I was led very early to associate two centers of interest: the train models and photography. My first serious attempts were to photograph my C 61000 HOrnby acHO shunter on which I operated to make it more conformable:

C 61006 Hornby

It was in the years 1975-76. For the connoisseurs, I had at the time a Zenit E camera with uncoupled selenium cell, and Helios 1:2-58 mm lens. The photos had been made in order to send an article to Loco-Revue magazine, never written…

C 61006 Hornby C 61006 Hornby

First, let’s note that photo of a model is not, as often asserted, macrophoto. Indeed, stricto sensu, macrophoto begins when the image (on the film or on the sensor) is larger than the object itself (it is said that the magnification is greater than 1), which has few chances to happen for a model, even as small as an HO scale car — except perhaps for a detail picture! No, it's just close-up. That said, the problems are the same, just less accented.

What are the problems posed by close-up?

There are many! These include:

I’ll try to explain my method, first when taking pictures, then during “post-production”, a pompous term to say “computer processing”!

Note: some methods are only possible with a digital SLR camera, others are also valid with a compact camera. Personally, I do not consider a cell phone, even a “smart” one, as a camera. Very practical to take memories on the fly, it is certainly not suitable for making picture whose quality is supposed to highlight our models, although this is increasingly questionable considering the progress of these devices.

J’ai été amené très tôt à associer deux centres d’intérêt : les trains miniatures et la photo. Mes premières tentatives sérieuses ont été de photographier mon C 61000 HOrnby acHO que j’avais charcuté pour le rendre plus conforme :

C 61006 Hornby

C’était dans les années 1975-76. Pour les connaisseurs, j’avais à l’époque un Zénit E avec cellule au sélénium non couplée, objectif Helios 1:2-58 mm. Les photos avaient été faites en prévision d’un article pour Loco-Revue jamais écrit…

C 61006 Hornby C 61006 Hornby

Remarquons d’abord que la photo de maquette n’est pas, comme souvent affirmé, de la macrophoto. En effet, au sens strict, la macrophoto commence lorsque l’image (sur le film ou sur le capteur) est plus grande que l’objet lui-même (on dit que le grandissement est supérieur à 1), ce qui ne risque pas d’arriver souvent pour une maquette, même aussi petite qu’une automobile à l’échelle HO — sauf peut-être pour une photo de détail ! Non, ce n’est que de la photo rapprochée. Cela dit, les problèmes posés sont les mêmes, simplement moins accentués.

Quels sont les problèmes posés par la photo rapprochée ?

Ils sont nombreux ! Citons :

Je vais tenter d’expliquer ma méthode, d’abord à la prise de vue, puis en « post-production », terme pompeux pour dire « traitement sur ordinateur » !

Remarque : certaines méthodes ne sont possibles qu’avec un appareil reflex numérique, d’autres sont aussi valables pour un compact. Personnellement, je ne considère pas un téléphone, fût-il « smart », comme un appareil photo. Très pratique pour prendre des souvenirs à la volée, il ne convient certainement pas pour faire des photos dont la qualité est supposée mettre en valeur nos maquettes, quoique cela soit de plus en plus discutable vu les progrès de ces appareils.