CC 7121 Jouef

Brand - Reference

Hornby 6372

Type

CC 7121

Mass

458 g

Comments

This locomotive was recently offered to me by a friend. New in 1966. The illustration of the catalogue showed the 7101; the text speaks of the 7107 (holding the 1956 world record, which Hornby gives with a certain exaggeration at 340 km/h, while the real one probably did not reach the 331 km/h credited). But in fact, the number 7121 was chosen, probably to avoid a duplicate with Jouef. The CC-7121 held the previous 1954 world record, with only 243 km/h.

Model with a single driving bogie, of which the two front axles are driving and equipped with traction tyres. Possibility of catenary outlet by means of a switch located under the machine.

Working and vigorous (but noisier than in my memories!). There are white and red lights that reverse according to the direction of travel. The pantographs are in good condition. Buffers are present, but some are a bit distorted. A coupling lost its plastic return spring. I blocked it to prevent it from getting askew.

The box is in near mint condition, except for one of the inner cardboard holds. The instructions for use and the warranty card (valid for thirty days!) are present. Obviously, the first owner of this machine had taken great care of it.

CC 7121 HornbyCC 7121 Hornby

CC 7121 Jouef

Hornby 6372

Type

CC 7121

458 g

Commentaires

Cette locomotive m’a été offerte récemment par un ami. Nouveauté 1966. L’illustration du catalogue montre la 7101 ; le texte parle de la 7107 (celle du record du monde de 1956, que Hornby donne avec une exagération certaine à 340 km/h, alors que la vraie n’a probablement pas atteint les 331 km/h dont elle a été créditée). Mais en fait, c’est le numéro 7121 qui a été choisi, sans doute pour éviter un doublon avec Jouef. La CC-7121 détenait le record précédent, celui de 1954, avec seulement 243 km/h.

Modèle avec un seul bogie moteur, dont les deux essieux avant sont moteurs et munis de bandages d’adhérence. Possibilité de prise de courant par caténaire grâce à un commutateur situé sous la machine.

Roulante et en forme (mais plus bruyante que dans mes souvenirs !). Il y a des feux blancs et rouges qui s’inversent suivant le sens de marche. Les pantographes sont en bon état. Les tampons sont présents, mais certains sont un peu déformés. Un attelage a perdu son ressort de rappel en plastique. Je l’ai bloqué pour l’empêcher de se mettre de travers.

La boîte est intacte, à part une des cales de carton intérieures. La notice d’emploi ainsi que le bon de garantie (valable trente jours !) sont présents. Manifestement, le premier propriétaire de cette machine en avait pris grand soin, et elle a échappé aux Attila en culotte courte !

CC 7121 HornbyCC 7121 Hornby