Lighting

Source

This work requires constant, homogeneous and of a precise colour temperature light. I think the flash here is the best answer. It will be placed facing the camera. To have a more or less constant illumination over the entire surface of the slide, I interpose between the flash and the support a polystyrene screen, extruded or not. If I were really rigorous, I would take an empty image and I would measure the exposure at different points of the obtained image.

Flash positionned facing the slide holder

Color temperature

The choice of colour temperature can be discussed. Personally, I select that of the source, ie. the flash. But one could judge that it is better to take the colour temperature of the slide and therefore select the automatic white balance. If you shoot in raw, the question doesn’t arise, since the white balance is done a posteriori.

Synchronization

Since the flash is not mounted on the camera, its synchronization becomes a problem. The simplest solution: the classic sync cord; but often the modern equipment, flash or camera, doesn’t have the proper plug. The solution is to buy one or two shoes, depending on the needs, to place one in the camera's flash support and the other under the flash shoe. If you have a dedicated sync cable, you can of course use it, but I think it's too expensive if it's only used for this. There are finally master / slave flashes or radio transmitter / receiver transmission systems, but again, these are very expensive for such an occasional use.

Male/male Spiral sync cord 1.5 m
Hama 6938 - 17.54 € (price 2016)
sur Amazon

Flash sync hot shoe
9.90 € (price 2017)
sur Amazon

Éclairage

Source

Il faut pour ce travail une lumière constante, homogène et d’une température de couleur précise. Je pense que le flash est ici la meilleure réponse. Il sera placé face à l’appareil. Pour avoir un éclairement à peu près constant sur toute la surface de la diapo, j’interpose entre le flash et le support un écran en polystyrène, extrudé ou non. Si j'étais vraiment rigoureux, je prendrais une photo à vide et je mesurerais l'exposition en différents points de l’image obtenue.

Flash positionné face au reprodia

Température de couleur

Le choix de la TC peut se discuter. Personnellement, je sélectionne celle de la source, c.-à-d. celle du flash. Mais on pourrait juger qu’il vaut mieux prendre celle de la diapo et donc sélectionner la balance des blancs automatique. Si vous photographiez en raw, la question ne se pose pas, puisque la balance des blancs se fait a posteriori.

Synchronisation

Puisque le flash n’est pas monté sur l’appareil, se pose le problème de sa synchronisation. Solution la plus simple : le cordon synchro classique ; mais, souvent, le matériel moderne, flash ou appareil photo, n’est pas muni de la prise adéquate. La solution est d’acheter un ou deux sabots, en fonction des besoins, à placer l’un dans la griffe porte-flash de l’appareil et l’autre sous le sabot du flash. Si on possède un câble de synchronisation dédié à l’appareil, on peut bien sûr l’utiliser, mais cela me paraît trop cher dans le cas où ce serait son unique emploi. Il y a enfin les systèmes de transmission par flashes maître / esclave ou par émetteur / récepteur radio, mais là aussi, c’est très cher pour une utilisation aussi occasionnelle.

Câble de synchronisation spiralé mâle/mâle 1,5 m
Hama 6938 - 17,54 € (prix 2016)
sur Amazon

Sabot Griffe pour Flash Esclave
5,90 € (prix 2016)
sur Ebay