B10t USI LS Models in C160 livery

B10t USI

Photo SNCF.

Brand - Reference

LS Models 40006-3 (from a set of three cars)

Type

B10t USI in C160 livery, USI 68 type.

UIC number Revision date
50 87 20-77 837-4 2 3.9.69
Home base: Landy

Mass

140 g (NEM: 115 to 150 g)

Comments

A nice little surprise: the assignment to the Nord region (Landy), while the car is supposed to belong to the reversible train called “Cyclops” of the Sud-Ouest region.

At first sight, the silhouette is well rendered, but seems too low. Still, the dimensions are well respected. I am immediately struck by two flaws: the very flawed body-to-roof junction (the roof extends the body by at least 2 or 3 tenths of a millimetre), and the arched top of the window frames. It seems to me that for this series of cars, there was really no need to separate the roof from the body, the flanks being perfectly flat. MMM-RG did it well in their day

LS Models has corrected the main defect of the previous cars made in collaboration with Heris, namely the wrong bogie centre distance. But for this, the pivot axis is further moved forward (6 mm). I'm not sure it's good for track keeping.

The wheels are not very beautiful (there has been progress since), of a bit too strong diameter and having quite big flanges: 1 mm. All this helps making them look too massive. In the photo, these wheels have been replaced. The axles rotate in metal bearings: this is favourable against wear, and will allow to pick the lighting current without additional friction.

Another twist to reality: the pendular suspension brackets, very characteristic of the Y28 bogies, are attached to the bogie beams and not to the chassis.

The windows are in two parts: the window pane itself and its chassis, quite well adjusted but sometimes distorts. The embedding is not very good because of the glue used, thick and rubbery. The small end windows (toilets and doors) are even less well inserted, because of a design error: the recess at the doors is lower on the glazing than on the body. Finally, the gangway door portholes look more like "bottlenecks".

The metallic grey colour is incompatible with that of UIC REE cars (lighter, brighter). But I don’t know who is right.

Plastic handles are provided, with a template for drilling the corresponding holes. But their diameter is twice as big: 0.7 instead of 0.3 mm (approximately).

Grey plastic detailing parts, including buffers and bogies, are made of unpainted translucent material. Disassembling the roof and chassis is very easy and safe. The seats are of correct shape, but they are afflicted with traces of moulding (clusters and ejection) very visible from the outside, and unfortunately strongly glued, while, provided with clips, they could as well have been mounted without glue. The floor is ivory, very messy colour probably not consistent.

See:

Modifications

  • Handles in guitar string ø 0.3. Very weak original electric heating cables replaced with wrapping wire.
  • Partially corrected roof overtaking (impossible at the ends, except with sanding and repainting).
  • The wheels are changed to thin flange models, and their insulation is removed. The axles are isolated by their middle.
  • Lighting: current pickup by conductive bearings, twelve LED strip, control circuit by bistable reed switch.
  • Decoration of the interior (floor and walls), painting of accessories (buffers, gangways, axles, etc.).
Interior of B10t USI LS Models

History

Cars called USI (Unifiées Service Intérieur — Unified for Interior Service), on Y28 D bogies, built from 1966 to 1971 by the Ateliers du Nord de la France (ANF).

It should be noted that their overall length and their (virtual) bogie pivot distance are the same as for DEV AO cars so-called long.

These cars are coach type (center corridor). Their room is divided in the middle by a glass partition without door, separating smoking and non-smoking rooms. The seats have a two-position reclining backrest, and are covered with slightly bluish grey texid.

The windows can only be opened on one side, to avoid too strong air flow, and are then provided with a 45° deflector which, when they are ajar, allows to channel the air upwards. This deflector was not represented on the model.

Two of the Heris car are in the range 20-77 795-1 to 859-8, with 1.5 kV DC and AC 50 Hz electric heating. The 70 088 is equipped with all-voltage (1, 1.5 and 3 kV) and all-frequency (16 ⅔ and 50 Hz) electric heating, which seems curious for a car supposed to operate only an interior service (and thus in regime 50).

Documents

Warning: this sheet is about an older B10t USI car, with regularly spaced windows, and confuses two types:

  • the 1960 type in the photo, mounted on Y16 bogies, and havind a shorter body, equipped with bellows;
  • the 1961 type in the diagram and the drawing, mounted on Y16 bogies too, but with a longer body and UIC beads.
The overall length is the same in every cases.

B10t USI LS Models in C160 liveryB10t USI LS Models in C160 livery

B10t USI

Photo SNCF.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 25 094 288.4 288.4
Chassis length 23 794 273.5 276.4
Body width 2 880 33.1 33.3
Height 3 870 44.5 44.2 1
Pivot distance 17 000 195.4 195.5
Bogie wheelbase (Y28) 2 560 29.4 29.2
Wheel diameter 920 10.6 10.6 1
  1. After replacement of wheels ø 10.9

B10t USI LS Models livrée C160

B10t USI

Cliché SNCF.

Marque - Référence

LS Models 40006-3 (issue d’un set de trois voitures)

Type

B10t USI livrée C160 tranche USI 68.

Numéro UIC Date de révision
50 87 20-77 837-4 2 3.9.69
Attache : Landy

Masse

140 g (NEM : 115 à 150 g)

Commentaires

Une petite surprise sympathique : l’affectation à la région Nord (Landy), alors que la voiture est sensée appartenir à la rame réversible dite « Cyclope » de la région Sud-Ouest.

De prime abord, la silhouette est bien rendue, mais semble trop basse. Pourtant, les cotes sont bien respectées. Je suis immédiatement frappé par deux défauts : la jonction caisse-toit très imparfaite (le toit déborde d’au moins 2 ou 3 dixièmes), et le haut des châssis de fenêtres arqué. Il me semble que pour cette série de voitures, il n’y avait vraiment pas besoin de séparer le toit de la caisse, les flancs étant parfaitement plats. MMM-RG l’avait bien fait en son temps…

LS Models a corrigé le défaut principal des voitures précédentes faites en collaboration avec Heris, à savoir l’entraxe des pivots de bogies erroné. Mais, pour cela, l’axe de pivotement est encore plus déporté vers l’avant (6 mm). Je ne suis pas sûr que ce soit bon pour la tenue de voie.

Les roues ne sont pas très jolies (il y a eu du progrès depuis), de diamètre un peu trop fort et leurs boudins sont assez gros : 1 mm. Tout cela contribue à leur donner un aspect trop massif. Sur la photo, ces roues ont été remplacées. Les axes tournent dans des paliers métalliques : ceci est favorable pour l’usure, et permettra de capter le courant d’éclairage sans frottements supplémentaires.

Autre entorse à la réalité : les supports de suspension pendulaire, très caractéristiques des bogies Y28, sont attachés aux longerons de bogies et non au châssis.

Les baies sont en deux parties : la vitre elle-même et son châssis, assez bien ajusté mais qui se déforme parfois. L’encastrement n’est pas très bon en raison de la colle employée, épaisse et caoutchouteuse. Les petites fenêtres d’extrémité (toilettes et portes) sont encore moins bien encastrées, à cause d’une erreur de conception : le décrochement au niveau des portes est plus faible sur le vitrage que sur la caisse. Enfin, les hublots des portes d’intercirculation ressemblent plutôt à des « culs de bouteille ».

La couleur gris métallisé est incompatible avec celle des voitures UIC REE (plus claire, plus brillante). Mais je ne sais pas qui a raison.

Des mains montoires en plastique sont fournies, avec un gabarit pour percer les trous correspondants. Mais leur diamètre est deux fois trop gros : 0,7 au lieu de 0,3 (environ).

Les pièces de détaillage en plastique gris, y compris les tampons et les bogies, sont en matière translucide non peinte. Le démontage du toit et du châssis est très facile et sans risque. Les sièges sont de forme correcte, mais ils sont affligés de traces de moulage (grappes et éjection) très visibles de l’extérieur, et malheureusement fortement collés, alors que, munis de clips, ils pouvaient fort bien se passer de colle. Le sol est de teinte ivoire, couleur très salissante sans doute pas conforme.

Voir :

Modifications

  • Mains montoires en corde de guitare ø 0,3. Câblots d’origine très fragiles remplacés par du fil à wrapper.
  • Débordement du toit partielle­ment corrigé (impossible aux extrémités, sauf avec ponçage et remise en peinture).
  • Les roues sont changées pour des modèles à boudins fins, et leur isolation est supprimée. Les axes d’essieux sont isolés par leur milieu.
  • Éclairage : prise de courant par paliers conducteurs, réglette de douze LED, circuit de commande à ILS bistable.
  • Décoration de l’intérieur (sol et parois), peinture des accessoires (tampons, passerelles, essieux, etc.).
Intérieur B10t USI LS Models

Historique

Voitures dites USI (Unifiées Service Intérieur), sur bogies Y28 D, construites de 1968 à 1971 par les Ateliers du Nord de la France (ANF).

Il est à remarquer que leur longueur HT ainsi que leur distance entre pivots (virtuels) de bogies sont les mêmes que celles des voitures DEV AO dites longues.

Ces voitures sont du type coach (à couloir central). Elles sont divisées en leur milieu par une cloison en verre sans porte, séparant les salles fumeurs et non-fumeurs. Les sièges ont un dossier inclinable à deux positions, et sont recouverts de texoïd gris légèrement bleuté.

Les vitres ne sont ouvrantes que d’un côté, pour éviter les trop forts courants d’air, et sont alors munies d’un déflecteur à 45° qui, lorsqu’elles sont entrebâillées, permet de canaliser l’air vers le haut. Ce déflecteur n’a pas été représenté sur le modèle réduit.

La voiture LSM est dans la tranche 20-77 795-1 à 859-8, autorisée à 160 km/h. Elle a fait partie de la rame réversible « Cyclope » entre Paris-Austerlitz, Orléans et Tours dans les années 1970. Les voitures livrées neuves à la région Nord appartiennent à la tranche précédente 50 87 20-70 725-8 à 794-4 limitée à 150 km/h et donc en livrée vert celtique.

Documents

  • Fiche Loco-Revue no 528 / 51975-75 a 45 (ancienne série).
  • Fiche Loco-Revue no 53 / 2 (ancienne série) pour la rame « Cyclope ».
  • Fiche La Vie du rail. Attention : cette fiche concerne une B10t USI plus ancienne, avec des baies régulièrement espacées, et confond deux types :
  • le type 1960 sur la photo, montée sur bogies Y16, et à caisse plus courte munie de soufflets ;
  • le type 1961 sur le diagramme et le dessin, sur bogies Y16 aussi, mais avec une caisse allongée et des bourrelets UIC.
    La longueur HT est la même dans tous les cas.

B10t USI LS Models livrée C160

B10t USI

Cliché SNCF.

  1. Après remplacement des roues ø 10,9
Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 25 094 288,4 288,4
Longueur châssis 23 794 273,5 276,4
Largeur caisse 2 880 33,1 33,3
Hauteur caisse 3 870 44,5 44,2 1
Distance pivots 17 000 195,4 195,5
Empattement bogies (Y28) 2 560 29,4 29,2
Diamètre roues 920 10,6 10,6 1