A1AA1A 68053 Roco

A1AA1A 68060

Photo Poggi in Loco-Revue sheet 595/596/12/1977.

Brand - Reference

Roco 73700

Type

A1AA1A 68053 with reinforced cab. Depot of Sotteville.

Mass / Current at slipping @ 12 V

422 g / 0,53 A

Comments

No dismantling instructions, only a list of spare parts and tips for preparing etched plates are present. These plates, as well as the handrails of faces and cabs, are to be assembled.

The wheels are not burnished, but they have a plastic hub cap showing the transmission details.

The six axles are driving. So it’s not an A1AA1A, but a CC! The problem is that, having a smaller diameter, the “carrying” wheels will have a lower peripheral speed than the driving wheels and will slip! Weird solution… already used by Fleischmann forty years ago!

The markings are pad printed. The name of the depot is not very clear. Photo-etched nickel silver plates are supplied: it’s up to the user to strip them to reveal the marking, which will be yellowish and not aluminium-coloured!

Lifting the body is easy: just spread the sides. We discover a fairly clear double-sided printed circuit. The connection to the lamps is done by flexible circuits. The lamps are still incandescent! The white and red lights are linked. Their separation doesn’t appear obvious at first sight.

This machine doesn’t have an extraordinary pulling force: its cousin 67580 from Jouef pulls it like playing!

See gamos81.altervista.org for the list of references of issued 68000 models.

Modifications

  • Mounting details: engraved plates stuck with double-sided adhesive, handrails glued with CA.
  • Lenz Standard+ V2 decoder.
  • Front elongation device removed (no more NEM box visible).
  • Separation of red lights (see Loco-Revue forum). Masking of third front light generally unused.

History

Locomotives built in 80 units from 1963 to 1968 by Compagnie des Ateliers et Forges de la Loire (C.A.F.L.), Compagnie de Construction électro-mécanique (C.E.M.) and Fives-Lille-Cail (F.L.C.). UIC Power 1660 kW (Sulzer diesel engine type 12 LVA 24, 12 cylinders, direct injection, 1980 kW. Maximum speed: 120 km/h (130 km/h in Caen). Weight in running order 106 t.

The 68000 are slightly more powerful than the BB 67000 (UIC 1260 kW), with whom they can be coupled in multiple unit. The main difference is that they embed a boiler for steam heating of trains. A system of interchangeable holds made it possible to adjust the load on the carrying axles. It has been used very little, and the load is set at 18 t per driving axle, which allows these machines to run on almost all tracks.

The A1AA1A 68005 was built as 68501.

A1AA1A 68053 is put into service in June 1966 in Limoges. Successive depots: Tours St Pierre (9-75), Sotteville (date unknown). It is cancelled in April 2004.

There was no 68000 in the Nord in the 1960s and 70s. Those who came to the area were probably based in Caen, as 68046 (in original livery) and 68047 (in simplified livery), but both with original cabs, visible in Boulogne sur mer in 1973 in this photo of Michel Costes (railpictures.net).68046 et 68047 à Boulogne sur mer

Documents

A1AA1A 68053 RocoA1AA1A 68053 Roco

A1AA1A 68053 RocoA1AA1A 68053 Roco

A1AA1A 68060

Photo Poggi in Loco-Revue sheet 595/596/12/1977.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 18 010 207.0 206.9
Chassis length 16 720 192.2 192.1
Body width 2 920 33.6 34.2
Height 4 280 49.2 49.8
Pivot distance 9 500 109.2 109.5
Bogie wheelbase 3 000 34.5 34.5
Driving wheel diameter 1 250 14.4 14.4
Carrying wheel diameter 950 10.9 10.7

This figure varied subsequently because some exchanges
between the 68000 and 68500 series happened.

A1AA1A 68053 Roco

A1AA1A 68060

Cliché Poggi dans la fiche Loco-Revue 595/596/12/1977.

Marque - Référence

Roco 73700

Type

A1AA1A 68053 avec cabine renforcée. Dépôt de Sotteville.

Masse / courant au patinage sous 12 V

422 g / 0,53 A

Commentaires

Pas de notice de démontage, seule une liste de pièces détachées et des conseils pour préparer les plaques gravées sont présents. Ces plaques, ainsi que les mains courantes de faces et les mains montoires de cabines, sont à monter.

Les roues ne sont pas brunies, mais elles ont un enjoliveur en plastique montrant les détails de transmission.

Les six essieux sont moteurs. Ce n’est donc pas une A1AA1A, mais une CC ! Le problème est que, ayant un diamètre plus petit, les roues « porteuses » auront une vitesse périphérique plus faible que les roues motrices et patineront ! Solution bizarre… déjà utilisée par Fleischmann il y a quarante ans !

Les marquages sont en tampographie. Le nom du dépôt n’est pas très net. Des plaques en maillechort photogravé sont fournies : c’est à l’utilisateur de les décaper pour faire apparaître le marquage, qui sera jaunâtre et non couleur aluminium !

Le levage de la caisse est facile : il suffit d’écarter les flancs. On découvre un circuit imprimé double face assez clair. La liaison aux lampes se fait par circuits souples. Les lampes sont encore à incandescence ! Les feux blancs et rouges sont liés. Leur séparation n’apparaît pas évidente au premier abord.

Cette machine n’a pas une force de traction extraordinaire : sa cousine 67580 de chez Jouef l’entraîne comme en se jouant !

Voir gamos81.altervista.org pour la liste des références de 68000 sorties en modèle réduit.

Modifications

  • Montage des détails : plaques gravées collée à l’adhésif double face, rambardes collées à la cyano, mains montoires.
  • Décodeur Lenz Standard+ V2.
  • Dispositif d’élongation avant déposé (plus de boîtier NEM visible).
  • Séparation des feux rouges (voir forum Loco-Revue). Masquage des 3e feux généralement inutilisés.

Historique

Locomotives construites en 80 exemplaires de 1963 à 1968 par Compagnie des Ateliers et Forges de la Loire (C.A.F.L.), Compagnie de Construction électro-mécanique (C.E.M.) et Fives-Lille-Cail (F.L.C.). Puissance UIC 1660 kW (moteur diesel Sulzer type 12 LVA 24, 12 cylindres, injection directe, 1980 kW. Vitesse maximale : 120 km/h (130 km/h à Caen). Masse en ordre de marche 106 t.

Les 68000 sont un peu plus puissantes que les BB 67000 (UIC 1260 kW), avec lesquelles elles sont couplables en unité multiple. La principale différence est qu’elles embarquent une chaudière pour le chauffage des trains à la vapeur. Un système de cales interchangeables permettait de régler la charge sur les essieux porteurs. Il a été assez peu utilisé, et la charge est réglée à 18 t par essieu moteur, ce qui permet à ces machines de circuler sur presque toutes les voies.

La A1AA1A 68005 a été construite comme 68501.

La A1AA1A 68053 est mise en service en juin 1966 à Limoges. Dépôts successifs : Tours St Pierre (9-75), Sotteville (date inconnue). Elle est radiée en avril 2004.

Il n’y avait aucune 68000 au Nord dans les années 1960-70. Celles qui venaient dans la région étaient probablement basées à Caen, comme les 68046 (en livrée d’origine) et 68047 (en livrée simplifiée), mais toutes deux avec cabines d’origine, visibles à Boulogne sur mer en 1973 sur cette photo de Michel Costes (railpictures.net).68046 et 68047 à Boulogne sur mer

Documents

A1AA1A 68053 RocoA1AA1A 68053 Roco

A1AA1A 68053 RocoA1AA1A 68053 Roco

A1AA1A 68060

Cliché Poggi dans la fiche Loco-Revue 595/596/12/1977.

Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 18 010 207,0 206,9
Longueur châssis 16 720 192,2 192,1
Largeur caisse 2 920 33,6 34,2
Hauteur 4 280 49,2 49,8
Distance pivots de bogies 9 500 109,2 109,5
Empattement bogies 3 000 34,5 34,5
Diamètre roues motrices 1 250 14,4 14,4
Diamètre roues porteuses 950 10,9 10,7

Ce chiffre a varié par la suite car il y a eu un certain
nombre d’échanges entre les séries 68000 et 68500.