Lighting

Delicate point if one is not equipped the studio way

Natural light

It’s the richest light in terms of wavelengths, from red to violet, but it’s also the most variable in direction, intensity and colour temperature (although this last point is not very important, see Color adjustment). Avoid full sunlight, which gives a too raw and direct light. Also avoid a windy and cloudy weather where the passing clouds will make brightness vary greatly and quickly. Better is a uniformly gray weather. Use a reflector (a white extruded polystyrene plate for example) to make the light uniform and diffuse.

Mistake not to be committed: the contre-jour. Light must not come from the rear of the subject. Since you cannot change the orientation of the sun, you must rotate your subject accordingly. Ideally, the solar rays should fall at 45°, both vertically and horizontally.

Fluorescent lamps (tubes or compact)

They are to be avoided. Indeed, the luminous spectrum of these lamps is rather poor, and some colours will probably be badly rendered. Moreover, their colour temperature is rarely indicated, and varies greatly from one copy to another. The simple mentions “warm colour” or “cold colour” are very insufficient. However, there are lamps whose colour temperature is specified. See for example the boutiquechassimages.com from the magazine Chasseur d'Images.

Note: LED lamps, which come on the market, despite some advantages (very long life, immediate lighting, very little heat emission), have the same disadvantage compared to the visible spectrum.

Incandescent lamps

Incandescent lamps are no longer popular. Their light tends towards the red, but their spectrum is nevertheless richer than that of the fluorescent lamps. If the classics are no longer on the market, there are still quartz lamps, in the form of classic bulbs containing the quartz bulb, which is very fragile, or tubes for “halogen” floor lamps, or also small spotlights.

For example, you can get three very low-voltage spotlights, which operate on a transformer, the light of which is whiter than the 230 V “mains” spotlights. Two spotlights will give the main light (right and left of the subject), the third can illuminate the background or provide ambient lighting by directing it towards a reflector.

Be careful, however, to the fact that the spotlights have a narrow light beam and may not uniformly illuminate a model of large dimensions. In this case, it will be necessary to increase their number.

Flash

For flash shooting, you cannot use the camera built-in flash: too small, too directional and too close to the subject, thus giving a bright light in the foreground, and very blocked shadows in the background. You should have one or (better) two separate flashes mounted on each side of the subject, and if possible equipped with a diffuser. So this is an expensive solution!

Conclusion

The best solutions while being the least expensive are:

L’éclairage

Point délicat si l’on n’est pas équipé façon studio !

La lumière naturelle

C’est la lumière la plus riche en longueurs d’ondes, du rouge au violet, mais c’est aussi la plus changeante, en direction, en intensité et en température de couleur (quoique ce dernier point ne soit pas très important, voir Le réglage des couleurs). Évitez le plein soleil, qui donne une lumière trop crue et trop directe. Évitez aussi un temps venteux et nuageux où les nuages, en passant, vont faire varier énormément et rapidement la luminosité. Mieux vaut un temps uniformément gris. Utilisez un réflecteur (une plaque de polystyrène extrudé blanc par exemple) pour uniformiser et diffuser la lumière.

Erreur à ne pas commettre : le contre-jour. La lumière ne doit pas venir de l’arrière du sujet. Puisque vous ne pouvez pas changer l’orientation du soleil, il faut tourner votre sujet en fonction de cela. L’idéal serait que les rayons solaires tombent à 45°, tant verticalement qu’horizontalement.

Les lampes fluorescentes (tubes ou fluocompactes)

Elles sont à éviter. En effet, le spectre lumineux de ces lampes est assez pauvre, et certaines couleurs seront sans doute mal rendues. De plus, leur température de couleur est rarement indiquée, et est très variable d’un exemplaire à l’autre. Les simples mentions « couleur chaude » ou « couleur froide » sont très insuffisantes. Cependant, il existe des lampes dont la température de couleur est bien précisée. Voir par exemple la boutiquechassimages.com du magazine Chasseur d’Images.

Remarque : les lampes à LED, qui arrivent sur le marché, malgré certains avantages (très longue durée de vie, allumage immédiat, très peu de dégagement de chaleur), ont le même inconvénient concernant le spectre lumineux.

Les lampes à incandescence

Les lampes à incandescence n’ont plus la cote. Leur lumière tire sur le rouge, mais leur spectre est quand même beaucoup riche que celui des fluo. Si les classiques ne sont plus sur le marché, on trouve encore des lampes à quartz, sous forme d’ampoules classiques contenant l’ampoule en quartz, qui est très fragile, ou de tubes pour les lampadaires « halogènes », ou encore de petits spots.

On peut par exemple s’équiper de trois spots très basse tension, qui fonctionnent sur transformateur, dont la lumière est plus blanche que les spots « secteur » 230 V. Deux spots donneront la lumière principale (à droite et à gauche du sujet), le troisième pourra éclairer le fond ou donner un éclairage d’ambiance en le dirigeant vers un réflecteur.

Attention quand même au fait que les spots ont un faisceau lumineux assez étroit et risquent de ne pas éclairer uniformément un modèle de grandes dimensions. Dans ce cas, il faudra augmenter leur nombre.

Le flash

Pour la prise de vue au flash, on ne peut pas utiliser le flash incorporé à l’appareil : trop petit, trop directif et trop près du sujet, donc donnant une lumière crue à l’avant-plan, et des ombres très « bouchées » à l’arrière-plan. Il faut obligatoirement un ou (mieux) deux flashes séparés montés de part et d’autre du sujet, et si possible munis d’un diffuseur. Solution donc chère !

Conclusion

Les solutions les meilleures tout en étant les moins coûteuses sont :