Paint.net (continued)

Creating the “sky” layer and its gradient

Let's create a new layer. In the Colors window, create a blue color with R = 212, G = 232, and B = 255 (1). Invert the Primary and Secondary colors, and select the white in the palette (2). We have now white as primary color and sky blue as secondary color.

Define colors

Choose Gradient in the Tools window. By clicking at the starting point (bottom) and then moving up while holding the button down, the gradient appears, contained in the selected area, white down, blue upwards.

Tools Gradient

Now, to avoid a too sharp cut out, after deselecting the sky, let’s do Effect / Blur / Gaussian Blur / 2 (exact value to test, say 2 to 4 depending on the image size, but 2 most often gives excellent results), which has the effect of blurring the “sky” limit by blending the blue pixels with transparent pixels.

Effects Gaussian Blur

Masque

Applying the gradient, then the Gaussian blur

Save to PDN

For safety reasons and also to reserve the possibility to go back on modifications, it is better to save the complex image to the proprietary format PDN. This can be used, for example, if the mask is subsequently discovered incomplete and the “sky” pierces the object being photographed!

“Flattening” the image

Now we just have to delete the Mask layer, and to merge the Sky layer into the Background layer.

Layers Delete Merge

We can also simply do Image / Flatten, but then we get no control on the order in which the mergers or deletions are going to take place (it may have its importance).

Effect of the blur applied to the sky: if you zoom in on the limit between the model and the sky, you will see that this limit has a gradual, not too sharp transition, which would betray the “montage” and would be not really aesthetic.

Blurr effect

General view enlarged 2 times.
“Magnifiers” × 4; at the top, without blur: the aliasing is visible; at the bottom, with blur.

Save to JPEG

Let's finish by saving to JPEG. Here is the result.

Result

Final picture

Note: for car photography, as here, it is a little more complicated, because you must reserve a different treatment to the windows. They are certainly transparent, but absorb some light; it is therefore necessary to darken a little the light crossing them. However, specular reflections, ie reflected by a very smooth surface like water or glass, must be kept. That's what I did here (see the windscreen).

This is the end of this little trip in photography. I don’t pretend to hold THE truth, but only some experience. I do not claim to have explained everything in a clear and exhaustive way! I left you a little work… Enjoy!

Paint.net (suite)

Créer le calque « ciel » et son dégradé

Créons un nouveau calque. Dans la fenêtre Couleurs, créons une couleur bleue avec R=212, V=232 et B=255 (1). Inversons les couleurs principale et secondaire, et sélectionnons le blanc dans la palette (2). On a donc du blanc en couleur principale et du bleu ciel en couleur secondaire.

Couleurs_définir

Choisissons Dégradé dans la fenêtre Outils. En cliquant au point de départ (en bas) puis en remontant en maintenant le bouton enfoncé, le dégradé apparaît, contenu dans la zone sélectionnée, blanc vers le bas, bleu vers le haut.

Outils_Dégradé

Maintenant, pour éviter le découpage trop net, après avoir désélectionné le ciel, faisons Effets / Flous / Flou gaussien 2 (valeur exacte à tester, disons entre 2 et 4 suivant la taille de l’image, mais 2 donne le plus souvent d’excellents résultats), ce qui a pour effet de flouter la limite du « ciel » en mélangeant les pixels bleus avec des pixels transparents.

effets_flou_gaussien

Masque

Application du dégradé, puis du flou gaussien

Enregistrer en PDN

Pour des raisons de sécurité et aussi pour se réserver la possibilité de revenir sur des modifications, il vaut mieux enregistrer l’image complexe au format propriétaire PDN. Cela peut servir par exemple si l’on s’aperçoit après coup que le masque n’était pas complet et que le « ciel » perfore l’objet photographié !

« Aplatir » l’image

Il reste à supprimer le calque Masque, et à fusionner le calque Ciel avec le calque Arrière plan.

calques_supprimer_fusionner

On peut aussi tout simplement faire Image / Aplatir, mais alors sans contrôle sur l’ordre dans lequel les fusions ou suppressions vont se faire (ça peut avoir son importance).

Effet du flou appliqué sur le ciel : si vous zoomez sur la limite modèle/ciel, vous verrez que cette limite a une transition progressive et non trop nette, ce qui trahirait le « montage » et ne serait pas vraiment esthétique.

Masque

Vue générale agrandie 2 fois.
« Loupes » × 4 ; en haut, sans flou : le crénelage est visible ; en bas, avec flou.

Enregistrer en JPEG

Terminons par un enregistrement en JPEG. Voici le résultat.

Masque

Image finale

Remarque : pour la photo d’automobiles, comme ici, c’est un peu plus compliqué, car il faut réserver un traitement différent aux vitres. Elles sont certes transparentes, mais absorbent de la lumière ; il faut donc assombrir un peu la lumière qui les traverse. Mais il faut aussi conserver des reflets spéculaires, c.-à-d. renvoyés par une surface très lisse comme l’eau ou le verre. C’est ce que j’ai fait ici (voyez le pare-brise).

Voilà terminé ce petit tour dans la photographie. Je ne prétends pas détenir LA vérité, mais une certaine expérience. Je ne prétends pas non plus avoir tout expliqué d’une façon limpide et exhaustive ! Je vous ai laissé un peu de travail… Bon amusement !

Et non « primaire » comme indiqué,
ce qui est un faux-sens ici.