Fs coupling Electrotren

Fd coal hopper coupling

Anonymous photo / Gérard Huet on forum.e-train.fr.

Brand - Reference

Electrotren 0918 K

Jouef HJ6144 and HJ6145

Type

Fd (MH hopper) so-called “EDF coupling” for coal transport.

UIC number Revision date
23 87 612 8 955-8 P 8.12.89
Home base: Villeneuve St Georges
21 87 064 7 992-8 P 11.11.74
Home base: Reims
21 87 064 7 770-8 P 13.10.73
Home base: Creutzwald

Mass

Resp. 94, 76 et 92 g (!) (NEM: 70 to 91 g).

Comments

Good respect of scale, except the wheels too large, but it doesn’t show too much, and they will be changed. It is curious that the two Jouef references, released at the same time, have as different weights.

Attention: when removing the wheels, to paint for example, the drawbar supports dislocate very easily.

There are some inaccuracies, such as the reproduction of the same brake equipment on both wagons, while one part is a single copy, common to both wagons. Another is the omission of a reinforcing angle at each end top, visible on almost all photos.

The interior, hidden by the load, is not represented. It will not be possible to show an empty train.

See the Loco-Revue Forum.

Quotation of Gérard Huet.

On a real coupling (I don’t speak of “false” couplings obtained by assembling two old single wagons), the braking mechanism is not identical on the two wagons: there is a complete system to one side with cylinder, distributor, tank, vacuum handle. The other wagon has just a single cylinder (no tank, no distributor and no vacuum handle). A tee connector is used to connect a hose to feed the second wagon’s cylinder. On the Electrotren model, it will be necessary to remove the distributor, its support and the air tank from the second wagon.

Modifications

  • Wheels, linkage and brake shoes, buffers painted. Air tank and distributor removed from one of the wagons of each coupling. Attention: the axles are difficult to put back in place because of the drawbar support. Proceed gradually on both sides.
  • Wheels ø 10.4.
  • All wagons weighed down to 78 g on average by removing ballast plates.

History

With a total capacity of 76 m3 and 58 t of coal, these wagons were built from 1963 to 1967 to 1218 units on Arbel plans. They are called "EF 60". Central unloading by automatically opening and closing the trap doors, which implies a special installation preventing mixing with other wagon types. Source: ajtrainsim.free.fr.

Quotation of Gérard Huet.

The first EF30 wagons (30-tonne coal wagon for EDF plants) were released in 1955 (ARBEL plans and design, but various manufacturers). They were then supplemented by EF60 couplings (60-tonne), two permanently coupled EF30 wagons, very simplified buffers, and a braking system common to both wagons. In the 1980s, single wagons were converted into couplings, generally keeping the buffers, but with modification of the brake components (as for “real” couplings.) These wagons are normally painted in light grey (with a slight bluish nuance), but they are quickly damaged by the intensive exploitation in coal transport and constitute a beautiful field of investigation for the addicts of the realistic weathering.

General characteristics (coupling):

  • Capacity 76 m3
  • Usable load 58.5 t
  • Maximum gross weight 80 t

Trap door control:

  • Opening: by swinging the hinge after unlocking the safety lever.
  • Closing: the trap doors close automatically when the caster passes over the ramps between the rails.

Duration of unloading: instantaneous.

Documents

  • Drawing by Gérard Huet
  • Photo of Anton Kendall
  • La Vie du Rail sheet, where it is clearly stated that the wheel diameter is 920 mm, unlike most 2-axle wagons, which have wheels of 1,000 or 1,050 mm. My modest check.
  • Report of the BEA-TT (Land Transport Accident Investigation Office) on the derailment of 44 EF60 hopper train. You can see pictures of the undersides of the lying wagons and the coal load.


To have a clear mind about this, I checked two photos of the Loco-Revue Forum provided by Gerard Huet, and very lightened to better see the interesting parts. With all the usual reservations (wagon not perfectly profile, angle of field, etc.), I found in one case 936 mm, in the other 948 mm (base: wheelbase of 5,250). And 1000 mm gave an obviously too large diameter. So, rather 940?

Fd coupling ElectrotrenFd coupling Electrotren

Fd coupling ElectrotrenFd coupling Electrotren

Fd coal hopper coupling

Anonymous photo / Gérard Huet on forum.e-train.fr.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 15 160 174.3 175.5
Chassis length 1 wagon 6 710 77.1 77.6
Body width 3 120 35.9 36.0
Height 3 800 43.7 44.4 1
Wheelbase 1 wagon 5 250 60.3 60.5
Total wheelbase 12 460 143.2 144.2
Wheel diameter 920 10.6 11.4 2
  1. With original wheels; 43.8 with ø 10.4 wheels.
  2. Original wheels.

Couplage Fd Electrotren

Couplage de trémies à houille

Cliché anonyme / Gérard Huet sur forum.e-train.fr.

Marque - Référence

Electrotren 0918 K

Jouef HJ6144 et HJ6145

Type

Fd (trémie MH) dite « couplage EDF » pour transport de houille.

Numéro UIC Date de révision
23 87 612 8 955-8 P 8.12.89
Gare d’attache : Villeneuve St Georges
21 87 064 7 992-8 P 11.11.74
Gare d’attache : Reims
21 87 064 7 770-8 P 13.10.73
Gare d’attache : Creutzwald

Masse

Resp. 94, 76 et 92 g (!) (NEM : 70 à 91 g).

Commentaires

Bon respect de l’échelle, à part les roues trop grandes, mais cela ne se voit pas trop, et elles seront changées. Il est curieux que les deux références Jouef, sorties en même temps, aient des masses aussi différentes.

Attention : lorsqu’on enlève les roues, pour les peindre par exemple, les supports de timon se déboîtent très facilement.

Il y a quelques inexactitudes, comme d’avoir reproduit le même équipement de frein sur les deux wagons, alors qu’une partie est à un seul exemplaire, commun aux deux wagons. Une autre est l’oubli d’une cornière de renfort à chaque extrémité haute de caisse, présente sur presque toutes les photos.

L’intérieur, masqué par le chargement, n’est pas représenté. Il ne sera pas possible de figurer une rame vide.

Voir le Forum Loco-Revue.

Citation de Gérard Huet.

Sur un couplage réel (je ne parle pas des "faux" couplages obtenus par assemblage de deux anciens wagons simples), le mécanisme de freinage n’est pas identique sur les deux wagons : il y a un système complet d’un côté avec cylindre, distributeur, réservoir, manette de mise à vide. L’autre wagon a juste un simple cylindre (pas de réservoir, pas de distributeur ni manette de mise à vide). Un raccord en té permet de connecter un tuyau souple pour aller alimenter le cylindre du deuxième wagon. Sur le modèle Electrotren, il faudra supprimer le distributeur, son support et le réservoir d’air sur le deuxième wagon.

Modifications

  • Roues, tringlerie et semelles de freins, tampons peints. Réservoir d’air et distributeur enlevés sur l’un des wagons de chaque couplage. Attention : les essieux sont difficiles à remettre en place à cause du support de timon. Procéder progressivement de part et d’autre.
  • Roues ø 10,4.
  • Tous wagons ramenés à la masse de 78 g en moyenne par retrait de plaques de lest.

Historique

D’une capacité totale de 76 m3 et de 58 t de charbon, ces wagons ont été construits de 1963 à 1967 à 1218 exemplaires sur des plans Arbel. Ils sont appelés « EF 60 ». Vidage central par ouverture et refermeture automatique des trappes, ce qui implique une installation spéciale empêchant le panachage avec d’autres types de wagons. Source : ajtrainsim.free.fr

Citation de Gérard Huet.

Les premiers wagons EF30 (Wagon houiller de 30 tonnes pour centrales EDF) sont sortis en 1955 (plans et conception ARBEL, mais divers constructeurs). Ils ont ensuite été complétés par des couplages EF60 (60 tonnes), deux wagons EF 30 accouplés à demeure, des tampons très simplifiés, et un système de freinage commun aux deux wagons. Dans les années 80, les wagons simples ont été transformés en couplages, en général en conservant les tampons, mais avec modification des organes de frein (comme pour les « vrais » couplages. Ces wagons sont peints normalement en gris assez clair (avec une légère nuance bleutée), mais ils sont rapidement abîmés par l’exploitation intensive en transport de charbon et constituent un beau champ d’investigation pour les accros de la patine réaliste.

Caractéristiques générales (couplage) :

  • Capacité 76 m3
  • Charge utile 58,5 t
  • Masse brute maximum 80 t

Commandes des trappes :

  • Ouverture : par basculement du pendard après déblocage du levier de sécurité.
  • Fermeture : les trappes se referment automatiquement lors du passage de la roulette sur les rampes situées dans l’entre-rail.

Durée du déchargement : instantané.

Documents

  • Dessin de Gérard Huet
  • Photo de Anton Kendall
  • Fiche La Vie du Rail, où il est clairement indiqué que le diamètre des roues est de 920 mm, contrairement il est vrai à la plupart des wagons à essieux, qui ont des roues de 1 000 ou 1 050 mm. Ma modeste vérification.
  • Rapport du BEA-TT (Bureau d’enquêtes sur les accidents de transport terrestre) sur le déraillement d’un train de 44 trémies EF60. On peut y voir des photos des dessous des wagons couchés ainsi que du chargement de charbon.


Pour en avoir le cœur net, j’ai vérifié sur deux photos du Forum Loco-Revue fournies par Gérard Huet, et très éclaircies pour mieux voir les parties intéressantes. Avec toutes les réserves d’usage (wagon pas parfaitement de profil, angle de champ, etc.), j’ai trouvé dans un cas 936 mm, dans l’autre 948 mm (base : empattement de 5 250). Et 1000 mm donnait un diamètre manifestement trop grand. Alors, plutôt 940 ?

Couplage Fd Electrotren

Couplages Fd Jouef

Couplage de trémies à houille

Cliché anonyme / Gérard Huet sur forum.e-train.fr.

  1. Avec roues d’origine ; 43,8 avec roues ø 10,4.
  2. Roues d’origine.
Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 15 160 174,3 175,5
Longueur châssis 1 wagon 6 710 77,1 77,6
Largeur caisse 3 120 35,9 36,0
Hauteur caisse 3 800 43,7 44,4 1
Empattement 1 wagon 5 250 60,3 60,5
Empattement total 12 460 143,2 144,2
Diamètre roues 920 10,6 11,4 2