D-standard refrigerated wagon LS Models

D-standard refrigerated wagon

Photo J.-Paul Lescat on railfaneurope.net.

Brand - Reference

LS Models 30398-1 et 2

Type

C-standard refrigerated wagon leased to STEF

UIC number Revision date
11 87 082 0 837-6 P 27.1.71
11 87 082 1 082-8 P 12.4.71

Mass

48 g (NEM: 48 to 63 g); 59 g after ballasting.

Comments

Longer, but paradoxically lighter than OCEM wagons sold with. Brass bearings. Fine flanged wheels (0.8) and of correct diameter. Too long buffers.

Female roof clips, stirrup-shaped, near the four corners of the lateral sides, and two guides maintaining the spacing of the walls in their middle. Unclipping is quite easy.

No. 837 (grey roof) has badly mounted, not well pushed in and skewed, but very well glued buffers, as well as roof fans and brake shoes.Tampons de travers The other is mounted correctly. So there is little rigorous manufacturing monitoring, as often. Unfortunately, the buffers seem very delicate to dismantle.

The end ramps are not parallel to the ladders. There is obviously a positioning problem: compare with the original. Echelles non parallèlesSee also inclination dimensions in the comparative table opposite. It would be necessary that the fixation of the bottom is a little higher, and that of the top is closer to the end wall reinforcement.

Both wagons are equipped with plain bearing axle boxes (standard for one, Athermos for the other) and with towing diabolos, so in a version not really era IV (one has even a spoked wheel axle). I would have appreciated that one of the two be equipped with roller axle boxes.

Finally, the letters STEF should be black and not blue: all photos of the time (including the one above), as well as some films attest it. Here is for example a film excerpt on the Vierzon depot. Show video. And don’t tell me that the colours of the film are too much faded to judge: we still clearly see that the BB 67000 loco is blue, and that the Interfrigo and Réfrigérant markings are red.

The complete film (27:40) can be seen on Youtube. The excerpt begins around the 16th minute.

See the Loco-Revue Forum.

Modifications

  • Buffers repositioned on No. 837. Two were taken off without breakage and then reassembled properly. A third had its (male) tenon broken; it was glued with Kibri liquid glue. Spoke wheel axle was exchanged with an OCEM plain wheel axle.
  • Extra ballast of 11 g.

History

C and D-Standard refrigerated wagons for early vegetables (.Is) 11 87 082 0 249-4 to 2 073-6, meat (.Ics) 11 87 082 4 009-8 to 4 394-4, and fish (.Ids) 11 87 083 7 008-5 to 7 057-2, built in more than 2000 units between 1948 and 1959 by Ets Cadoux, Atelier de construction d’Épluches, Coder, Brissonneau & Lotz and Boileau-Pétolat. Ex HI 5xxx xxx.

Wagons numbered 082 1 557 to 1 705 are equipped with steam and electric heating pipes, with the aim of being incorporated in a passenger train. None of the two numbers presented by LSM should be equipped, but however the locations and accessories are provided.

The STEF, Société de Transports et d’Entrepôts Frigorifiques — Company of Refrigerated Transport and Warehouses, was created in 1920. It is still active nowadays, but has not been managing wagons for a long time.

Documents

D-standard refrigerated wagon LS ModelsD-standard refrigerated wagon LS Models

D-standard refrigerated wagon

Photo J.-Paul Lescat on railfaneurope.net.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 10 460 120.2 121.3
Chassis length 9 280 106.7 106.6
Body width 2 780 32.0 32.4
Height 1 3 953 45.4 45.3
Overall height 4 174 48.0 48.4
Wheelbase 6 000 69.0 68.7
Wheel diameter 1 050 12.1 12.0
Ladder angle 1 68.5 ° 68.3 °
Ramp angle 1 68.5 ° 73.0 °
  1. Measured on diagram.

Réfrigérant OCEM 1929 LS Models

Réfrigérant Is

Cliché J.-Paul Lescat sur railfaneurope.net.

Marque - Référence

LS Models 30398-1 et 2

Type

Réfrigérant Is standard C loué à STEF

Numéro UIC Date de révision
11 87 082 0 837-6 P 27.1.71
11 87 082 1 082-8 P 12.4.71

Masse

48 g (NEM : 48 à 63 g) ; 59 g après lestage.

Commentaires

Plus longs, mais paradoxalement plus légers que les OCEM vendus avec. Paliers laiton. Roues à boudins fins (0,8) et de diamètre correct. Tampons de longueur excessive.

Clips de toit femelles, en forme d’étriers, près des quatre coins des faces latérales, et deux guides maintenant l’écartement des parois en leur milieu. Déclipsage assez facile.

Le no 837 (toit gris) a ses tampons mal montés, pas bien enfoncés et de travers, mais très bien collés, ainsi que ses ventilateurs de toit et ses sabots de freins. Tampons de travers L’autre est monté correctement. Donc suivi de fabrication peu rigoureux, comme souvent. Malheureusement, les tampons semblent très délicats à décoller.

Les rampes d’extrémité ne sont pas parallèles aux échelles. Il y a là manifestement un problème d’implantation : comparer avec l’original. Echelles non parallèles Voir aussi les cotes d’inclinaison dans le tableau comparatif ci-contre. Il faudrait que la fixation du bas soit un peu plus haute, et que celle du haut soit plus près du renfort de dossier.

Les deux wagons sont munis de boîtes à coussinets (standard pour l’un, Athermos pour l’autre) et de diabolos de halage, donc dans une version pas franchement époque IV (l’un a même un essieu à roues à rayons). J’aurais apprécié que l’un des deux soit muni de boîtes à rouleaux.

Enfin, les lettres STEF devraient être noires et non bleues : toutes les photos de l’époque (y compris celle ci-dessus), ainsi que certains films l’attestent. Voici par exemple un extrait de film sur le dépôt de Vierzon. Voir la vidéo. Et ne me dites pas que les couleurs du film sont trop passées pour juger : on voit quand même bien que la 67000 est bleue, et que les marquages Interfrigo et Réfrigérant sont rouges.

On peut voir le film complet (27 min 40) sur Youtube. L’extrait commence vers la 16e minute.

Voir le Forum Loco-Revue.

Modifications

  • Tampons remis en place sur no 837. Deux ont été décollés sans casse puis remontés correctement. Un troisième a eu son tenon (mâle) cassé ; il a été recollé à la colle liquide Kibri. Essieu à roues à rayons échangé avec un essieu à roues pleines d’un OCEM.
  • Lest supplémentaire de 11 g.

Historique

Réfrigérant standard C et D pour primeurs (.Is) 11 87 082 0 249-4 à 2 073-6, viande (.Ics) 11 87 082 4 009-8 à 4 394-4 et marée (.Ids) 11 87 083 7 008-5 à 7 057-2, construits à plus de 2000 exemplaires entre 1948 et 1959 par Ets Cadoux, Atelier de construction d’Éplu­ches, Coder, Brissonneau & Lotz et Boileau-Pétolat. Ex HI 5xxx xxx.

Les wagons numérotés 082 1 557 à 1 705 sont munis d’une conduite blanche de chauffage vapeur et électrique, pour pouvoir être incorporés dans une rame de voitures voyageurs. Aucun des deux numéros présentés par LSM ne devrait en être équipé, mais les emplacements et les accessoires sont cependant fournis.

La STEF, Société de Transports et d’Entrepôts Frigorifiques, a été créée en 1920. Elle est toujours active actuellement, mais ne gère plus de wagons depuis longtemps.

Documents

Réfrigérant OCEM 1929 LS Models

Réfrigérant Is

Cliché J.-Paul Lescat sur railfaneurope.net.

  1. Mesures sur plan.
Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 10 460 120,2 121,3
Longueur châssis 9 280 106,7 106,6
Largeur caisse 2 780 32,0 32,4
Hauteur caisse 1 3 953 45,4 45,3
Hauteur hors tout 4 174 48,0 48,4
Empattement 6 000 69,0 68,7
Diamètre roues 1 050 12,1 12,0
Inclinaison des échelles 1 68,5 ° 68,3 °
Inclinaison des rampes 1 68,5 ° 73,0 °