Post-production

Now comes the time to tweak the pictures with the computer. Not being a fan of piracy, I prefer to use free software. My favorites — but there are many others — are XnView for simple or batch operations (for example, to reduce the dimensions of several images at the same time), and Paint.net for retouching.

Obviously, they are not as powerful as Photoshop, but they are good enough if you use a few tricks. Another solution would be The Gimp, but I could never get used to its ergonomics…

XnView

I’m not going to explain the whole software operation, but only a few functions that I often use.

Framing

Please crop your images! It's so easy! We see too often on the Net photos where a tiny model is drowned in a huge and uninteresting background: a parquet floor, a carpet, or even a towel (I don’t invent anything)! And use a plain soft colored background, not a 60s style tapestry! An exception though: if the model is presented in a diorama, the latter probably presents as much interest as the model itself.

Type Ctrl + A to select the entire image. Small square handles appear; move them to frame the picture as you want.

Tip: frame tighter at the rear of the model, and wider at the front: a vehicle is supposed to move forward; it’s therefore necessary to let it this possibility, even imaginary.

To crop the image, type Shift + X. Finally let’s save the image. Before validating, click Options to check the JPEG image compression. Prefer a value around 90% (even, at the limit, 80% for a publication on the Internet).

Batch processing

Note: to return to the XnView Explorer, when an image is displayed, simply double-click it.

XnView allows to write scripts (succession of repetitive tasks) and to apply them to several images or a complete folder.

Tip: specify a destination folder different from the original folder, one is never too careful.

For example, I have a script that reduces images to 1000 pixels wide, with a white border, 300 dpi (dots per inch), 90% compression, and sends the edited images to a subfolder named Mod. To “write this script”, in the context menu (right click), just choose the Convert… option, set all the parameters once, and then save the script by giving it a name if possible explicit, into a folder with an also explicit name, like “XnView scripts”.

Color Balancing

I sometimes use the Automatic Levels function because, contrary to what I said above, XnView applies a rarely caricatural treatment, and sometimes even almost invisible. This is not the case with Paint.net in which this function is almost never usable, but there has been progress in the latest versions. The Automatic Contrast function, which does not affect the colors but only the higher and lower lights, may also be useful.

Paint.net

Here again, I will not describe everything. I will just explain in detail how I cut the photographed object out to apply a more pleasant background to it, for example a gradient of blue evoking the sky.

The model is photographed in front of a white panel that is neither very regular nor perfectly illuminated. The result is a not very engaging gray background. How to replace it, without the clipping path being too obvious (scissors effect), and without spending a night to this operation?

Attention: the following uses Paint.net Release 4, unlike the French version that used Release 3. So, depending of the release, the process may vary in some aspects.

La post-production

Vient maintenant le moment de « peaufiner » les photos grâce à l’ordinateur. N’étant pas fan de piratage, je préfère utiliser des logiciels gratuits. Mes préférés — mais il y en a bien d’autres — sont XnView pour les opérations simples ou par lots (par exemple, réduire les dimensions de plusieurs images en même temps), et Paint.net (prononcez Paint Dot Net) pour la retouche.

Évidemment, ils ne sont pas aussi puissants que Photoshop, mais ils le sont suffisamment si l’on utilise quelques astuces. Une autre solution serait The Gimp, mais je n’ai jamais pu me faire à son ergonomie…

XnView

Je ne vais pas expliquer le fonctionnement de ce logiciel, mais seulement quelques fonctions que j’utilise souvent.

Le recadrage

De grâce, recadrez vos images ! C’est si facile ! On voit trop souvent sur le Net des photos où un modèle minuscule est noyé dans un fond immense et sans intérêt : un parquet, une moquette, ou même une serviette de toilette (je n’invente rien) ! Et utilisez un fond uni de couleur pastel, pas une tapisserie style années 60 ! Une exception quand même : si le modèle est présenté dans un diorama, ce dernier présente sans doute autant d’intérêt que le modèle lui-même.

Vous faites Ctrl+A pour sélectionner toute l’image. De petites poignées carrées apparaissent ; déplacez-les pour cadrer comme vous le voulez.

Conseil : cadrez plus serré à l’arrière du modèle, et plus large à l’avant : un véhicule est sensé se déplacer vers l’avant ; il faut donc lui en laisser la possibilité, même imaginaire.

Pour découper l’image, tapez Maj+X. Il reste à enregistrer l’image. Avant de valider, cliquez sur Options pour vérifier la compression de l’image JPEG. Préférez une valeur autour de 90% (voire, à la limite, 80% pour une publication sur Internet).

Le traitement par lots

Remarque : pour se retrouver dans l’explorateur XnView, lorsqu’une image est affichée, il suffit de double-cliquer dessus.

XnView permet d’écrire des scripts (succession de tâches répétitives) et de les appliquer à plusieurs images ou à un dossier complet.

Conseil : précisez un dossier de destination différent du dossier d’origine, on n’est jamais trop prudent.

Par exemple, j’ai un script qui permet de réduire des images à 1000 pixels de large, avec une bordure blanche, en 300 dpi (points par pouce), en 90% de compression, et qui envoie les images modifiées dans un sous dossier nommé Mod. Pour « écrire ce script », il suffit, dans le menu contextuel (clic droit), de choisir l’option Convertir…, de régler tous les paramètres une première fois, puis d’enregistrer le script en lui donnant un nom si possible explicite, dans un dossier au nom lui aussi explicite, comme « scripts XnView ».

L’équilibrage des couleurs

Je me sers parfois de la fonction Niveaux automatiques car, contrairement à ce que j’ai dit plus haut, XnView applique un traitement rarement caricatural, et même parfois quasi invisible. Ce n’est pas le cas de Paint.net dans lequel cette fonction n’est presque jamais utilisable.
La fonction Contraste automatique, qui n’agit pas sur les couleurs mais seulement sur les plus hautes et les plus basses lumières, peut être utile aussi.

Paint.net

Ici non plus, je ne vais pas tout décrire. Je vais me contenter d’expliquer en détails comment je détoure l’objet photographié pour lui appliquer un fond plus agréable, par exemple un dégradé de bleu évoquant le ciel.

Le modèle est photographié devant un panneau blanc qui n’est ni très régulier, ni parfaitement éclairé. Le résultat est un fond gris peu engageant. Comment le remplacer, sans que le détourage se voie de trop (effet de « coups de ciseaux »), et sans y passer une nuit ?

NB : attention, la suite utilise la version 3 de Paint.net. La version 4 sortie en 2014 présente quelques différences relativement importantes. Donc, si vous utilisez cette dernière version, la marche à suivre peut varier quelque peu.