150-X-5 Roco

150 X 1905

Anonymous, personal collection.

Brand - Reference

Roco 62144

Type

1 150-X-5 and tender 34-X-5

Mass (loco + tender)

236 g + 215 g

Current at slipping @ 12 V

0,37 A

Comments

The machine’s construction is quite special: the tender is driving, but the locomotive too, via a shaft drive. The tender has only two driving axles, at the ends, which have tyres: the other two take the current, and are pressed on the track by a coil spring. The wheelbase is rigid, as on the 231 E; the bogies are fake and don’t rotate.

A drawbar to equip the headstock is delivered in the bag of parts. Its mounting is not obvious — I haven’t tried.

There are embossed licence plates to be affixed if desired in place of the pad printing markings.

The lighting, white only, is achieved by incandescent lamps. There is light leakage between the frame and the boiler. The light intensity is low, but it’s not shocking for a steam loco. On the loco PCB, there is a strap with two positions marked A and D, I suppose for Analogue and Digital. I don’t know if it concerns the lamp or the smoke generator, but, in doubt, I positioned it on D.

The loco-tender separation is quite easy: you have to disconnect a 6-pin connector under the tender, then exert a traction: the coupling clip gives way and the transmission shaft leaves its housing.

The assembly of the parts which constitute the end of the central cylinder and its piston counter-rod, is delicate. I don’t know why Roco didn’t directly mount these parts, since they don’t interfere with the circulation of the machine. The step under the smoke box door prevents the direct introduction of these parts. It’s therefore necessary to separate the frame from the boiler (2 screws) and remove the step to finally proceed to assembly. Attention: the bissel and its spring have a strong tendency to escape. Note their position before disassembly.

The counter-rods of the side cylinders are also to be mounted, provided you only have curve radii greater than 420 mm, according to Roco. I think 500 mm will be wiser.

Mounting a decoder in the tender is also quite delicate. Figure 6 of the manual is absolutely not complete. It indicates that you must first separate the chassis from the body by spreading its sides, then unclip the hood (it will facilitate the positioning of the decoder). What it does not indicate is that you must then unclip the stirrup holding the motor, then remove the motor to finally access the decoder socket at the bottom of the chassis.

When the decoder is plugged in, run the wires backwards bypassing the worm gear. Reassemble the motor (pay attention to the contact blades that must come out of the lugs), reclip the stirrup. Stick the decoder to the stirrup.

Reassemble the case taking care of the following points:

  • the wires must not get caught between the motor and the body;
  • the drive shaft must pass through the planned opening;
  • the gate springs must not get caught between the inside of the body and the protrusions of the chassis.

Finally, reclip the hood.

In use, the motor is not really noisy, but not quiet enough for a steam loco. The bissel tends to derail: it may need to stiffen its pressure spring. The current pickup is not excellent.

See:

Modifications

  • Lenz Standard + V2 decoder mounted (see comments).
  • Central cylinder parts mounted.

History

Construction from 1943 to 1947. Builders: see quote from Loco-Revue below. Single expansion machines, three cylinders. Theoretical traction force 335 kN. Speed ​​limit 80 km/h. Loaded weights: locomotive 109.8 t; tender 73.2 t, of which water 34 t, coal 10 t.

Affected to North and East.

Radiation between 1955 and 1964.

The 150-X-5 was delivered by Schneider-Le Creusot in 1945 under the number 150-X-1701. Successive depots: Audun le Roman in March 1945, Metz Frescaty in January 1949, Thionville in May 1954. Radiated on 26 April 1957. Sources: dampflokomotivarchiv.de and Bernard Collardey via Loco-Revue forum.

Quote from Loco-Revue.

In 1926, the German railways had Henschel and Schwartzkopff build 10 heavy locomotives (20 t per axle) of Decapod type, single-expansion, 3 cylinders, numbered 001 to 009, series 44 (unified). This type of locomotive received some slight modifications and, considering its excellent performance, it was reproduced about 2,000 units, numbered 44001 to 442025, from 1926 to 1945, by 18 manufacturers, including Fives-Lille, Batignolles, S.A.C.M. Graffenstaden, Le Creusot and Cail in Denain, during the war.

Upon Liberation, S.N.C.F. recovered the locomotives under construction in the French factories. 239 machines were registered 150-X, keeping the numbers planned in the D.R. series 44 (between 819 and 1995) until their official incorporation in the park S.N.C.F. where they were renumbered 150-X-1 to 226 (partial incorporation). 189 locomotives were assigned to the Est region (ex-A.L. depots) and 50 to the Nord region. The 13 non-inventory machines remained in the Est.

In 1955, 48 locomotives were sold to the Turkish Railways (T.C.C.D.). The last ones were reformed in 1964.

Documents

150-X-5 Roco150-X-5 Roco

150-X-5 Roco150-X-5 Roco

150 X 1905

Anonymous, personal collection.

Profil 150
Loco dimensions Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 13 817 158.8 159.0
Chassis length 13 167 151.3 151.6
Width at the cylinders 3 050 35.1 37.9
Boiler diameter 2 100 24.1 24.3
Height at the chimney 4 280 49.2 50.6
Total wheelbase 9 650 110.9 110.5
A distance 2 850 32.8 33.0
B distance 1 700 19.5 19.4
Bissel wheel diameter 850 9.8 9.8
Driving wheel diameter 1 400 16.1 16.1
Tender dimensions Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 8 645 110.9 99.4 1
Chassis length 7 795 91.9 92.0
Body width 3 050 35.1 35.1
Height (hood) 3 910 44.9 46.8
Bogie distance 3 800 43.7 43.9
Bogie wheelbase 1 900 21.8 21.7
Wheel diameter 1 000 11.5 11,5
  1. A probable explanation for this difference is the absence of a coupling buffer between machine and tender.

150-X-5 Roco

150 X 1905

Cliché anonyme, collection personnelle.

Marque - Référence

Roco 62144

Type

1 150-X-5 et tender 34-X-5

Masse (loco + tender)

236 g + 215 g

Courant au patinage sous 12 V

0,37 A

Commentaires

La construction de cette machine est assez particulière : le tender est moteur, mais la locomotive aussi, via un arbre à cardans. Le tender n'a que deux essieux moteurs, les extrêmes, qui sont bandagés : les deux autres prennent le courant, et sont appuyés sur la voie par un ressort hélicoïdal. L’empattement est rigide, comme sur la 231 E ; les bogies sont faux et ne pivotent pas.

Un timon pour équiper la traverse avant est livré dans le sachet de pièces. Son montage n’est pas évident — je n’ai pas essayé.

Il y a des plaques d’immatriculation en relief à coller si on le désire à la place des marquages en tampographie.

L’éclairage, en blanc seulement, est réalisé par lampes à incandescence. Il y a des fuites de lumière entre le châssis et la chaudière. L’intensité de la lumière est faible, mais ce n’est pas choquant pour une machine à vapeur. Il y a sur le circuit imprimé de la loco un strap à deux positions marquées A et D, je suppose pour Analogique et Digital (Numérique). Je ne sais pas s’il concerne la lampe ou le fumigène, mais, dans le doute, je l’ai positionné sur D.

La séparation loco-tender est assez facile : il faut débrancher un connecteur à 6 pôles sous le tender, puis exercer une traction : le clip d’attelage cède et l'arbre de transmission sort de son logement.

Le montage des pièces qui constituent le bout du cylindre central et sa contre-tige de piston, est délicat. Je ne sais pas pourquoi Roco n’a pas monté ces pièces d’office, puisqu’elles ne gênent en rien la circulation de la machine. Le marchepied sous porte de boîte à fumée empêche l’introduction directe de ces pièces. Il faut donc séparer le châssis de la chaudière (2 vis) et ôter le marchepied pour enfin procéder au montage. Attention : le bissel et son ressort ont fortement tendance à s’échapper. On notera donc leur position avant démontage.

Les contre-tiges des cylindres latéraux sont aussi à monter, à condition de n’avoir que des rayons de courbure supérieurs à 420 mm, d’après Roco. Je pense que 500 mm sera plus prudent.

Le montage d’un décodeur dans le tender est aussi assez délicat. La figure 6 de la notice n’est absolument pas complète. Elle indique certes qu’il faut d’abord séparer le châssis de la caisse en écartant les côtés de celle-ci, puis déclipser la hotte (cela facilitera le positionnement du décodeur). Ce qu’elle n’indique pas, c’est qu’il faut ensuite déclipser l’étrier de maintien du moteur, puis retirer ce dernier pour enfin accéder à la prise du décodeur qui se trouve au fond du châssis.

Lorsque le décodeur est branché, faire passer les fils vers l’arrière en contournant la vis sans fin. Remonter le moteur (attention aux lames de contact qui doivent venir à l’extérieur des cosses), reclipser l’étrier. Coller le décodeur sur l’étrier.

Remonter la caisse en prenant garde aux points suivants :

  • les fils ne doivent pas se coincer entre le moteur et la caisse ;
  • l’arbre de transmission doit passer par l’ouverture prévue ;
  • les ressorts des portillons ne doivent pas se coincer entre l’intérieur de la caisse et les excroissances du châssis.

Reclipser enfin la hotte.

À l’utilisation, le moteur n’est pas franche­ment bruyant, mais pas assez discret pour une vapeur. Le bissel a tendance à dérailler : il faudra peut-être raidir son ressort de pression. La prise de courant n’est pas excellente.

Voir :

Modifications

  • Décodeur Lenz Standard+ V2 monté (voir dans les commentaires).
  • Pièces de cylindre central montées.

Historique

Construction de 1943 à 1947. Constructeurs : voir citation de la fiche Loco-Revue ci-dessous. Machines à simple expansion, trois cylindres. Effort de traction théorique 335 kN. Vitesse limite 80 km/h. Masses en charge : locomotive 109,8 t ; tender 73,2 t, dont eau 34 t, charbon 10 t.

Affectées au Nord et à l’Est.

Radiation entre 1955 et 1964.

La 150-X-5 a été livrée par Schneider-Le Creusot en 1945 sous le no 150-X-1701. Dépôts successifs : Audun le Roman en mars 1945, Metz Frescaty en janvier 1949, Thionville en mai 1954. Radiée le 26 avril 1957. Sources : dampflokomotivarchiv.de et Bernard Collardey par forum Loco-Revue.

Citation de la fiche Loco-Revue.

En 1926, les chemins de fer allemands firent construire, par Henschel et Schwartzkopff, 10 locomotives lourdes (20 t par essieu), du type Décapod, à simple expansion, 3 cylindres, numérotées 001 à 009, série 44 (unifiées). Ce type de locomotive reçut quelques légères modifications et, eu égard à son excellent rendement, il fut reproduit à quelque 2 000 exemplaires, numérotés 44001 à 442025, de 1926 à 1945, par 18 constructeurs, dont Fives-Lille, Batignolles, S.A.C.M. Graffenstaden, Le Creusot et Cail à Denain, pendant la guerre.

À la libération, la S.N.C.F. récupéra les locomotives en cours de construction dans les usines françaises. 239 machines furent immatriculées 150-X, en conservant les numéros prévus dans la série 44 D.R. (entre 819 et 1995) jusqu’à leur incorporation officielle au parc S.N.C.F. où elles furent renumérotées 150-X-1 à 226 (incorporation partielle). 189 locomotives furent affectées à la région Est (dépôts ex-A.L.) et 50 à la région Nord. Les 13 machines hors inventaire restèrent à l’Est.

En 1955, 48 locomotives furent vendues aux chemins de fer turcs (T.C.C.D.). Les dernières furent réformées en 1964.

Documents

150-X-5 Roco150-X-5 Roco

150-X-5 Roco150-X-5 Roco

150 X 1905

Cliché anonyme, collection personnelle.

Profil 150
Cotes machine Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 13 817 158,8 159,0
Longueur châssis 13 167 151,3 151,6
Largeur aux cylindres 3 050 35,1 37,9
Diamètre chaudière 2 100 24,1 24,3
Hauteur cheminée 4 280 49,2 50,6
Empattement total 9 650 110,9 110,5
Entraxe A 2 850 32,8 33,0
Entraxe B 1 700 19,5 19,4
Diamètre roues bissel 850 9,8 9,8
Diamètre roues motrices 1 400 16,1 16,1
Cotes tender Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 8 645 110,9 99,4 1
Longueur châssis 7 795 91,9 92,0
Largeur caisse 3 050 35,1 35,1
Hauteur (hotte) 3 910 44,9 46,8
Entraxe bogies 3 800 43,7 43,9
Empattement bogies 1 900 21,8 21,7
Diamètre roues 1 000 11,5 11,5
  1. Explication probable de cette différence : l’absence de tampon d’accouplement entre machine et tender.