Exposure

It is necessary to find the right exposure (as always in photography you’ll say), except that here, on the one hand, we have time to set it with total care, and, on the other hand, if we use an image stacking software, this exposure should be constant from one photo to another.

First point: select “manual exposure” mode. Thus, once the settings made, they’ll not be able to change.

How to find the correct exposure

If you have a choice between spot, multi-zone or weighted metering, choose one of the latter two. In any case, the measure will only give a starting point. Adjust the diaphragm around f/8 (see depth of field) and the shutter speed to the value indicated by the camera. Take a picture. It is likely to be under-exposure. Indeed, the white background (if you have one planned), preponderant, deceives the metering device. The camera corrects the brightness globally too high by choosing a too short exposure time.

Do not rely on the picture appearance on the screen of your camera: it is set very bright to remain readable in the sun, and gives a false impression of clarity to the image.

Histogram

The only appropriate way to judge exposure is the histogram. This is a kind of graphic that gives the number of pixels that have been exposed to a certain light. The weak luminosities are on the left (one says “the shadows”), and the strong ones are on the right.

In the above example, the right part, ie. the strong lights, is practically empty: it is the proof of the under-exposure.

Histogram 1

Finding the correct exposure

It will therefore be necessary to carry out successive tests, increasing the shutter speed by a third or a half “speed”, and display each time the histogram, until the curve comes to touch the rightmost point. Not more! Otherwise, we’re going to overexposure this time! Here we went from 1/350th to 1/125th s.

Histogram 2

We see that a part of the histogram that was cut to the left becomes visible. Clearly, this means that there will be more details in the darker parts of the picture.

Note: the pictures of this page are of poor quality, because they are screen shots. Moreover, there are some reflections due to parasitic lights — on the first photo, we can even see the reflection of the camera taking the picture! But the important thing is to understand that by “pushing” the histogram to the right, with no excess, we will obtain more detailed shadows, and consequently an overall richer image.

L’exposition

Il est nécessaire de trouver l’exposition juste (comme toujours en photographie me direz-vous), sauf qu’ici, d’une part, nous avons le temps de la régler « aux petits oignons », et, d’autre part, si nous utilisons un logiciel de combinaison d’images, il faut que cette exposition soit constante d’une photo à l’autre.

Premier point : il faut sélectionner le mode « exposition manuelle ». Ainsi, une fois les réglages effectués, ils ne pourront plus changer.

Comment trouver l’exposition correcte

Si vous avez le choix entre mesure ponctuelle « spot », mesure multizone et mesure pondérée, choisissez l’une des ces deux dernières. De toutes façon, la mesure ne donnera qu’un point de départ. Réglez votre diaphragme autour de f/8 (voir profondeur de champ) et la vitesse sur la valeur indiquée par l’appareil. Prenez une photo. Il y a de fortes chances qu’elle soit sous exposée. En effet, le fond blanc (si vous en avez prévu un), prépondérant, trompe le posemètre. L’appareil corrige la luminosité globalement trop forte en choisissant un temps de pose trop court.

Ne vous fiez pas à l’aspect de la photo sur l’écran de votre appareil : il est réglé très lumineux pour rester lisible au soleil, et donne une fausse impression de clarté à l’image.

L’histogramme

Le seul moyen convenable de juger de l’exposition à la prise de vues, c’est l’histogramme. C’est une sorte de graphique qui donne le nombre de pixels qui ont été exposés à une certaine luminosité. Les faibles luminosités sont à gauche (on dit « les ombres »), et les fortes sont à droite.

Histogramme 1

Dans l’exemple ci-dessus, la partie droite, celle des fortes lumières, est pratiquement vide : c’est la preuve de la sous exposition.

Trouver le réglage correct

Il va donc falloir procéder à des essais successifs, en augmentant le temps de pose par tiers ou par demi « vitesse », et afficher à chaque fois l’histogramme, jusqu’à obtenir que la courbe vienne toucher le point le plus à droite. Pas plus ! Sinon, on court à la surexposition cette fois ! Ici, on est passé de 1/350e à 1/125e.

Histogramme 2

On voit qu’une partie de l’histogramme qui était coupée à gauche devient apparente. En clair, cela signifie qu’il y aura davantage de détails dans les parties sombres.

Remarque : les photos de cette page sont de mauvaise qualité, car ce sont des photos d’écran. De plus, il y a quelques reflets dus à des lumières parasites — sur la première photo, on peut même voir le reflet de l’appareil qui prend la vue ! Mais l’important est de comprendre qu’en « poussant » l’histogramme vers la droite, sans excès, on va obtenir des ombres plus détaillées, et par conséquent une image globalement plus riche.