m’étonne un peu. Je les aurais plutôt placées au-dessus des bogies, mais il y a sûrement une bonne raison. Si on compte bien, 22 couronnes de 2,4 t font 52,8 t : on atteint pratiquement la charge C maximale de 55 t pour un plat Res 90.

Wagon plat Res réel chargé de couronnes de fil d’acier

Cliché Patrick Sambourg (extrait) sur wagons-europe.net.

Estimation des dimensions d’une couronne

La longueur utile d’un R9 / R90 étant de 18,5 m, chaque couronne occupe 1/15 de cet espace, soit entre 1,2 et 1,3 m. Au 1:87, cela fait à peu près 14 mm. En largeur, les couronnes remplissent pratiquement celle du wagon (2,5 m), soit de 25 à 30 mm au 1:87.

Le bobinage se fera sur un noyau de 11 mm (tube Evergreen), en trois couches. Pourquoi trois ? Parce que c’est ni trop, ni trop peu… Le fil utilisé est du fil de fer / acier galvanisé ø 0,3 mm, facile à trouver en grande surface de bricolage. Actuellement, le meilleur prix est de 4,60 à 4,70 € les 50 m. Si l’on veut fabriquer une grande quantité, on peut trouver beaucoup moins cher, et c’est vendu au kilogramme : cela revient à 0,44 € les 50 m, dix fois moins cher qu’en GSB !

À noter qu’il existe du fil de laiton paradoxalement moins cher que le fil de fer. Mais il sera plus difficile d’obtenir le rendu correct de la couleur !

Quelle longueur de fil pour une bobine ?

Pour une raison de solidité de la future bobine, la première couche sera à spires jointives (ou quasi). En tenant compte d’un coefficient de foisonnement, je calcule un espace de 0,4 mm (et non 0,3) par spire, sur une longueur de 25 mm, ce qui nous fait 60 spires. Les autres couches auront des spires plus lâches, disons deux fois moins, soit 30 spires par couche. Cela fait un total de 120 spires. Si je prends un diamètre moyen de 12,5 mm, donc une circonférence de 39 mm, cela donne une longueur de fil de 4,7 m. Pour réaliser 22 couronnes, il nous faut environ 100 m, donc deux bobines de grande surface.

Quel sera le poids d’une bobine ?

Si je me fie au vendeur susnommé, 1 kg, ou 1000 g, correspond à 1825 m de fil ; une bobine de 4,7 m pèsera donc 1000 : 1825 × 4,7 = 2,6 g. On verra que les couronnes réalisées seront plus proches de 3 g, ce qui suppose une longueur de fil un peu plus grande.

Fabrication

Le mandrin de bobinage

Le mandrin est fait avec les moyens du bord. À part les dimensions du noyau, le reste est suivant la disponibilité. Comme déjà dit, le noyau est en tube Evergreen ø 11 × 25. Pour l’axe, j’ai pris une vis M8 et deux rondelles larges. La différence de diamètre entre cette vis et le tube (ø intérieur 9,7) est compensée par une couche de carton ép. 0,7. Cela n’a pas besoin d’être précis.

Constitution du mandrin

Préparation du bobinage

Une fois les pièces montées, le noyau et les faces internes des joues sont enduits de graisse.

Les surfaces sont enduites de graisse

Puis un film de plastique, découpé dans un sac d’emballage, est enroulé et scotché sur le noyau. Attention : le scotch est à l’extérieur, pas collé au noyau !

Recouvrement par un film de plastique

Le fil ø 0,3 est coincé entre la tête de vis et la rondelle. L’ensemble est serré modérément.

Blocage du fil

Actuellement, je suis en rupture de stock de fil, suite à six essais. C’est juste pour la démonstration.

Bobinage

L’ensemble est fixé dans le mandrin de ma perceuse-visseuse. Le bobinage peut commencer, à vitesse très lente, puis un peu plus rapide si on se sent à l’aise. S’il y a chevauchement du fil, on peut toujours revenir en arrière en inversant le sens de rotation. Conseil : ne pas trop tendre le fil pendant le bobinage ; arrêter et relâcher cette tension de temps en temps pour détendre les spires et éventuellement les ranger correctement.

Début du bobinage

La photo suivante montre un autre mandrin utilisé auparavant, inutilement compliqué… La première couche, à spires quasi jointives, est terminée.

Fin de la première couche

Cette couche faite, j’enduis la bobine de cyano sur trois ou quatre génératrices du cylindre, puis j’enroule une couche de scotch. Ainsi, les spires de la couche suivante ne tendront pas à s’insérer dans la première, et elles pourront être un peu espacées (économie de fil et de poids…).

La deuxième couche terminée, de même, collage à la cyano, en insistant sur les bords, car cela conditionne la bonne tenue de la bobine, et couche de scotch.

Troisième et dernière couche, comme la deuxième. Ici, je ne mets de la colle que sur une seule ligne qui sera placée en bas pour être invisible. Quoique, lorsque la colle est sèche, on ne la voit plus trop.

Ensuite, démontage du mandrin et « démoulage » du noyau. Grâce au film plastique et à la graisse, et aussi du fait que je ne serre pas trop les spires, je n’ai jusqu’à présent eu aucune difficulté pour glisser la bobine hors du noyau, sur les cinq exemplaires réalisés avec cette méthode.

Finition

Coupure des extrémités du fil. Il faut parfois les recoller si elles « rebiquent ». Le film plastique interne resté à l’intérieur de la bobine est enlevé avec une paire de brucelles.

Extraction du film plastique

Lorsque les spires sont espacées, elles laissent apparaître le scotch brillant. Je passerai une voile de vernis mat une fois toutes les couronnes réalisées.

NB : les couronnes obtenues ont un diamètre de 13,5 mm environ (pour 14 mm prévu, ce qui n’est pas mal), et une masse de 3 g environ. Le chargement de 22 couronnes aura donc une masse approximative de 66 g. Le wagon HJ pèse 82 g à vide, pour une recommandation NEM de 92 à 120 g. Avec le chargement, la masse montera à 148 g, soit 28 g de plus que la norme. Cela reste acceptable.

Ligatures

Les ligatures sont les liens qui maintiennent la cohésion de chaque couronne. D’après les photos, il semble qu’il y en ait quatre par bobine. Par paresse, je n’en mets que trois. Et puis non, finalement, j’en mettrai quatre.

J’utilise du fil EZ-Line fin. Avantages : il est élastique, donc il tiendra bien en place sans trop serrer ; il est fin, noir (il existe d’autres couleurs) et donc discret ; et il se colle très bien à la cyano.

Donc le fil est glissé à l’intérieur de la bobine, puis un nœud simple est réalisé par-dessus. Pour éviter le collage avec la bobine, un petit morceau de scotch est intercalé.

Collage d’une ligature EZ-Line

Cliquez sur la photo pour voir la bobine de plus près.

Le fil est maintenu faiblement tendu par des pinces à ressort.

Une goutte de cyano est déposée sur le nœud. Après prise, les extrémités sont coupées.

Ensuite, le fil est glissé parallèlement à l’axe pour faire disparaître le nœud à l’intérieur, et positionné à l’endroit voulu.

Déplacement du fil pour cacher le nœud

NB : le mandrin n’est présent que pour empêcher la bobine de rouler…

Une fois les trois quatre ligatures réalisées, le morceau de scotch est bien sûr enlevé.

Résultat :

Bobine terminée

Note : les amarres pour fixation des couronnes sur le wagon seront réalisées en fil EZ-Line « gros », comme déjà fait pour les tuyaux PAM.

Accélérons un peu la fabrication

Éjection du noyau

Pour faciliter l'éjection du noyau de bobinage, j’ai fabriqué un outil tout simple : dans un bloc de bois quelconque, j’ai percé un trou débouchant ø 12 (juste un peu plus grand que le noyau), suivi d’un lamage ø 14 (juste un peu plus grand que la bobine), sur une profondeur de 2 mm environ.

Outil pour éjecter le noyau

Pièce en place dans l’éjecteur

Je place la bobine dans cet outil. À l’aide d’une douille, je frappe délicatement sur le noyau qui est éjecté sans risque de dégâts sur la bobine.

Coup de marteau

Fin de l’éjection

Noyau sorti

Vingt-deux couronnes !

Avec de la patience, et avec du fil tout neuf (ça se voit !), je finis par obtenir les 22 couronnes nécessaires. Les ligatures ne sont pas encore posées.

Wagon avec bobines chargées

Tests de vieillissement du fil galvanisé

On le voit sur la photo précédente, il y a une grosse différence d’aspect entre le fil que j’avais acheté il y a plusieurs années, qui s’est oxydé, et le neuf, très brillant. Les couronnes réelles ont un aspect intermédiaire. Sur les conseils de membres du Forum Loco-Revue, j’ai expérimenté quelques traitements.

Remarque : les couronnes ayant subi un collage généreux à la cyanoacrylate, le traitement ne pourra pas pénétrer aux endroits collés, ni sous les couches de ruban adhésif, et donc l’aspect risque de ne pas être parfait. C’est pourquoi je vais faire deux séries de tests, sur du fil neuf dégraissé d’abord, puis sur ces couronnes déjà faites.

Les différents traitements sont indiqués sur les images. J’utilise un brunisseur de marque ABE censé être pour arcap ; du vinaigre ménager à 14%, non dilué ; de l’acide chlorhydrique à 23%, soit dilué à raison d’un volume HCl pour quatre volumes d’eau, soit pur.

Test sur fils nus dégraissés

NB : j’ai inséré au-dessus de chaque fil une image agrandie × 4.

Test de vieillissement sur fils nus

L’on constate que le brunisseur procure un aspect assez sombre, de couleur neutre. Les acides (acétique comme chlorhydrique) donnent une couleur proche du laiton, et c’est inattendu !

Cette constatation est confirmée sur les couronnes déjà faites, avec un effet plus visible.

Test sur couronnes déjà fabriquées

Test de vieillissement sur couronnes

Voyons cela de plus près.

Test de vieillissement sur couronnes

L’aspect jaunâtre du fil traité à l’acide est frappant, et ne n’est pas le but recherché ! Quant au brunisseur, il donne un aspect très sombre, encore accentué ici par le fait que l’on voit très bien les couches inférieures qui n’ont pas été touchées.

En conclusion, si vous voulez vieillir le fil galvanisé, il faudra le faire avant de fabriquer les couronnes. Le brunisseur me paraît le moins mauvais traitement, mais peut-être en le diluant pour avoir un effet moins marqué.

Sachet de 2 tubes polystyrène
Diamètre 11,1 mm x 350 mm
4,90 € — prix 2021
Réf. EVER234 chez train-modelisme.com

Bobine de fil d’acier galvanisé
Diamètre 0,3 mm, longueur 50 m
4,70 € — prix 2021
Réf. 70643104 chez Leroy Merlin

Fil de fer galvanisé 0,3 mm × 1 kg.
Longueur approx. 1825 m
16,30 € TTC — prix 2021
Réf. 255_0.30 chez artipistilos.com

Bobine de fil de laiton
Diamètre 0,3 mm, longueur 150 m
3,95 € TTC — prix 2021
Réf. 99.432.72 chez buttinette.com

Bobine EZ-Line fin
Gris foncé, L = 30 m
12,00 € — prix 2021
Réf. 90352C chez apogee-vapeur.ch