A1A A1A 62030 Mabar

BB 62026

Photo Didier Duforest on commons.wikimedia.org.

Brand - Reference

Mabar 82030

Type

A1A A1A 62030

Mass / Slipping current @ 12 V

385 g / 300 mA

Comments

Locomotive delivered with a Lenz Silver 21+ decoder mounted. A little oversized (between 1:85 and 1:86). At first glance, the appearance is correct, except the chains too showy. The cabin has two drivers, one on each side, looking each in the opposite direction. The railings are actually very fragile and are already twisted and with visible repairs, but they fully respect the real aspect: there are round and flat vertical elements, according to reality.

The cabin is poorly adjusted to the decking, which is itself crooked: it lifts to the front left, as shown in this picture of the other side, which has the effect of deforming the railing.A1A A1A-62030, other side

The actual loco is an A1A A1A, the model is, mechanically, a CC. The right rear wheel of each bogie is equipped with a rubber tyre.

The NEM coupling boxes are removable (only the rear box is delivered mounted). A bag of parts contains a loop coupling, two buffer beam guard plates, brake couplings, and two replacement tyres.

Removing the body is very easy, it even seems that it only holds by the railings at the cabin. The wiring is neat. A quick test makes it easy to find the lamp LED connections. For each light: the common is red; the white LED is connected to the white wire via a 1.5 kΩ resistor; the red one to the brown wire via a 2.2 kΩ resistor. Each of the wires feeding the lighting plates, namely, blue, red, brown, is picked on a connector located next to the included speaker. It should therefore be quite easy to separate the red lights from the white lights (the Lenz Silver+ has five outputs).

See:

Modifications

  • Decoder programming.
  • Weathering of the roof and top of the bonnets.
  • Correction of the deformation of the deck by rectification of assembly errors and by gluing on the chassis.
  • Separation of red lights by modifying the connector. Addition of cab lighting circuit, but not functional at the moment.
  • Improvement of body-chassis adjustment by screws under the cab.
  • Hand brake chain replaced by a thinner and less pendulous one.

History

Locomotives built by the American company Baldwin Locomotive Works in 100 units, delivered in 1946-1947. Electrical equipment provided by Westinghouse. Power 380 kW, Diesel engine 560 kW (760 hp) at 625 rpm. Maximum speed: 96 km/h. Mass 109.5 t. Fuel tank capacity: 3.220 l. They were first numbered 040 DA (which did not take the carrying axles into account).

These locomotives were extrapolated from American models (road switcher) of BB type, which had been added a carrying axle by bogie to meet the maximum weight per axle in France.

Mostly used in the railyards, they have ensured in Paris the hauling of empty cars between the Gare du Nord and the Garages du Landy.

The 62030 goes into service on 28-11-1946 in La Chapelle. It spent most of its career at the La Plaine depot, ending up in Lens on 1-06-1993. It is part of the first thirty numbers (first order), which wore the SNCF badge on a large outgrowth above the long bonnet. It was actually the location of the big headlight on the American version.

Documents

A1A A1A 62030 MabarA1A A1A 62030 Mabar

BB 62026

Photo Didier Duforest on commons.wikimedia.org.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 17 700 203.4 206.0
Chassis length 16 460 189.2 192.2
Body width (cabine) 3 000 34.5 35.1
Height 4 115 47.3 48.1
Pivot distance 9 830 113.0 111.5
Bogie wheelbase 3 500 40.2 39.8
Original wheel diameter 1 1 070 12.3 12.3
  1. Later replaced with ø 1100 wheels, i.e. 12.6 to scale.

A1A A1A 62030 Mabar

BB 62026

Cliché Didier Duforest sur commons.wikimedia.org.

Marque - Référence

Mabar 82030

Type

A1A A1A 62030

Masse / courant au patinage sous 12 V

385 g / 300 mA

Commentaires

Locomotive livrée avec un décodeur Lenz Silver 21+ monté. Un peu surdimensionnée (entre 1/85 et 1/86). À première vue, l’aspect est correct, sauf les chaînes trop voyantes. La cabine est dotée de deux mécaniciens, un de chaque côté, regardant chacun dans la direction opposée. Les rambardes sont effectivement très fragiles et sont déjà tordues et avec des réparations visibles, mais elles respectent totalement l’aspect réel : il y a des montants ronds et des plats, conformément à la réalité.

A1A A1A-62030, autre côté

La cabine est mal ajustée sur le platelage, qui est lui-même « banané » : il se soulève vers l’avant gauche, comme le montre cette photo de l’autre côté, ce qui a pour effet de déformer la rambarde.

La vraie est une A1A A1A, le modèle réduit est, mécaniquement, une CC. La roue arrière droite de chaque bogie est bandagée.

Les boîtiers d’attelage NEM sont amovibles (seul le boîtier AR est livré monté). Un sachet de pièces contient un attelage à boucle, deux plaques de garde pour traverse de choc, des demi-accouplements de frein et deux bandages de rechange.

Le levage de la caisse est très facile, on a même l’impression qu’elle ne tient que par les rambardes au niveau de la cabine. Le câblage est soigné. Un test rapide permet de trouver facilement le branchement des LED des fanaux. Pour chaque phare : le commun est rouge ; la LED blanche est connectée au fil blanc via une résistance de 1,5 kΩ ; la rouge au fil brun via une résistance de 2,2 kΩ. Chacun des fils alimentant les platines d’éclairage, à savoir, bleu, rouge, brun, est repris sur un connecteur situé à côté du haut-parleur inclus. Il devrait donc être assez facile de séparer les feux rouges des feux blancs (le Lenz Silver+ possède cinq sorties).

Voir :

Modifications

  • Programmation du décodeur.
  • Salissage du toit et du dessus des capots à la terre à décor.
  • Correction de la déformation du platelage par rectification des erreurs de montage et collage sur le châssis.
  • Séparation des feux rouges avec modification du connecteur. Ajout du circuit d’éclairage de cabine, mais non fonctionnel pour le moment.
  • Amélioration de l’ajustement caisse-châssis par vis sous la cabine.
  • Chaîne de frein à main remplacée par une plus fine et moins pendante.

Historique

Locomotives construites par l’entreprise américaine Baldwin Locomotive Works en 100 exemplaires, livrées en 1946-1947. Équipe­ment électrique fourni par Westinghouse. Puissance 380 kW, diesel 560 kW (760 ch) à 625 tr/min. Vitesse maximale : 96 km/h. Masse 109,5 t. Capacité des réservoirs de carburant : 3 220 l. Elles furent d’abord numérotées 040 DA (ce qui ne tenait pas compte des essieux porteurs).

Ces locomotives étaient extrapolées de modèles américains (road switcher — loco de manœuvre et de ligne) de type BB, auxquels on avait ajouté un essieu porteur par bogie pour satisfaire à la masse maximale par essieu en France.

Surtout utilisées dans les triages, elles ont assuré à Paris la remonte des rames de voitures vides entre la gare du Nord et les garages du Landy.

La 62030 est mise en service le 28-11-1946 à La Chapelle. Elle a effectué la quasi totalité de sa carrière au dépôt de La Plaine, pour finir radiée à Lens le 1-06-1993. Elle fait partie des 30 premiers numéros (première commande), qui portaient le macaron SNCF sur une grosse excroissance au dessus du capot long. C’était en fait l’emplacement du gros phare frontal sur la version américaine.

Documents

A1A A1A 62030 Mabar

BB 62026

Cliché Didier Duforest sur commons.wikimedia.org.

  1. Remplacées ensuite par des roues ø 1100, soit 12,6 au 87e.
Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 17 700 203,4 206,0
Longueur châssis 16 460 189,2 192,2
Largeur caisse (cabine) 3 000 34,5 35,1
Hauteur caisse 4 115 47,3 48,1
Distance pivots de bogies 9 830 113,0 111,5
Empattement bogies 3 500 40,2 39,8
ø roues d’origine 1 1 070 12,3 12,3