DU 65 rail inspection car REE

DU 65 rail inspection car

Photo SNCF.

Brand - Reference

REE MB-072

Type

DU 65 unified rail inspection car 4 5M 154.

Mass

94 g

Max. current

32 mA at slipping; 150 mA motor blocked.

Comments

The car is delivered with a very complete historical notice presenting numerous photos in colour. This is a very good point and an example to follow for competitors.

The dimension table shows that the dimensions are only loosely respected. But it’s still a performance to have installed a motor, a decoder, or even a speaker, in such a small space, while keeping a well cleared cab.

The front grille will require a blackening, but not the side griles, well cut. The front buffer beam is equipped with a tulip coupling. The rear one is equipped with a NEM dovetail drawbar. There is an elongation, although of low amplitude and perhaps useless. It is not possible to mount an elongating drawbar at the front.

The exhaust pipe, painted yellow, is surely to be weathered. All handles (buffer beams, doors) are inserted. The windscreen wipers, which I first thought moulded with the windows, are inserted and very fine. Attention: we can easily hang them during handling. The windows are not so flat. There is an interior layout. Too bad that REE does not indicate how to dismantle the body to install staff.

The installation of a decoder is delicate. We must first remove the dummy circuit in a very narrow housing. The main PCB comes with the previous one: you have to be careful not to tear off the wires of the headlights that are soldered on the PCB. Finally, when putting the axle back, there is a chance of twisting the current pickup strips and therefore causing a short circuit.

In use, the motor is noisy running forward, but not backward. The single driving axle is struggling, especially since there is no three-point suspension. The car nevertheless managed to tow a wagon in level. The front white lights, whose LEDs are off-axis (they are two-coloured LEDs), are more or less visible depending on the viewing angle.

Modifications

  • Installation of a specific Zimo MX630P decoder (not sound). To be able to control the cab lighting, the following assignments are to be made:
    • Add 128 to the existing value of CV124.
    • Set the value 8 into the CV corresponding to the desired function key, for example CV37 for the F3 key.
    See other decoder settings on this page.
  • Installation of a crew (construction machinery drivers Herpa No. 052948 deprived of their big Playmobil eyes and of their helmet, and dressed in blue). See the picture.
DU65 with crew

History

Manufactured by CIMT Lorraine, the DU 65 (Draisine Unifiée 1965) track inspection cars were delivered in three sub-series from 1966 to 1973, with the aim of replacing all the older, very disparate inspection cars.

They are equipped with a Unic diesel engine with Voith hydromechanical transmission, with railcar wheels and buffers for standardization. In addition to the standard screw coupling, they have a special tulip coupling for towing small trucks (the official SNCF term is simply remorque — trailer).

Main characteristics (1st series): power 72 kW ; max. speed 70 km/h. Capable of carrying 18 people or 1.8 t into cab, 0.7 t on the rear platform. Capable of hauling 8 to 60 t. Weight in running order: 11.2 t (source : Loco-Revue sheet).

The “M” in the registration means able to circulate in mountain area.

Documents

  • Loco-Revue sheet No. 237/121968-68 d 20 (former series).
  • Loco-Revue Special Issue Chemins de fer réels No. 7, 4th quarter 2000: les draisines de 1951 à 1975, p. 18.
  • Photo of the reception of a DU 65 by my father in Lille St Sauveur around 1968. This one has its side window stiles painted in grey, like on the EAD!
DU65 with red roof in Lille St Sauveur

DU 65 rail inspection car REEDU 65 rail inspection car REE

DU 65 rail inspection car

Photo SNCF.

Dimensions Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 8 330 95.7 96.3
Chassis length 7 000 80.5 80.2
Cab length 4 055 46.6 46.0
Cab width 2 600 29.9 30.5
Height 2 960 34.0 34.0
Wheelbase 3 600 41.4 41.0
Wheel diameter 860 9.9 9.9

Draisine DU 65 REE

Draisine DU 65

Cliché SNCF.

Marque - Référence

REE MB-072

Type

Draisine unifiée DU 65 4 5M 154.

Masse

94 g

Consommation maxi

32 mA au patinage ; 150 mA moteur bloqué.

Commentaires

La draisine est livrée avec une notice historique très complète présentant de nombreuses photos en couleur. C’est un très bon point et un exemple à suivre pour les concurrents.

Le tableau des dimensions montre que les cotes ne sont respectées que de manière relâchée. Mais c’est quand même une performance d’avoir installé un moteur, un décodeur, voire un haut-parleur, dans un si petit espace en conservant une cabine assez bien dégagée.

La grille frontale nécessitera un noircissement, mais pas les grilles latérales, bien découpées. La traverse avant est équipée d’un attelage à tulipe. La traverse arrière est équipée d’un timon NEM à queue d’aronde. Il y a une élongation, bien que de faible amplitude et peut-être inutile. Il n’est pas possible de monter un timon à élongation à l’avant.

Le tuyau d’échappement, peint en jaune, est sûrement à patiner. Toutes les poignées (traverses, portes) sont rapportées. Les essuie-glaces, que j’ai d’abord cru moulés avec les vitres, sont rapportés et très fins. Attention : on peut facilement les accrocher lors des manipulations. Les vitres ne sont pas bien plates. Il y a un aménagement intérieur. Dommage que REE n’indique pas comment démonter la caisse pour y installer du personnel.

La pose d’un décodeur est délicate. Il faut d’abord ôter le circuit « dummy », dans un logement très étroit. Le circuit imprimé principal vient avec le précédent : il faut faire attention de ne pas arracher les fils des phares qui sont soudés dessus. Enfin, à la remise en place de l’essieu, on risque de tordre les lamelles de prise de courant et de provoquer ainsi un court-circuit.

En utilisation, le moteur est bruyant en marche avant, mais pas en arrière. Le seul essieu moteur est à la peine, d’autant plus qu’il n’y a pas de suspension en trois points. La draisine parvient néanmoins à remorquer un wagon en palier. Les feux blancs avant, dont la LED est désaxée (il s’agit de LED bicolores), sont plus ou moins visibles suivant l’angle d’observation.

Modifications

  • Pose d’un décodeur Zimo MX630P spécifique (non sonore). Pour pouvoir commander l’allumage de l’éclairage cabine, il faut réaliser les affectations suivantes :
    • Ajouter 128 à la valeur existante de la CV124.
    • Mettre la valeur 8 dans la CV correspon­dant à la touche de fonction voulue, par exemple CV37 pour la touche F3.
  • Installation de personnages (conducteurs d’engins Herpa 052948 privés de leur casque et habillés de bleu). Voir la photo.
Draisine avec équipe

Historique

Fabriquées par CIMT Lorraine, les draisines DU 65 (Draisine Unifiée 1965) ont été livrées en trois sous-séries de 1966 à 1973, dans le but de remplacer toutes les anciennes draisines très disparates.

Elles sont équipées d’un moteur Diesel Unic avec transmission hydromécanique Voith, de roues et de tampons d’autorail par souci de standardisation. Outre l’attelage standard à vis, elles possèdent un attelage spécial à tulipe pour la remorque de wagonnets (le terme officiel SNCF est remorque, tout simplement).

Caractéristiques principales (1re série) : puissance 72 kW ; vitesse maximale 70 km/h ; emport de 18 personnes ou de 1,8 t de matériel en cabine, de 0,7 t sur la plateforme arrière. Capable de remorquer 8 à 60 t. Masse en ordre de marche : 11,2 t (source : fiche Loco-Revue).

Le « M » dans l’immatriculation signifie capable de circuler en zone de montagne.

Documents

  • Fiche Loco-Revue no 237/121968-68 d 20 (ancienne série).
  • Loco-Revue hors série Chemins de fer réels no 7, quatrième trimestre 2000 : les draisines de 1951 à 1975, p. 18.
  • Photo de la réception d’une DU 65 par mon père à Lille St Sauveur vers 1968. Celle-ci a ses montants de fenêtres latérales peints en gris, comme sur les EAD !
Draisine DU65 à toit rouge à Lille St Sauveur

Draisine DU 65 REE

Draisine DU 65

Cliché SNCF.

Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 8 330 95,7 96,3
Longueur châssis 7 000 80,5 80,2
Longueur cabine 4 055 46,6 46,0
Largeur caisse 2 600 29,9 30,5
Hauteur 2 960 34,0 34,0
Empattement 3 600 41,4 41,0
Diamètre roues 860 9,9 9,9