Servos and their installation (continued)

Some pictures

The first picture shows the turnout control by the upper crank arm. Admit that it’s discreet and easily concealable, even if it doesn’t reproduce the actual mechanism. The original holding spring is removed. Anyway, it jumped every time I cleaned the track!

Turnout control Zoom on turnout control

Click the picture to see the transmission more closely.

The second picture shows what is behind the scenes, with, left to right, the servo, the Peco switch embedded in the PCB, and the terminal block. The red and black wires belong to the DCC feeder; the yellow one is connected to the turnout frog; the blue one, connected to the yellow one and therefore to the frog, is the wire returning to the console, which allows to light the LED indicating the position of the turnout. The terminal block can be unplugged to allow an easy removal of the support in case of problem.

Servo in situation

To install the bracket with sufficient precision with respect to the pivot hole, I made an aluminium drilling and alignment gauge.

Mounting gauge

Experimentation with microswitches

This experiment is underway. The advantages of these microswitches are their reliability (they equip the mice’s buttons), their small size and low price (around €1.5), and also the relatively large switching current, from 3 to 5 A. Do not forget that short circuits may occur on a turnout. Their disadvantage is related to the very short pusher stroke: the setting is therefore delicate. Here is a short video (53 s) on the subject.
Show video (2.6 MB).

Test model

The Peco switch has been removed (the useless terminal block remains). The microswitch is fixed on the table, which would not be practical in real situation.

Another purely electronic solution

A Switchpilot Extension module can be connected to the Switchpilot Servo for switching the turnout frogs. It connects directly to the previous one, and has four outputs (one per turnout) with dry contact dual inverter. The switching can be set either immediately upon the command receipt or with a delay to take account of the turnout travel, with CV 49 = 15 to indicate that all four servos are concerned. But the delay itself is not adjustable.

Switchpilot Extension

I bought such a module because I had difficulties with one (1 out of 7) of Peco switches, which switched randomly. This module works perfectly, but…

…but there is a big drawback: this module does not reflect the exact position of the turnout; it only indicates that the position change order has been received. If, for example, the servo connector is unplugged or has a wire cut, it will not move, and yet the turnout frog will be switched and the control panel LED will light up. So, it’s not a safe device. And this is not unique to the Switchpilot Extension, but it is also valid for the other solutions mentioned on page 2, namely the Smartfrog and the Frog Juicer.

With a switch operated directly by the servo, this type of incident could not occur. The only possible fault would be an incomplete point blade closure due to an obstacle such as a misplaced ballast grain, like in this video from a 1950 SNCF film on safety. Show video (3 MB).

But to avoid this, it would be necessary for the switch to be linked to the actual position of the points, which appears difficult on a 87th scale. Difficult, but maybe not impossible…

Five years later…

Indeed, not impossible. That’s what I just tried some five years later… How time flies! I bought micro-switches a long time ago rated at 3 amps, even smaller (12.8 × 5.8 × 6.6 mm) and cheaper, at Conrad, but they can also be found, a little less expensive, and of great brand, at TME.

Let me explain in detail how I implanted one on my test set. Show video (80 MB).

This time, we have an actual positive checking of the turnout control, i.e., if the controlled turnout does not move properly because of a transmission failure or a blockage due to a foreign body, the frog’s power supply will not be switched, and the signalling at the desk will not change, at least in one direction of actuation.

Using micro-switches

Here, the additional disadvantage mentioned above concerning the delicate adjustment due to the short microswitch stroke does not exist anymore, thanks to the transmission flexibility: in case of jamming, the servo can still run without risk of breakage.

To get this control in the opposite direction, we must add a second microswitch on the other side. This is perfectly feasible, even if, despite the small size of these devices, it can sometimes pose implementation difficulties. But I did it anyway, studying another implementation of the microswitch, more logical, horizontally. This allows using the switch’s fixing points (with screws of a diameter less than 2 mm, for example these), and the microswitch does not jut out above too much (5.8 mm compared to a 5 mm ballast thickness). If the ballast is thinner, commonly 4 mm, we can consider a recess. Video coming.

In this case, only the NO (normally open) contact of each microswitch is wired.

Electric diagram

Here is the electrical diagram corresponding to the last case intended. The microswitch S1 controls the turnout “straight track” position, while S2 controls its “diverging track” position. In the drawing’s first position, S2 is actuated by the throw bar of the turnout; S1 is at rest.

Frog supply

Click the picture to reverse the points’ position.

In the case of a single microswitch, S1 does not exist, and the wire which leads to its NO terminal is connected to the NC (normally closed) terminal of S2. Note that the single microswitch diagram is only acceptable for a voltage as low as that of the DCC (20 V max). Indeed, the NO and NC contacts are so close to each other that for a higher voltage, a permanent arc might be established between the two, leading to more or less quick destruction of the device.

CV 49 indicates which servos are affected by
the delay, as follows:
The servo numbers are 0, 1, 2 and 3, which
corresponds to the bit numbers of the byte
to be written to the CV. In my case, this gives:
20 + 21 + 22 + 23 = 1 + 2 + 4 + 8 = 15.

Zippy DF-03S-1P-Z microswitch
125 V/AC 3 A
Price 2019: € 0.80 incl. VAT; € 0.61 incl. VAT per 50
at Conrad

OMRON D2F-L-T microswitch
125 V/AC 3 A
Price 2019: € 0,77 incl. VAT; € 0,66 incl. VAT per 20
at TME

Märklin ref. 7599 1.4 × 10 wood screw
For Phillips screwdriver head No. 00
Price 2019: € 6.47 VAT incl. per 200
at Modellbahnshop-Lippe

Les servos et leur installation (suite)

Quelques photos en situation

La première photo montre la commande de l’aiguille par le bras supérieur de la manivelle. Avouez que c’est discret et facilement camou­flable, même si ça ne reproduit pas le mécanisme réel. Le ressort de maintien en position d’origine est supprimé. De toute façon, il sautait à chaque fois que je nettoyais les voies !

Commande d’aiguille

Cliquez sur l’image pour voir la transmission de plus près.

La deuxième photo montre l’envers du décor, avec, de gauche à droite, le servo, le commutateur Peco encastré dans le circuit imprimé et le bornier de raccordement. Les fils rouge et noir sont ceux du feeder DCC ; le jaune est celui du cœur d’aiguille ; le bleu, raccordé au jaune et donc au cœur, est le fil de retour au pupitre, qui permet d’al­lumer les LED indiquant la position de l’aiguille. Le bornier est débro­chable pour permettre le retrait fa­cile du support en cas de problème.

Servo en situation

Pour installer le support avec suffi­samment de précision par rapport au trou de pivotement, j’ai prévu un gabarit de perçage et d’alignement en aluminium, que voici.

Gabarit de montage

Expérimentation avec des microrupteurs

Cette expérimentation est en cours. Les avantages de ces microrupteurs sont leur fiabilité (ils équipent les boutons des souris), leur faible taille et leur faible prix (autour de 1,50 €), et aussi le courant commu­té relativement important, de 3 à 5 A. Ne pas oublier que des courts-circuits peuvent se produire sur une aiguille. Leur inconvénient est lié à la très faible course du poussoir : le réglage est donc délicat. Voici une petite vidéo (53 s) sur le sujet.
Voir la vidéo (2,6 Mo).

Maquette d’essai

Le commutateur Peco a été démonté (il reste le bornier devenu inutile). Le microrupteur est fixé sur la table, ce qui ne serait pas pratique en situation réelle.

Autre solution purement électronique

On peut associer au Switchpilot un module chargé de la commutation des cœurs d’aiguilles, c’est le Switchpilot Extension. Il se connecte directement sur le précédent, et possède quatre sorties (une par aiguille) à double inverseur à contacts secs. On peut régler la commutation soit immédiatement à la réception de l’ordre, soit avec un retard pour tenir compte de la course de l’aiguille, avec CV 49 = 15 pour indiquer que les quatre servos sont concernés. Mais le retard lui-même n’est pas réglable.

Switchpilot Extension

J’ai acheté un tel module, car j’avais des difficultés avec un (1 seul sur 7) des commutateurs Peco, qui commutait de façon aléatoire. Ce module fonctionne parfaitement, mais…

…mais il y a un inconvénient de taille : ce module ne reflète pas la position exacte de l’aiguille ; il indique seulement que l’ordre de changement de position a été reçu. Si par exemple le connecteur du servo est débranché ou a un fil coupé, il ne bougera pas, et pourtant le cœur d’aiguille sera commuté et la LED du tableau de contrôle s’allumera. Ce n’est donc pas un dispositif sécuritaire. Et ce n’est pas propre au Switchpilot Extension, mais c’est valable aussi pour les autres solutions citées à la page 2, à savoir le Smartfrog et le Frog Juicer.

Avec un commutateur actionné directement par le servo, ce type d’incident ne pourrait pas se produire. Le seul défaut encore possible serait une fermeture incomplète de l’aiguille, due à un obstacle tel qu’un grain de ballast mal placé, comme dans cette vidéo extraite d’un film SNCF des années cinquante sur la sécurité. Voir la vidéo (3 Mo).

Mais, pour éviter cela, il faudrait que le commutateur soit lié à la position réelle de l’aiguille, chose qui paraît difficile à l’échelle 1/87e. Difficile, mais peut-être pas impossible

Cinq ans après…

Effectivement, pas impossible. C’est ce que je viens d’essayer quelque cinq ans plus tard… Comme le temps passe ! J’ai acheté il y a déjà bien longtemps des microrupteurs (ou microswitch en bon franglais) supportant 3 ampères, encore plus petits (12,8 × 5,8 × 6,6 mm) et moins chers, chez Conrad, mais il y en a aussi, encore un peu moins chers, et de grande marque, chez TME.

Je vais vous expliquer en détail comment j’en ai implanté un sur mon montage d’essai. Voir la vidéo (80 Mo).

Cette fois, on a bien un contrôle positif de la commande de l’aiguille, c’est-à-dire que, si l’aiguille commandée ne se déplace pas correctement à cause d’une panne de la transmission ou d’un blocage dû à un corps étranger, l’alimentation du cœur ne sera pas commutée, et la signalisation au pupitre ne changera pas, du moins dans un sens d’actionnement.

Utilisation d’un micro-rupteur

Ici, l’inconvénient supplémentaire cité plus haut du réglage délicat dû à la faible course du microrupteur ne joue pas, grâce à la souplesse de la transmission : en cas de blocage, le servo peut quand même tourner sans risque de casse.

Pour avoir ce contrôle dans l’autre sens, il faut ajouter un deuxième microrupteur de l’autre côté. C’est parfaitement faisable, même si, malgré le faible encombre­ment de ces composants, cela peut parfois poser des difficultés d’implantation. Mais je l’ai quand même fait, en étudiant une autre implantation du microrupteur, d’ailleurs plus logique, horizontalement. Cela permet d’utiliser les point de fixation du microrupteur (avec des vis de diamètre inférieur à 2 mm, par exemple celles-ci), et le microrupteur dépasse peu (5,8 mm par rapport à une épaisseur de ballast de 5 mm). Si le ballast est plus mince, couramment 4 mm, on pourra envisager un encastrement. Vidéo à venir.

Dans ce cas, on ne câble que le contact NO (normalement ouvert) de chaque microrupteur.

Schéma électrique

Voici le schéma électrique correspondant au dernier cas envisagé. Le microrupteur S1 contrôle la position « voie directe » de l’aiguille, alors que S2 contrôle sa position « voie déviée ». Dans la première position du dessin, S2 est actionné par la traverse mobile de l’aiguille ; S1 est au repos.

Alimentation du cœur d’aiguille

Cliquez sur l’image pour changer la position de l’aiguille.

Dans le cas d’un seul microrupteur, S1 n’existe pas, et le fil qui aboutit sur sa borne NO est relié à la borne NF de S2. Notez que le schéma à un seul microrupteur n’est acceptable que pour une tension aussi basse que celle du DCC (20 V maxi). En effet, les contacts NO et NF sont tellement proches que, pour une tension plus élevée, un arc permanent pourrait s’établir entre les deux, amenant à la destruction plus ou moins rapide de l’appareil.

La CV 49 indique quels servos sont concernés
par le retard, de la façon suivante :
les numéros de servo sont 0, 1, 2 et 3, ce qui
correspond aux numéros des bits de l’octet à
écrire dans la CV. Dans mon cas, cela donne :
20 + 21 + 22 + 23 = 1 + 2 + 4 + 8 = 15.

Microrupteur Zippy DF-03S-1P-Z
125 V/AC 3 A
Prix 2019 : 0,80 € TTC pièce ; 0,61 € TTC par 50
chez Conrad

Microcommutateur OMRON D2F-L-T
125 V/AC 3 A
Prix 2019 : 0,77 € TTC pièce ; 0,66 € TTC par 20
chez TME

Vis à bois 1,4 × 10 Märklin réf. 7599
Tête cruciforme pour tournevis No 00
Prix 2019 : 6,47 € TTC les 200
chez Modellbahnshop-Lippe