030-TU-18 Jouef

030-TU-20

Photo Perrelle / La Vie du Rail.

Brand - Reference

Jouef HJ2245

Type

0-6-0 2 030-TU-18

Mass / Max. current slipping / blocked

141 g / 0.2 A / 0.5 A @ 12 V

Comments

Only one axle is driven by the motor. The others are driven by the connecting rods, which is not very mechanically favourable. The decoder socket is a 6-pin. The box has an inner case similar to that of the 40100 Trix. Supplied with two complete and detailed screw couplings (not moulded in one piece).

The left wheel of the central axle is clearly off-center (and this is not due to the clearance of the axle in its bearing). Fortunately (!), it does not touch the rail. But the current pickup by the central axle is illusory.
See the video.

The left steam pipe has obviously suffered a soldering iron (and it’s not me!)

See:

Modifications

Lenz Silver mini+ decoder.

History

Machines built in the USA from 1942 for the Transportation Corps. Theoretical traction force 110 kN. Speed ​​limit 50 km/h. Weight 45 t.

Quote from the REE website. This website gives Les Joncherolles as final depot of TU-18. This is a contradiction with some photos, including that of the Loco-Revue sheet, and one of the REE site, which indicate Le Bourget depot. But the TU-18 seems to have wandered around a lot…

The 030 TU 18 only knew depots of the Nord, except at the time just after the war when it was at the Thionville depot. On 3 May 1946, it left for its first assignment in the Nord in Hazebrouck. It was then transferred from 15 January 1951 to 30 November 1964 to the Fives depot, then to the Lille-La Délivrance depot from 1st December 1964 to 8 November 1967, and finally to Aulnoye from 9 November 1967 to 17 February 1969. It ended its career at Les Joncherolles from February 1969 to 1st June 1970, date of its cancellation.

According to Le Train magazine quoted below, the 030-TU-18 was cancelled at Les Joncherolles on 1st June 1970, the last cancelled on the Nord being No. 20, on 15 December of the same year, at the same time as the TU-3 of Sarreguemines (Est).

Documents

  • Loco-Revue sheet No. 5 / 11973 - 65 b 6 (former series). Note: the photo page 1 is precisely that of the TU-18, but the date is not indicated. It is marked Le Bourget.
  • La Vie du Rail No. 1086 of 5 March 1967 au dépôt de Calais, p. 9, photo of the 030-TU-20 (above).
  • Le Train - Encyclopédie du matériel moteur SNCF Volume 2 : les locomotives à vapeur depuis 1938, p. 54-57.
  • Ferrovissime No. 58 of March 2013, La philosophie de la Jeep sur les rails, p. 10-17.
  • Voies ferrées No. 195 and 196 of January-February and March-April 2013, La carrière des 030 TU : l’intégrale.
  • Wikipedia article
  • Loco-Revue Forum on the REE machine.

030-TU-18 Jouef030-TU-18 Jouef

030-TU-20

Photo Perrelle / La Vie du Rail.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 9 156 105.2 105.0
Chassis length 7 976 91.7 91.5
Body width 2 590 29.8 29.9
Cab height 3 692 42.4 42.7
Axle distance 1 524 17.5 17.3
Wheel diameter 1 360 15.6 15.6

030-TU-18 Jouef

030-TU-20

Cliché Perrelle / La Vie du Rail.

Marque - Référence

Jouef HJ2245

Type

2 030-TU-18

Masse / Courant max patinage / bloqué

141 g / 0,2 A / 0,5 A @ 12 V

Commentaires

Un seul essieu est entraîné par le moteur. Les autres le sont par les bielles, ce qui n’est pas très favorable mécaniquement. La prise décodeur a six broches. La boîte comporte un étui intérieur semblable à celui de la 40100 Trix. Fournie avec deux attelages à vis complets et détaillés (non moulés d’une seule pièce) .

La roue gauche de l’essieu central est nette­ment décentrée (et ce n’est pas dû au jeu de l’essieu dans son palier). Heureusement (!), elle ne touche pas le rail. Mais la prise de courant par l’essieu central est illusoire.
Voir la vidéo.

La conduite de vapeur gauche a visiblement subi un coup de fer à souder (et c’est pas moi !)

Voir :

Modifications

Décodeur Lenz Silver mini+.

Historique

Machines construites aux USA à partir de 1942 pour les Transportation Corps. Effort de traction théorique 110 kN. Vitesse limite 50 km/h. Masse 45 t.

Citation du site REE. Ce site donne Les Joncherolles comme dépôt final de la 18. Il y a là une contradiction avec certaines photos, dont celle de la fiche Loco-Revue, et une du site REE, qui indiquent comme dépôt Le Bourget. Mais la 030 TU 18 a semble-t-il beaucoup bourlingué

La 030 TU 18 n’a connu que les dépôts du Nord, mis à part à l’époque juste après guerre où elle était au dépôt de Thionville. Le 3 mai 1946, elle part pour sa première affectation dans le Nord sur Hazebrouck. Elle est ensuite mutée du 15 janvier 1951 au 30 novembre 1964 au dépôt de Fives, puis au dépôt de Lille - La Délivrance du 1er décembre 1964 au 8 novembre 1967, et enfin sur Aulnoye du 9 novembre 1967 au 17 février 1969. Elle terminera sa carrière aux Joncherolles de février 1969 au 1er juin 1970, date de sa radiation.

D’après la revue Le Train citée plus bas, la 030-TU-18 fut radiée aux Joncherolles le 1er juin 1970, la dernière radiée sur le Nord étant la no 20, le 15 décembre de la même année, en même temps que la TU-3 de Sarreguemines (Est).

Documents

  • Fiche Loco-Revue no 65 / 11973 - 65 b 6 (ancienne série). NB : la photo page 1 est précisément celle de la TU 18, mais la date n’est pas indiquée. Elle est marquée Le Bourget.
  • La Vie du Rail no 1086 du 5 mars 1967 au dépôt de Calais, p. 9, photo de la 030 TU 20 (ci-dessus).
  • Le Train - Encyclopédie du matériel moteur SNCF Tome 2 : les locomotives à vapeur depuis 1938, p. 54-57.
  • Ferrovissime no 58 de mars 2013, La philosophie de la Jeep sur les rails, p. 10-17.
  • Voies ferrées no 195 et 196 de janvier-février et mars-avril 2013, La carrière des 030 TU : l’intégrale.
  • Article Wikipédia
  • Forum Loco-Revue sur la machine REE.

030-TU-18 Jouef

030-TU-20

Cliché Perrelle / La Vie du Rail.

Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 9 156 105,2 105,0
Longueur châssis 7 976 91,7 91,5
Largeur caisse 2 590 29,8 29,9
Hauteur cabine 3 692 42,4 42,7
Entraxe essieux 1 524 17,5 17,3
Diamètre roues 1 360 15,6 15,6