CC 14014 Jouef

CC 14015

Photo Ben Brooksbank on wikimedia.org.

Brand - Reference

Jouef HJ2334

Type

CC 14014

Mass / Slipping current @ 12 V

339 g / 420 mA

Comments

This model is in the mid-1960s configuration. Indeed, its small nose lamps are not obscured, the small bonnets are not extended, and the buffers are cut and not rounded (but were these last modifications made on all machines?).

I wanted to wait for the release of a model better corresponding to the era IV, but the recent giving up of the French subsidiary by Hornby and its withdrawal to England made me fear a cancellation of announced releases. The price discount (25%) ended to convince me!

Mechanically, the CC 14000 Jouef is an A1A A1A: the median axles are not driving. The axles located towards the ends of the machine are equipped with rubber tyres. The front buffer beam is equipped with an articulated screw coupling. The front drawbar is easily removable if you don’t want to install a functional coupling, which makes it possible to no longer see the little discreet NEM box.

Regarding the respect of the scale, it is almost flawless, except for the distance between bogie pivots curiously reduced by 3 mm.

The pantographs respect the very particular geometry of the prototypes (MT type), in that, given the small width of the bow, the sides are inclined, the various frames forming trapezes and not rectangles. This feature is not respected on the BB 12000 Trix for example. MT type pantographHowever, it is not mechanically perfect, but I don’t see how it could be at 87th scale: the horizontality of the bow is assured only when the panto is unfolded to the maximum, because there is no parallelogram system at this level (red circle). On the other hand, the rods connecting the lower pivoting shafts (green circle) do their job of maintaining the symmetry of the panto, except when folded, because the clearance given to them is then insufficient. In reality, one of the cranks of these rods is equipped with a spring, because the kinematics of this system does not allow a rod of a constant length. Here, the compensation is done by deforming the chassis! The pallets are a bit rustic. In particular, the wear bars are missing.

The pantograph stands are plugged into the cab, with an electric contact blade for those using a functional catenary. It will be very practical to intervene on the pantos, in particular to remove the central fixing screw.

For mounting a decoder, it is necessary, according to Jouef, to first remove the pantos with their support, then the lateral vents, then disassemble a bonnet (three screws); it is the rear bonnet, no need to disassemble the other one. The central screws are not very accessible, so let’s not add useless work (and, perhaps, irritation).

See:

Modifications

  • 21-pin Lenz Silver+ decoder. Programming a decoder without sound is no problem. Here are the original assignments:
    Red lights Default key Lenz output ESU output
    Front F1 C AUX1
    Rear F2 D AUX2
  • Pantographs extension limitation by plastic stop and removal of their central fixation screw.
  • Painting of the (shiny) wheels and bogie sides with a mixture of different Humbrol Enamel shades.

History

Single phase locomotives with rotating single-phase to three-phase converter, built in 20 units between 1955 and 1960, by the Société de construction des Batignolles for the mechanical part and Oerlikon for the electrical part. Main features:

  • continuous power: 2.642 kW (3.590 hp);
  • corresponding force: 22.469 daN;
  • maximum speed: 60 km/h;
  • unladen weight: 123.2 t.

These locomotives were studied for hauling ore trains on the Valenciennes-Thionville artery (North-East of France), but they could be seen in the Paris region, bringing complete trains of coal to supply EDF (Electricité de France) thermal power plants.

They made it possible to test a very complex solution to exploit the industrial 25 kV / 50 Hz current, which consisted of using two rotating groups, the first to convert the single-phase current to three-phase, the second to vary the frequency from 0 to 135 Hz, to use asynchronous motors (more robust — at least in theory — and less expensive) instead of the usual DC motors used at that time.

We know how to do the same thing since the 1990s with power electronics. But in the 1960s, the electromechanical solution posed many reliability problems, which is why these machines did not have a very long life (less than 25 years, which is not much for a locomotive).

The CC 14014 is put into service on June 23, 1958 in Lens. It was transferred to Mohon in June 1978, and was struck there on June 1, 1980. It only knew these two depots.

Documents

CC 14014 JouefCC 14014 Jouef

CC 14015

Photo Ben Brooksbank on wikimedia.org.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 18 890 217.1 217.2
Chassis length 17 700 203.4 203.5
Body width 2 900 33.3 33.6
Height 3 695 42.5 42.3
Pivot distance 9 510 109.3 106.3
Bogie wheelbase 4 670 53.7 53.1
Wheel diameter 1 100 12.6 12.4

CC 14014 Jouef

CC 14015

Cliché Ben Brooksbank sur wikimedia.org.

Marque - Référence

Jouef HJ2334

Type

CC 14014

Masse / courant au patinage sous 12 V

339 g / 420 mA

Commentaires

Ce modèle est dans la configuration du milieu des années 1960. En effet, ses petits fanaux de nez ne sont pas occultés, les petits capots ne sont pas prolongés, et les tampons sont à pans coupés et non arrondis (mais ces dernières modifications ont-elles été faites sur toutes les machines ?).

Je voulais attendre la sortie d’un modèle correspondant mieux à l’époque IV, mais le récent abandon de la filiale française par Hornby et son repli sur l’Angleterre m’a fait craindre une annulation des sorties annon­cées. La remise sur le prix (25%) a fini de me convaincre !

Mécaniquement, la CC 14000 Jouef est une A1AA1A : les essieux médians ne sont pas moteurs. Les essieux situés vers les extrémi­tés de la machine sont bandagés. La traverse avant est munie d’un attelage à vis articulé. Le timon à élongation avant est facilement démontable si l’on ne souhaite pas y installer un attelage fonctionnel, ce qui permet de ne plus y voir le peu discret boîtier NEM.

Concernant le respect de l’échelle, c’est presque un sans-faute, si ce n’était la dis­tance entre pivots de bogies curieusement réduite de 3 mm.

Pantographe type MTLes pantographes respectent bien la géomé­trie très particulière des prototypes (type MT), en ce sens que, étant donnée la faible largeur de l’archet, les côtés sont inclinés, les différents cadres formant des trapèzes et non des rectangles. Cette particularité n’est pas respectée sur les BB 12000 Trix par exemple. Ce n’est cependant pas parfait mécaniquement, mais je ne vois pas trop comment cela pourrait l’être au 87e : l’horizontalité de l’archet n’est assurée que lorsque le panto est déplié au maximum, car il n’y a pas de système de parallélogramme à ce niveau (cercle rouge). D’autre part, les biellettes connectant les arbres de pivote­ment inférieurs (cercle vert) jouent bien leur rôle de maintien de la symétrie du panto, sauf lorsqu’il est replié, car le jeu qui leur est donné est alors insuffisant. En réalité, l’une des manivelles de ces bielles est montée sur ressort, car la cinématique de ce système n’autorise pas une bielle de longueur constante. Ici, la compensation se fait par déformation du châssis ! Enfin, les palettes sont un peu rustiques. Il manque en particulier l’évocation des barres d’usure.

Les supports de pantographes sont enfichés dans la cabine, avec une lame de contact électrique pour ceux qui utilisent une caténaire fonctionnelle. Ce sera bien pratique pour intervenir sur les pantos, notamment pour supprimer la vis de fixation centrale.

Pour le montage d’un décodeur, il faut, selon Jouef, ôter d’abord les pantos avec leur support, les grilles d’aération latérales, puis démonter un capot (trois vis) ; il s’agit du capot arrière, inutile de démonter l’autre. Les vis centrales étant assez peu accessibles, autant ne pas ajouter du travail (et, peut-être, de l’énervement) inutile.

Voir :

Modifications

  • Décodeur Lenz Silver+ 21 broches. La programmation d’un décodeur non sonorisé ne pose aucune difficulté. Voici les affectations d’origine :
    Feux rouges Touche / défaut Sortie Lenz Sortie ESU
    Avant F1 C AUX1
    Arrière F2 D AUX2
  • Limitation d’extension des pantographes par cale plastique et suppression de leur vis de fixation centrale.
  • Peinture des roues (brillantes) et des flancs de bogies avec un mélange de différentes teintes mates Humbrol Enamel.

Historique

Locomotives monophasées à groupe conver­tisseur tournant mono-triphasé, construites en 20 exemplaires entre 1955 et 1960, par la Société de construction des Batignolles pour la partie mécanique et Oerlikon pour la par­tie électrique. Caractéristiques principales :

  • puissance continue : 2 642 kW (3 590 ch) ;
  • effort correspondant : 22 469 daN ;
  • vitesse maximale : 60 km/h ;
  • masse à vide : 123,2 t.

Ces locomotives ont été étudiées pour la remorque de trains de minerai sur l’artère Valenciennes-Thionville, mais on pouvait en voir dans la région parisienne, amenant des trains complets de charbon pour alimenter les centrales thermiques EDF.

Elles ont permis d’essayer une solution très complexe pour exploiter le courant industriel 25 kV / 50 Hz, qui consistait à utiliser deux groupes tournants, le premier pour convertir le courant monophasé en triphasé, le deuxième pour faire varier la fréquence de 0 à 135 Hz, de façon à utiliser des moteurs asynchrones (plus robustes — du moins en théorie — et moins coûteux) à la place des moteurs à courant continu habituels à cette époque.

On sait faire la même chose depuis les années 1990 avec de l’électronique de puissance. Mais, dans les années 1960, la solution électromécanique posa de nombreux problèmes de fiabilité, raison pour laquelle ces machines n’ont pas eu une durée de vie très longue (moins de 25 ans, ce qui est peu pour une locomotive).

La CC 14014 est mise en service le 23 juin 1958 à Lens. Elle est mutée à Mohon en juin 1978, et y est radiée le 1er juin 1980. Elle n’a connu que ces deux dépôts.

Documents

CC 14014 Jouef

CC 14015

Cliché Ben Brooksbank sur wikimedia.org.

Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 18 890 217,1 217,2
Longueur châssis 17 700 203,4 203,5
Largeur caisse 2 900 33,3 33,6
Hauteur caisse 3 695 42,5 42,3
Distance pivots 9 510 109,3 106,3
Empattement bogies 4 670 53,7 53,1
Diamètre roues 1 100 12,6 12,4