Photographing slides

So we're going to photograph our slides. We will of course need a camera, with interchangeable lenses, because the standard lens will generally not be suitable. So, in addition, we’ll need a lens, a light source and a support for the slides.

Lens

In order to obtain a quality comparable to a specialized scanner, a lens is required, the main qualities of which are the absence of distortion (image deformations), chromatic aberrations (coloured fringes) and vignetting (darkening of corners). To avoid all this, it is better that the lens has a fixed focal length: it will not be a zoom. On the other hand, it does not need to have a very large aperture. As for the focal length, it can range from 35 (for an APS-C sensor) to 100 mm. This description corresponds perfectly to that of a “macro” type lens.

Personally, I have remained faithful since the silver period to the same brand, Pentax not to name it, the interest being that it is the only brand, together with Nikon to a lesser extent, to have retained an almost total compatibility of its equipment for about forty years. So I did not have to renew all my equipment to go digital. But I admit that if I had gone from zero to digital, I would have chosen another brand, probably the one I have just quoted…

So, among this pre-historical pre-digital era equipment, I kept a 100 mm f/4 macro bellows lens, with no focus ring, because it is designed to fit on a bellows with a very vintage look. Advantages: it is easy to adjust its tirage (distance between the camera body and the lens mounting plate) on a graduated scale, and it has a precious diaphragm ring that no longer have modern lenses. Disadvantage: its rather long focal length which requires to use a bulky tube for the slide holder.

100 mm lens on bellows

Slide duplicator

Under this name there existed in heroic times an accessory which permitted to re-photograph slides. I was inspired to make mine. Note: I found a similar device not too expensive on Amazon, not long ago, equipped with a tube fitted with a lens and a film holder. The latter was of an entirely correct quality; but the lens, whose purpose was to obtain a shorter tube and therefore less cumbersome, was on the contrary lamentable: distortion, aberrations, everything was there. Return to sender. I still give you the reference page, but I will have warned you.

Constitution of the slide holder

This support consists of four elements:

Exploded view of the slide duplicator

  1. A downspout PVC tube (!)
  2. At one end of the tube, a used filter mount with a diameter suitable for the lens is screwed / glued (Araldite or Uhu Strong and Safe). It is necessary to choose the tube and mounting diameters as close as possible; for me: tube ø 50 for filter ø 52. The possible difference is compensated by a layer of Evergreen polystyrene. The filter itself has been disassembled (unscrewed), being no longer really useful in digital. If you don’t have such a filter, you can purchase screw-in adapter rings available in many diameters.
  3. A join or cuff adapted to the PVC tube diameter, which can slide on the tube to adjust the lens / slide distance and the inclination of the slide. It will be equipped with a position locking screw.
  4. The film holder, made of two PVC or polystyrene plates, depending on availability, and provided with two brass holding springs, but other thin metal, flexible and easy to machine may be suitable: nickel silver, bronze, etc.

The main tube is covered inside with black velvet flocked vinyl adhesive to avoid any parasitic reflection. For the same reason, the inner side of the slide holder is painted in matt black.

You’ll find the dimensional diagram of the slide holder (4) in this PDF document. Note that the length of the PVC tube must be adapted to the focal length of the lens used.

It lacks a strip film holder that would allow me to digitize negatives. Even some reversal films that I had more or less missed development, and that I had for this reason left in strips, proved to be exploitable in digital.

Slide duplicator mounted on camera

Photographier les diapos

Nous allons donc photographier nos diapos. Il nous faudra bien sûr un appareil photo, à objectifs interchangeables, car l’objectif standard ne conviendra généralement pas. En supplément, il faudra donc un objectif, une source de lumière et un support pour les diapos.

Objectif

Si l’on veut obtenir une qualité comparable à un scanner spécialisé, il faut un objectif dont les qualités principales sont l’absence de distorsion (déformations de l’image), d’aberrations chromatiques (franges colorées) et de vignettage (assom­brissement des bords). Pour éviter tout cela, il vaut mieux qu’il ait une focale fixe : ce ne sera pas un zoom. En revanche, il n’a pas besoin d'avoir une très grande ouverture. Quant à la focale, elle peut aller de 35 (pour un capteur APS-C) à 100 mm. Cette description correspond parfaitement à celle d'un objectif de type « macro ».

Personnellement, je suis resté fidèle depuis l’époque argentique à la même marque, Pentax pour ne pas la nommer, l’intérêt étant que c'est la seule marque, avec Nikon dans une moindre mesure, à avoir conservé une compatibilité presque totale de son matériel depuis une bonne quarantaine d’années. Je n’ai donc pas eu à renouveler tout mon équipement au passage au numérique. Mais j’avoue que, si j'étais parti de zéro en numérique, j'aurais choisi une autre marque, probablement celle que je viens de citer…

Donc, parmi ce matériel de l’ère préhistorique prénumérique, j’ai conservé un objectif 100 mm f/4 macro bellows, dépourvu de bague de mise au point, car prévu pour se monter sur un soufflet à l’aspect très vintage. Avantages : on peut facilement régler son tirage sur une règle graduée, et il a une précieuse bague de diaphragme que ne possèdent plus les objectifs modernes. Inconvénient : sa focale un peu longue qui oblige à utiliser un tube encombrant pour le support de diapo.

Objectif 100 mm sur soufflet

« Reprodia »

Sous cette dénomination de Reprodia existait dans les temps héroïques un accessoire qui permettait justement de rephotographier des diapos. Je m’en suis inspiré pour fabriquer le mien. Remarque : j’ai trouvé il y a peu de temps sur Amazon un dispositif semblable pas trop coûteux, équipé d’un tube muni d’une lentille et d’un passe-vue. Ce dernier était d’une qualité tout-à-fait correcte ; mais la lentille, qui permettait d’obtenir un tube plus court et donc moins encombrant, était au contraire lamentable : distorsion, aberrations, tout y était. Retour à l’expéditeur. Je vous donne quand même la page de référence, mais je vous aurai prévenus.

Constitution du support de diapo

Ce support se compose de quatre éléments :

Vue éclatée du reprodia

  1. Un tube en PCV pour descente d’eau (!)
  2. À une extrémité du tube, une monture de filtre de récupération d’un diamètre adapté à l’objectif est vissée / collée (Araldite ou Uhu Strong and Safe). Il faut choisir les diamètres de tube et de monture les plus proches possible ; pour moi : tube ø 50 pour filtre ø 52. L'écart éventuel est compensé par une couche de polystyrène Evergreen. Le filtre lui-même a été démonté (dévissé), n’étant plus vraiment utile en numérique. Si vous n’avez pas un tel filtre, vous pouvez acheter des bagues d’adaptation vissantes disponibles en de nombreux diamètres.
  3. Un raccord ou manchon pour tube PVC du diamètre convenable, qui pourra coulisser sur le tube pour régler la distance objectif / diapo et l’inclinaison de celle-ci. Il sera muni d’une vis de blocage en position.
  4. Le passe-vue, composé de deux plaques de PVC ou de polystyrène, selon disponibilité, et muni de deux ressorts de maintien en laiton pour moi, mais tout autre métal mince, souple et facile à usiner peut convenir : maillechort, bronze, etc.

L’intérieur du tube principal est recouvert de vinyle adhésif floqué velours noir, pour éviter toute réflexion parasite. Pour la même raison, la face interne du support de diapo est peinte en noir mat.

Vous trouverez le plan coté du passe-vue (4) dans ce document PDF. Notez que la longueur du tube PVC sera à adapter à la focale de l’objectif utilisé.

Il manque à ce montage un passe-vue pour films en bandes qui me permettrait de numériser des négatifs. Même certains films diapositifs dont j’avais plus ou moins raté le développement, et que j’avais pour cette raison laissés en bandes, se sont avérés exploitables en numérique.

Reprodia monté sur appareil