27/06/2020.

View of coupled Mistral and PBA coaches

A4Dtux Mistral 69 Jouef and A8u PBA Trix coupled with the 4-pole electric coupling.

Presentation of the project

For a long time, I have been testing electrical couplings for (almost) non-separable trains: suburban trains, TEE. I have made almost as many attempts as I have different trains: RIB, VB2N, RGP, TEE PBA and Mistral… The time has come to move on to a serious realization.

Specifications

This coupling must have four contacts. In fact, it must be suitable for train sets in which a vehicle has a function decoder, which controls:

With the addition of the common power supply, we get a total of four conductors.

It can be asymmetrical, that is to say not allowing a coach to be turned over in a train.

It must be suitable for NEM boxes, simple to manufacture and as little bulky as possible.

However, coupling will not be automatic if this poses too much difficulty. The fact that the targeted trains are non-deformable allows this functionality to be dispensed with.

Finally, it must be enough inexpensive.

Design

Based on my experiences, I have retained the principle of a Ribu (Viessmann) type drawbar fitted with 1.27 mm pitch headers. I’ve already done this with such bars, or with home-made circuit boards. In the latter case, I only used single sided PCB, for convenience; machining swallow-tail shapes was tedious and time-consuming. The big news is to call on a service provider who can provide me with professional circuits, this time on a double-sided basis.

Here is the 3D drawing of this coupling.

3D drawing

The coupling combines two functions:

Note that the hooks are different between the two ends: when pulling on two coaches to uncouple them, the bar must always yield on the female connector side, otherwise there is a risk of tearing the wires on the male side. For this, the inclines are softer on the female side than on the other.

Thanks to the double-sided PCB, you can wire 2 to 4 wires at will. The wires are connected at the ends of the tails, therefore without any particular problem of passage. From experience, the female connector should preferably be always 4-point, otherwise it is too fragile, because it is cantilevered on its circuit. Even like that, you will have to handle the coupling gently…

The tail of the female part is extended by 1.5 mm, so that wires can be connected underneath, avoiding a conflict with the male part.

Soldering is facilitated by the fact that the areas to be soldered, at the end of the tails, are further apart than at the connectors: no risk of making solder bridges between contacts.

Equipment

PCBs

The PCBs, which I ordered from JLCPCB, apparently posed difficulties, as the manufacturing time was four days instead of the usual one. After an email exchange and some corrections, the drawings were accepted, but the result is not perfect. The outline shows excessive attacks of the cutter in the corners. This defect is not as apparent in all copies. However, we’ll see that the operation is almost correct.

PCB defects

In addition to the defect noted above, there is another one of which I am this time solely responsible, which is that the marks on the pads to be soldered are both too small and truncated. However, they are very useful in avoiding connection errors. I corrected this defect in the files by moving the texts on the large part of the circuits.

3D drawing with corrected texts

Connectors

The 1.27 mm pitch connectors are available in several numbers of points from TME.

The thickness of the male and female connectors must be as equal as possible, to facilitate alignment. Thus, in the brand chosen (Connfly), the DS1031 male strips have a thickness of 2.5 mm, while there are two thicknesses of female cases: 2.4 (DS1065-07) and 1.8 (DS1065-01 ). It is therefore better to choose the DS1065-07 series which, moreover, has more robust pins.

Small problem: the male headers are not available at TME in angled form (DS1031-02 series). Apparently, they are not easy to find. We will see a parade in the following. Here is for all intents and purposes the manufacturer document (Data sheet) in PDF.

27/06/2020.

Vue de voitures Mistral et PBA attelées

Voitures A4Dtux Mistral 69 Jouef et A8u PBA Trix attelées avec l’attelage à 4 pôles.

Présentation du projet

Depuis longtemps, je fais des essais d’attelages électriques pour rames (quasi) indéformables : rames de banlieue, TEE. J’ai fait presque autant de tentatives que j’ai de rames différentes : RIB, VB2N, RGP, TEE PBA et Mistral… Le temps est venu de passer à une réalisation sérieuse.

Cahier des charges

Cet attelage doit être muni de quatre contacts. En effet, il doit être adapté aux rames dont un véhicule comporte un décodeur de fonction, qui contrôle :

Avec en plus le commun d’alimentation, on obtient bien un total de quatre conducteurs.

Il peut être asymétrique, c’est-à-dire ne permettant pas de retourner une voiture dans une rame.

Il doit être adapté aux boîtiers NEM, simple à fabriquer et le moins encombrant possible.

En revanche, l’attelage ne sera pas automatique si cela pose trop de difficulté. Le fait que les rames visées soient indéformables permet de se passer de cette fonctionnalité.

Enfin, il doit être d’un prix modéré.

Conception

Fort de mes expériences passées, j’ai retenu le principe d’une barre d’attelage de type Ribu (Viessmann) munie de barrettes de contacts au pas de 1,27 mm. Je l’ai déjà fait avec de telles barres, ou avec des circuits imprimés maison. Dans ce dernier cas, je n’utilisais que du simple face, par facilité ; l’usinage des formes en queue d’hirondelle était pénible et long. La grande nouveauté est de faire appel à un prestataire qui pourra me fournir des circuits professionnels, en double face cette fois.

Voici le dessin 3D de cet attelage.

Dessin 3D

L’attelage combine deux fonctions :

Noter que les accrochages sont différents entre les deux extrémités : lorsqu’on tire sur deux voitures pour les désaccoupler, la barre doit toujours céder côté connecteur femelle, au risque sinon d’arracher les fils côté mâle. Pour cela, les plans inclinés sont plus doux du côté femelle que de l’autre.

Grâce au circuit imprimé double face, on peut à volonté câbler 2 à 4 fils. Le raccordement des fils se fait aux extrémités des queues, donc sans problème particulier de passage. Par expérience, le connecteur femelle doit être de préférence toujours à 4 points, sinon il est trop fragile, car il est en porte-à-faux sur son circuit. Même comme cela, il faudra manipuler l’attelage avec douceur…

La queue de la partie femelle est allongée de 1,5 mm, de façon à pouvoir raccorder des fils en dessous en évitant un conflit avec la partie mâle.

Le soudage est facilité par le fait que les zones à souder, à l’extrémité des queues, sont plus écartées qu’au niveau des connecteurs : pas de risque de faire des ponts de soudure entre contacts.

Matériel

Circuits imprimés

Les circuits imprimés, que j’ai commandés chez JLCPCB, ont apparemment posé des difficultés, car le temps de fabrication a été de quatre jours au lieu de 1 habituellement. Après un échange de mails et quelques corrections, les dessins ont été acceptés, mais le résultat n’est pas parfait. Le contour montre des attaques excessives de la fraise de détourage dans les angles. Ce défaut n’est pas aussi apparent dans tous les exemplaires. Néanmoins, on verra que le fonctionnement est à peu près correct.

Défauts des circuits imprimés

En plus du défaut constaté ci-dessus, il y en a un autre dont je suis cette fois l’unique responsable, c’est que les repères des plages à souder sont à la fois trop petits et tronqués. Or ils sont très utiles pour éviter les erreurs de branchement. J’ai corrigé ce défaut dans les fichiers en déplaçant les textes sur la partie large des circuits.

Dessin 3D avec textes corrigés

Connecteurs

Les connecteurs, au pas de 1,27 mm, sont disponibles en plusieurs nombres de points chez TME.

Il faut que l’épaisseur des connecteurs mâles et femelles soit la plus égale possible, pour faciliter l’alignement. Ainsi, dans la marque choisie (Connfly), les barrettes mâles DS1031 ont une épaisseur de 2,5 mm, alors qu’il existe deux épaisseurs de boîtiers femelles : 2,4 (DS1065-07) et 1,8 (DS1065-01). Il vaut donc mieux choisir la série DS1065-07 qui, de plus, a des broches plus robustes.

Petit problème : les barrettes mâles ne sont pas disponibles chez TME en forme coudée (série DS1031-02). Apparemment, elles ne sont pas faciles à trouver. On verra une parade dans la suite. Voici à toutes fins utiles le document constructeur (Data sheet) en PDF.