Dd2f Nord MMM/RG

Dd2 Nord luggage van

Photo J.-Pierre Dumont sur tyrphon-trains.fr.

Brand - Reference

MMM/RG 310

Type

Dd2f (ferry) Nord luggage van

UIC number Revision date
56 87 93-17 874-6 2 Empty table

Mass

74 g (after ballasting) (NEM: 55 to 72 g)

Comments

The two central plus one end steps broken. They are stored in the box. Brake shoes are missing on one wheel. Axle bearings fall into dust. A guard plate is cracked and breaks.

Buffer height too high by at least 1 mm. The suspensions also contribute to the exaggerated height of the van.

Windows inserted by me on one side.

Interchange code 56 concerns vans authorized in Great Britain. The MMM-RG van should have the anchor, as in the photo, and not outgoing steps.

Modifications

  • Roco elongation couplings.
  • Axle boxes repaired, new axles mounted on brass bearings, windows inserted, ballast added. The new wheels are of a deliberately too small diameter, to slightly lower the height at the buffer level.

History

Quotation from AMF87 website:

Two series of two-axle metal vans were built between 1928 and 1930 for the Nord Company, 180 Dd2 with brake cabin and central compartment and 90 Ed2 without brake cabin and without central compartment. In 1936, when the Night Ferry was created, 6 Dd2 and 20 Ed2 were adapted to the British gauge and safety rules. These vans enjoyed a long career both as long-distance international vans and as stopping train vans. The Dd2s lost their brake cabin from the mid-1950s. These vans ended their career in the late 1970s, but many of them were donated to the service fleet.

Comment by Ch. Dufresnoy, AMF87)

These vans are for express and fast trains of Compagnie du Nord. The Ferry versions naturally circulated with the UK’s Night Ferry and were internationally fit, as well as their continental counterparts (very large workforce) that we saw on many French networks, in Belgium, the Netherlands, Germany… The Nord did not have any other model of a luggage van built from 1920 to 1938, except for the few bogies Nord Rapide vans, so they are as representative as the OCEM or PLM vans.

In the 1950s, all trains departing from the Nord region to other regions or countries could have at least one or two such vans in addition to vans from other areas such as modernized Est or Sud-Est, or even at the beginning of the 50s their non-modernized counterparts, or OCEM 30 or 32…

See the Loco Revue forum.

Documents

Dd2f Nord MMM/RGDd2f Nord MMM/RG

Dd2 Nord luggage van

Photo J.-Pierre Dumont on tyrphon-trains.fr.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 12 180 140.0 138.6
Chassis length 11 000 126.4 127.0
Body width 2 506 28.8 29.3
Height 3 580 1 41.1 42.4 2
Wheelbase 7 100 81.6 81.4
Wheel diameter 1 000 1 11.5 10.4 2
  1. Estimated.
  2. With new wheels.

Dd2f Nord MMM/RG

Fourgon Nord Dd2

Cliché J.-Pierre Dumont sur tyrphon-trains.fr.

Marque - Référence

MMM/RG 310

Type

Dd2f Nord

Numéro UIC Date de révision
56 87 93-17 874-6 2 Cartouche vide

Masse

74 g (après lestage) (NEM : 55 à 72 g)

Commentaires

Les deux marchepieds centraux, un d’extrémité cassés. Les centraux sont dans la boîte. Manque sabots de freins sur une roue. Les paliers d’essieux tombent en poussière. Une plaque de garde est fissurée et se casse.

Hauteur des tampons trop forte d’au moins 1 mm. Les suspensions aussi contribuent à la hauteur exagérée du fourgon.

Vitres rapportées d’un côté.

Le code d’échange 56 concerne les fourgons autorisés en Grande-Bretagne. Le fourgon MMM-RG devrait donc avoir l’ancre, comme sur la photo, et des marchepieds non dépassants.

Modifications

  • Attelages à élongation Roco
  • Boîtes d’essieux réparées, nouveaux essieux montés sur paliers laiton, fenêtres encastrées, lest ajouté. Les nouvelles roues sont d’un diamètre volontairement trop petit, pour abaisser quelque peu la hauteur aux tampons.

Historique

Citation du site AMF87 :

Deux séries de fourgons métalliques à deux essieux furent construits entre 1928 et 1930 pour la Cie du Nord, 180 Dd2 à vigie et compartiment central et 90 Ed2 sans vigie et sans compartiment central. En 1936, lors de la création du Night Ferry, 6 Dd2 et 20 Ed2 furent adaptés au gabarit et règles de sécurité britanniques. Ces fourgons connurent une longue carrière tant en fourgons pour trains internationaux au long cours qu’en simples fourgons pour trains omnibus. Les Dd2 perdirent leur vigie à partir du milieu des années 50. Ces fourgons terminèrent leur carrière à la fin des années 70, mais nombre d’entre eux furent reversés au parc de service.

Commentaire de Ch. Dufresnoy AMF87).

Ce sont des fourgons pour trains express et rapides de la Cie du Nord. Les versions Ferry ont naturellement circulé avec le Night Ferry en Grande Bretagne et étaient aptes à l’international, comme d’ailleurs leurs homologues à gabarit continental (très gros effectif) qu’on voyait sur de nombreux réseaux français, en Belgique, aux Pays-Bas, en Allemagne… Le Nord n’a quasiment pas fait construire d’autre modèle de fourgon de 1920 à 1938, excepté les quelques fourgons Rapides Nord à bogies : ils sont donc aussi représentatifs que les fourgons OCEM ou PLM.
Dans les années 50, tous les trains au départ de la région Nord à destination d’autres régions ou d’autres pays pouvaient comporter ce type de fourgon à au moins un ou deux exemplaires en plus des fourgons d’autres régions comme des modernisés Est ou SE, ou même au début des années 50 leurs homologues non modernisés, ou encore des OCEM 30 ou 32…

Voir le Forum LR

Documents

Dd2f Nord MMM/RG

Fourgon Nord Dd2

Cliché J.-Pierre Dumont sur tyrphon-trains.fr.

  1. Estimée.
  2. Avec nouvelles roues.
Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 12 180 140,0 138,6
Longueur châssis 11 000 126,4 127,0
Largeur caisse 2 506 28,8 29,3
Hauteur caisse 3 580 1 41,1 42,4 2
Empattement 7 100 81,6 81,4
Diamètre roues 1 000 1 11,5 10,4 2