TEE RGP train set Roco

TEE RGP train set

Anonymous photo on Forum e-train.

Brand - Reference

Roco 63079

Type

Trans Europ Express RGP (Relation à grand parcours) single-engine X 2778 with trailer XR 7775

Car Number Revision - Depot
Motor unit X 2778 ? - Lyon Vaise
Trailer XR 7775 ? - Noisy le Sec

Mass

Car Mass NEM
Motor unit 360 g
Trailer 158 g 118 to 153 g

Current

0.75 A max. at slipping under 12 V

Comments

The problem of the distorted body that does not fit on the chassis (both for the motor unit and for the trailer) was known to me and reported by the seller. But the damage is worse than expected because the deformation is irregular along the walls. The good thing is that it is very easy to lift the bodies: just lift them for the chassis to fall down!

The painting, gloss, is unfortunately in “orange peel skin” (I see that at this point for the first time). On the VT11.5, the shade is almost the same, but the paint is more satin and much thinner.

Another thing: the notch in the skirt of the trailer to let the coupling moving. For other models (unified trailer for example), Roco provides a part to complete this skirt when the coupling is not in use. Other brands (LS Models for EAD, Electrotren for ABJ) do it too. So, why not here?

Concerning the interior fittings, this model is well in its age, i.e. that it is simplified to the extreme. The interior lighting is, as for unified trailers, by incandescent lamps and light guide.

There is only one driving axle per bogie — that of the front bogie has rubber tyres. It is a curious solution, which requires to pass a drive shaft all along the chassis, while it would have been easier to motorize the two axles of the front bogie, as in reality indeed!

Both vehicles are equipped on their four axles with current pickups and a bogie on the trailer is equipped with a mechanical two-pole reversing device. The pickup strips are sandwiched between the bogie frame and simply nested plastic parts, many of which can not be clamped properly, because of the large and misplaced solders of the connecting wires. Therefore, some of these holding parts are raised, and, as they furthermore serve as bearing points on the chassis, it is also raised (motor unit); on the trailer, strips have escaped and are wandering into the bogie.

There is a plug for an 8-pin decoder, and there is all the necessary space in the motor unit for its installation. But it does not control the interior lighting, constantly on, and there is nothing to control the trailer lights.

First tests, in DC: start at 4.5 V, maximum speed (at scale) under 12 V: about 170 km/h without trailer, 130 with trailer, which illustrates the strong running resistance of the trailer. The train passes over the smaller Fleischmann radius (356 mm), with a much longer elongation than strictly necessary.

Disturbing squeaks can be heard. The responsible are the bearings of the drive shaft. A few drops of oil overcome them.

Compared to that of the VT11.5 DB, the realization is much less serious, for a proportionally higher price. Without being paranoid, we must note that Roco is more concerned with their productions of German material than those of French material. It can also be seen on cars (just compare UIC-X DB and UIC-Y SNCF!)

See:

Modifications

  • Straightening bodies by putting under cold stress with an internal template.
  • Fitting handrails, “kheops” plugs, windsscreen wipers, brake linkages.
  • Mounting of a Lenz Standard+ decoder into the power unit.
  • Train lighting with LEDs; the electrical connections (including the rear lights) are made by 1.27 mm pitch 4-pole connectors. Removal of the trailer current pickups. Replacement of the incandescent bulbs of the lamps by two-coloured LEDs and suppression of the light pipes.
  • Basic cab decoration, anti-light leakage wall installation and driver replacement.
  • Raising the motor unit by approximately 0.5 mm to eliminate the gap between bellows and to correct the difference in height with the trailer.

History

Single-engined long-haul trains (RGP 1) are Diesel trains with at least one power unit and one trailer, numbered X 2771 to 2781, built by De Dietrich and SACM in 1955/56.

Characteristics:

  • Engine power: 607 kW (825 hp)
  • Maximum speed: 140 km/h
  • Weight in service: 84.7 t
  • Length of the train: 52.16 m

Sources : Wikipedia and trains-europe.fr.

As appropriate for a TEE service, the fittings were entirely 1st class, with restoration at the place from a kitchen fitted in the trailer. But unlike foreign TEE trains, the RGP TEE did not have air conditioning. At the end of the trailer, there was a driving cab for reverse running, very narrow because it was also necessary to provide the gangway when a trailer or an additional motor unit was coupled to it.

Since 1957, these trains have carried out relations to the North, Belgium (Etoile du Nord), the Netherlands (Ile de France), Northern Germany (Parsifal, Paris - Ruhr); to the East towards Switzerland (Arbalète); to the South (Mont-Cenis between Lyon and Turin). To the North, because of their low capacity, they were replaced with PBA stainless steel trains as soon as possible. As a result, they were quickly removed from the TEE service (1965).

At the beginning of the 1960s, some motor units were equipped with a third headlamp, which does not appear in all the pictures, including the one shown here, though taken in Germany. Curiously, the trailer, although likely to run forward, was never equipped with this third light. Or perhaps the trains bound to Germany always included two motor units framing one or two trailers?

Documents

  • Le Train - Encyclopédie du matériel moteur SNCF, vol. 4, p. 18-23 - Les RGP 1
  • Voies ferrées No. 16 of March-April 1983 - RGP : entre techniques d’hier et d’aujourd’hui.
  • La légende des TEE of Maurice Mertens, p.46-47.
  • Wikipedia’s article on RGP X 2770
  • trains-europe.fr
  • rixke.tassignon.be website, with pretty drawings of trains.
  • michaelsen-ellerau.de website
  • Video on YouTube, about TEE services (end of 1950s, beginning of 1960s). Show video. Apparently, they did not hesitate to mix TEE RPG with green RGP! Note also the euphemism of the comment: “SNCF trains, fast and comfortable, but without useless luxury…”, which means “without air conditioning”!

TEE RGP train set RocoTEE RGP train set Roco

TEE RGP train set RocoTEE RGP train set Roco

TEE RGP train set

Anonymous photo on Forum e-train.

Motor car dimensions Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 26 630 306.1 306.0
Body length (w/out couplings) 25 720 1 295.6 294.0
Body width 2 840 32.6 33.0
Motor compartment height 3 686 42.4 42.3
Roof height 3 535 40.6 39.2 2
Pivot distance 19 000 218.4 218.2
Motor bogie wheelbase 2 850 32.8 32.5
Carrier bogie wheelbase 2 500 28.7 28.8
Motor wheel diameter 900 10.3 10.0
Carrier wheel diameter 860 9.9 10.0
  1. Dimension measured on diagram, so doubtful.
  2. 40.8 after correction.
Trailer dimensions Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 25 530 293.4 294.2
Body length (w/out couplings) 287.0
Body width 2 840 32.6 32.6
Height 3 535 40.6 40.2 1
Pivot distance 19 000 218.4 218.0
Bogie wheelbase 2 500 28.7 28.8
Wheel diameter 860 9.9 10.0
  1. 40.8 after correction.

Rame TEE RGP Roco

Rame TEE RGP

Cliché anonyme sur Forum e-train.

Marque - Référence

Roco 63079

Type

Rame Trans Europ Express RGP (Rame à grand parcours) monomoteur X 2778 avec remorque XR 7775

Voiture Immaton Révision - Dépôt
Motrice X 2778 ? - Lyon Vaise
Remorque XR 7775 ? - Noisy le Sec

Masse

Voiture Masse NEM
Motrice 360 g
Remorque 158 g 118 à 153 g

Consommation

0,75 A maxi au patinage sous 12 V

Commentaires

Le problème de la caisse déformée qui ne tient pas sur le châssis (tant pour la motrice que pour la remorque) était connu de moi et signalé par le vendeur. Mais le mal est pire que prévu, car la déformation est irrégulière le long des parois. Le point positif est qu’il est très facile de lever les caisses : il suffit de les soulever pour que les châssis tombent !

La peinture, brillante, est malheureusement en « peau d’orange » (c’est la première fois que je vois cela à ce point là). Sur la VT11.5, la teinte est pratiquement la même, mais la peinture est plus satinée et beaucoup plus fine.

Encore autre chose : l’échancrure dans la jupe de la remorque pour laisser passer l’attelage. Pour d’autres modèles (remorque unifiée p. ex.), Roco fournit une pièce pour compléter cette jupe lorsque l’attelage n’est pas utilisé. D’autres marques (LSM pour l’EAD, Electrotren pour l’ABJ) le font aussi. Alors, pourquoi pas ici ?

Au point de vue aménagement intérieur, ce modèle fait bien son âge, c.-à-d. qu’il est simplifié à l’extrême. L’éclairage intérieur se fait, comme pour les remorques unifiées, par lampes à incandescence et conduit de lumière.

Il n’y a qu’un seul essieu moteur par bogie — celui du bogie avant est bandagé. C’est une curieuse solution, qui oblige à faire passer un arbre de transmission tout le long du châssis, alors qu’il aurait été plus simple de motoriser les deux essieux du bogie AV, comme en réalité d’ailleurs !

Les deux véhicules sont équipés sur leurs quatre essieux de lamelles de prise de courant et un bogie de la remorque est muni d’un dispositif mécanique d’inversion à deux pôles. Les lamelles sont prises en sandwich entre le châssis de bogie et des pièces de plastique simplement emboîtées, dont beaucoup ne peuvent se plaquer correctement, à cause des soudures trop grosses et mal placées des fils de raccordement. Par conséquent, certaines de ces pièces de maintien sont soulevées, et, comme elles servent en plus de points de portée sur le châssis, celui-ci est donc aussi rehaussé (motrice) ; sur la remorque, des lamelles se sont carrément échappées et se baladent dans le bogie.

Il y a une prise pour décodeur 8 broches, et il y a toute la place nécessaire dans la motrice pour son installation. Mais il ne commande pas l’éclairage intérieur, allumé en permanence, et il n’y a rien pour commander les feux de la remorque.

Premiers essais, en courant continu : démarrage sous 4,5 V, vitesse maxi (à l’échelle) sous 12 V : environ 170 km/h sans remorque, 130 avec remorque, ce qui illustre la forte résistance à l’avancement de cette dernière. La rame passe sur le plus petit rayon Fleischmann (356 mm), avec une élongation bien plus grande que celle strictement nécessaire.

Des grincements inquiétants se font entendre. Les responsables en sont les paliers de l’arbre de transmission. Quelques gouttes d’huile en viennent à bout.

Comparée à celle de la rame VT11.5 DB, la réalisation est nettement moins sérieuse, pour un prix proportionnellement plus élevé. Sans être parano, on est obligé de constater que Roco soigne davantage ses productions de matériel allemand que celles de matériel français. Cela se voit aussi sur les voitures (il suffit de comparer les UIC-X DB et les UIC-Y SNCF !)

Voir :

Modifications

  • Redressement des caisses par mise sous contrainte à froid avec un gabarit intérieur.
  • Montage des mains-courantes, prises « kheops », essuie-glaces, timonerie de frein.
  • Montage d’un décodeur Lenz Standard+ dans la motrice.
  • Éclairage de la rame par LED ; les liaisons électriques (incluant les feux arrière) sont réalisées par connecteurs au pas de 1,27 mm à quatre pôles. Suppression des lames de prise de courant sur la remor­que. Remplacement des lampes à incan­descence des fanaux par des LED bicolores et suppression des conduits de lumière.
  • Décoration sommaire de la cabine, pose de paroi anti-fuite de lumière et remplacement du conducteur.
  • Rehaussement de l’arrière de la motrice d’environ 0,5 mm pour supprimer l’écart entre soufflets et corriger la différence de hauteur avec la remorque.

Historique

Les rames à grand parcours monomoteur (RGP 1) sont des rames diesel composées au minimum d’une motrice et d’une remorque, numérotées X 2771 à 2781, construites par De Dietrich et SACM en 1955/56.

Caractéristiques :

  • puissance du moteur : 607 kW (825 ch)
  • vitesse maximale : 140 km/h
  • masse en service : 84,7 t
  • longueur de la rame : 52,16 m

Sources : Wikipédia et trains-europe.fr.

Comme il se doit pour un service TEE, l’aménagement était entièrement de 1re classe, avec restauration à la place à partir d’une cuisine aménagée dans la remorque. Mais, contrairement aux rames TEE étrangères, les RGP TEE n’étaient pas dotées de la climatisation. À l’extrémité de la remorque, il y avait un poste de conduite pour la marche en réversibilité, très étroit car il fallait aussi assurer l’intercirculation lorsqu’une remorque ou une motrice supplémentaire y était attelée.

Ces rames ont assuré à partir de 1957 des relations sur le Nord, vers la Belgique (l’Etoile du Nord), les Pays-Bas (l’Ile de France), l’Allemagne du Nord (le Parsifal, le Paris - Ruhr) ; sur l’Est vers la Suisse (l’Arbalète) ; dans le Sud (le Mont-Cenis entre Lyon et Turin). Dans le Nord, leur faible capacité leur a fait dès que possible préférer les rames tractées PBA inox. Elles ont été de ce fait assez vite retirées du service TEE (1965).

Certaines motrices ont été dotées au début des années 1960 du troisième feu frontal, qui n’apparaît pas sur toutes les photos, y compris celle qui est présentée ici, pourtant prise en Allemagne. Curieusement, la remorque, bien que susceptible de rouler en tête, n’a jamais été munie de ce troisième feu. Ou peut-être les rames à destination de l’Allemagne comprenaient-elles toujours deux motrices encadrant une ou deux remorques ?

Documents

  • Le Train - Encyclopédie du matériel mo­teur SNCF, tome 4, p. 18-23 - Les RGP 1
  • Voies ferrées no 16 de mars-avril 1983 - RGP : entre techniques d’hier et d’aujourd’hui.
  • La légende des TEE de Maurice Mertens, p.46-47.
  • Article Wikipédia sur les RGP X 2770
  • trains-europe.fr
  • Site rixke.tassignon.be, avec de jolis dessins des rames.
  • Site michaelsen-ellerau.de
  • Vidéo sur YouTube, à propos des services TEE (fin années 1950, début années 1960). Voir la vidéo. Apparemment, on n’hésitait pas à panacher les RPG TEE avec des RGP vertes ! À noter aussi l’euphémisme du commentaire : « les rames SNCF, rapides et confortables, mais sans luxe inutile… », ce qui signifie « sans climatisation » !

Rame TEE RGP Roco

Rame TEE RGP Roco

Rame TEE RGP

Cliché anonyme sur Forum e-train.

Cotes de la motrice Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 26 630 306,1 306,0
Long. caisse (sans attelage) 25 720 1 295,6 294,0
Largeur caisse 2 840 32,6 33,0
Hauteur compartt moteur 3 686 42,4 42,3
Hauteur toiture 3 535 40,6
Distance pivots 19 000 218,4 218,2
Empatt bogie moteur 2 850 32,8 32,5
Empatt bogie porteur 2 500 28,7 28,8
Diamètre roues motrices 900 10,3 10,0
Diamètre roues porteuses 860 9,9 10,0
  1. Cote mesurée sur plan, donc douteuse.
Cotes de la remorque Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 25 530 293,4 294,2
Long. caisse (sans attelage) 287,0
Largeur caisse 2 840 32,6 32,6
Hauteur caisse 3 535 40,6 39,2 2
Distance pivots 19 000 218,4 218,0
Empatt bogies 2 500 28,7 28,8
Diamètre roues 860 9,9 10,0
  1. 40,2 après correction.