Paint.net (continued)

Improving an image

Let's start by adjusting the colour balance. There is a very practical Paint.net plug-in, named Whitepoint, available here. To install it, unzip the archive and place the Whitepoint.dll file into C:\Program Files\Paint.NET\Effects.
(Note: "Program Files" may be named "Programs" in Vista and Windows 7+).

If you took the precaution, as I advised you, to have in the photo a neutral zone (the background, a white reflector or a gray ground), just take this supposed neutral colour with the colour pipette, then launch Adjustments / Whitepoint. You can then verify that the reference point has its R, G and B components almost equal.

Adjustments, Levels

Then, you can try to improve the image (levels, brightness, contrast, framing). The Levels and Curves functions in the Adjustments menu are very useful. The first is more difficult to apprehend than the second, but gives often faster results. Avoid Brightness and Contrast that may remove pixels (either lighter or darker), thus reducing the richness of the image.

The curve to the right allows to lighten the shadows, to see a little more details for example on the tires of a car.

Adjustments, Curve

Original image

Original image: the background is greyish, but very neutral.
Lada Niva Brekina réf. 27201

Creating a mask

In the Layers window, let’s duplicate the image. On this copy, apply the Effects / Color / Threshold function which transforms any pixel into either pure white or pure black. The extreme contrast in short… By playing with the slider, you can get a black silhouette on a white background.

Note: Threshold is a plug-in. There are several. The one that I propose to you is at this address. After extracting the files from the Zip archive, place the EdHarvey. Effects.dll file into C:\Program Files\Paint.NET\Effects and EdHarvey.Effects.pdb into C:\Program Files\ Paint.NET\ FileTypes
(attention : "Program Files" may be named "Programs" in Vista and Windows 7+).

Duplicate layer

Sometimes, the model itself has very clear parts that are likely to be eliminated. Before applying Threshold, let's draw the inner contour of these zones with a black line 10 pixels thick (approximately), after having disabled the antialiasing (antialiasing means that, seen at 100%, a line must present frank, not blurred “stair steps”). The line has four handles that allow it to be moved or deformed, for example to follow a curve. If it is missed, delete it by Esc. You may also use Undo (Ctrl + Z) to go back. When the line suits your needs, validate by Enter.

Antialiasing

On the other hand, if there are any black spots in the future background, don’t worry: they will be eliminated by the process, provided they don't touch the main silhouette.

Finally, we get what was already called a mask in the times of the analog photo laboratory. Let’s verify by magnifying the image that white pixels (due to reflections on chromes for example) do not remain encrusted in the black silhouette. In fact, the whole mask must be well filled.

Mask

The mask, including the ground

Creating the “sky” selection

Let’s select the mask with the Magic Wand, then reverse the selection (Edit / Invert Selection menu, or more simply Ctrl + I). So the future “sky” is now selected.

Sky

The selection of the “sky”, ready to receive the gradient

Paint.net (suite)

Améliorer l’image

Commençons par ajuster la balance des couleurs. Il y a pour cela un plug-in de Paint.net très pratique, nommé Whitepoint, disponible ici. Pour l’installer, dézippez l’archive et placez le fichier Whitepoint.dll dans C:\Program Files\Paint.NET\Effects.
(attention : "Program Files" peut s’appeler Programmes dans Vista et Windows 7+).

Si vous avez pris la précaution, comme je vous l’ai conseillé, d’avoir dans la photo une zone neutre (le fond, un réflecteur blanc ou le sol gris), il suffit de prendre cette couleur supposée neutre avec la pipette de couleur, puis de lancer Ajustements / Whitepoint. Vous pouvez vérifier ensuite que le point pris comme référence a bien des composantes R, V et B quasi égales.

Ajustements_Niveaux

Ensuite, on peut essayer d’améliorer l’image (niveaux, luminosité, contraste, cadrage). Les fonctions Niveaux et Courbes du menu Ajustements sont très utiles. La première est plus difficile à appréhender que la deuxième, mais donne des résultats souvent plus rapides. Évitez les fonctions Luminosité et Contraste qui peuvent supprimer des pixels (soit les plus clairs, soit les plus sombres), diminuant ainsi la richesse de l’image.

La courbe ci-contre permet d’éclaircir les ombres, pour voir un peu plus de détails par exemple sur les pneus d’une voiture.

Ajustements_Courbe

Image originelle

Image originelle : le fond est grisâtre, mais bien neutre.
Lada Niva Brekina réf. 27201

Créer un masque

Dans la fenêtre Calques, dupliquons l’image. Sur cette copie, appliquons la fonction Effets / Color / Threshold (seuil) qui transforme tout pixel soit en blanc pur, soit en noir pur. Le contraste extrême quoi… En jouant sur le curseur, on arrive à obtenir une silhouette noire sur un fond blanc.

Note : Threshold est un plug-in. Il en existe plusieurs. Celui que je vous propose se trouve à cette adresse. Après avoir extrait les fichiers de l’archive Zip, placez le fichier EdHarvey.Effects.dll
dans C:\Program Files\Paint.NET\Effects et
EdHarvey.Effects.pdb
dans C:\Program Files\Paint.NET\FileTypes
(attention : "Program Files" peut s’appeler Programmes dans Vista et Windows 7+).

calques_dupliquer

Parfois, la maquette a elle-même des parties très claires qui risquent d’être éliminées. Avant d’appliquer Threshold, traçons donc le contour intérieur de ces zones avec une ligne noire d’épaisseur 10 pixels (environ), non sans avoir désactivé l’antialiasing (en bon français, l’anticrénelage, c.-à-d. que, vue à 100%, la ligne doit présenter des « escaliers » francs, et non estompés). La ligne possède quatre poignées qui permettent de la déformer, par exemple pour suivre une courbe. Si elle est ratée, supprimez-la par Echap. Si elle vous convient, validez par Entrée.

ligne_antialiasing

En revanche, s’il reste des taches noires dans le futur fond, ne vous en préoccupez pas : elles seront éliminées par la suite du processus, à condition de ne pas toucher la silhouette principale.

Finalement, on obtient ce que l’on appelait déjà du temps du labo argentique un masque. Vérifions en grossissant l’image que des pixels blancs (dus à des reflets sur des chromes par exemple) ne restent pas incrustés dans la silhouette noire. Il faut en effet que tout le masque soit bien rempli.

Masque

Le masque, incluant le sol

Créer la sélection « ciel »

Sélectionnons le masque avec la Baguette magique, puis inversons la sélection (menu Edition / Inverser la sélection, ou plus simplement Ctrl+I). C’est donc le futur « ciel » qui est maintenant sélectionné.

Masque

La sélection du « ciel », prête à recevoir le dégradé