Commercial solutions

Equipment

There are two types of scanners capable of scanning slides (also negatives). The first is very specialized, perfectly suited to this role and very expensive (or cheap and rather — if not very — bad). The best known was the Nikon Coolscan (there were several models). I think one has never done better, at least in the amateur field. But alas it is no longer manufactured. And I understand that the high-end is now selling more expensive used than it was sold new, like a Ferrari! There is scarcely more scanning of this type today, at least with a sufficient quality.

Nikon Coolscan V

The second type is a conventional flatbed scanner with an accessory for positioning and illuminating slides or strip films. But the resolution of such a device, if it is generally very sufficient for an A4 page, quickly becomes limited for a surface of 24 × 36 mm. The result will generally be disappointing.

Epson Perfection V600

One will find an advanced comparative, with serious arguments, and relatively recent (updated 2012) at clubic.com.

Online laboratories

Several websites offer the digitization of slides or analog films. Here again, we have a choice between relatively cheap offers but with a low resolution, and others of high quality but very expensive (the fine analysis of a slide can last several minutes, and time is money).

What else?

I found an interesting article, although a bit old (2010): Four solutions to digitize your slides. It says, globally, in more detail, the same thing as me. Note: dust / scratch detection / correction does not work for Kodachrome slides. The article talks about four solutions; for the moment, we have only seen three: dedicated scanner, flatbed scanner, online lab. The fourth is to use a digital camera. But what I will expose you is still a little more evolved than placing a cardboard tube in front of the objective, as evoked in the article!

Les solutions du commerce

Le matériel

Il y a deux types de scanners capables de numériser des diapositives (des négatifs aussi d’ailleurs). Le premier est très spécialisé, parfaitement adapté à ce rôle et très cher (ou bon marché et assez voire très mauvais). Le plus connu était le Nikon Coolscan (ou plutôt les Coolscan, car il y avait plusieurs modèles). Je crois qu’on n’a jamais fait mieux, du moins dans le domaine amateur. Mais hélas il n’est plus fabriqué. Et je crois savoir que le haut de gamme se vend maintenant plus cher en occasion qu’il n’était vendu neuf, comme une Ferrari ! On ne trouve presque plus de scanner de ce type aujourd’hui, du moins avec une qualité suffisante.

Nikon Coolscan V

Le deuxième type est un scanner à plat classique auquel on ajoute un accessoire permettant le positionnement et l’illumination de diapos ou de films en bande. Mais la résolution d’un tel appareil, si elle est généralement très suffisante pour une page A4, devient vite limitée pour une surface de 24 × 36 mm. Le résultat sera en général décevant.

Epson Perfection V600

On trouvera un comparatif assez poussé, avec des arguments sérieux, et relativement récent (mis à jour en 2012) sur clubic.com.

Les laboratoires en ligne

Plusieurs sites proposent la numérisation de diapos ou films argentiques. Là aussi, on a le choix entre offres relativement bon marché mais avec une résolution assez faible, et d’autres de haute qualité mais très chères (l’analyse fine d’une diapo peut durer plusieurs minutes, et le temps, c’est de l’argent).

Quoi d’autre ?

J’ai trouvé un article intéressant, bien qu’un peu ancien (2010) : Quatre solutions pour numériser vos diapositives. Il dit globalement, en plus détaillé, la même chose que moi. Une remarque : la détection / correction de poussières et de rayures ne fonctionne en général pas pour les diapos Kodachrome. L’article parle de quatre solutions ; pour le moment, nous n’en avons vu que trois : scanner dédié, scanner à plat, labo en ligne. La quatrième consiste à utiliser un appareil photo numérique. Mais ce que je vais vous exposer est quand même un peu plus évolué que de placer un tube en carton devant l’objectif, comme évoqué dans l’article !