Green B10 UIC REE

UIC B10 car

Photo SNCF.

Brand - Reference

REE VB-066 et VB-098-3

Type

B10 UIC 64 type in green livery

UIC number Revision date
51 87 20-80 631-5 5 28.12.70
51 87 20-80 632-3 5 29.3.71
51 87 20-80 634-9 5 17.3.71
Home base: Villeneuve
51 87 20-71 697-7 2 28.12.70
Home base: Le Landy

Mass

129 g (NEM: 113 to 146 g)

Comments

For ref. VB-066. Acquired at a much more attractive price than the prevailing one (-15%), price which has also fallen for the following series. Gag: the box is marked epoch IIIb, that is, according to Morop, from 1950 to 1955. Strange enough for cars delivered from 1964, and having revision dates between 1970 and 1971… And there is no instruction sheet.

The body-to-roof junction is less apparent than on the C160 livery car. This may be due to the fact that the Celtic green livery is darker.

The exterior of the window frames is painted in green, the interior in aluminium. On the photograph taken in close-up, it can be noticed that the door window pane is not correctly fitted.

As on the C160 livery car, the bogie centre dampers, inserted, tend to move and may also rub on a chassis rib in extreme cases. The wheel flanges are 0.8 mm. It will be difficult to disassemble the axles because they are surrounded by the brake linkage (very detailed too, but glued and probably fragile).

There are on one side of the chassis two bosses meant to ensure a 2-point suspension (the third point being the ball of the opposite side bogie), but these bosses don’t bear on the bogie! They should be thicker by an average of 0.15 mm. And, on the other hand, there is very little clearance in rolling to the ball side: the secondary suspension spring heads quickly come into stop on the chassis beams.

The gangways, very thin and in metal, don’t stand vertical. Must be glued if you don’t want to lose one!

The seats are a pretty straight blue, which, in my opinion, does not match reality. It was rather a slightly bluish grey, as evidenced by this photo extracted from the SNCF 1972 booklet (although the image quality is not excellent). Compartiment de UIC B10 carTo tell the truth, the caption only says 2nd class compartment of a recent car. But, in 1972, what could be a recent 2nd class car with compartments, if not a UIC car?

On one of the cars, an axle rubbed on a badly positioned brake shoe. The buffers were tilted downwards, but this was due to a bad snap in the chassis end, which includes the buffer beam. The coupling (with Profi heads) is difficult, but cars run with buffers and beads joined. Unfortunately, there is a buffer muddling on my test layout (min. curve radius 550 mm) when pushing.

See:

Modifications

  • 3-point suspension restored by interposition of 0.3 mm spacers glued on the bogie frame, bosses side.

History

Cars built according to the UIC specifications (Y type), 24.5 m long, delivered from 1964 to 1971 by De Dietrich and CIMT Lorraine, for a total of 300 units. UIC numbers 51 87 20-70 501-2 to 690-3 and 51 87 20-71 691-0 to 800-7.

Note: numbers 51 87 20-80 instead of 51 87 20-70 can be found, as on the REE cars. This corresponds to the presence of steam heating equipment in addition to electric heating, and therefore rather concerns cars of the former series.

Documents

REE green B10 UICREE green B10 UIC

REE green B10 UIC together ensembleREE green B10 UIC together ensemble

UIC B10 car

Photo SNCF.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 24 500 281.6 282.5
Chassis length 23 200 266.7 266.5
Body width 2 880 33.1 33.4
Height 4 050 46.6 46.3 1
Pivot distance 17 200 197.7 197.3
Bogie wheelbase 2 300 26.4 26.5
Wheel diameter 920 10.6 10.6
  1. On average 46.5 after rectification of the seat.

One can question the era system of Morop, but, if one refers to it, I think one has to exactly conform to it and not invent one’s own system! Unfortunately, LS Models is used to the fact, and REE is apparently going the same way…

B10 UIC verte REE

Voiture UIC B10

Cliché SNCF.

Marque - Référence

REE VB-066 et VB-098-3

Type

B10 type UIC 64 livrée vert celtique

Numéro UIC Date de révision
51 87 20-80 631-5 5 28.12.70
51 87 20-80 632-3 5 29.3.71
51 87 20-80 634-9 5 17.3.71
Attache : Villeneuve
51 87 20-71 697-7 2 28.12.70
Attache : Le Landy

Masse

129 g (NEM : 113 à 146 g)

Commentaires

Pour la réf. VB-066. Acquises à un prix nettement plus avantageux que celui pratiqué en général (−15 %), prix qui a d’ailleurs bien baissé pour les séries suivantes. Gag : la boîte est marquée époque IIIb, soit, selon le Morop , de 1950 à 1955. Pour des voitures livrées à partir de 1964, et ayant des dates de révision entre 1970 et 1971… Et il n’y a pas de notice.

La jonction caisse-toit est moins apparente que sur la voiture en livrée C160. C’est peut-être dû au fait que la livrée vert celtique est plus sombre.

L’extérieur des cadres de baies est peint en vert, l’intérieur en couleur alu. Sur l’exemplaire photographié en gros plan, on peut remarquer que la vitre de porte est mal encastrée.

Comme sur la voiture en livrée C160, les amortisseurs centraux, rapportés, tendent à se déplacer et risquent aussi de frotter sur une nervure du châssis dans des cas extrêmes. Les roues ont des boudins de 0,8. Il sera délicat de démonter les essieux, car ils sont enfermés par la tringlerie de frein (très détaillée aussi, mais collée et probablement fragile).

Il y a bien d’un côté du châssis deux bossages sensés assurer une portée en deux points (le troisième point étant la rotule du bogie du côté opposé), mais ces bossages ne portent pas sur le bogie ! Il faudrait qu’ils soient plus hauts de 0,15 mm minimum en moyenne. Et, d’autre part, le jeu est très faible en roulis côté rotule : les têtes de ressorts de la suspension secondaire viennent très vite en butée sur les membrures du châssis.

Les passerelles d’intercirculation, très fines et en métal, ne tiennent pas en position verticale. À coller si l’on ne veut pas en perdre !

Les sièges sont d’un bleu assez franc, qui, à mon avis, ne correspond pas à la réalité. C’était plutôt un gris légèrement bleuté, comme en témoigne cette photo extraite de la plaquette SNCF 1972 (bien que la qualité de l’image ne soit pas excellente). Compartiment de voiture UIC B10 À dire vrai, la légende ne dit que compartiment de 2e classe d’une voiture récente. Mais, en 1972, que peut être une voiture récente de 2e classe à compartiments, sinon une UIC ?

Sur un des exemplaires, un essieu frottait sur une semelle de frein mal positionnée. Les tampons étaient inclinés vers le bas, mais c’était dû à un mauvais encliquetage de l’extrémité du châssis, pièce qui comporte la traverse de tête. L’attelage (avec têtes Profi) est difficile, mais les voitures circulent à tampons et bourrelets joints. Malheureuse­ment, il y a mariage de tampons en pousse sur mon circuit de test (rayon de courbure mini 550 mm).

Voir :

Modifications

  • Portée en trois points rétablie par interposition de cales ép. 0,3 collées sur le châssis de bogie, côté bossages.

Historique

Voitures suivant les prescriptions de l’UIC (type Y), de 24,5 m, livrées de 1964 à 1971 par De Dietrich et CIMT Lorraine, pour un total de 300 exemplaires. Immatriculation UIC 51 87 20-70 501-2 à 690-3 et 51 87 20-71 691-0 à 800-7.

NB : on peut trouver des numéros 51 87 20-80 à la place des 51 87 20-70, comme sur les voi­tures REE. Cela correspond à la présence d’un équipement de chauffage à la vapeur en plus du chauffage électrique, et concerne donc plutôt des voitures des premières tranches.

Documents

B10 UIC vertes REE ensemble

B10 UIC verte REE

Voiture UIC B10

Cliché SNCF.

  1. En moyenne 46,3 après rectification de la portée.
Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 24 500 281,6 282,5
Longueur châssis 23 200 266,7 266,5
Largeur caisse 2 880 33,1 33,4
Hauteur caisse 4 050 46,6 46,3 1
Distance pivots 17 200 197,7 197,3
Empattement bogies 2 300 26,4 26,5
Diamètre roues 920 10,6 10,6

On peut contester le système d’époques du Morop,
mais, si on y fait référence, je pense que l’on doit
s’y conformer exactement et non inventer son propre
système ! Malheureusement, LS Models est coutumier
du fait, et REE s’y met apparemment aussi…