BB 17040 Piko

BB 17074 à Paris Nord

Photo Joachim Neu on railpictures.net.

Brand - Reference

Piko 96509

Type

BB 17040

Mass / Current @ 12 V

337 g / 0.65 A max.

Comments

Surprise: this machine is equipped with a decoder! In DC, starting happens at 10 V. Under 12 V, the machine does not slip. The left wheel (in the direction of travel), on the inside axle of each bogie, is equipped with a rubber tyre. The lights are warm white.

The pantographs are ugly (but I expected so). All railings moulded, which will be complicated to level. The bogies’ relief is very flat, and the brake shoes are not in front of the wheels. The couplings are attached to the bogies. The orange strips are too faded (in fact, the colour is transparent and reveals the grey, which is itself too light: compared with that of the VB2N, it is almost identical, whereas it should be a little darker).

The oblique handle on the doors dates from the 1990s, after the decoration change (loss of badges) and should not be included on this model.

There is a lightning conductor on the roof which, I understand, actually only exists on the BB 8500 or 25500.

Finally, it bears the “nouille” (noodle) acronym, so it belongs to era IVb, which puts it out of time for me. I’ll have to provide engraved plates, for the numbers as for the face badges, simply printed.

See:

Modifications

  • Sommerfeldt pantographs with LS Models bows (from CC 40105) (state of the picture).
  • Uhlenbrock decoder replaced with a Lenz Silver+. Separation of red lights.
  • I recently ordered plates for the 17074… Here they are.
Plates for BB 17074

History

Locomotives built in 105 units from 1965 to 1968 by Alsthom. Continuous power 2940 kW. Maximum speed: 150 km/h (passengers) and 90 km/h (goods). Weight 79.0 to 79.4 t depending on sub-series.

The 17040 is put into service in June 1966 in Achères (Ouest). It remained there until its cancellation in December 2010. It is part of the sub-series 17038 to 105 whose chassis is slightly elongated and the buffer beam more visible (see table of dimensions).

For a 17000 assigned to the Nord (Lens then La Chapelle) in the 1970s, prefer a number from 17072. The photo of the 17074 shows, if the date is correct, that it was already in “béton” (concrete) livery in 1978.

The “béton” livery was applied for the first time in 1975 on the damaged 17005 (rebuilt on a long chassis with bonnets — this loco was not spoiled…). But there were still machines in green livery in the late 1980s, as proved by this photo of the 17072 by Patrick Meunier (Pontoise, 1987), on railfaneurope.BB 17072 en 1987

Some machines were sold to Romania.

Documents

BB 17040 PikoBB 17040 Piko

BB 17074 à Paris Nord

Photo Joachim Neu on railpictures.net.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 1 14 700 169.0
Overall length 2 14 940 171.7 171.1
Chassis length 1 13 604 156.4
Chassis length 2 13 844 159.1 157.4
Body width 3 030 34.8 35.0
Height 3 580 41.1 41.0
Pivot distance 8 500 97.7 97.0
Bogie wheelbase 1 608 18.5 18.5
Wheel diameter 1 100 12.6 12.0
  1. Locomotives 17001 to 37 (for information).
  2. Locomotives 17038 to 105.

BB 17040 Piko

BB 170747 à Paris Nord

Cliché Joachim Neu sur railpictures.net.

Marque - Référence

Piko 96509

Type

BB 17040

Masse / consommation

337 g / 0,65 A maxi au blocage sous 12 V

Commentaires

Surprise : cette machine est munie d’un décodeur ! En courant continu, démarrage sous 10 V. Sous 12 V, la machine ne patine pas. La roue gauche (dans le sens de marche), sur l’essieu intérieur de chaque bogie, est bandagée. Les feux éclairent en blanc chaud.

Les pantographes sont horribles (mais je m’y attendais). Toutes rambardes moulées, ce qui va être compliqué à araser. Le relief des bogies est très peu prononcé, et les sabots de frein ne sont pas en face des roues. Les attelages sont solidaires des bogies. Les bandes de peinture orange sont trop délavées (en fait, la couleur est transparente et laisse apparaître le gris, qui est lui-même trop clair : comparé avec celui des VB2N, il est quasi identique, alors qu’il devrait être un peu plus foncé.

La poignée oblique sur les portes date des années 1990, après le changement de décoration (perte des macarons) et ne devrait donc pas figurer sur ce modèle.

Il y a sur la toiture un parafoudre qui, sauf erreur, ne se trouve en réalité que sur les BB 8500 ou 25500.

Enfin, elle est munie du sigle « nouille », donc ép. IVb, ce qui la met hors époque pour moi. Il faudra prévoir des plaques gravées, pour les numéros comme pour les macarons des faces, simplement tampographiés.

Voir :

Modifications

  • Pantographes Sommerfeldt avec archets LS Models (CC 40105) (état de la photo).
  • Décodeur Uhlenbrock remplacé par un Lenz Silver+. Feux rouges séparés.

Historique

Locomotives construites en 105 exemplaires de 1965 à 1968 par Alsthom. Puissance continue 2940 kW. Vitesse maximale : 150 km/h (voyageurs) et 90 km/h (marchandises). Masse 79,0 à 79,4 t selon sous-série.

La 17040 est mise en service en juin 1966 à Achères (Ouest). Elle y est restée jusqu’à sa radiation en décembre 2010. Elle fait partie de la sous-série 17038 à 105 dont le châssis est légèrement allongé et la traverse de tête plus apparente (voir tableau des dimensions).

Pour une 17000 affectée au Nord (Lens puis La Chapelle) dans les années 1970, préférer un numéro à partir de 17072. La photo de la 17074 montre, si la date est exacte, qu’elle était déjà en livrée béton en 1978.

La livrée béton a été appliquée pour la première fois en 1975 sur la 17005 accidentée (reconstruite sur un châssis long avec des capots — on ne lui a pas fait de cadeaux, à celle-là…). Mais il y avait encore des machines en livrée verte à la fin des années 1980, comme l’atteste cette photo de Patrick Meunier (1987) qui montre la 17072.

Certaines machines ont été vendues à la Roumanie.

Documents

BB 17040 Piko

BB 170747 à Paris Nord

Cliché Joachim Neu sur railpictures.net.

  1. Locomotives 17001 à 37 (pour info).
  2. Locomotives 17038 à 105.
Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 1 14 700 169,0
Longueur H. T. 2 14 940 171,7 171,1
Longueur châssis 1 13 604 156,4
Longueur châssis 2 13 844 159,1 157,4
Largeur caisse 3 030 34,8 35,0
Hauteur caisse 3 580 41,1 41,0
Distance pivots 8 500 97,7 97,0
Empattement bogies 1 608 18,5 18,5
Diamètre roues 1 100 12,6 12,0