231-E-26 Roco

231 E 34

Photo SNCF.

Brand - Reference

Roco 62303

Type

4-6-2 2 231-E-26 and tender 38-A-45

Mass / Max. current @ 12 V

572 g / 1 A

Comments

Embedded ESU LokSound V3.5 decoder.

Respect of the scale: correct, despite the slightly too small wheel diameter (which is explained for the driving wheels by the respect of the spacing, despite too big flanges), and slightly over-dimensioned width and height.

The exhaust sound is frankly a failure: not synchronized with speed, going from one rhythm to another without transition. Not good! And no trial could improve this.

The bogie sides are of the type 37.A and not 38.A (see Loco Revue sheet of Nord tenders, image below). But this picture shows a machine equipped with a tender 37.A. So Roco marked 38.A a 37.A tender? For information, here are diagrams of these bogies (extract from Loco Revue sheet No. 435/436). 231 E with 37 A tender

Drawing of the 37A and 38A bogies

See:

Modifications

  • Tender: right rear buffer glued, upper grids (soft plastic) straightened. Easy to remove, they can be better flattened, or replaced by brass grids. Be careful not to crush them with the protective plastic shell.
    Loco: side of SNCF badge painted metal colour.
  • “Holes” of the buffer beam painted matte black.
  • Rubber tyres replaced (after only three years, with a very low intensity use!)
  • Grey plate buffers mounted.

History

Construction in 1936 by ANF (Ateliers du Nord de la France — North of France Workshops); second sub-series, machines No. 21 to 28. Theoretical traction force, compound mode, 126 kN. Speed ​​limit 140 km/h. Weight 102 t (tender 80.5 t laden).

These locomotives are the sisters of 231-E-1 to 20, themselves coming from the transformation of 20 locomotives of the series 3521 to 89 of the PO (Compagnie de Paris à Orléans), transferred around 1934 to the Compagnie du Nord under numbers 31171 to 31190. This transformation, carried out on the principles of the engineer André Chapelon, practically doubled the power of these locomotives, while reducing their coal consumption.

These machines were capable of extraordinary performance, reaching speeds of over 170 km/h in tests. They were mainly used to pull prestige trains, such as the Flèche d’Or (Golden Arrow) for example. However, because of their relative fragility and their expensive maintenance, the 231 K ex-PLM (Paris Lyon Méditerranée) were preferred to ensure the last trains in steam traction between Calais and Paris in the 1960s.

Source : Loco-Revue sheet.

Documents

231-E-26 Roco231-E-26 Roco

231 E 34

Photo SNCF.

231 profile
Loco dimensions Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 13 810 158.8 160.0
Chassis length 13 130 150.9 151.3
Cab width 2 708 31.3 31.8
Boiler diameter 1 840 1 21.2
Chimney height 4 245 47.6 48.8
Total wheelbase 10 700 123.0 123.0
Distance A (bogie wheels) 2 300 26.4 26.0
Distance B 1 700 19.5
Distance C (motor wheels) 2 050 23.6 24.0
Distance D 2 600 29.9
ø bogie wheels 960 11.0 10.8
ø motor wheels 1980 22.8 21.9
ø dolly wheels 1140 13.1 12.5
  1. Dimension measured on diagram.
Tender dimensions Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 9 830 113.0 114.0
Chassis length 9 160 105.3 104.0
Body width 2 960 34.0 34.6
Height 4 000 46.0 47.5
Total wheelbase 6 550 75.3 75.4
Bogie wheelbase 2 300 26.4 26.4
Wheel diameter 1247 14.3 14.1

231-E-26 Roco

231 E 34

Cliché SNCF.

Marque - Référence

Roco 62303

Type

2 231-E-26 et tender 38-A-45

Masse / Courant maxi sous 12 V

572 g / 1 A

Commentaires

Décodeur intégré ESU LokSound V3.5.

Respect de l’échelle : convenable, malgré le diamètre des roues un peu faible (ce qui s’explique pour les roues motrices par le respect de l’entraxe, malgré des boudins trop gros), et une largeur et une hauteur un peu forcées. Personnellement, je préfère toujours des roues un peu trop petites à des roues un peu trop grandes, car, avec des boudins trop gros, l’aspect visuel est meilleur.

Le son d’échappement est franchement raté : pas synchronisé avec la vitesse, passe d’un rythme à un autre sans transition. Pas bon ! Et aucun essai n’a permis d’améliorer cela.

Les flancs de bogies sont du type 37.A et non 38.A (voir fiche LR des tenders Nord, image ci-dessous). Quoique cette photo montre une machine équipée d’un tender 37.A. Donc Roco a marqué 38.A un tender 37.A ? Pour information, voici des diagrammes de ces bogies (extrait de la fiche LR no 435 / 436 ).

231 E avec tender 37 A

Dessins des bogies 37A et 38A

Voir :

Modifications

  • Tender : tampon AR droit recollé, grilles supérieures (plastique souple) redressées. Faciles à enlever, elles pourront être mieux aplanies, ou remplacées par des grilles laiton. Attention à ne pas les écraser avec la coque plastique de protection.
    Machine : tranche du macaron SNCF peinte couleur métal.
  • « Trous » de la traverse AV peints en noir mat.
  • Bandages d’adhérence changés (au bout de trois ans seulement, avec une utilisation fort peu intensive !)
  • Tampons à plateaux gris montés.

Historique

Construction en 1936 aux ANF (deuxième sous-série, machines 21 à 28). Effort de traction théorique compound 126 kN. Vitesse limite 140 km/h. Masse 102 t (tender 80,5 t en charge).

Ces locomotives sont les sœurs des 231 E 1 à 20, elles-mêmes issues de la transformation de 20 locomotives de la série 3521 à 89 du PO (Compagnie de Paris à Orléans), transférées vers 1934 à la Compagnie du Nord sous les numéros 31171 à 31190. Cette transformation, effectuée sur les principes de l’ingénieur André Chapelon, avait permis de pratiquement doubler la puissance de ces locomotives, tout en réduisant leur consommation de combustible.

Ces machines ont été capables de performances hors du commun, ayant atteint lors d’essais des vitesses supérieures à 170 km/h. Elles étaient principalement utilisées à la traction de trains de prestige, comme la Flèche d’Or par exemple. Cependant, leur relative fragilité et leur entretien coûteux leur ont fait préférer les 231 K ex-PLM pour assurer les derniers trains en traction vapeur entre Calais et Paris dans les années 1960.

Source : fiche Loco-Revue.

Documents

231-E-26 Roco

231 E 34

Cliché SNCF.

Profil 231
  1. Cote mesurée sur plan.
Cotes machine Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 13 810 158,8 160,0
Longueur châssis 13 130 150,9 151,3
Largeur cabine 2 708 31,3 31,8
Diamètre chaudière 1 840 1 21,2
Hauteur cheminée 4 245 47,6 48,8
Empattement total 10 700 123,0 123,0
Entraxe A (roues bogie) 2 300 26,4 26,0
Entraxe B 1 700 19,5
Entraxe C (roues motrices) 2 050 23,6 24,0
Entraxe D 2 600 29,9
ø roues bogie 960 11,0 10,8
ø roues motrices 1980 22,8 21,9
ø roues bissel 1140 13,1 12,5
Cotes tender Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 9 830 113,0 114,0
Longueur châssis 9 160 105,3 104,0
Largeur caisse 2 960 34,0 34,6
Hauteur caisse (hotte) 4 000 46,0 47,5
Empattement total 6 550 75,3 75,4
Empattement bogies 2 300 26,4 26,4
ø roues 1247 14,3 14,1