CC 40105 Trix

CC 40105

Photo SNCF.

Brand - Reference

Trix 22576

Type

CC 40105

Mass / Max. current @ 12 V

710 g / ? A

Comments

All-metal machine: it runs heavy, and yet the engraving is fine. Mechanically, it’s an A1A-A1A. The right wheel of each extreme axle has a rubber tyre. The current pickup is made by the six wheels of each bogie.

Too wide by 2 mm (34.4 instead of 32.4, which is 6%), and buffers positioned too high by 1 mm, hence coupling problem (the buffers lean on the bellows of the coupled car). The reproduction of the “mustache” is poor (simple transfer for number, no relief). The red lamps are too big. The pantos are also a bit coarse (see springs).

Embedded “sound” decoder. The sounds are shabby: the horn is almost quacking! The only other noise is that of the fans.

See:

History

Locomotives built in ten units from 1963 to 1970 by Alsthom. Characteristics (first series - 40101 to 40104 / second series - 40105 to 40110): continuous power 3670/4480 kW. Maximum speed: 160/180 km/h (low speed) and 240/220 km/h (high speed). Weight 107/109 t. They could work with four different forms of current: 1500 V DC (France, the Netherlands), 3000 V DC (Belgium, Italy), 25 kV 50 Hz AC (France), 15 kV 16 ⅔ Hz AC (Germany, Austria, Switzerland).

Designed as “European locomotives”, and assigned to the Paris - Brussels - Amsterdam line, they never put the wheels on the Dutch network (except at the end of career for a special trip), nor besides in Germany. Some explain this curious fact by the necessities of service, others by a bad will of these networks. There may be some truth in both explanations… So, the 15 kV 16 ⅔ Hz equipment, which also posed technical problems (mainly, heating of the transformer due to the low frequency of the current), was soon enough removed, and these locomotives changed their status from quadricourant to tricourant.

Note: at the time, this machine was presented as the pinnacle of rail technology. In fact, mainly because of weight and cluttering problems, there was rather a regression: there was no single-phase graduator; in rectified AC as in DC, the speed control was done by rheostat, which was far from the ideal in terms of energy consumption. And some damages occurred on the rheostat resistors.

CC 40105 was put into service on 14 May 1969 at La Chapelle, and cancelled on 1st December 1995.

Documents

  • Loco-Revue sheet No. 6 / 65 b 6 (former series)
  • File of La Vie du rail No. 962 of 20 September 1964 Les locomotives quadricourant série CC-40100 de la S.N.C.F.
  • Assigments : Eurocity 64
  • Photos on RailFanEurope
  • SNCF 1972 booklet, p. 10 and p. 76.
  • Le Train spécial No. 10 of February 1997 Les locomotives polytension, p. 16 and following.
  • Ferrovissimo No. 2 of March 2005 CC 40100 : the Queen !
  • Site fc30.pagesperso-orange.fr
  • Wikipedia article
  • Video Une machine pour quatre courants on YouTube. Show video.

CC 40105 TrixCC 40105 Trix

CC 40105

Photo SNCF.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 22 030 253.2 251.0
Chassis length 20 840 239.5 238.5
Body width 2 820 32.4 34.4
Height 3 605 41.4 41.1
Buffer height 1 065 12.2 13.4
Pivot distance 14 340 164.8 164.2
Bogie wheelbase 3 216 37.0 37.0
Wheel diameter 1 100 12.6 -

CC 40105 Trix

CC 40105

Cliché SNCF.

Marque - Référence

Trix 22576

Type

CC 40105

Masse / courant maxi sous 12 V

710 g / ? A

Commentaires

Engin tout métal : ça roule lourd, et, pourtant, la gravure est fine. Mécaniquement, c’est une A1A-A1A. La roue droite de chaque essieu extrême est bandagée. La prise de courant se fait par les 6 roues de chaque bogie.

Trop large de 2 mm (34,4 au lieu de 32,4, ce qui fait 6%), et tampons positionnés trop haut de 1 mm, d’où problème d’attelage (les tampons portent sur les bourrelets de la voiture attelée). La reproduction des « moustaches » laisse à désirer (simple transfert pour l’immatriculation, pas de relief). Les fanaux rouges ont un diamètre trop grand. Les pantos sont aussi un peu grossiers (cf ressorts).

Décodeur « sonore » intégré. Les sons sont minables : l’avertisseur fait presque coin-coin ! Le seul autre bruit est celui des ventilateurs.

Voir :

Historique

Locomotives construites en dix exemplaires de 1963 à 1970 par Alsthom. Caractéristiques (première série - 40101 à 40104 / seconde série - 40105 à 40110) : puissance continue 3670 / 4480 kW. Vitesse maximale : 160 / 180 km/h (PV) et 240 / 220 km/h (GV). Masse 107 / 109 t. Elles pouvaient circuler sous quatre formes différentes de courant : continu 1500 V (France, Pays Bas), 3000 V (Belgique, Italie), alternatif 25 kV 50 Hz (France), alternatif 15 kV 16 ⅔ Hz (Allemagne, Autriche, Suisse).

Conçues comme « locomotives européennes », et plutôt affectées à la ligne Paris - Bruxelles - Amsterdam, elles n’ont jamais mis les roues sur le réseau néerlandais (sauf en fin de carrière pour un voyage spécial), ni d’ailleurs en Allemagne. Certains expliquent ce fait curieux par des nécessités de service, d’autres par une mauvaise volonté de ces réseaux. Il y a peut-être un peu de vrai dans les deux explications… Du coup, l’équipement 15 kV 16 ⅔ Hz, qui d’ailleurs posait des problèmes techniques (principalement, échauffement du transformateur dû à la faible fréquence du courant), a été assez rapidement déposé, et ces locomotives sont donc passées du statut de quadricourant à celui de tricourant.

Remarque : à l’époque, on a présenté cette machine comme le summum de la technologie ferroviaire. En fait, essentiellement à cause de problèmes de poids et d’encombrement, il y a eu plutôt une régression : il n’y avait pas de graduateur en monophasé ; en alternatif redressé comme en continu, le réglage de la vitesse se faisait par rhéostat, ce qui était loin de l’idéal en matière de consommation d’énergie. Et des avaries ont eu lieu sur les résistances du rhéostat.

La CC 40105 est mise en service le 14 mai 1969 à La Chapelle, et radiée le 1er décembre 1995.

Documents

CC 40105 Trix

CC 40105

Cliché SNCF.

Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 22 030 253,2 251,0
Longueur châssis 20 840 239,5 238,5
Largeur caisse 2 820 32,4 34,4
Hauteur caisse 3 605 41,4 41,1
Hauteur tampons 1 065 12,2 13,4
Distance pivots 14 340 164,8 164,2
Empattement bogies 3 216 37,0 37,0
Diamètre roues 1 100 12,6 -